DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Fantasy Maps: Lightning Train Map Pack
Publisher: D20 Cartographer
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2011 06:51:59

The high standard of D20 Cartographer is met and surpassed I think in this set of maps. The detail is exquisite and versatility is very high for the small niche this set would fill. The extras included in the objects file are very useful to help design the map to the way you choose. The MapTool file is dead on, background jpegs are on the background, objects that can be manipulated are on the object layer and the VBL is excellent. Also, the inclusion of generic macro that allows the players to seamlessly move from map to map/cabin to roof to storage car makes this map a dream for DM's that are looking for ease of use and high quality images. The ability to not only use this as a chase scene across the roofs of the cars and having melee break out inside a actual car is what sets this map above the standards bar.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Maps: Lightning Train Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Maps: Graveyard and Church Map Pack
Publisher: D20 Cartographer
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2011 16:09:49

Very versatile and high quality map pack! Everything is included for whether you run your game online or face to face around a table. All of the extra set pieces are included in a seperate folder where the user can just copy them into the maps provided creating a different church, crypt, mausoleum for their purpose or used in a completley different map. The only complaints I have are that some of the interior walls do not line up with the grid causing tokens to appear as if they are partially thru a wall(particularly the church foyer). The other is the graveyard seems to be 30-50 ft higher than the church, yet standing on the ground I can see clear across the map. I understand this is a VTT problem, but it can be mitigated by using simple tricks, such as using a conical light at the top of the stairs leading into the graveyard, placing VBL so the player can only see so far into the graveyard. Other than those minor gripes, I see this pack being used often. Keep up the great work and you will continue to have my purchase!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Maps: Graveyard and Church Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Warlock's Wicked Warrens Map Pack
Publisher: D20 Cartographer
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2011 18:35:39

PRO's: --Attention to detail --Lighting is superb! With the halls growing darker the further away from the light sources! Light overlays on the background layer where the light is cast, excellent! --Set pieces fit the ambiance of the rooms and halls. Makes the whole feel more authentic --Walls match up almost seamlessly and a great transition from outside to dungeon

CON's: --Compared to the other pieces in this series, this is small --The blue iron bands on the tables are too blue and look out of place.

Overall very good quality and will see use in my games. I can already think of a use right now. Waiting to see what comes next for the D20Cartographer label.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Warlock's Wicked Warrens Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Paladin's Secluded Citadel Map Pack
Publisher: D20 Cartographer
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2011 11:29:13

Yet again another Home Run hit out of the ballpark! The color palette for the citadel is fitting for a desert environ or a scrub wasteland with very little vegetation. Some of the walls though do not line up properly as far as the rock formation and the front roof to the main entrance seems to float. The choices for the VTT MapTools map are very good and the FoW is excellent. Very fast drawing the FoW and adheres to the wall outlines. The only thing I would have done differently on the VTT map is add light sources for the light fixtures, although this can be tricky as you would need to go as generic as possible to fit with all of the different frameworks out there. Great job and I expect to see more from this company!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Paladin's Secluded Citadel Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Warlord's Watchtower Map Pack
Publisher: D20 Cartographer
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2011 08:18:33

Another great product! First, the quality and forethought of the maps are getting better and better. I really like how the artist choose to include what the room would look like if sunlight was streaming thru the arrow slits and murder holes. As well as what a character would conceivably see through these. I would wish however these items to be png objects with different times of day and weather taken into account for versatility(I would expect these to possibly be add-ons for say a $1 more as it brings the versatilty of the product way up). Second, the inclusion of MapTool macros make the product more inticeable to me as that is my VTT of choice. Also, the map layout to include one large map with each floor depicted in a vertical row and each floor broken out is great professionalism and convenience. I do wish there were two sets of MapTool rpmap files, one with the whole Warlord tower in one map for people with a thich bandwidth and multiple maps for people on a dial-up or metered internet account. Well worth the money spent! Please keep them coming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Warlord's Watchtower Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Rogue's Reward Prison Map Pack
Publisher: D20 Cartographer
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2011 21:01:17

While the map is gorgeous, I am left wondering at some of the room layouts. Why would there be a large basement? Also, why the 5 ft square rooms? Why not just have them be part of the yard? Why the walkway along the north and west of the map without guard tower(s) along the north wall? Another minor niggle is why have a gallows png if the gallows is already pre-drawn on the map unless the jailor is extra sadistic? Other than these minor niggles, I have to say the map kis exceptional yet again. Also the included pngs and portraits are very nice additions.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Rogue's Reward Prison Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, Terry! I really appreciate you taking the time to write something for my maps. I thought I would go ahead and write a quick reply and offer some additional information for you and future customers. The large 'basement' area is the dungeon, which is why it is equipped with racks, a 'stretcher,' and torture tools. Like all the .png objects, the gallows is included so that customers can use it on their own private maps in the future, and the 10x10 rooms function as 'transition rooms,' sort of like airlocks, to prevent any jittery prisoners from trying to make a break for it through an open door if a warden has to enter or exit while they are in the yard. Hope this helps! --D20 Cartographer
One Dollar Dungeon: Wizard's Weird Tower of Wonders Map Pack
Publisher: D20 Cartographer
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2011 20:51:48

OK, this one may have been a little too off the chart for my tastes. Although, the maps are exceptional as usual and will probably see use in my campaigns(maybe not all of the levels). Speaking of which this is a great use of thinking for a VTT versus f2f play. Included is all of the maps in their own file and then one extra large map with all of the levels included as one. Although, I wish the bundle would have included a .rpmap for each level seperately. Also, this map begs for some crazy lighting effects inside MapTools for some of the levels!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Wizard's Weird Tower of Wonders Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Ranger's Camp near the Ruins Map Pack
Publisher: D20 Cartographer
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2011 20:42:13

I picked this up yesterday and it will probably see action very soon in both of my games! Yet again exceptional detail, versatility and exceptional value for online play. Keep them coming! At this point I don't even think twice when making the purchase of one of your new maps! I know it will see use at some point in my campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Ranger's Camp near the Ruins Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Fighter's Barroom Brawl Map Pack
Publisher: D20 Cartographer
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2011 20:39:18

Yet another winner under D20 Cartographer's belt. This map will be a steady staple in my map library. The inclusion of objects as manageable items makes it a very versatile map and the price cannot be beat! The colors and clarity of all of the maps in this product line are exceptional and are easily recognizable. The file size and dpi for online play is very good so as not to require a large upload bandwidth. There are some minor niggles on the VTT side though such as using circular VBL for columns and pillars in some of the maps.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Fighter's Barroom Brawl Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Cleric's Cathedral Map Pack
Publisher: D20 Cartographer
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2011 17:21:16

As I play online only, finding well made maps and items is a priority for me. This particular map is great in the fact that it not only includes the undelying map, but also multiple items to make the map different so it can be used for multiple different cathedrals or visits. The detail is exceptional and the quality is high. Two thumbs up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Cleric's Cathedral Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates