DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
 
$30.00 $15.00
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
9 7
8 4
3 1
0 0
0 1
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Click to view
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Antreas C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2018 05:09:43

Really liked the book would have preferred though if it was bookmarked. Otherwise excellent product definitely would recommend to other TTRPG players and GMs



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Pierre S [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2018 17:35:12

Way back in 1982 or so I was moved by the film BLADE RUNNER (which you could call film noir as much as cyberpunk) and the book Neuromancer by William Gibson. The cyberpunk genre is edgy and gripping and can be summed up as, "high-tech, low morals," where heroism is relative and good people may be forced into bad situations.

R. Talsorian Games' first edition CYBERPUNK game (released in 1988) was set in 2013 (!), but the pumped-up second edition set in 2020 (and also alluding to version 2.0) is spelled CYBERPUNK 2.0.2.0. In this .pdf (version 2.01), a lot of errata are corrected, but some of the artwork is from European artists which differs from the first print release.

The basic game mechanic is to roll as high as you can with what we now call an "exploding" or "cascading" d10 roll. For a given task a Difficulty Level is decided upon. Then you take a basic character Stat, add the Skill level in a skill related to that stat, and add a single d10 to see if the total equals or beats that Difficulty. If you roll a 10 on the d10, add 10 to the Stat and Skill but roll again and add that. If you roll another 10, add it to the total and roll yet again until you have anything but a 10. So there's always one chance in 10 of improved rolls, one chance in 100 of much-improved rolls, etc. This adds an appropriate amount of "critical hit" thrills. But getting a roll of 1 (on the first throw) is a failure, with a check to be made on the Fumble Table to see if there are further ill-effects.

Generate characters according to 9 futuristic character types called Roles. You not only roll stats but spend a number of points on skills appropriate to the Role, and also follow the Lifepath tables which bring out events which happened to a character -- their back-story, in other words.

The rules-mechanics are supported by a richly-detailed social setting. Society is in decay: gleaming corporate enclaves are next to squalid poverty, although the homeless may be quite well-off, their needs taken care of with technical gear, street-food and rent-a-coffins for sleep. There are extensive listings for technical gear of the near-future, but sometimes they guessed at the future wrong (cellphones are still flip-phones, newspapers are constantly updated and printed in a fax style from the newsbox, and the Soviet Union is still a thing!) The Netrunner character can hack in the Virtual Reality Internet of the future, which is represented on a two-dimensional map-grid as opposed to the "lines and nodes" system of the original edition. The hacker's attempts to break-in to steal data are shown as physical movements, but are opposed by security programs called ICE which resemble horrible fiends online. See if you can get in and out with your brain-cells intact.

A sample adventure and "screamsheets" (10 newsfax articles from the future with short adventure outlines) are also included. This is a massive 250+ page rulebook that solidly covers what you will need for the genre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Jamie L. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2018 20:39:48

Others have written about the Cyberpunk genre and how well this system grabs it with murderous intent. Over the years I've played and run a mix of senarios from High Tech/Low Life to the Euro Golden Childern destorying the world for the corporations. However, I'd rather focus of the system itself:

On the plus side;

  • Character creation can be quick, fast & dirty for your punks, Or fill out the details with Lifepaths, skills, equipment, cyberware etc.
  • Combat is quick, brutal and deadly, which suits the genre.
  • The list of Cyberware gives PCs everything that need and opens the door to some cool ideas.
  • There is a community that have produced a lot of cool things. Like the Cyberpunk Refernce Book V5, a massive collection of notees about Cyberpunk and which source books have the information. And Datafort2020.com is a large archieve of useful material.

On the downside;

  • The technology... it's dated. Some of the tech talked about is VERY '80s, while others are right on the mark. Either way it's an interesting take on the future that is only just over a year away.
  • Netrunning. It does exprerss the idea of a digital space well, but it does create a game within the game that only Netrunners can play. This has the effect of slowing the game to a halt. So unless you have a team of netrunners PCs or it's all handled by an NPC Hacker. Moving neturunnering to the background allows the team to focus on the mean streets slick with rain.

Overall, I have many memories of the game. The system is generally simple and consisitent handling a number of genres beyond cyberpunk's distopian future. And rocks the Cyberpunk aesthetic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Mariano C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2017 07:21:32

The printed version is way beyond my expectations, it feels almost like having one of the original copies printed in the 90s. The PDF is excelent as well. The page numbers match the index, it's OCRd so you can search and the overall quality of the scans is really good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2016 17:57:27

Great system, my group is really loving it. The lethality of the combat really makes each encounter intense and the lifepath system for generating characters isreally fun to use. I would recommend this book to any fan of cyberpunk.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Hunter C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2016 12:01:30

The book comes in the flavor of the 1993 edition with corrections and clarifications as version 2.0. While the book does have some minor errors such as spelling, misplaced numbers or words, the book is a solid rulebook to obtain in softcover. the softcover is pretty strong, durable, and will keep you occupied in the late nights rolling 9 1d10s to figure out your "random" character, pick out your stats by picking specific character points, and/or do the "Fast N' Dirty Expendables" for NPCs, whether they're important or not; perfect for creating your own posergang, boostergang, or chromegang, etc.

I thought the book would be great for roleplaying the Cyberpunk universe and it does. While I am not knowledgeable about the Fright Night Fire Fight system, I am aware that the game does have its own flaws, which comes up with quick remedies you could find by googling. This does not scare me 100%.

What I do like about the rulebook is the fast and hard rules that it comes up with for character creation. The customization of your character, due to the randomness of the core stats, the lifepath, and finding a number of pickup skills (using INT & REF), is not found in any other roleplaying rulebook as far as I know. This would be the most unique rulebook I could find on the 'Net. I'd be glad if a chombatta would prove me wrong but ... not yet. :D

When creating NPCs on the fly, the pages of Night City Encounters could inspire you. There's loads of encounters with people that each player could face when randomizing the encounter by die. This could give you loads of work as most encounters have varying degrees of difficulty, the numbers of people, and affiliatons. Be prepared as a GM to do a lot of NPC creation if you wish to use the Encounter system to keep your PC going. Make sure they're afraid to die, but willing to shed blood in order to survive. After all, Night City isn't too forgiving.

Then there comes a story called "Never Fade Away" in the theme of the Cyberpunk 'verse, which you could theoretically roleplay as Johnny Silverhand and battle the NPCs using the FNFF system to get familiar with the game. It also comes with "advertisements" or "classifieds" asking about jobs, which leads the player(s) on a job, willing to do the dirty work. These are quick-to-play scenarios and may not last you an entire night.

I am very ecstatic about this book and am glad of my purchase. I do not regret buying this rulebook 100% and will continue to support R. Talsorian Games, Inc. by buying up every single PDF and print-on-demand Softcover copy to have on my shelves (as I do collect and keep roleplaying rulebooks, supplements, or sourcebooks for posterity or to play).

For an added bonus on getting the latest weapons, get the Blackhand Street Weapons 2020 1st Ed. book. While it is 48 pages, it has chronicled a lot of the weapons in different categories from the rulebook, the supplements, and the sourcebooks. ;) Great if you don't have them all but could find them in one book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by greg m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2015 12:48:37

This is the first rpg I am aware of to try to capture the "High-tech, Low-life" feel of the literary and film cyberpunk genre, and it wildly succeeded. Of course, the game shows it's age now-a-days, what with some of the setting stuff. Who still uses fax machines? And a lot of the super fancy high tech in the game just looks dated. Wires and cables are everywhere in the game. Computer memory is made out to be a precious commodity. I feel I would be remiss if I didn't mention that kind of thing is all setting flavor and if you want to give the setting a more 2015 flavor of what the future would look like, it's not that difficult to reskin. The other approach would be to run it as a gonzo alternate future that went sideways during the 1990's. Mechanically, this is a great game. All you need to play is a single d10 and 2d6. Maybe a couple more for some of the really big guns, but I don't think that any of those were in the corebook. There are 9 stats you rolled a d10 each for, and a couple derived stats that used simple math to determine. Figure out your role... You can be a Solo, which is a classic cyber soldier, or a cop, corporate suit, a fixer (think fence,) nomad (Mad Max extras,) reporter, techie, doctor, netrunner (computer hacker) or a rock star! Slap on some shiny chrome parts to your character, get a couple bfg's, and your good to go. A couple things to be warned about, the netrunning rules take up a good third of the book, so a lot of referee's tended to ban that role or run one as a side npc so as not to use up huge segments of time the other players could be using. The combat system is this game has a bit of a learning curve, as does any mechanic for any game, but once you get used to it, combat can be resolved quickly, easily, and LETHALLY. Guns kill characters in this game. If they don't kill you outright, chances are the ambulance won't show up in time. The rule system for this game is really well balanced, and once you get the hang of it, is really intuitive. Some parts of this review may sound blase, but I am trying to give an honest review of all parts of the game; so you get the good with the not-so-good. It really is an excellent game and worthy of a 5 star rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Marisa C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2013 04:21:45

I had bought the book for the game a while ago, and decided I wanted a PDF version to print out sheets with ease. It looks like this book is a mishmash of two different versions--page 99 of my book has modifiers, and other tables in relation to Friday Night Fire Fight, while this PDF has a redundant shotgun/grenade section (that, mind you, are in page order still). Pages are poorly scanned: in quality and lack of care (can the pages be straight... please? Am I too OCD to request this?).

Please fix this PDF, and it will be a better purchase.

As for the system, it's simple and easy to get into. Everything from character generation to the thrilling combat... it's great to pick up and go. I recommend picking up the other books just to add to the flavor of your Cyberpunk game. The layout of the book (and other books) are VERY cool, and REALLY convey the feeling of what being Cyberpunk is all about.

System-wise, HIGHLY recommended. For this PDF, hold out if you can till they fix the issue with the pages. You will be missing relevant information that the physical copy has. If you can, find the book on Amazon.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Finnen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2013 18:06:53

This a beautiful game system, the more I look into it the more it appeals to me. Character creation and the example archetypes are packed with flavor that bring the game alive. Can't wait to read more and eventually play it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Benjamin L.
Date Added: 09/11/2011 17:33:38

I ordered "Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0 The Second Edition, Version 2.01" and I have to say that not only is the PDF quality rather poor (uneven scanning and poor clarity at points), it seems to actually be missing pages! For example, on page 51, in the second paragraph for "Martial Arts" it reads, "A full table of key attacks is listed in Friday Night Firefight, pg 100". However, when you go to page 100 (the actual, printed page) there is no table on the page; there is no such table in the PDF at all! I clearly remember it having one.

Another example is on page 105, under "Modifiers". It states that there is a list of modifiers on page 99, yet there isn't. Now, please go to page 98 and read the last sentence: "He won't get the bonus on Hargan, because the blonde giant"...and it ends. Turning to page 99, not only do we not get our table, the prior text is cut-off.

Until they fix this PDF, I'd find another way to get a copy of this game.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Shodan A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2011 11:15:28

Nice. Although some time ago it presented some problems that were addressed promptly by the RpgNow team :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2009 16:43:41

Still my favorite game for the cyberpunk genre. Although there are a few gaffes (faxing is the communication mode of the future!), there's a lot of predictions that have come true or are well on their way to becoming true. Mike Pndsmith really hit paydirt with this fantastic system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2008 02:32:48

Its simple, and fun much easyer to play than your normal D&D settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates