DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Blessed of The Traveler: Queer Gender Identity in Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dominic C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2020 10:30:43

This is great! There's some really interesting opportunities to look at gender and queer culture in Eberron - with races that experience gender (or not!) in a variety of ways. I love that Lex has looked at these and thought, at every step "so, what does that mean for the inhabitants?"

Great images, nicely laid out. Very happy with my purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blessed of The Traveler: Queer Gender Identity in Eberron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Bookhounds of Eberron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dominic C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2020 10:25:32

Not going to lie - I mostly downloaded this to see whether they had credited Kenneth Hite's "Bookhounds of London" from Trail of Cthulhu (they hadn't - but I recommend it for any game that uses books and booksellers.) (I'd also hoped to have some material for "Bookhounds of Greyharbour" - the d&d 5e homebrew setting we've been runnning for a while now that also uses Hite's work as a jumping off point.)

It's...okay? I like the two new backgrounds - Bookhound and Bookseller; and the Library of Korranberg as a patron is a nice idea, but it mostly feels like a lot of random dice tables. The "Using Books in Play" section is what I came for, and that's two-thirds of a page, mostly bullet points.

I feel like it barely skimmed the surface of a really interesting topic? There's some really interesting stuff out there about about the early printing trade, printers guilds and bookbinding that could have made for interesting plot hooks that I feel like it missed. For example, the section on informants felt like it could have been more book-focused, with just a few tweaks.

Nice images, though the artists aren't credited. I think the typesetting could be a little sharper - I dislike those chunky paragraph indents, there are some orphan words that some tighter editing could have solved, and the gp cost for books in the chunky list-o'-books titles could be in their own column, to make it easier to read, rather than wall-of-text.

Essentially - it's good for a $3 download and I feel like a jerk for nit-picking over something that cost the price of a coffee. I love books and ephemera and maps, and using them in my own games. I guess I was hoping for something more?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Bookhounds of Eberron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Politics of the Shadow Marches
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dominic C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2020 09:55:03

A good resource, well worth the low price tag, but perhaps a little wordy at times? I feel like it could have benefited from some bullet-point headers, or perhaps a little bit of a tighter edit - for this low-low price, it wouldn't have suffered from losing a page, or gaining an image or two,

I've downloaded a few of this series, and I'd happily recommend them. I like the sample NPCs and like that there are a wide variety of different types, with some great representation in there.

Definitely worth a download.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Politics of the Shadow Marches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

So, a Blind Woman and a Medusa Walk Along the Road…
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dominic C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2020 09:50:17

A really great resource for quick interludes into your games. Got a spare session and nothing planned? Drop one of these two-page encounters into your game. Well rounded, heartfelt and sometimes genuinely beautiful encounters that are much more than just hack-slash random monsters. I've played one or two of these as a player and, reading them with my DM head on, they're very neatly laid out and easy to use. Well worth a download.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So, a Blind Woman and a Medusa Walk Along the Road…
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Crystal Heart Tokens for Virtual Tabletops
Publisher: Up to Four Players
by Dominic C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2020 09:40:34

Some lovely art for pocket-money prices. I'd like to see much more! I'm using these in my own VTT games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crystal Heart Tokens for Virtual Tabletops
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EBERRON Identification Papers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dominic C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2020 09:38:36

Great for the price, with some information about house Sivis and Travel papers. Maybe the documents could be a little more in-character? They do feel like they were produced via word processor rather than scribes or printing houses. I like that they were plain text and plain background options, for those of use who wanted. I've used the text to work up my own versions for use in play.

I'm probably nit-picking - for a $1/80c, they're a great resource, even if they didn't /quite/ hit the mark for me - basically I'd have happily paid much more for something a little sharper or with more content.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
EBERRON Identification Papers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Cumberland Games & Diversions
by Dominic C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2020 09:08:54

I'm a big fan of setting agnostic systems, and this is quick, easy to use and lots of fun. A few pages to run anything that you please. The east-read font is handy, too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Risus: The Anything RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Warriors
Publisher: Serpent King Games
by Dominic C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2020 06:58:16

A classic piece of old-school RPG goodness.Well worth buying.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates