DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
43AD - Roleplaying in Roman Britain
Publisher: Zozer Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 04:18:22

A really in-depth treatment of the setting. Personally, I like picking the combat effects after rolling, the way armour work, the system for advancement, the simple way the game handles the importance of advantages, how magic is powered... and did I mention the work that went in the setting? It's a splendid game indeed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
43AD - Roleplaying in Roman Britain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warband
Publisher: Zozer Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 04:14:21

A really in-depth treatment of British tribes at the time. Since they're part and parcel of 43 A.D., this supplement can help a GM (or rather, a Referee) that wants to run a Roman miliitary campaign set in these times, and be sure they're getting the NPCs "just right". Or you can just raid your enemies and steal their cattle!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warband
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nights of the Crusades
Publisher: Aetheric Dreams
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 03:54:03

A very interesting game, and not just because it does a better-than-average job in introducing the setting! It's got some interesting mechanics as well. The rules for telling a story are a touch of brilliance in a setting inspired where 1001 Nights are an important cultural artefact! And it's free, so why don't you all download it and see for yourself?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nights of the Crusades
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2012 15:14:29

Very good game, which didn't get the attention it deserves. WARNING, I'm assuming you have and use the errata file. Don't know why FFG aren't offering it as a free download, but it's relatively easy to find on the Net. If you're not using it, the rules are a mess. That said, I like the mechanics. It's giving a very authentic feeling, and is one of the first games to solve both the issues of using mental actions in combat, and the issue of a character attempting multiple actions at once. Add to it playing in both modern-day London, and in the Mythic time, and you get a very entertaining game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Publisher: Burning Wheel
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2012 09:05:12

I'm going to disagree with all the other reviewers so far. No, it's not unpalyable game - keeping in mind it's obviously meant to be a preview! Simply put, you don't need a starting adventure included in order to play a short scenario. The adventure is obviously meant to consist of the GM challenging the Beliefs, Traits and Instincts of the PCs. You don't need the section on combat, either. Combat can be just an opposed test, with set stakes. Yes, that's per the RAW of the game - it tells you to only use the tactical rules when the opposed roll isn't dramatic enough. For a short adventure, you're probably not going to miss them. So, all in all, I was able to try the game - keeping in mind it's just the basic rules, what you'd put in a quickstart. All I can tell is that the quality is impressive. I'm only sorry the full BW Gold rules aren't up for download. But that's a different story, and has no bearing upon the "BWG: Hub and Spokes" as a product. As it is, it gave me a good idea of what to expect from the full BWG rules. I happen to like what I saw. Some people are bound to disagree.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RuneQuest II
Publisher: Mongoose
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2011 17:33:39

That's definitely one of the best combat systems on the market. It's not rules-light, but it's solidly rules-medium. The combat manoeuvres are a nice touch, and add a lot of flavour. True, the skills could stand to be a bit more detailed, as well as the skill improvement rules. However, that's purely down to preferences! For many others, it could be just the right amount of detail.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2011 19:05:24

It's a very nice product. The setting rules are a nice addition to the Savage Worlds rules and really fit the genre. I especially appreciated the Random adventure generator. It waves some nice plots and allows you to prepare a basic plot in minutes. Then you thrust the characters in it, and wait for the action to start. Normal GMing, just made easier. I also really appreciated the attention to politics between Red Martian cities and other races. Obviously, these give you even more plots waiting to happen. And it's a good thing that the Earthmen aren't totally overwhelming, like they would be in an ERB books. This way, you can have a nice mixed party. All in all, I have only good words for this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vikings
Publisher: Design Mechanism
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2011 14:16:54

That's a great supplement for any historical campaign, not just a Viking one! The supplement has three strong points. First, it discusses how to create a historical campaign, and gives an overview of possible problem and the different solutions. You are free to pick what works best for your group and playing style. With it, you can run a game that's as close to history as you want, or one that only uses the Viking age as a backdrop. But this backdrop will feel real! Second, it gives you a wealth of information on the daily life, the impact of customs - and why these were created in the first place - and the way people from this age used to THINK. This way, it is an invaluable resource for both GMs and players who want their Viking PCs to feel like more than "modern people in the viking age". It's all there, customs, religion, beliefs, and the way society works. Third, Pete Nash manages to present the information in a way that's more fun to read than many fantasy books! It's not like a manual, more like a good novel. Examples from the sagas help a lot, too, and add a nice touch. Now, there are minor inconsistencies in the historical information - or at least things I've been taught differently in history lessons - but they're so tiny they are not worth mentioning. If your campaign goes to other regions, you would do well to look for other supplements. But the Northern Europe of that time feels real, and any mistakes I have noticed are unlikely to affect a game to any great extent! And maybe I should check my own sources again? Either way, that's the only problem I have noticed, and it doesn't actually make this supplement worse! The main advantages of this supplement are not affected in any way. In short, I give it five stars, which should give you an idea how good I think this supplement is!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vikings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 38 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates