DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Old School Tactical
Publisher: Flying Pig Games
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2016 07:54:11

I could only give this product 4 stars because of the issues noted. I purchased OST pnp version expecting a polished product for the $25.00 cost, considering that it would cost another $30.00-$40.00, to have everything (especially the maps) printed. The first thing I noticed, was that the pnp version is missing Map3 (Stalingrad), so the scenarios using this map cannot be played. That particular map is mentioned in the contents of the game, and was a large incentive in convincing me to purchase the product at that cost. Since there were no special printing instructions, I printed the counters, with the default setting, on regular US letter (8.5 x 11 in.) using a color laser printer. Each page printed with a large blank margin at the top of the page, cutting off a portion of one row of counters at the bottom of the page. After this mistake, I purposely paid attention and was able to set the correct margins on the page and the counters printed fine. Further, Unit Data Card 6 has a single German truck with the rest of the cards being Soviet units. When printing the back of the card(s), the German cross was printed on the back of a Russian unit and the German truck got a Soviet Red Star. I re-printed just the backs of the cards and cut-out the backs needed and glued them on the back of the cards with the errors. When reading the Scenarios, I got confused as to the actual starting forces for each side and the reinforcements, since they stated that the starting forces would enter the map on turn (), and the reinforcement would enter on turn (). As an example, for the last Scenario "The Hedgehog", for the Germans, it states "Startup Turn 20", yet reinforcements arrive on turns 11, 14 and 15. The only way this could even make sense, is if the scenario was 20 turns long. Lastly, there were many grammatical errors in the rules. Proofreading/editing would have solved this issue. An example of this is on page 2, Pioneers and Sappers: "3. Engineers reveal Mines are when moved onto (the unit does not undergo the attack)". While I understand the intent of the rule, a person not used to playing wargames could possibly become confused. There is then another error on the very next line of the rules. At $25.00 for the pnp digital version, these errors and omissions made me disappointed with the product receiving only 4 stars. Yet, even with all of these errors, the graphics of the game are stupendous and of extremely high quality, and the use of 'impulse points', luck cards, and the relative simplicity of the rules still make me want to play this game. I believe that I will still enjoy the game very much after hopefully getting a file for Map 3 Stalingrad. Even with these errors, the quality of the graphics, the simplicity of the rules and the amount of scenarios provided makes me hope that Flying Pig Games will also offer '65 and OST Vol. 2 once released, as a pnp product. At the time of writing this review, I still have not received Map 3.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Old School Tactical
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Metamorphosis Alpha 1st Edition
Publisher: WardCo.
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2010 13:58:23

What can I add that the others haven't already said? This was the FIRST RPG that I ever owned.

My buddies had OD&D and AD&D1e and I had MA. We would take turns GMing both. Yes, we even had a couple of 'crossovers' from D&D to MA and viceversa. I spent countless hours working on my version of the Warden.

The very first adventure I took them on had them hooked on MA. Naturally, it is very dated according to current standards, but you have a complete, playable set of rules with which you can have hours of fun. Many gamers today like having a 'bare-bones' system that they can house-rule or customize.

Try finding an original, printed copy of this game (I still have mine). It will cost you big bucks. Releasing it in .pdf format was a godsend, and will hopefully bring fresh fans.

I own an extensive collection of OOP RPGs and supplements. Having them available in pdf format is great in case of a fire or other type of disaster.

Buy it, try it! You can't go wrong for the price of a single meal at McDonalds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Metamorphosis Alpha 1st Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Metamorphosis Alpha: The House On The Hill
Publisher: WardCo.
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2010 13:29:49

I was one of the playtesters for this module, and all I can say, is that it was a ton of fun! Once I received the final product, I noticed all of the suggestions and tables to customize your own RHMDU. They are truely astounding! Game masters can use these tables for populating other structures on the fly. Truely a great (must have) product for Metamorphosis Alpha.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Metamorphosis Alpha: The House On The Hill
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
David, Thanks for the feedback. Very much appreciated! Craig J. Brain
Coyote Trail Enhancement Pack
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2006 00:00:00

Same as for the Coyote Trail Core Rules. Looking forward to more supplements for Coyote Trail!<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Everything, plus, you can't beat the price for what you get!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coyote Trail Enhancement Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coyote Trail RPG (Core PDF)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2006 00:00:00

What can one say, but that PIGames has another HIT! The game mechanics are simple, yet detailed enough to allow the characters to do anything they want.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Western baby!! YEAH!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coyote Trail RPG (Core PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hunger: Zombies Must Feed (GDi)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2006 00:00:00

Another great product by PIGames! In this game, you play a zombie, rather than playing against zombies. It is also a fun read!<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The twist of playing a zombie<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing! Excellent value!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunger: Zombies Must Feed (GDi)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Future: Starship 13 -- Ghost Ship
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2005 00:00:00

SKG has some spectacular art; very clean and easy on the eye. I really like their artstyle!

This is a HUGE ship! If you build it using the SKG eFuture tiles for miniatures, it will take up alot of space. It would come in very handy if used for a 'bughunter'or 'Aliens' scenario.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: SKG's artwork<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: N/A<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future: Starship 13 -- Ghost Ship
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Behind Enemy Lines
Publisher: Mystique Enterprises
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2005 00:00:00

Ahhhh... More nostalgia! I originally bought Behind Enemy Lines (BEL) back in the early '80s when it was owned by FASA. Very realistic. (Your character can be killed with a single shot!)

Mitigating factors include using camoflage, cover & concealment, noise & light discipline, terrain, etc... In other words, if you bumble about in the woods in the middle of the night shining flashlights around, cracking jokes and laughing, don't act surprised when you character gets his butt shot off!

The rules are easy to learn and has some very complete encounter tables. Maps and several adventures are included in the .pdf.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Re-owning a very good RPG! Original maps & adventures from the original boxed set!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There are a few editing mistakes, but it does not detract from understanding the rules. Also, using today's standard, the new Cover Art could be much better.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Behind Enemy Lines
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

THRILLING TALES: Gamemaster's Guide to Pulp Adventure
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2005 00:00:00

The spirit of the Pulp Era is alive and well with THRILLING TALES! I am not a 'd20' fan, but I purchased this for other Pulp rules.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: I especially love the section on designing plots and adventures! This can be used for any Pulp-flavored game system.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: N/A. I want MORE!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES: Gamemaster's Guide to Pulp Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

THRILLING TALES: The Mummy's Revenge
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2005 00:00:00

The spirit of the Pulp Era is alive and well with THRILLING TALES! I am not a 'd20' fan, but I purchased this for other Pulp rules.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The adventure!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: N/A<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES: The Mummy's Revenge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

THRILLING TALES: Advanced Class- G-Man
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2005 00:00:00

The spirit of the Pulp Era is alive and well with THRILLING TALES! I am not a 'd20' fan, but I purchased this for other Pulp rules.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The ideas presented.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: N/A<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES: Advanced Class- G-Man
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Ace Classic Screen
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2005 00:00:00

This is a good addition to the Star Ace game. It is scanned in full color!<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Most of the tables used in the game are available without having to go to the rule books.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: N/A<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Star Ace Classic Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Ace Classic: The Gemini Conspiracy
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2005 00:00:00

The whole book is B&W. Even the cover is B&W. If you Advertise a product with a color picture, at least keep the cover in color!<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: nostalgia<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Cover is B&W.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Star Ace Classic: The Gemini Conspiracy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Ace Classic: First Strike on Paradise
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2005 00:00:00

The whole book is B&W. Even the cover is B&W. If you Advertise a product with a color picture, at least keep the cover in color!<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Nostalgia<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: cover is B&W.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Star Ace Classic: First Strike on Paradise
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Ace Classic: Lightspeed Raid
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2005 00:00:00

The whole book is B&W. Even the cover is B&W. If you Advertise a product with a color picture, at least keep the cover in color!<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: nostalgia, price<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: cover is Black & White (greyscale)<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Star Ace Classic: Lightspeed Raid
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates