DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Swords and Wizardry Complete Rulebook
Publisher: Frog God Games
by Jordan D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2020 15:24:57

I got the pdf version from the download above and I really appreciate the fact that it comes with a full complement of bookmarks, including an alphabetised list of bookmarks for every monster in the books monster manual. It's also nice that the book comes complete with it's own monster manual.

Its's a strange beast, since it's very rules light, and yet several of the rules it does have are needlessly convoluted, with a large array of tables to decide weather or not something hit, rather than simply saying 'OK, its got 15AV, so beat 15 on a D20 to hit'.

Here is how movement is calculated: 'Base movement rate divided by 3, times ten feet, is how far the character can move in one round.' Why!? Why not, 'Your movement is 15 feet. You can move 15 feet.'

I get that a large part of this whole OSR thing is that it is a re-collection and re-organisation of the original D&D rules, so it partly exists for archival/historical purposes, and is quite nice to have in that regard. The book itself also states that if you don't like a rule, feel free to either not use it or change it. So fair enough I guess. My quest continues for the perfect OSR rules. I think the plan at this point is probably to look through Vengers 'The Islands of Purple Haunted Putrescence' and then see if I feel inspired to either use his 'Crimson Dragon D20 Revised' system, or if feel like modifying 'Swords and Wizardry' so that it's more to my liking, or if neither are working for me and I need to buy 'Dungeon Crawl Classics' and see if that does the job.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Swords and Wizardry Complete Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Old School Renaissance Like A Fucking Boss
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Jordan D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2020 14:56:08

This might just as well be called 'Things I wish I knew when I started running games'. The distilled and concentrated wisdom of a veteran Dungeon Master. Venger is a legend for giving this away for free. OSR or not, if you're thinking of running a pen and paper RPG of any kind, read this first.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old School Renaissance Like A Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cha'alt Pre-Generated
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Jordan D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2020 14:43:52

Definitely helps to see a few example characters for Vengers 'Crimson Dragon Slayer' system. It might have made more sense from a logical perspective to sell this as a Crimson Dragon Slayer supplement, but then again I can see how he wants to focus everything on his latest baby, the Cha'alt adventure. Would recommend this as pretty much essential if you want to give his Crimson Dragon Slayer system a go, for as much as I admire the zen like simplicity of that rule book, it is rather lacking in examples.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt Pre-Generated
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Crimson Dragon Slayer D20 Revised
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Jordan D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2020 16:29:00

Mentions 'HD' several times but doesn't explain what it is. I felt like I was rather out of the loop here. Most of my pen and paper experience comes from 4th Edition DnD, and Dark Heresy 1st and 2nd Edition, and 'HD' as a stat/gaming convention just wasn't ringing any bells for me. Found an article online after a solid hour of searching: 'For those of you joining us from other editions, "HD" are actually Hit Dice, the total number of d8s rolled to calculate a creature's Hit Points.' So yea, Venger should probably 'revise' again, for players who aren't seasoned grognards like himself ;p. Other than that I thought these rules were a beautifully elegant condensation of the core concepts of pen and paper roll playing. 9/10



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crimson Dragon Slayer D20 Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, hoss! Sorry about the HD / Hit-Dice confusion. I've been playing for so long that I sometimes forget what's obvious to a veteran like myself. ;)
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Jordan D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2019 14:26:51

Well, I tested it out on my niece and it seemed to work well enough for her, she managed with the advanced rules just fine. In fact the advanced rules quickly became necessary, as the wanted her princess to have powers, which requires the intermediate level rules, and she said she wanted to try and open one of the barrels in the first room, which requires some of the "advanced" rules. I was planning on just doing the first room of the "Basement O Rats" adventure that came with it, but she stayed interested long enough to want to do the next 2 rooms as well, and then said she wanted to make her own game, so I let her do that.

I changed the story of "Basement O Rats" a little, which is easy to do since the story is very simple; just one short paragraph at the start of the adventure, and one equally short paragraph at the start and finish of each room. This makes it easy to customize, adapt, and make stuff up on the fly. I think more adult pen and paper games could learn from this.

I made the story more princess focused, and she seemed to appreciate this. I had made Flame Princess (Adventure Time reference) and asked her if she wanted to play as her, or if she would rather make her own character, and she wanted to make her own (whom she called Pumpkin Princess), so I took her through the character creation process without too much trouble, by asking her a series of questions about what sort of princess powers she wanted to have. She seemed to want me to make a character to play as too, not wanting Pumpkin Princess to adventure alone, so I used Flame Princess as my avatar and we set forth to rescue our princess friend, Ice Cream Princess. Other than that we kept the story line the same.

Since I was only expecting to play the first map, that was the only one I had copied out in pencil. She helped me draw the other maps as we played them, adding innovative features like barrels of ice cream horded underground by the giant rats, and holes in the ground that we needed to jump over. I think my having a character to play as actually helped her understand how to play the game, even though making your own character is normally considered a faux par for the "GM" in pen and paper games (and for good reason) it was what she wanted, and it seemed to work.

I followed the books advice about having the baddies run away when defeated, rather than being killed, but she often declared that she had killed them anyway ¯_(ツ)_/¯

Having finished "Basement O Rats" in two sessions I am quite happy with how it went.

The base rules are indeed very simple, with lots of optional extra rules for older children that can be added on in a modular fashion as and when they are ready for it.

All you need is a copy of this book, at least one d6, a pencil, an eraser, and some paper.

5 extra d6 will make things go more smoothly.

A printer plus the pdf version of this book will save some time if you or the players don't like to scribble things out by hand too much.

Has helpful advice on keeping young players with short attention spans engaged.

No addition or subtraction, everything is done just by comparing dice, a very elegant system.

Uses a grid system to measure distances, so you will either need to draw a grid on a sheet of paper (doesn't take long) or print and play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Heresy: Game Master's Kit
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Derpy H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2018 02:59:57

The quick reference tables are incredibly useful both as a GM and as a player.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: Game Master's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Heresy Second Edition: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Derpy H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2018 14:02:26

This is an improvement over the first edition in several ways. Firebombs are now balanced, and the expantion for creating Sisters of Battle is more balanced too. Character creation and development takes longer, but is way more balanced and gives way more freedom. Rules are a little more streamlined, and far better organised for ease of navigation. Exploding dice are gone, but the more streamlined crit system can still ruin your day.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy Second Edition: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Heresy Second Edition: Game Master's Kit
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Derpy H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2018 13:55:20

This is a realy useful quick reference, use it alot. The adventure that comes with it is a nice bonus.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy Second Edition: Game Master's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Within
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Derpy H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2018 13:52:01

You get rules for playing as a Battle Sister. They are even well balanced. What more do you want?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Within
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates