DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
 
$0.00
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
196 53
60 11
22 5
5 1
3 0
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Click to view
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Bradley G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2019 15:59:32

I was really happy with the speed of the printing and delivery of the book and other than a small stain on one page that bled onto the next page i was really happy with the overall conditions the book arrived in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by pirata n. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2019 13:06:25

Really great scifi sandbox creator game. In this free book, you have the tools for creating your own universe, full of wreid and fun things. The sistem is caind of simple...but thats life. The perfect game, dosent exits.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Michel V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2019 05:46:45

Real fun Space snadbox RPG which has ample tools for a GM to use to set up the galaxy. The second version is improved.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 09:49:41

This is a great open ended system that you can make as complex as you want! I have been using it to run adventures. Any flavor of sci-fi can be used but beward at the lower levels, unless you choose the "heroic characters" option, you are in the default "gritty" setting where you can die early.

I got this after watching Adam Koebel on RollPlay. I am running a game on Roll20 and love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2018 21:38:39

The book re-uses many of the familiar tropes in tabletop RPGs. I think that Stars Without Number does an excellent job of not only remaining faithful to those tropes, but to add its own flavor into the mix. The storylines involving the use of psychics to effect interstellar space, with a unique twist, was my favorite bit.

"Magic" is kinda Vancian. Ability scores are based on D&D (Strength, Charisma, etc). The encounter generation table is quite useful, even outside of this setting.

I'd recommend this book. You should download it. And why not? It's free. Even if you don't run an encounter using this setting, there's enough material here that it can be inserted into almost any Sci-Fi based rules system, like Serenity, RIFTS, or Starfinder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Goran E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2018 15:58:51

Massive work with lots of nice details. It is really designed with a sandbox look at the game universe and it gives a lot of help to maintain the game world feeling right)

System is accessible and coherent. Stats on 3-18 and the usual bonused at both end of that scale.

Character creation is limited to basic classes with a very "old D&D" feeling in a science-fiction setting.

Book gives plenty of ways to add things to a campaign (factions etc), like Traveller and its offsprings but in an easier way.

If i have a complain it would be that' i'd like to have more objects, artefacts and psionics

However, I really llike it.

Best free SF DL I got ever.

Will play it soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2017 12:28:46

'Traveler through the lens of a retro-clone'.

3 Classes to choose from (Warrior, Expert, and, Psychic). Lots of Gear, Starship Rules. A fast and simple core mechanic. All the basics are covered right there.

The best part of the product is the Planet, Alien, and Faction Generators and Rules. Very similar to Traveller in that regard but tweaked enough to make the purchase worthwhile for fans of that kind of game.

Also includes a very limited setting, and an essay on 'Sandbox Play' which is interesting if potentially controversial.

The art is black and white and pretty basic. The PDF is bookmarked



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Ian N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2017 20:24:30

A big and detailed book explaining all the rules for playing Stars Without Number, a great sci-fi game with elements of old-school D&D. The book includes tons of help for new GMs as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Alex F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2016 15:53:52

Nice flavour, but overall a sloppy and unfinished looking product. It had good ideas but combined them with an iniability to artciulate them well and make them flow.

Plus it had agod-awful system that was trying to be 'retro' and instead felt cruede and unfinished. The Psionics system was particualrily clunky and felt poorly implmented, like it was bolted on at a later stage.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by jimi r. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2016 22:33:59

It had some readability issues and could have used another pass or two by an editor but once I got the hang of it the system itself is very good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Hugh A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2016 07:34:34

An "old school" space opera game with an intriguing mechanism for generating a campaign background. Stars without number is an ideal light to medium weight RPG not least as the price is right so that every player can have a copy of the rules to refer to which can also spark story ideas from other players. On the downside there is no real explanation of how much experience points to reward characters with in a given situation, leaving it to the referees discretion. A good solution could be to encourage PCs to define their goals and reward them for meeting these.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by mark b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2016 08:15:20

Amazingly well done. Written well enough to start quickly but with the required depth of material to maintain your interest. Even better there is a significant amount of additional material that adds depth to the game in key areas. Of interest this game has been noted to be one of the best solo/solitary RPG's and is played extensively in that community (myself included!). I believe SWN is both so well designed and such an open sandbox universe that any play style is facilitated. Oh, and if your still not sure, give it a read through, its free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Alex L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2016 16:19:14

Excellent product. I have had no issues with the scan quality or file download. It was a quick and painless acquisition. I've been through it dozens of times already and have seen no issues. It is also a huge help as I just started playing in a campaign of Stars Without Number and we only had one book between all 6 of us. Thank you for the time and care spent making sure we get the best product possible.

- Alex

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by RP F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2016 13:19:47

I absolutely love this one! It's easy to learn and brings a lot of freedom. It's a sandbox rpg so you can make whatever you want. And it's populair so there are a lot of generatots and automated excel sheets and all on the internet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Carl O. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2015 02:19:18

Pretty good, most of it is explained well and you honestly get more info than you expect from a 'free edition'. There are a couple of minor issues, for example psychics have their info all over the place, so could be a bit more organized.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 70 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates