DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Trail of Cthulhu: The Rending Box
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Gokce M. A. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/29/2011 01:54:57

From hands of Graham Walmsley, this adventure is a good piece of Lovecraftian Horror. If you played adventures before, this holds one or two surprises for you, I hope you kept that campaign notes. The mystery unweaves as Investigators find clues and are driven into madness. If whole series was a novel, It would be a good example of Lovecraftian Horror.

(Maybe it is, you know. Stealing Cthulhu was a good reading. No wonder he get a really good kick-start(er))

There is almost everything a Narrator wants, and there is nothing unwanted. Maybe some grotesque descriptions could help but usually, from my experiences, Narrators don't like them too much. Usually, they use their own depictions so I don't think this should be considered as minus. There is personality notes for each important NPCs that investigators may interact and from nature of Trail of Cthulhu System there is a lot of clues for them to solve.

Just turn off the lights, lit candles, put a soft but gothic music in low voice to background and start your investigation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trail of Cthulhu: The Rending Box
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Outbreak: Undead
Publisher: Hunters Books
by Gokce M. A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2011 05:10:52

Outbreak:Undead(O:U) is purely wonderful. As a game system, it isn't just for short games, also you can play a whole zombie outbreak, sure if you can survive. You never get so powerful that you don't fear zombies, but you get powerful enough to survive and have small breaks to breathe.

Solutions for most ambiguous positions like car driving, fuel consumption and stronghold resources, are well designed ad-hoc solutions. They simulate encounters very realistic, and are fast-play, learn-easy formulations.

Zombies, on the other hand, uses different rules than players. Many types of zombies are possible and they cover all-types of zombies. Templates for most common types of zombies are designed and presented in rulebook. Familiar Face and Janitor are good reminders that zombies are not about only bodies, but they are remainders of what they were before.

Character creation is easy and most common type survivors has templates designed. If you wanna play yourself that is not so hard. There is just one problem with character creation, it takes time. But character sheet is not big at all, just front page of an A4 type sheet.

GMing this game is mostly being a ruler. But that doesn't mean there is no fun. Fun of this game for GM is designing areas, planning zombie encounters and watch players shrive to survive. It is really fun, take this word to heart.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outbreak: Undead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kingdom of Nothing
Publisher: Galileo Games
by Gokce M. A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2011 02:39:10

This book has one of the most beautiful design I've ever seen. It can be read once, without hurting your eyes even using a computer to read. Using big points of letters is a good idea, and biggest reason of this book becoming 80 pages.

Kingdom of Nothing is about homeless people, who lost everything they hold dear. Yes, players are to roleplay homeless people. They try to remember their old lives, they thrive find a way, or they may vanish into shadows... to hunt other homelesses. KoN takes its base from urban legends and Industrial Revolution.

Even while you are reading introduction, you will feel that you are being sucked into setting. You use changes as dices and a plastic cup to roll them, don't you think it is fabulous?

The method defaulted to create character, forces you to create a "character". Not some numbers, statistics or a cold piece of paper. You create a human being who lost everything he loved. Also, character creation is collaborative. The other players and Narrator are to write secrets for your character. Since you are the main character here you also feel that you are shaping story, not moving in a pre-made adventure. Pre-made adventures are not bad surely, I try to emphasize this is not that way.

Since game is about you finding yourself and your old days(as a character), KoN is a noir game. It's not pitch black, but grey, far from white at first, maybe further if you don't try live better, but to see sunlight at the end of cave. It is eye hurting but beautiful. You may have one or two broken ribs, but it is totally worth it. You feel alive as a character if you go through this game enough time.

Sure, there are drawbacks of this system. It is NOISY! A hell of sound comes out, when you roll changes and it is head-hurting after a few times. There are some abusible spots, but it is hard to find and you may not see someone using it even if you play with a hundred of character. This system focuses on role-playing.

This book has all things to run a game in itself. It has both player and narrator part, and also a bestiary -this may be a wrong term-. Also good visuals, good design and a good choice of words. Pleasuring in all ways.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kingdom of Nothing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Java Joint TPB
Publisher: Kenzer & Company
by Gokce M. A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2011 02:37:12

Hey, it is time to club meeting. At Java Joint. Yeah. Sci-Fi and Fantasy. Wanna join?

I suggest that you join. All of the comic is great. There are 15 different subjects they talked about, which are important for Fantasy and Sci-Fi Literature fans. They are not real conclusions most of time, but they, you know, add another perspective. Being a compilation of back pages of Black Gate, a little lower quality is expected.

They are having good conversation about various books and all three character have their good ideas. This book is a good reading experience. I suggest everyone who likes humor and books to read this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Java Joint TPB
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bag Wars Saga TPB
Publisher: Kenzer & Company
by Gokce M. A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2011 02:34:35

Bag Wars Saga is a "compilation" of KoDT strips published before. But as said in editorial, not an ordinary one. Hilarious jokes, hideous laughters and a war between DM and players. Beside that a great idea, even if it was joke, is there waiting. I usually LMAO or facepalm as I read KoDT. But this time it was some different.

I think that if that players were my player, I would kill them. Chop into small pieces and toss into some river. But this time, I saw that players writing a story themselves. An epic story, which when to time conclude it comes, gets you into laughter so much you may die of it. A real fight of wits IMO. I said after I finished reading, "Hell, why weren't they my players?".

I have some history reading comics. At last times I were losing my passion towards them, because they didn't felt alive. There were deus ex machineas here and there, there were evil guys and heroes (also some anti-heroes) but I was like "I don't feel like reading comics.". This one was so hilariously well that renewed my hope.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bag Wars Saga TPB
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Altus Adventum 2nd Ed Rulebook
Publisher: Sacrosanct Games
by Gokce M. A. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/22/2011 00:54:52

Starting with its fabulous foreword about roleplaying games, about old ones and new ones, Altus Adventum promises us a fun and old-school roleplaying. To be different than others, author says “If you don't like a rule or just you are thinking that it will ruin fun, remove it.” Altus Adventum is a rulebook that completely gives materials to run a game.

I think I could use this system in my games. Not because it is old-school or anything, it is because I like the idea of lots of kinds of magic, and wizard fighters or rogues who doesn't only use their blades to kill. Because Altus Adventum is not a “I got a level higher” game, but a “Woohoo, because I used my lance in fights, so I'm better in that” game(I'm just saying, characters in game does not level up, but they gain xp to upgrade their skills). And because you have several types of experience, your interest in magic won't disturb your fighter way too much, yet you are not going to be skillful with weapons as a full-time fighter. This skill-based character development system, gives players to create unique character, not only in habits but also in character sheet, you possibly will not say to another character “Oops, looks like we are twins”.

Also its combat system seems a bit fun. That reflex rating and dice pool system, they are not unique but exotic. And again because I like the idea that getting nearer to real time, it hits me from my weak spot. Reflex Rating system lets a knife-wielding rogue to hit a barbarian two or three times until it slashes rogue with its gigantic axe. Also lots of strategic opportunities. I can't take myself from thinking when it is about reflex rating. But this is just because I like it, it may also be dead weight to your games. Dice pool system is for munchkins. You may create a good fighter that can slice a fly in air two pieces. A monk that can run from an asteroid. But munchkins were, munchkins are, and munchkins will be. In any system. I am a munchkin(I am proud of it) also and any rulebook will not say anything about that, because we are working legally.

Starting near of end of book, It presents a setting named Arcadia, and a sample adventure(also a bestiary), it is something good because most rulebooks don't have them and any new started game master will get confused, any experienced gamemaster will have some problems tweaking system for their setting. This is nothing new, and nothing more than it promises, but it is nothing bad, fairly good compared to lots of system and it is product of hard work of one man, despite a company. Drawings are not bad, there are some typing mistakes that can be ignored.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Altus Adventum 2nd Ed Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wraith Recon
Publisher: Mongoose
by Gokce M. A. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/08/2011 07:35:39

I'm a big fan of military SF and action movies. Wraith Recon is a great book for fans of these genres.

Wraith Recon starts with an introduction to the setting and what it means to be play a special forces member in a fantasy setting. Next chapter player races, adventurer backgrounds are introduced. Some new races such as Scorpionman, Sharkfolk and Lizardmen are interesting PC choices. Another well done aspect of this chapter is the Background Events Table. This table is cleverly done and have very interesting events. If you're looking to flesh out your character, regardless of the setting you play check this table. The third chapter deals with the WR teams equipment. SpellCom spells and Wraith Recon special weapons are introduced. It seems a little bit short. Chapter Four is on Hobgoblins, Scorpionman, Sharkfolk and Lizardmen. These races are throughly examined and this chapter is highly interesting. Designers introduce us to culture, religion and other aspects of these races. I especially liked the sharkfolk and their treatment. Chapter five is on cults and magic. In the continent of Rardarri most cultures are polytheistic. The major religions are given in this chapter. Those religions are neither good nor evil. The religions seem more realistic and can be used both as foes and allies. Praxious the god of freedom is an example to this in between state. Although Praxious promotes freedom, it also promotes rebellion and war. Praxious and its worshippers caused great pain in the continent. Another nice touch in this chapter is the difference between lax, faithful and fanatic believers. This distinction opens up a lot of role playing potential. Remaining chapters give information on the World of Nuerna, Darrick, its enemy Lorn, Torres and Wildlands. Informotion on Darrick and Lorn is very detailed. The stuff on Darrick and Lorn's army seems like they were taken from real military guides or Osprey or Jane's Defence. From uniforms to ranks everything is explained in these chapters. The backstory on Yurimov Gunther V, the Warlord of Lorn shows that there is an interesting metastory waiting to happen. Eleventh chapter is on campaigns and missions. This is a guide to generate WR missions and campaigns as name implies. There are a lot of tables so that you can create a stand alone mission fairly easily. There are also sample themes and tips for campaigns. This is another very well done chapter that could be usefull for every setting. These tips are essential for every GM. Chapter Twelve is an interesting campaign called The Heart of Tzarkesh. This campaign starts as an easy asasination mission and delves into the secrets of Wildlands. It is like a good military action movie, with spells and monsters. Overall if you like military fiction this game is for you. It is a fast paced action game, a GM can run espionage, war and even urban warfare games using this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wraith Recon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aphrodite IX #0
Publisher: Top Cow
by Gokce M. A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2011 09:52:06

As a zero issue this comic is higly interesting. I realy liked the drawings and I'm very excited to find this dated comic from 90's now. David Wohl creates an interesting setting with so few pages. Dave Finch's artwork is brilliant. Yes there are a few scantly clad ladies but this comic is very promising.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aphrodite IX #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates