DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
ALBEDO: PLATINUM CATALYST + STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY [Legacy]
Publisher: Sanguine Productions
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2019 03:45:41
Disclaimer:

I'm a fan of the setting and of the other Albedo game... so my expectations are built around that.

The Sanguine Game

The system is largely the same as the other games by Sanguine. They use skill driven rolls, multiple sets of standard polyhedrals needed, and attributes as a pool of bonuses. Their unusual mechanics make this game a hard sell for many on a mechanical basis. They do have a good variety of types, and some others can be ported in from the other games.

The Sanguine Approach to the Setting

Sanguine chose to take an "Active Duty EDF Officer" approach, and an "Active Wartime" approach. This is somewhat different than the prior game, and not quite the take most players I have managed to get to play in the setting liked. That said, it's not a totally wild hair, either - the cold war in the comics between the EDF and the ILR was bound to boil over again, and that's where they took it. There is no support for civilian PC's, but it's not hard to add it. The game is focused on small unit military actions, most likely against the ILR. (Independent Lapine Republic - yes, Rabbits are the bad-guys.) It's well suited for such games, and reads very much like a minitures combat ruleset. The lack of space ship rules is also a problem - I was hoping there would be ship rules, but there are not, unlike the older game; the main characters in the comics are space forces officers...

The PDF itself

The PDF version is the full text of both books, in what looks to be OEF for the core, and scanned and OCR for the second. There are no bookmarks, no covers, and no hotlinking. Usable, searchable, but not to the standard I've come to expect from the industry. Further, it's a single PDF of both volumes, not a bundle.

The price

Given that the Magenta game is essentially the same mechanics , with Mr. Gallachi's IP removed, and is "Pay what you want," $15 seems a bit steep. Value for money? iffy.

Update 2019

I noticed recently that the PDF was updated last year. The issue with the poor scan of Structural Integrity has been remedied, but it's still not bookmarked. The cover scan allows for having it printed by OBS, so dead tree is now available. I am disappointed that they didn't add bookmarks at least for the chapter level.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ALBEDO: PLATINUM CATALYST + STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY [Legacy]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Land of OG
Publisher: Wingnut Games
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2019 00:16:38

The concept is great. Roleplay cavemen in a prehistory that never was.

The art is thematic and well suited to the game. Some of it is clearly part of the parody element... The Healthy Caveman Class is illustrated with a drawing that is evocative of Richard Simmons in his prime. (Kids, look him up.)

The original layout is nicely done, with a "small press, late 90's to early 2000's" feel, but a few minor issues with not makeing clear section vs subsection header text (subsection header is in the 1st paragraph of the subsection; section header is a line to itself).

The mechanics are the parody element... The rules are playable, they are intelligible, but they seem to be very much OSR-style Early D&D adapted. It is a delightful read, even if one doesn't play it. GIven the mechanics, if one likes Early D&D type mechanics,

The mechanics use 6 attributes, on a 1-18 scale, with 1d6 per attribute, and a second die for your class' prime attribute. Attributes are Strength, Brains, Speed, Banging, Health, Grunting. Classes are Strong, Smart, Fast, Banging, Healthy, and Grunting. There's a 9 point "Attitude" parody of AD&D alignment. Each attribute has several scores, each class has several scores. These interact to provide various resolutions. They are simple, easily understood, but given the 20 statistics, this seems a bit overtaken.

The Big Thematic Rule is that players may only use words off the word list when playing. And not even all of them. There's a small oversight here, in that the characters can only understand those words they know, but since the words known by others will be used, the player has to remember to ignore words they don't know. Still, this restriction makes the game.

Combat is done using d6's, roll low. Attacker gets attack dice from attributes and weapon, loses some for target's defense (from attributes and gear), keeping at least 1 no matter how high the defense, and rolls for hit numbers per die based upon class and level of attacker. Each success is 1 point of damage.

The PDF layout is letter-sized landscape with the original's digest (half-letter) portrait putting two facing pages on one sheet-side... a suboptimal choice. It not only makes printing it into a booklet near impossible, but also makes readability on phones, typical 4-7" e-Ink readers, and small tablets. It's fine on a laptop screen, but any good PDF reader (even before 2004, when I originally got this PDF) could display 2 digest pages at a time and could do booklet printing or 2-up printing.

For many years, I've avoided writing this review... in part, because I love the concept (having written a game about similar subject matter in a far more serious tone), and in part because I didn't want to be harsh on what was clearly meant to be fun. Truth is, I find the concept great, but the rules suboptimal for my range of enjoyed playstyles.

Around 2008, I got the Og: Unearthed edition. It is mechanically almost entirely different... cleaner, simpler... but retains the word list. In all fairness, if one likes Old-School mechanics, this will work; if one wants more focused storygame type simpler mechanics, go for Unearthed, instead.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Land of OG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Consent in Gaming
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2019 03:43:58

This product makes several assumptions explicit that are toxic to good communication of what is and is not in bounds; it becomes garbage the moment it states,

  • It doesn’t matter why consent wasn’t given.
  • Nobody has to explain why they’re not consenting.
  • There may not be a reason why they’re not consenting.

At that point, it's setting people up for things sliding into areas that are tangential but adjacent to the things off limits.

For example, if I mark real world religion, but don't explain why, it's entirely possible that a fantasy parody that the GM doesn't realize is parodying a real world religion is in fact even MORE offensive to me.

Consent, or non-consent, is not a matter for non-discussion; why someone isn't consenting is important, because, unlike the sexual fetish scene, which this seems liberally plagiarized from, the triggers are not black-and-white, and it's very easy to cross lines unintentionally, while this advises as if it is.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Consent in Gaming
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sword & Planet
Publisher: Raphael Lima
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2018 02:06:29

The rules system needs examples of character gen and the task modes (Knowledge, knowledge in career, advantage, disadvantage), and needs more setting generation to be worth while. The one setting table (arrival via) is a good start, and adding enough additional tables to provide a good hook with at least three components, for example, type of world, type of and number of primary cultures, and primary conflict type would round it out to a useful tool for those quick and casual - by giving a little bit more, it makes it easier to grab the game and go. There is promise, but as it is, it's not enough to be inspirational, and the mechanics math is workable, but not to my taste.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Sword & Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The One Ring - Journeys and Maps
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2016 19:07:49

The product is, primarily about the maps. The maps, however, are at 1/8th the usual-for-Cubicle7 linear resolution, making half the product of VERY limited utility. The pixelation was noticeable at 100% view in acrobat, unlike other products in the line. Worse, this was an intentional crippling by the company, so as "to prevent competition" with the hardcopy product... (according to Jon Hodgeson, of C7.) In short, the text isn't worth $14.95 even dead tree, and the maps are almost worthless at the included resolution. Being a PDF-Only purchaser, my advice to others like me: Don't. You can find better resolution unofficial maps done by fans already online. (Comparing the 200% view with other products in the line, I had to hit 1600% to get similar pixelation.)



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Journeys and Maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
From the product description: \"These PDF maps are intended for reference on your computer or e-reading device of choice. They are not intended for home printing - these maps are available in print as part of the Journeys and Map print edition.\" Here is the response to your complaint about the maps resolution from our forums: \"The resolution of the maps in the PDF edition of Journeys and Maps was a deliberate decision, and we flag it up on the Drivethru/RPGnow page. Which of course you may not have read if you got the PDFs free as part of a pre-order. Where maps appear as supporting material in other supplements - take for example Rivendell - we have endeavoured to make them as high resolution as we can. Supplying those at pretty much any size won\'t compete with sales of the physical supplement. Because the maps in Journeys and Maps form a majority component of the supplement, we have scaled the PDF versions for on-screen usage. And they work very well for that purpose. However they aren\'t suited to commercial third-party printing. We\'ll be completely transparent - we want you to buy the physical maps from us, rather than us providing material that copy shops can profit from. If there is a demonstrable problem using screen-resolution maps as part of the PDF product we\'ll certainly look into addressing it.\" If the maps included in this set don\'t meet suitable standards for on-screen use we will happily replace the files with larger versions.
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2014 02:08:00

1st Ed T2K - a wonderful, if a bit convoluted, character generation. It provides a bit of backstory (tho' less than Traveller), and gives percentile skills, and provide the appropriate competencies. I originally got this in dead tree back in 1984... and I loved it. It had some convoluted rules for armor and gunfire interaction, but it gave a real feel for the combats. And it made combat undesirable yet fun. The art is mostly pencils derived from army stock photos, and the gear is pretty much bog-standard 1980's issue. (They got the early 90's gear dead on - but by 2000, it was well outdated.) The setting makes a great "what if", but many of the assumptions are now quite wrong. Game needs 4d6 and 2d10. Note that mechanically, this is a precursor to the later GDW House System, but is not part of that system. If you ignore the background, this game can be used for any mid 90's US Army actions one cares to play, and with some careful attention, back to the 'Nam war.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1  Twilight: 2000
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cat (Revised & Expanded)
Publisher: John Wick Presents
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2011 21:11:09

Revised? Expanded? Uhm... only kinda. It's not really all that revised (several obvious typos survived), and the expansions are recovery of magic points, how to run it for kids, and some advice on setting it in other settings. The new layout is not as good as the old (but the fancy font is more relevant, and less used), has almost exclusively silhouette art that gives LESS sense of the theme, and does not even answer questions that have been raised over the years. The examples are no longer readily set off, there's a sidebar of good info that got lost, and in general, 1E looks better (but required me doing brutality inside the file to make it print as a booklet), and given only one short paragraph of rules difference... Recommend: Pass. The only GOOD point is the inclusion of an ePup.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cat (Revised & Expanded)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CT-G03a Azhanti High Lightning Original Draft Drawing
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2011 03:32:46

A really cool freebie, the original sketches from which the later deck plans were done. Not useful in game, but a wonderful peek at the process behind the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-G03a Azhanti High Lightning Original Draft Drawing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fudge RPG: Interactive Version
Publisher: Dimensions Game Software
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2011 03:29:36

While excellent for building a customized FUDGE rulebook, I found it cumbersome. It also really helps to already be familiar with FUDGE so you know which options you're going to pick, and while I first met FUDGE in its WWIVnet days, I must admit I'm not overly familiar with it. Best way to use: After selecting your options for each section, hit the printer-friendly version button, copy the resulting text, and paste it into your word processor. Then, touch up the format, print to PDF, and then, from that PDF, print your play-copy. Otherwise, you'll end up with lots of white space.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fudge RPG: Interactive Version
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MT MegaTraveller Imperial Encyclopedia
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2011 03:00:33

This is my favorite MegaTraveller product for introducing people to the game. Which is why I own 4 dead tree copies... It combines the Library data, equipment catalogue, and the Travel Flowcharts, plus the full UWP list for the Spinward Marches. It's one of three core rulebooks for Megatraveller. Having the PDF, however, has allowed easier use. I've hardly cracked the dead tree copies since getting the PDF.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MT MegaTraveller Imperial Encyclopedia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsters! Monsters! 1st Edition RPG
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2010 03:33:51

For those who don't know, Monsters! Monsters! (M!M!) is in fact using the Tunnels and Trolls rules system. It is not, however, using either of the two current editions (5.5 and 7.5 are both current editions), but it is based in earlier rules. Further, it's the 1st edition relayout, rather than the T&T 5th Ed compatible second edition. ——¶——

The material inside can easily be used with 5th edition (simply use T&T 5th edition weapons tables), and includes some material that probably should have been in T&T 5th edition... namely, monster special abilities, and rules for oversized weapons. The Charisma rules are very different from those in T&T 5E and M!M! 2E. That said, it's a pretty good ruleset in itself, and provides the guidelines needed for 5th ed based play.

——¶——

The scans are clean, but not OCR'ed. That's issue 1. It's the older rules edition is issue 2. Still, I recommend it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters! Monsters! 1st Edition RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Career Book 1
Publisher: Spica Publishing
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2010 00:03:05

An excellent addition to one's Mongoose Traveller game, providing over half a dozen new careers, and expanded event tables for a number of core careers.

My personal favorite is the Space Patrol, but having clergy and militant clergy careers allows both modern and sci-fi religious themes pretty easily. Well written and easy to use, it integrates almost seamlessly into a Traveller game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Career Book 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Buffy RPG Revised Corebook
Publisher: Eden Studios
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2009 12:11:20

The Revised Core Rulebook is a fully realized RPG in a single volume. The supplemental materials in other products are just that, supplemental. The core mechanic is 1d10 + Stat + Skill +Difficulty Mods for 8+, human stats run 1-6. The game mechanics are tailored well to the style of play; fast, furious, and cinematic. Further, compatibility with the Angel RPG means that more of the buffyverse is available. Sadly, Eden no longer is developing new material for either line. That said, the game is clearly written, simple to play, has both template and custom-build options for character generation, and addresses strongly the needs of running a game that feels like the Buffyverse. There is one hitch, which I found as a player: The GM rolls no dice. That's right, it takes the approach that the GM doesn't roll to hit, the player rolls to dodge, instead. The combat mechanics work quite well, in part because of this, and in part in spite of this. Combat is fast, brutal, and works well both in narrative mode and with minis. Should you go on to expand with the other books in the Buffy line, the tone is consistent. You can also expand with Angel, Army of Darkness, and Terra Primate easily, or with Full Unisystem games as well. • Bottom line: Best licensed game I've played.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buffy RPG Revised Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tunnels & Trolls v7.5
Publisher: Fiery Dragon
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2009 06:56:34

This is, without a doubt, my favorite edition of T&T to run. The rulebook is far better than the 7.0 rulebook. Ken St. Andre, the Trollgod, has revised 7.0 into a much more useful (and 30% longer) rulebook. FDP has added lots of goodies. And the game is, for me, nearly perfect. It's rules light, stat heavy, and suitable for Sword and Sorcery, high fantasy, and more general fantasy. Only thing missing is priests, and that's almost now a running gag with Ken; there is no clerical magic, per se, in any edition! The standard races (Dwarf, Elf, Fairy, Human, Hobb, Leprechaun) and 32 more; 11 types (Warrior, Rogue, Wizard, Citizen, Paragon, Specialist Wizzard - Conjurer, Specialist Wizard - Combat, Specialist Wizard - Cosmic, Specialist Wizard - Metabolic, Ranger, Leader), and a talent system more flexible than ever. It's still the best house-rule-friendly system out there. And the edition here prints nicely on 4-up in acrobat, too... Not that it is flawless... it suffers mostly from Troll-speak... the Trollgod rambles just a bit, so reading it feels more like a conversation than a rulebook, and the organization could be improved, and wink-wing still isn't in the core book, but at least it is in the box now. At the price, it is well worth it. Easy enough for a rank newb to be knowing what he/she/it is doing in 4 sessions. Old School improved!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls v7.5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SLA Industries FREE Rulebook
Publisher: Nightfall Games
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2009 00:23:24

SLA Industries rules the World of Progress, a World called Mort. You work for SLA. Everyone works for SLA. You work in the troublshooting department, on call. When you work. • A brutal violent hybrid of Paranoia, cyberpunk, and fantasy, with a touch of noir. A nice, clean d10 based system. The PDF is nice, and OCRed for convenience. • This is not a game suitable for children. The humor in the rulebook is dark and brutal, and often sexual. The images are PG13 to softer R. The theme of paranoid cyber troubleshooters with wigged out elves with super-psi... well, let's just say it can be a blast... but it can also turn totally juvenile with the wrong approach. • I'd forgotten about playing SLA back in the 90's, until I saw this up for download, and it brought back memories. Fond, disturbing memories of death in the sewers of Mort. The world of progress is a grim place. A good place for a killing spree... make yours count.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SLA Industries FREE Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 42 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates