DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Deadly Seven
Publisher: paNik productions
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2012 16:33:23

I honestly have to say Panik Productions goes the extra mile here. It’s meant to be used with any system, but there’s already THREE versions of each the book and NPC/enemy character stat sheets, one written for each of the d20 Modern, True20, and Savage Worlds systems. It’s appreciated to have options ready right out of the gate. The included 5 maps have layers to turn on and off a grid, the cars, furniture, or the room labels. They are nicely detailed, and general enough to be used over and over. There’s also “clue cards” that are great to add to the immersion for the players, giving them something to hold, study, and sort when trying to figure out what to ask/do/try next. The book itself is organized well with both overt and subtle threats. There’s timelines for the overarching story, a relationship chart that easily shows all the connections, and motives and emotions explained for the NPCs, both big and small. Later there are further ideas and explanations for expanding upon what’s given.
A brand new GM may have trouble with the behind-the-scenes stuff that can be challenging to keep track of – but if you’re not worried about “off-screen” NPCs having actions and consequences dependent on in-game outcomes, and just run everything straight, then there shouldn’t be any problems. Furthermore, although conflict can come up a-plenty, it’s not really what this module is about, and therefore may not be best used with more combat-oriented players. There’s a lot of time that will be spent investigating, discussing, planning, and engaging in dialog, and someone just looking for a good smash-‘em-up will bore easily. But I love the theme, the NPC characters have personality that you’re able to run with, the battles are appropriate with guidelines to make them scalable, and it’s just exciting to read all the ideas and want to expose the players, little by little, to what’s happening around them. Easily the best buy I’ve gotten here in a long time, and I’d recommend it to anyone looking for something new to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Deadly Seven
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2012 16:09:47

Just a quick FYI, these rules are actually slightly outdated. What this rulebook really provides is the background setting and great history about the world.

It also included a nice painting guide and army guides for building your units.

But the rules have since been updated, and you'll need the Heavy Gear Blitz! Field Manual for that. I would consider this a supplement with great fluff and some painting guidance. But it's free now, so perfect!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

YotZ:Survivors guide back issues 0-3 [BUNDLE]
Publisher: UKG Publishing
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2012 16:01:25

I will quickly support what the above reviewer has said, with an update and short additional comments.

Firstly, I've come to love every piece of work UKG Publishing puts out. If you're a fan of zombies, their Year of the Zombie series is by far the best supplemental material I've found for the kind of games I like to run and play.

These issues, and all the future ones as well (which ARE available now), do three things incredibly well: 1) They always start off with a short narrative describing ongoing characters and a setting. It really gets you in the mood to play. 2) The environments, new classes, weapons and equipment, is all very appropriate and well-designed for adding to a zombie campaign. 3) There's always a nice map or two, plus a few great NPCs or baddies, for you to use.

Long story short, there's some great fluff here, but the most important part is that these ALWAYS have some REAL, USABLE materials for your game. Cleanly made, top-down, gridded maps, that are detailed and tell a story by themselves.

My only complaints - proofreading. I really do understand how easy it is to miss bad grammar and spellings, even after proofreading your work multiple times, but there's still glaring mistakes that pop out here and there. It's true, it may just be me, and it probably won't bother most people, but it's these little hiccups that prevent them from being truly polished writing.

But what are you doing here for good fiction? Buy this pack, and all the rest, because they have all the crunchy goodness you need to run some great zomb-apoc games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
YotZ:Survivors guide back issues 0-3 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Survival Horror Set 1: Last Man Standing
Publisher: DARKMOOK Paper Miniatures
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2012 15:37:41

Great little pack of paper figs. I personally prefer two-sided figs that can be cut out along their silhouette, rather than just rectangles with tons of white around the graphic, and these do that well.

The monster has a nice size and feel to him, easy to use in a variety of games. The color works well, everything has a nice resolution, and I guess if I had to ask for something more it'd maybe be an additional color palette or two for him, but meh.

The zombies have a couple different poses in two different colors. Not SUPER variable, but it works perfect for, say, an entire security team being zombified. They have a unified look, so it works well for that but maybe not for a setting where the zombies weren't all apart of the same group while alive.

The hero dude - okay enough. I've said before, I'm not really into his pose, but I guess it's a little tongue-in-cheek, Ash Williams look.

Darkmook likes having a bloodied option for the characters, and this is nice if you want to switch out the figs to show significant damage, or if you just like the look. Added value there.

For four bucks these are great for a lot of different games, and are variable enough not to be boring.

Additional thoughts:

DarkMook has a great, easy base design for their standees. My only complaint about these is that they're kind of specific and not incredibly varied (all pretty much concrete with or without yellow lines or blood). That IS incredibly appropriate for the theme of the pack, don't get me wrong, but I think I'd also rather see more general bases given (or maybe coming out with a free base pack of plain-ish ones). I'm thinking a simple pattern here, or some drab color, obviously there's always the plain white ones. Maybe even dirt, grass, etc ones in the future.

AH! Idea - I'd love to see these bases made in contrasting, solid colors, so you could label PC figs. Just an idea for the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Survival Horror Set 1: Last Man Standing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Survival Horror Set 4: Dog Days
Publisher: DARKMOOK Paper Miniatures
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2012 15:19:56

Long and short of it, this is an excellent small set of paper zombie dogs for any horror campaign. As such, this review will be pretty cut and dry:

The good: For what they are, the dogs are nicely detailed. Not overly so, but plenty enough for some nice tokens/standees. The variety of colors is nice, also, since it means all 4 dogs of your pack attacking the PCs aren't all the same. Bonus, the colors are different enough that you can still tell the difference if they're printed B&W.

The bad: Well, they're all the same design with different color palettes, aren't they? To be honest that's really not horrible, it's 3 bucks, after all. I'd love to see different poses, or even different positions of the wounds, but I'm not too sore about it because what's there is good and the colors are good, so I'm good with where it's at.

The ugly: The dude. Well, he's fine, I'm just not all about his pose (he kind of has that constant "Oh $%@# falling backward!" look to him). Somewhat humorous, I guess. And he's just the same as the one in the The Last Man Standing set but with a coat. I guess I'd rather they'd went ahead and either put a new guy, new pose, or just left him out and made this a zombie dog pack, since if you combine it with the other you're likely to just waste one of these guys since he's redundant. (Unless you like the idea of playing dress-up with him - "Well, it's cold outside, so I'll go ahead put his coat on" [switches minis] ).

Bonus: it's very easy to do some photo-editing to remove the zombie-wounds if you want to have regular dogs (or be sneaky, and let your PCs think they're regular-NOPE gotcha' they're zombified!), which is something you really can't do with most other zombified things. So really, this pack is even more value.

TLDR: Excellent, easy to use, builds nicely, come here for cheap dogs for your game, zombified or otherwise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Survival Horror Set 4: Dog Days
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Silvervine Games - Kings of Earth Penny Dreadful 1
Publisher: Terrapin Foundries
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2011 11:04:19

This surprised me how well-written and entertaining it was. There are only a few minor hiccups in the prose, but they're easily overlooked, and I'm certainly not any better, not even close.

The story is an incredible way to introduce the world of Cyrus, allowing the reader to slowly be drawn into it at the same time as the protagonist. A 30-40min read at the most, but entertaining and well worth the time.

Simply put, I'd highly recommend anyone wanting to play a Silvervine game to give this short read a go first. Not to mention, I've been following the development of the book, and have loved playing and GMing the game as much as I can.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Silvervine Games - Kings of Earth Penny Dreadful 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Silvervine Games Quick Character Creation Guide Cyrus
Publisher: Terrapin Foundries
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2011 10:57:56

Very simple to follow character creation guide. The best part of this is the scrap/cheat sheet you can use to take your creation notes and keep track of spent XP. A piece of notebook paper works well for this, like we all do normally, but the chart and such provided makes it more intuitive. The guide is really only useful for newer players, but I'll use the scrap sheet for every character regardless.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Silvervine Games Quick Character Creation Guide Cyrus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Weapon Focus: Improvised Modern Weapons
Publisher: Aleph Gaming
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2008 20:14:21

This was a neat little pamphlet that further extended what was shortly touched on in the d20 Core Rulebook. For a whole $1.50 without any tax or shipping, it's definitely worth getting just to have one your computer, or spend an extra buck in ink to print and have it on hand for any time your PCs are in a "situation" and ask you "What do I see around me?"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weapon Focus: Improvised Modern Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Weapon Focus: Complete Riot Control [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Aleph Gaming
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2008 20:11:37

I liked this bundle of a couple short pamphlets, and although I haven't used any in-game yet, I like the ideas and stats that were presented. There were non-lethal weapons I haven't heard of, although I'm still a little confused as to what a couple things (ADS-something grenades and CS ammo) actually were. The cheap price was also accurate for what you got - 10 pages of simple stuff without any tax or shipping involved. The bundle itself is nicely priced, but it would also have been nice just to have seen both together in the same comprehensive pamphlet as one long table, and then the descriptions coming after it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weapon Focus: Complete Riot Control [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Weapon Focus: High Tech Riot Control
Publisher: Aleph Gaming
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2008 20:10:08

I liked this short pamphlet, and although I haven't used it in-game yet, I like the ideas and stats that were presented. There were non-lethal weapons I haven't heard of, although I'm still a little confused as to what a couple things (ADS-something grenades and CS ammo) actually were. The cheap price was also accurate for what you got - 10 pages of simple stuff without any tax or shipping involved. It's nice this and the other Riot Control Weapon Focus came in a bundle, but it would also have been nice just to have seen both together in the same pamphlet as one long table, and then the descriptions coming after it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weapon Focus: High Tech Riot Control
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Weapon Focus: Riot Control
Publisher: Aleph Gaming
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2008 20:08:50

I liked this short pamphlet, and although I haven't used it in-game yet, I like the ideas and stats that were presented. There were non-lethal weapons I haven't heard of, although I'm still a little confused as to what a couple things (ADS-something grenades and CS ammo) actually were. The cheap price was also accurate for what you got - 10 pages of simple stuff without any tax or shipping involved. It's nice this and the other High Tech Riot Control Weapon Focus came in a bundle, but it would also have been nice just to have seen both together in the same pamphlet as one long table, and then the descriptions coming after it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weapon Focus: Riot Control
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates