DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results













Back
Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes $0.00
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
25 5
7 1
2 3
3 0
1 0
Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Click to view
Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Publisher: Burning Wheel
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2018 13:52:15

I want a pdf version of the book. This is a great intro, but the hard copy isn't the easiest thing to navigate. There is a good index but a pdf would certainly make using the book easier. I have a physical copy and it is beautiful. I just don't feel like getting a degree in Burning Wheel just to find obscure references. Please consider making a pdf version available.

For just an intro and the fact that this is free I'd give it 5 stars. However, there is so much missing it really leaves you in the dark about the really great system that Burning Wheel presents.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Publisher: Burning Wheel
by Chelsea B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2018 14:14:52

This is simply a preview of the system, not the whole thing. I think it's awesome of the publishers to hand this out for free so you can assess the system before getting a full PDF or picking up the book. It's awesome that it's the actual first few chapters, if you read all of this you don't need to re-read the same material but "correct" if you decide to jump into the system, you can just jump into the details. My friends and I have already decided to play Burning Wheel for our next game, so I'm waiting for a physical book to get here. Kudos and 5 stars for letting me get started with learning the system while I wait.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Publisher: Burning Wheel
by vitaminseaside d. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2017 16:00:52

This system is really cool and I like the mindset behind it. It is really complicated and while I would probably never run a game with friends, elements can be easily copied into any other rpg system. Good for thinking through characters. HOWEVER... This edition has had it's legs cut off, and is about as useful as well, a hub and spokes. You cannot play a full game with this as the pdf cuts off halfway before getting to character creation. Using just this text will ensure a bumpy ride.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Publisher: Burning Wheel
by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2014 15:56:46

I got this as a primer to Burning Wheel from a PC perspective and it definitely accomplishes that well. It is essentially the first 70 pages of the Burning Wheel full book. If you are playing in a Burning Wheel game then this is something you should read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Publisher: Burning Wheel
by Joshua H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2013 21:06:58

This book describes the core mechanics of the Burning Wheel RPG, and its a fascinating read. The Beliefs and Instincts, in particular, look like a ton of fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Publisher: Burning Wheel
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2013 12:03:47

I think people think this isn't enough of the RPG because they don't get in BW, it's perfectly fine to say "I want to kill the guard by slitting his throat with my knife without anyone hearing" then the GM telling them to roll a knife skill check of the appropriate difficulty and if you have a dead, silently killed guard (or a killed, very loudly killed guard) if you fail.

Perhaps this could be better if it had Bloody Versus in it too, but you really could play a whole adventure with what's here. BW isn't a system you use all the rules when you start. Sorcery, Fight!, Range and Cover and Duel of Wits shouldn't be used in your first game. I'd recommend adding them in only once every other game if that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Publisher: Burning Wheel
by Thomas C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2013 12:32:55

This seems like an awesome system. I only wish the preview could give a bit more detail of how the encounters work for the introductory material (so we could try it out). Seems exciting and I look forward to getting the full "Burning Wheel" system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Publisher: Burning Wheel
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2012 09:05:12

I'm going to disagree with all the other reviewers so far. No, it's not unpalyable game - keeping in mind it's obviously meant to be a preview! Simply put, you don't need a starting adventure included in order to play a short scenario. The adventure is obviously meant to consist of the GM challenging the Beliefs, Traits and Instincts of the PCs. You don't need the section on combat, either. Combat can be just an opposed test, with set stakes. Yes, that's per the RAW of the game - it tells you to only use the tactical rules when the opposed roll isn't dramatic enough. For a short adventure, you're probably not going to miss them. So, all in all, I was able to try the game - keeping in mind it's just the basic rules, what you'd put in a quickstart. All I can tell is that the quality is impressive. I'm only sorry the full BW Gold rules aren't up for download. But that's a different story, and has no bearing upon the "BWG: Hub and Spokes" as a product. As it is, it gave me a good idea of what to expect from the full BWG rules. I happen to like what I saw. Some people are bound to disagree.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Publisher: Burning Wheel
by Patrick R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2012 19:17:09

I concur with the previous reviewer. Though the PDF ends on a note saying, "Get a friend or two together, and take the system you’ve just read for a spin. Nothing big; a small, one-goal scenario would be best," it falls short of the product description. Yes, you have the basic mechanics, but nothing here would prepare you for the combat rules. This product is just the first two chapters copied from the main rules, which is great for an extended preview, as it gives you a sense of the flavor of the game (like the odd terminology*, heavy bookkeeping in character advancement, the author's attitude and humor**), I can't wholly fault the production.

  • "Exponent" instead of "rank" or "dice" and the lovely acronym "FoRK" to name two. ** For example, calling 1s (on a d6) "traitors" instead of, you know, 1s.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates