DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Drizzt Do'Urden
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2016 20:01:17

The stats are actually pretty well done and fitting for Drizzt, but there is no layout work or even a description of who he is.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Drizzt Do'Urden
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kobold Triggerer - Fifth Edition Monsters #01
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2016 10:43:02

It's a kobold with a gun. Why aren't you buying already?

OK, it's a kobold with a dragon pistol, a pretty cool magical item you can use after you defeat it. But wait, there's more! Layout and art are both pretty good, very professional.

But hey, man.

Kobold with a gun. It's like getting your players to face Rocket Raccoon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kobold Triggerer - Fifth Edition Monsters #01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kobold Triggerer - Fifth Edition Monsters #01
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2016 21:28:35

Dude, it's a kobold with a gun. How awesome is that? Layout is kickass, the art is snazzy... Really, just buy it already, will ya?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kobold Triggerer - Fifth Edition Monsters #01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shonen Final Burst
Publisher: Phillip Karnell
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2014 00:55:19

I was really disappointed by this product.

The author seems to consider any anime that includes fighting to be 'shonen'. The author even calls shonen a genre, when he himself defines it as a demographic. It's hard to take anything after that seriously when the most basic research is already proven a failure. The game tries hard to be a shallow version of a subset of a genre for a specific demographic, but sadly it can't succeed even at that, since the author doesn't really know the source material. It feels like he is working out of Wikipedia articles.

The art is just plain awful and so is the layout. I usually buy indie games gladly because I understand that even making a well polished digital product is expensive. This is obviously not the case with Shonen Final Burst. It's a half-baked excuse for an indie book and that's saying something. I would have gladly paid twice as much for a book that actually looked good.

I enjoy the idea of using decks to represent the choices and give-and-take involved in a fight and I really want to say this is the one saving grace in the book. However, the game requires too much decks. At this point, it would have been better to use a rotating dice system. Too many separate decks in a table can only lead to trouble.

This whole thing is a disaster. It's sad, since there is so much promise to the core idea, but the execution is very bad.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shonen Final Burst
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tenra Bansho Zero: Heaven and Earth Edition
Publisher: KOTODAMA HEAVY INDUSTRIES
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2013 00:09:22

7 years in the making and it shows. One of the most thoughtful products I have ever acquired. Beautiful art, cultural notes everywhere, an alternate plain text version for ease of use, great respect shown towards the customer and the original authors. This is an amazing game. Buy it. Now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tenra Bansho Zero: Heaven and Earth Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Last Stand
Publisher: Fünhaver Industries
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2013 05:37:49

I really liked the game, I liked the presentation, I loved the cover. The sector rules for movement are a very good balance point between standard grids and completely abstract positioning. I'm not sure if I like the way hit points are handled (the game does not have hit points per ser, characters take damage to their stat scores and you're defeated once they are all at 0). The stats are kinda refreshing, set up in a way different from what you expect in most RPGs. There is a Megaman aspect to fights - you can rip parts of your enemies and use them for a temporary (or even permanent) power up. Descriptions are short and easy. The rules are actually pretty simple. The game sounds like a lot of fun.

There were a few things I didn't like, though. The internal art is AWFUL. It might have been to drive home the B movie feel, but I dislike it. Bioarmor versus insectoid aliens is the focus of a lot of works with good art (Guyver springs to mind). I'm very disappointed at that, specially after such a kickass cover. I didn't really like the draft format for creating characters, but it's option even though it's the official method.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Last Stand
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wu Xing: The Ninja Crusade
Publisher: Third Eye Games
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2013 02:45:09

While the layout is a bit on the weak side and the system is not very original or engaging, Wu Xing is a very honest book with gorgeous art. It felt like a strange mix of White Wolf and D&D in both scope and rules, but it does not try to sell itself as revolutionary or anything like that. Get it while it's on promotion - while it feels like a good buy at $8.83, I don't think it's worth 15 bucks.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wu Xing: The Ninja Crusade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fight! The Fighting Game RPG
Publisher: Divine Madness Press
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2012 23:19:50

I approached Fight! with caution. I'm a big fan of 2D fighting games and RPGs so it just felt too good to be through. The other systems I knew related to this (Thrash, Final Stand, Mortal Konquest) were free, so it took me a while to check it out since this one wasn't. It is very good, though. It covers everything in fighting games in one way or the other. Control is a very good abstraction to represent something other games don't tend to worry about - how hard it is to perform a given move. The list of elements is very rich and almost intimidating, allowing you to make any move you can think about. This can be a bad thing, though - there are so many options you might end up taking forever to choose something. The system steps dice up and down and while mathematically good, it can be a bit confusing, specially since the progression is not only in die sizes, adding a +1 here and there. Overall, it doesn't hurt the system, but it could be a bit better explained. Since we lack a commercial RPG for this genre ever since White Wolf dumped the (awesome) Street Fighter Storytelling Game, I would love Fight! to be very successful and stick around for a long time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fight! The Fighting Game RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Panty Explosion Perfect
Publisher: Atarashi Games
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2012 07:01:05

A good narrative game, with simple rules and good art. The art could be better in a few spots (sometimes the eyes look very very weird) and the rules look like rehashed FATE concepts, but it just fits very well, so it's not really a problem.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Panty Explosion Perfect
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Anima Prime RPG
Publisher: Berengad Games
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2012 06:59:03

In a few words: this game is awesome. The rules are simple, fast, dynamic and creative. The art is gorgeous. The writer was able to make the reading as a whole seem very fluid - you don't even feel like you're reading a rulebook. I'm one step away from changing all my ongoing games from their systems to Anima Prime. Yes, it is that good. It blew my mind and it will blow yours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Anima Prime RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sorrel in Scarlet
Publisher: Mhorann Games
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2012 02:05:55

"Sorrel in Scarlet" might be defined in a single word: refreshing. The way it handles fantasy is at once engaging, familiar and completely new. Instead of the same old rehashed plot, you get an interesting story set in an interesting world evolving in an interesting way. The one thing that keeps Sorrel from getting a 5-star is the cover. The image in the novel doesn't look like the way Sorrel is described at all and it's even a bit hard to say it's supposed to be a woman. However, the great writing more than makes up for the cover.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sorrel in Scarlet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates