DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by 38720 M. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2021 11:52:26

A solid take on one of the best game systems out there. The manouevres are a thing of beauty and fit well with my HEMA experience. Overall, it's an RPG that deserves much wider recognition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Zaibatsu
Publisher: Zozer Games
by 38720 M. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2020 13:10:15

That's a really great cyberpunk setting! And it uses one of my favourite systems: Cepheus Engine - with simultaneous initiative, which I find a nice touch. But the best part of the game are the hacking rules, IMO. Cutting "ice" can now be fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zaibatsu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dragon Pool
Publisher: Rabbit Moon Games
by 38720 M. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2020 13:04:36

That's a really good treatment of wuxia that manages to make corruption both tempting and with enough drawbacks that it's not "the mechanically sound option". It also manages to follow the example of the games named as inspiration, without using the exact same mechanics and while avoiding their main drawback: the hard-to-improvise NPC creation! Also, I like the treatment of the setting. Thus, five stars!

My only note: this game really needs a print option. You're probably going to want to print the cards anyway, so might as well go for print!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dragon Pool
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Art of Wuxia: White Breath Cave
Publisher: DwD Studios
by 38720 M. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2020 02:29:26

I ran this adventure. It's a good way to introduce the players to the system...though as I ran it after he start of the campaign, they might have been a bit more powerful than expected. Still, it provided us an evening of fun on short notice when I wasn't feeling inspired, and what more can one ask from an adventure?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Art of Wuxia: White Breath Cave
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Art of Wuxia Core Rules
Publisher: DwD Studios
by 38720 M. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2020 02:19:56

That's a great wuxia game! And I do not say that lightly...I have more than a few of those. Due to being light, it's almost infinitely customizable. And the system is light enough that the players and the Referee can focus on what's actually going on in the game instead of on managing their own characters/NPCs. And creating NPCs on the fly is a breeze! As an aside: that, I believe, is the greatest failing of some other games aiming at the same genre, even games that I otherwise like a lot...

In the last month, I think my group is averaging over 2 sessions of Age of Wuxia per week. That should be enough of a recommendation, I believe!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Art of Wuxia Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Metahumans Rising
Publisher: House Dok Productions
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2020 16:00:07

Nice game about superpowered beings! I like how it's not trying to force the morality of the Silver Age/Bronze Age/whatever on the reader. Instead, it gives you options to create your own setting.

And, as I said in the review about Fractured Kingdom, it's nice that the system is that versatile. It's also nice that you can actually stat up an unpowered human (Batman, anyone?) and have him/her compete with the powered beings as an equal. Batman, for example, would simply have a powerful fighting style and maybe some additional points for his Batarangs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Metahumans Rising
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fractured Kingdom
Publisher: House Dok Productions
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2020 09:11:49

A cyberpunk system with a setting I actually like. And the characters have been empowered by their contact with Outer Realms. In short, this is what happens when you cross cyberpunk with urban fantasy. Which, IMO, fits much better than crossing it with D&D-style fantasy like...some other cyberpunk games.

And it definitely helps that the system is actually pretty good. I mean, few games can allow you to play both a brutal, quick street fight and a long, gruelling boxing/MMA match!

Well, this one can. And best part of it, it does it without the dicepools ever getting over 6d6!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractured Kingdom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Part-Time Gods
Publisher: Third Eye Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2020 14:57:42

That's a great modern-day setting! That's what I wanted Scion to be. I like this game (in this edition) better, though!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Part-Time Gods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Afterverse Core Book
Publisher: Afterverse
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2020 14:54:18

Finally a SF game that aims to do Hard SF! And I like d6 dicepools.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Afterverse Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Hod
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2020 15:51:52

Dreams are an ancient theme in myth, often considered linked to magic. Thus, this is an welcome addition to my library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Hod
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Abomination Codex
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2020 15:43:16

A must for every Witchcraft Referee! I mean, come on, werewolves and voodoo!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Abomination Codex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Power and Privilege, The Rosicrucian Covenant Book
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2020 15:20:32

The Rosicrucians are undisputably part of the modern mythology. They shouldbepartof every urban fantasygame,too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Power and Privilege, The Rosicrucian Covenant Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2020 15:10:30

That's an overlooked pearl of a game. The mechanics are great,working without "clutches" like Destiny points. The cards option is great for forum games. And playing a Bast is great fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mystery Codex
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2020 15:03:02

More urban fantasy games should have supernatural martial artists!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mystery Codex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Servants of Gaius
Publisher: Bedrock Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2020 22:34:42

The Introduction recounts some of the inspirations for this game, the chief being Robert Graves's I, Claudius and Claudius the God novels. Those happen to be the exact novels that got me interested in Roman history. And you can easily influence world history from there!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Servants of Gaius
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates