DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Beach Patrol
by Karlen K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2018 18:08:21

Beach Patrol harkens back to the 90s era of action packed TV shows that stretched the imagination to bring suspense to your living room. Now you can relive that action at your table as you follow in the footsteps of the great Hoff himself.

What I really love about these rules is that the explicity state that the setting isn't all about combat. Sure, there were fights on Baywatch and Baywatch Nights occassionally, but the rest of the time it was difficult situations being tackled by slo-mo beach running heroes who were all about keeping the beach goers safe. These rules bring that to life without stepping on the toes of the players and the new Slo-Mo rules makes it so everyone has a chance to be a hero every single session.

If you like the TinyD6 system or just the nostalgia this setting is attempting to capture then six bucks is a steal to have some great fun.

I can't wait to run this at Chupacabra Con!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beach Patrol
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Frontiers: Revised
by Jordon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2018 14:49:23

This is a great game! Some great improvements on the original version. If you don't have it, go buy it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers: Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Dungeons 2e: Hatchling + Core [BUNDLE]
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2018 14:18:36

A great value for the money. In particular, it's a terrific way to get both 2e and Hatchling Edition at a reduced cost (Or, for people who already have the second edition to pick up the hatchling addition at a reduced cost. Thanks, DriveThru RPG!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeons 2e: Hatchling + Core [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Moebius Adventures Core Rules
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/11/2018 21:29:55

A very interesting, if a bit crunchy, universal RPG system.

The game has a great character creation system and that really seems to be the gem of this book. The other sections; skills, combat, are also good and support the main system well. I have not played the game, but it feels like one that will take just a little used to at first. I can see this working great for the right group and even one that can really make it shine. There is a great game here, it will take the right group to find it.

The book itself is 140+ pages, black & white art. The book listed originally at $24.95 but is now Pay What You Want. I think this is actually a great plan for this book/game. Sell the core at a cheaper, or nearly free price, and sell the additional books.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Moebius Adventures Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Star: Galaxy Edition [Swords & Wizardry]
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2018 17:15:52

I'm a huge fan of White Star. But what I liked about the product was it's simplicity. Here it becomes bloated.

Backgrounds, Homeworlds, and Skills are added on as well as a huge number of new Classes. But the core engine isn't really designed with all of these add-ons in mind. The foundation is too narrow to support it.

To contrast; White Star Original was a great alternative to something more complex like Traveller or Stars Without Number. But here we've got just as many options, and as much versatility as those products, yet with far inferior execution (due to the core engine not being designed to offer so much)

Is there a big reason to purchase this product if you already have white Star and it's Companion? Not in my opinion. It collates those products well. But adds little new aside from gorgeous art and an easy-to reference layout.

That being said; It's still a solid product. Clunky and improvised at times, but with a love of it's source material (both thematic, and mechanical).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: Galaxy Edition [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aliens & Asteroids
by Pierre S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2018 16:27:40

Aliens & Asteroids is a great, not over-large game focusing on combat-mission SF similar to movies such as ALIENS or STARSHIP TROOPERS. The game-system is named Inverse20, where you roll a d20 to get a number equal to or less than a Target Number (TN). Rolling a 1 (or the exact Target Number) is a Critical Success, rolling a 20 is a Critical Fail. Actions are sometimes taken with an Advantage, in which case you roll 2 d20s and take the most advantageous roll, or at a Disadvantage (roll 2 d20s and take the least advantageous roll). There can be only one Advantage or Disadvantage situation and, if you are somehow receiving both, they cancel out. This kind of scheme is familiar to players of D&D 5th-ed.

Characters are defined as belonging to the Dominion Space Forces. They have 7 basic physical and mental Attributes, determined by rolling 2d3 and adding 8. There are a few Secondary Attributes which are derived from the first ones. Characters also accumulate certain Traits, based on their planet of origin or career path. There are military soldier-type characters but also specialists in other careers who are essential to pulling off a successful mission. Soldiers get to go hog-wild with an assault-rifle, others get a handgun, but all may add special gear. Traits and gear may add to an Attribute-based roll or confer an Advantage. Not having the right gear, not having the right skill Trait, or situational problems might confer a Disadvantage to the roll. Damage is always figured in d3 or d6 rolls with modifiers, and some weapons have special effects. Armor resists damage, but if the Armor Resistance rating is overcome, Armor Points absorb the excess damage until the armor is worn away.

The Dominion setting and alien races are covered, and your characters are encouraged to read massive tomes on the Dominion's history and political structure, as they ride through a B.A.N.C.E. Gate to jump to the adventure. Okay, just kidding! Maybe all the characters care about is to be pointed to the right opposition and to fight it! Technology, drones (assorted robots), weapons and gear are covered, there is a chapter on Refereeing and guidelines to set up and run a set of missions, finishing missions, and levelling up. A few alien and creature stats are given with guidelines and tables on designing your own. There is finally a sample-adventure, "Graduation Day", where the graduation of a squad of fresh recruits graduating on Luna is interrupted, and they are asked to investigate strange goings-on nearby.

This is an effective, digest-sized 111-page book which does what it sets out to do. I managed to join an introductory teleconferenced game run by the main author, reconning a dead asteroid-base that stopped broadcasting, and our characters had a nervous exploration and restoration of the floors to find out the cause. Diverse character types meshed well, each playing their part. You get a lot of SF mileage from what the players put in, all the great stuff like gear and squad-banter from movies and TV shows.

So what are you waiting for, grunt? Crack open the airlock, drop the ramp, and let's have a Bug Hunt!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aliens & Asteroids
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Untold Adventures: Deluxe Edition [Swords & Wizardry]
by Royce R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2018 18:00:08

The past few years have been good ones for OSR and minimalist, rules-light gaming. No longer do you have to carry the game between your shoulder blades; now it will fit between your ears or in the side pocket of your lunch kit, and in the vanguard for fantasy and science fiction gaming have been James Spahn and Barrel Rider Games. They may have not reinvented the wheel that is Swords and Wizardry White Box, but they have put some nice rims and mounted some nifty chassis on it.

In Untold Adventures James has managed to go beyond minimalizing S&WWB and has successfully minimalized the content and maximized the spirit of 0e and 1e. I ought to know; I was playing a mixture of both back then and I can't see anything that we were not using or anything we were ignoring. As far as I'm concerned, the last word in 0e and 1e minimalist has been published, all that's needed now are modules to adventure in.

Now if only BRG will give superheroes the White Box treatment...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Untold Adventures: Deluxe Edition [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Frontiers: Revised
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2018 15:28:06

Tiny Frontiers: Revised was unlocked as a stretch goal as part of the Tiny Dungeon 2nd Edition Kickstarter. As a backer of the original Tiny Frontiers, I admit my skepticism of a revision on a game that is good already. However, there were quite a few awesome new things built into the later TinyD6 games, and I didn’t mind getting those built in by default. When I heard there would be a new set of micro settings, I was sold 100%.

You can read my full review here: https://liamwrites.com/2018/07/19/rpg-review-tiny-frontiers-revised/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers: Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells
by Cameron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2018 01:04:21

SHARP SWORDS & SINISTER SPELLS (This comment is for this gameline, and I suggest buying both the Core Book and the Addendum)

This is the best little game I've played for a while. It's got that OSR flavour to the mechanics, yet it's more streamlined and logical than most OSR games. Very much influenced by more recent games, I would sum it up by saying OD&D + D&D 5E +FATE, then trim it all down to bare basics. It's not D&D, yet it sure feels like how we wanted OD&D to run.

I'm a rpg GM who often runs more serious systems, but in recent years have had a bit of fun with D&D 5E and OSR games due to the simplicity of them. In many ways this little unassuming game stands heads and shoulders above all of those.

The whole vibe is very old school pulpy Sword & Sorcery, very much early OD&D before the High Fantasy sanitisation that came after the God Mod hysteria of the mid 1980s. Closer to Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG than anything else, although not quite a much as meatgrinder, and the rules just play very smoothly, none of that DCC intentional clunkiness. This game is perfect for a classic fantasy old school dungeon crawl, very simple, feels like D&D 5E went back to the late 70s & early 80s and said 'Let's do it this way!"

Love the great black and white artwork, really evocative of games like OD&D, Tunnels & Trolls, Fighting Fantasy, Dragon Warriors, etc with a touch of Vance, Moorcock, Howard, and Carter thrown in. The whole vibe is great.

So much info has been thrown into these two books, it's amazingly good value. My only gripe is that I would love to see both books complied (the Core rulebook and the Addendum) in one little digest size hardcover volume. These rules are slim and I recommend buying both the core book (approx 50pages) and the Addendum (approx 100 pages). If this was one hardcover volume, then the product would get 5+ stars from me (if such a thing existed). Really, this is that good.

Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells is favourite new game, and out of a huge collection I would go so far to say that this is probably one of my best purchases so far. I paid only a few dollars for the pdfs, and went back and book the books. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the kind review! It made my day! And I am working on compiling SS&SS and its Addendum in a singular hardback book. And working on a setting toolkit for it. The rules will see a slight revision which should put it similarly to my Solar Blades & Cosmic Spells Sci-Fi game.
Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells - Addendum
by Cameron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2018 01:03:32

SHARP SWORDS & SINISTER SPELLS (This comment is for this gameline, and I suggest buying both the Core Book and the Addendum)

This is the best little game I've played for a while. It's got that OSR flavour to the mechanics, yet it's more streamlined and logical than most OSR games. Very much influenced by more recent games, I would sum it up by saying OD&D + D&D 5E +FATE, then trim it all down to bare basics. It's not D&D, yet it sure feels like how we wanted OD&D to run.

I'm a rpg GM who often runs more serious systems, but in recent years have had a bit of fun with D&D 5E and OSR games due to the simplicity of them. In many ways this little unassuming game stands heads and shoulders above all of those.

The whole vibe is very old school pulpy Sword & Sorcery, very much early OD&D before the High Fantasy sanitisation that came after the God Mod hysteria of the mid 1980s. Closer to Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG than anything else, although not quite a much as meatgrinder, and the rules just play very smoothly, none of that DCC intentional clunkiness. This game is perfect for a classic fantasy old school dungeon crawl, very simple, feels like D&D 5E went back to the late 70s & early 80s and said 'Let's do it this way!"

Love the great black and white artwork, really evocative of games like OD&D, Tunnels & Trolls, Fighting Fantasy, Dragon Warriors, etc with a touch of Vance, Moorcock, Howard, and Carter thrown in. The whole vibe is great.

So much info has been thrown into these two books, it's amazingly good value. My only gripe is that I would love to see both books complied (the Core rulebook and the Addendum) in one little digest size hardcover volume. These rules are slim and I recommend buying both the core book (approx 50pages) and the Addendum (approx 100 pages). If this was one hardcover volume, then the product would get 5+ stars from me (if such a thing existed). Really, this is that good.

Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells is favourite new game, and out of a huge collection I would go so far to say that this is probably one of my best purchases so far. I paid only a few dollars for the pdfs, and went back and book the books. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells - Addendum
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Untold Adventures [Swords & Wizardry]
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2018 17:23:08

So, what is this? It's a retelling of Swords and Wizardry White Box. It's a complete game in itself. It's pared down into 88 pages but comprehensive in it's coverage of spells, monsters and magical items. It is straightforward and easy to grasp for any role player (especially one who already knows 'The Game'). It wouldn't be especially easy for a newbie however, it's not designed like that. I can't see it being used in the same way that Swords and Wizardry Continual Light might be used, to introduce new players and by handing out a copy of the game. I can see it being used as one-off game system or a quick on the fly game where experienced players want a little more content than S&W Continual Light. I can also see it's usefulness as a resource to swap things in and out of. For example, you could easily swap out the magic items lists and descriptions for use in another game, I can already see myself using this book as the monster lists for my SWCL game. With only a little work you could use these rules to create your own Sword and Sorcery game or Sword and Planet game. In fact, I suspect that's how this system will end up being most useful for, as a hack base for bespoke games. So, what's different/new? As I said, a lot is pared down and simplified. There are two classes: Swordsmen and Spellcasters. Weapons and armour are abstracted to light, medium, heavy etc. The spell list is a mix of magic user and cleric spells and Turning the Undead is a first level spell which scales up in power as the Spellcaster goes up in levels. The claasic races are still there, ascending and descending Armour Class likewise. There are some interesting new rules for character equipment which borrow in spirit from the Black Hack and Henchmen and Hirelings are boiled down (not literally) into rules on 'Assistants'. The spell descriptions are neat and straightforward and will be familiar to anyone who knows Swords and Wizardry and similar retro clones. A few pages of advice on creating adventures, some notes on things like light and time etc round off the game. Worth mentioning here is a section of refereeing and suggestions about how to solve disputes or resolve situations for which there are no rules. Overall, this is a very interesting 'experiment' as author James Spahn himself is happy to call it. Go ahead, it's only a few pennies after all, see what experiments you can make with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Untold Adventures [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Insta-NPCs #9: Cults and Cultists
by Ken F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2018 17:08:17

I needed some ideas on how to create a cult in a GURPS Supers! campaign and I found Insta-NPCs #9: Cults and Cultists useful. I didn't need to roll on the tables, since the descriptions in the results provided what I needed. I can see this being handy in the future when I'm stuck on ideas.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Insta-NPCs #9: Cults and Cultists
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2018 00:38:50

An excellent OSR take on space opera.

7 Classes to choose from including 'Robot' and 2 kinds of Alien the 'Alien Brute' and 'Alien Mystic'

Very smooth, but combat focused, OSR gameplay. Check out the 'White Star Companion' for an easy way to make the mechanics less combat focused.

Excellent starship combat system and a large galley of example ships.

Psychic powers included in 2 flavours. Alien Gifts and 'Meditations of the Way' for 'Star Knights'

A very strong 'How to GM Space Opera' section with several example campaign modes

A large bestiary of aliens and adversaries.

An example star sector and intro adventure.

Black and white art throughout. The PDF is bookmarked.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

For Coin & Blood
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2018 20:32:56

This review originally appeared on my blog, Halfling's Luck, at http://halflingsluck.blogspot.com

REVIEW: For Coin & Blood I remember hearing vaguely about For Coin & Blood some time ago, but it seemed to pass me by before I got a chance to investigate. Then Diogo Nogueira, author of Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells and Solar Blades & Cosmic Spells, made mention of it on social media. And when Diogo endorses a game, there's a really good shot that I'm going to like it.

So, I googled For Coin & Blood and started investigating. Well, what I found was an awesome little game made by a passionate creator. Like my own The Hero's Journey (and obviously White Star), FCB is built on the Swords & Wizardry White Box chassis. It draws heavy inspiration from a more grim and gritty side of fantasy, clearly influenced by works such as The Black Company and The First Law series' of novels. By combining and tweaking White Box, material from several third party supplements, throwing in a heaping helping of evocative art, and excellent production values Gallant Knight Games has managed to produce a gem of a game.

While I'm not familiar with the fiction mention above, huge credit to the creators of FCB for creating a game that oozes dark fantasy. In fact, I was a bit jealous as I read through the book because I immediately thought "This would be great to run a White Box: Game of Thrones style game," which is something I had always hoped to write myself. Well, Gallant Knight Games beat me to it and good on them! The material is so evocative that it inspired me to pick up the first book in The Black Company series of novels.

So, what separates For Coin & Blood from traditional fantasy roleplaying games? Well, for starters it runs on the presumption that the player characters are not heroes. There are no holy protectors or knights in shining armor here, folks. But, what elevates this above the tired trope of "you play the villains," is that For Blood & Coin presents players and narrators with the opportunity to play characters who are complex and nuanced. No alignments, no archetypes. These are characters who are certainly self-serving, but are still capable of heroism if they so choose. The complexities of characters like Arya Stark or Jaime Lannister are right at home in this game -- and that's awesome!

Beyond fantastic, heavily shadowed black and white line art, the most evocative feature of the game are its classes. No paladins, fighters, or bards here folks. Sellswords, Blackguards, and Assassins rule the day These characters are tarnished by their own sins and willingness to do horrible things, but aren't mustache twirling villains. They're just willing to do what needs to be done when others aren't willing to get their hands dirty. That's something that's refreshing and pretty damned unique in the OSR, separating it from the more heroic games like The Hero's Journey or pulp stylings of White Box Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game.

Author Alan Bahr grabs hold of plenty of open source third party material then tweaks it until he's given it a new, but dingy and tainted coat of paint and created something all his own. There is plenty of familiar material here, but its all modified to the grimdark mood. A few areas of note include his adversaries section, the small tweaks to the player character classes, and rules for player characters running a criminal organization.

For Blood & Coin runs under the assumption that all player characters and most adversaries are human. There are no rules included for playing non-human characters and the bulk of adversaries included in this book are mundane. This creates the implication that magical creatures (and by extension magic itself) is rare and dangerous. This helps add to the atmosphere of the material as well as keeping the page count down. A handful of fantastic creatures are included, but that only helps to accentuate their rarity in my opinion.

This is a deadly game. Characters begin play with more hit points than other White Box-style games, but gain very, very as they increase in level. In fact, it's likely that a critical hit will kill even a 10th level character outright. Again, this adds to the grimdark feel of the material and in addition will force player characters to think beyond the "beat it till XP comes out" mentality that too often plagues fantasy roleplaying games. Each class also features abilities that are familiar tropes from the traditional fighter/cleric/wizard (called sellsword, priest, and magus in this game) dynamic, but takes the time to spice up these core three into something that feels genuine to the setting material. Four additional classes (assassin, blackguard, cutpurse, and knight) round out player character options. Each is just different enough to have its own unique feel, but isn't bloated with extra, unnecessary rules.

In the final pages of the rules, Bahr includes rules for player characters running and joining criminal organizations. Based on Swords & Wizardry Chivalry, the author has taken the concepts found in that book and given them a new and wonderful spin that (yet again) reinforces the themes and tone of the grimdark fantasy genre. Even as someone who originally wrote Chivalry, I found Bahr's tweaking of my original concept to be absolutely wonderful and refreshing.

I'd also be remiss if I didn't mention the inclusion of a 7th Ability Score: Infamy. A character's deeds and misdeeds have a huge impact on the game and this form of measuring a character's reputation provide a more complex and dynamic roleplaying experience that the more traditional alignments used in most games. In fact, alignments have been completely jettisoned in For Coin & Blood, and that's a good thing in this context.

Pound for point, point for point, For Coin & Blood is my go-to grimdark fantasy roleplaying game. In fact, grabbing it has actually saved me money because I've purchased a copy in lieu of Warhammer or Shadow of the Demon Lord. My affection for White Box-based games is well known and this is takes that original edition style of game into a new and wonderful direction by presenting a game that offers opportunities for complex, morally ambigious storytelling not often actively encouraged in the OSR. I can't wait to see where Bahr takes the game line next.

For Coin & Blood can be found on RPGNow & DriveThruRPG in PDF and print-on-demand versions. PoD is in digest form, with a black and white interior, though it can be ordered on color quality paper for a higher quality product -- which I'd recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
For Coin & Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
by scott G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2018 11:44:46

Tiny Dungeon 2E is a fantastic redux of the standard Fantasy TRPG.

It's ruleset is incredibly compressed but allows for a wide range of vibrant play. Character Sheets literally fit on a 3x5 card and play can begin within 15 minutes of sitting down (with 4 players)!

Some unique elements I really liked is the inclusion of animal based player character races. The game has the traditional Tolkien races (Human, Fey, Dwarf) but also adds (Karhu - Bear, Salimar - Salamander, Lizardfolk - Lizard). Goblin and Treefolk races add spice as well.

The microsettings in this book, over a dozen ready to run worlds, are truly a tour de force. I have seen versions of microsettings in other TRPGs but never at this number and this quality, right in the Core Rulebook!

Of all the great microsettings though Tobie Abad's "Legacy: The War of the Widows" is exceptional. It stands as a guide on how microsettings should be built - detailed, but flexible, compelling and inviting and fueled by mix of wonder and peril.

An exceptional TRPG!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 259 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates