DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
QUERP - 2nd Edition
 
$5.00
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 8
3 2
1 0
2 0
0 0
QUERP - 2nd Edition
Click to view
QUERP - 2nd Edition
Publisher: Greywood Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2013 08:42:24

I do like Greywood publishing for their Fighting Fantasy & Sorcery books.

I then decided, after reading the reviews, to give this PDF a look at.

This PDF has both a printer friendly (72 pages) and a colour version (74 pages), although, each has a slightly different table of contents (judging by the numbers).

The artwork isn't too bad. I've noticed the supplements are between £4-£5 each, which could easily amount to £20+ if I want to buy the others. One at a time I think.

The system itself seems quite easy to pick up. Quite good for beginners.

Not a bad system for £3.31.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - 2nd Edition
Publisher: Greywood Publishing
by Alessio S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2012 16:28:52

The best fantasy rules-lite system until now. I've started playing QUERP Modern and I've bought QUERP 2 just for curiosity but, after having read it, I've forgot all my attempts to resurrect old system as Basic D&D and similar retro-clone. I'm satisfied: great idea the Character Types, very useful to start in few minutes any fantasy adventure. Highly recommended for beginners or simoly for masters and players tired of tons of pages of rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - 2nd Edition
Publisher: Greywood Publishing
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2010 11:57:57

This game is the very definition of "pick up and play" fantasy role playing. It will appeal to players of games with simple universally adaptable common-sense mechanics (like T&T, Fighting Fantasy-AFF or scaled down rule systems, WHQ). The beauty of systems like these is that it is also very easy to modify the rules to suit a campaign or special setting. Perfect for a Sunday afternoon dungeon crawl.

The layout is slick, professional and easy on the eye. Ace.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - 2nd Edition
Publisher: Greywood Publishing
by John D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2010 23:25:20

I have to say that this is one of the better rules light systems I have played. Very easy to get into and easy to GM. It has everything you need to get into the game and play and allows you to concentrate on the fun side of the game, the story telling.

I introduced my 12 year old son and 15 year old daughter to the game and after an hour of reading the rules I made them up a character and we played the intro adventure. They are now hooked and are clamouring for more. I thoughly enjoyed the game as well.

The rules are easy to house rule to a bit more depth - both my children wanted Fighting and Stealth broken down into different categories (eg Melee, Missile, Thrown / Locks&Traps, Hide, Search&Track) which was eays to do without breaking the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - 2nd Edition
Publisher: Greywood Publishing
by Trevor C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2009 00:36:50

QUERP is a truly surprising little RPG. It has all of the basics that you need to have a fun fantasy romp without bogging down gameplay with needless complications. The game system is simple but complete enough to cover all of the classic fantasy adventure you can throw a goblin at. The provided character classes do an excellent job of giving special abilities to each class to provide each an iconic feel without getting complicated. This game really captures that classic "red box" feeling without being a retro-clone by being both classic & original. Now admittedly QUERP does not do anything revolutionary with it's ruleset but it definitely delivers on it's promise of being quick & easy while also managing to be a lot of fun. Another thing worth mentioning is that since the game system is built on such an easy to digest & logical set of rules, it practically invites custom character classes if for some reason the 6 provided classes aren't good enough for you. This is one game that is worth a lot more than the $5 asking price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - 2nd Edition
Publisher: Greywood Publishing
by Miguel d. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2009 09:59:58

Just as it says, QUERP is light rules system that catches all the feel of old school gaming but in a much simpler, straight-forward package. I think there are just not enough spells to make the magic-users happy, but that's somehow compensate by the fact that beginning wizards are much more powerful than its classic counterparts.

A recommended product for older gamers who want to introduce their children to the hobby.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - 2nd Edition
Publisher: Greywood Publishing
by Tony K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2009 06:25:53

I have been looking for a rules-lite fantasy system to play with my kids but also real-time online play with my old gaming group. I have downloaded and have read and/or trialled BASH, Broadsword-1PG, Barbarians of Lemuria, Iron Gauntlets, Quick20, Tri-Stat, Legends RPG, Labyrinth Lord, Hack-n-Slash, Swords and Wizardry and even the Fantasy Trip; but nothing really clicked. However QUERP clicked very quickly within 3-4 pages with its simplicity, but also its hidden but programmed expandability with the Player's Companion and the Bestiary.

The Team at Greywood Publishing have done a great job providing an RPG system with simple mechanics using 2d6 that is very easy to understand for kids and newcomers. After players and the game master have mastered the basics, they then can utilise the additional supplements for deeper character creation, skills, spells and bestiary options. I am looking forward to the upcoming GM's Companion and the Hammerax campaign setting to round out this fine game system.

My suggestion is that if you are interested in this system get the bundle that includes the Prisoner of Zontar, as you will find the supplements very valuable, especially if you are porting DnD/OGL adventures into QUERP as I am.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - 2nd Edition
Publisher: Greywood Publishing
by Vernon F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2009 20:31:09

Having grown weary of the D20 system and not liking 4E D&D's grid and miniatures combat, I wanted to return to the simple frpg style of play that I enjoyed in the '80s and '90s but did not want to use the somewhat dated game mechanics of that era. QUERP fills the bill nicely as a rules lite frpg.

Designed around a simple, intuitive, mechanic (2d6 + modifiers vs. Difficulty), QUERP delivers fast play and easy resolution of combat and non-combat encounters. The game works well as an introductory set of rules for a young person, a tool to teach the elements of role playing to someone unfamiliar with rpgs, a set of rules for a quick game, or as the core rules for an experienced game master who looking for a system that can be easily house-ruled to his tastes.

The 70 page book contains six character classes (Warrior, Priest, Magician, Thief, Barbarian, and Sage), rules for playing the game, a short bestiary, treasure tables, a solo adventure, and a group adventure. It is written in a clear, user-friendly style that conveys the rules without getting bogged down in game jargon.

Currently, I'm using QUERP to run a game set in Columbia Games' HARN campaign setting using elements from my old 1E AD&D modules. The system is a breeze to run and my players are actually thinking of their characters' motivations rather than worried if they have min-maxed their stats, skills, and feats.

I highly recommend this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - 2nd Edition
Publisher: Greywood Publishing
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/26/2009 09:56:17

Being intended, at least in part, for newcomers to role-playing, the Introduction launches with the obligatory discussion of 'what is roleplaying?' - including that while the GM is not playing to 'win' he can consider himself a winner if the group has fun! It also has an overview of the book and details of what you need to play - chiefly, some people and a handful of d6s - no other dice are required.

The first part is titled For The Players, and dives straight in to how characters are created. To start with, each character has six characteristics - fighting, magic, strength, charisma, stealth and knowledge - each of which has a value between 0 and 10. Then comes the six main character types - warrior, magician, barbarian, priest, thief and sage - and each of these has a base set of characteristics and some other information, the special rules that apply to characters of that type. All characters also need a score in Health and in Mana, and a Defence Rating which has a base of 10 and increases if you have armour or a shield. Using characteristics in play is simple, when asked to make, for example, a Strength roll you just roll 2d6 and add your Strength characteristic to get a result, the higher the better, which is matched against a GM-set difficulty.

Next comes that all-important bit: how combat works. It's pretty simple. At the beginning of combat everyone involved rolls 2d6 to determine initiative, then the combat proceeds with everyone taking turns according to that order. Each turn you can do one thing, generally cast a spell, use an item, move or run away. If you choose to fight, then you roll against your opponent's Defence Rating (using your Fighting characteristic), and if you connect you do 1d6 damage, plus a modifier based on the weapon you're using. Nice and simple!

While a few weapons were listed under combat, a character is likely to pick up some other equipment as well and a selection is given next. Money is simple with gold, silver and copper coins being available. Encumbrance is handled very simply by adding the number of items carried (100 coins of any type count as an item) and comparing it to a number equal to 10 plus your Strength. Finally, the Player's section explains how characters can be improved during play. And that's it. Simple, straightforward and yet hangs together well.

So, on to the second section For the Gamesmaster. This starts off by explaining how to set difficulties for the players to roll against. Next, how to handle non-standard characters, if you choose to allow them at all, and thence on to a discussion of the way to deal with the common situations that are likely to occur during play. Things ranging from climbing walls and opening doors to bribery attempts and even eating and sleeping. After a brief note on experience, a number of fantasy monsters are introduced: after all, those characters do need some opposition! Dwarves and elves turn up here, the base assumption must be that all player-characters are going to be human but it wouldn't be too hard to make such other races available to the players if you so choose. Appropriately, after the monsters comes treasure. Loot available includes plenty of magic: scrolls, potions, and of course magical weapons and armour.

That's the rules done and dusted. Just about all the elements of a standard fantasy game reduced to utter simplicity - excellent for the stated intentions of an introduction to role-playing for beginners or a quick and easy game to be played by anyone who perhaps is short on time and just wants to get on with the game without having to spend ages on character generation or, once they've started play, with complex rules for doing things.

Two scenarios are also included. One, Min's Pearls, is intended to be played solo game-book style, and involves the recovery of some pearls stolen from a young lady called Min during a street robbery. It's a simple introdution to the rules, and about my only comment is that the PDF version could use hyperlinking to avoid an awful lot of scrolling back and forth on screen. For all that, there's a fair amount going on and plenty to do. The other adventure, Tomb of the Warlord, is designed for a GM and some players and concerns rumours of treasure to be found in some long-dead warlord's tomb. There's a nice clear map of the place and well-referenced descriptions of everything therein, with everything explained so that a novice GM should be able to cope. Again it is a neat and straightforward 'dungeon crawl' with plenty of opportunity for both combat and working out what to do, and even a bit of conversation - a good introduction to both this particular ruleset and to the concepts of role-playing in general. For those who want to jump straight in, some sample characters are provided; and there's a blank character sheet as well.

As an introduction to role-playing, this is unmatched as a simple yet playable ruleset clearly explained and well-demonstrated in the scenario provided - with my teacher head on, I'd use this if I could find a way to wangle role-playing into the college programme!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - 2nd Edition
Publisher: Greywood Publishing
by Mike H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2008 08:05:25

Here's an interesting find - a small press role-playing game with big-dollar production aspirations but a tiny-dollar price tag. $5.00 nice.

This is an old school fantasy role-playing game with elements that will be very familiar to old-school players and possibly a pleasant and easy ride into the hobby for new recruits both young and old.

Each class has a series of fixed characteristics; under the basic rules all warriors have a strength score of 5, for example. The upside of this design decision is that characters are created in just a few short minutes... If one dies, we'll mourn the loss but we'll cook up a replacement quick smart (as we say down-under).

Aside from warriors there are magicians, barbarians, priests, sages, thieves and more. In short the perfect cast of characters for fast-play adventure.

The game system is very straight forward: the GM assigns a difficulty and the player attempts to equal or exceed the difficulty rating with a roll of 2 six-sided dice, to which the relevant attribute is added. In combat situations, the difficulty number is the target's defence rating. A hit results in damage, which is determined by a random die-roll based on weapon type.

For a game of just 74 pages, there is a huge about of information here, magic items, lots of monsters, spot rules for common situations, character advancement and not one but 2 adventures; one mid-length solo and a damn fine group game.

This is genuinely a high quality game that covers its subject matter perfectly.

I would recommend QUERP to buyers looking for a quick and easy game to supplement their existing RPG or an excellent way of introducing new players to the table.

I'm keen to see what Greywood do with the Hammerax setting. If managed well the background material could provide a compelling argument to become involved.

One final note: QUERP2 is a visual overhaul of the first edition. However, it now looks so beautiful, I can easily see owners of Q1 shelling out $5.00 for a shiny new copy. Additionally, the publisher advises me that purchasers will also have access to a printer-friendly version of the game, something surprisingly few PDF publishers offer.

Enjoy!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates