DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Faery's Tale Figures $5.00 $3.00
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 6
1 3
0 0
0 1
0 0
Faery\'s Tale Figures
Click to view
Faery's Tale Figures
Publisher: Arion Games
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2015 15:19:42

Lovely graphics. Great for improving the experience of Faery's Tale, particularly for young players. Another fine Arion product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faery's Tale Figures
Publisher: Arion Games
by DALE T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2013 19:33:52

Excellent set of figures from faery tales. Just like all of Arion's sets.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Faery's Tale Figures
Publisher: Arion Games
by Bruce A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2009 12:22:41

I just downloaded the Faery's Tale figures, and am really impressed with the quality and detail of the artwork. I also appreciate that they come in three different formats for me to choose. In the past I have purchased Arion Games Biblical minis and other ancient sets, and was equally impressed. In the future, I plan to look to Arion first when looking for paper minis.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faery's Tale Figures
Publisher: Arion Games
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2008 20:46:11

Very nice figures. This is the first time I've purchased a figure set like this. I'm about to get my kids into RPGs, and have been waiting to start with Faery's Tale. I decided to try this to give them a better visualization of what their characters might be like and what the monsters will look like. I wish there was more variety in the faeries, but I understand the limitation in making something like this. It's obvious that the images are CGI, but they're well done with some great colors and details. Definitely worth the $5, especially to help younger kids (mine are 6 and 7 1/2) get inspired in the game. Buying this makes me more likely to look for figure sets in the future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Faery's Tale Figures
Publisher: Arion Games
by Warren S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2008 08:24:09

I run Faery's Tale for my two sons & their friends and have been looking for miniatures suitable for the game for some time.

I was quite surprised at the quality of the images.

Well worth the money!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faery's Tale Figures
Publisher: Arion Games
by Paris C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2008 23:33:54

This is a very good set of miniatures. Given the fact that Faery's Tale is not a miniatures-based game, accuracy of scale isn't really a big deal when using minis of any kind. These paper minis provide you with a means of showing roughly where things are in a way that's pleasing to the eye. However, they are all pretty much the same size, from the very tiny pixie to the enormous giant, all of the minis in this collection are on the same size paper.

As I said, that's fine because the game rules don't care very much about distances, sizes, or other things unless they are important in telling the story. Faery's Tale is very much a storytelling game...it is not a strategy/tactics game.

As such, the lovely graphics add some fun to the game, especially for younger children who benefit from being able to see the characters that the stories are about.

I'd like to see more of these, with a bit wider variety in characters. Additionally, I think that the goblins could have been made a bit more twisted and scary, but then, I've been ruined by Spiderwick on what fey creatures are "supposed" to look like. ;)

Great job, guys! Keep up the good work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Faery's Tale Figures
Publisher: Arion Games
by Lee T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2008 23:24:25

Outstanding set, this will go a long way in helping to bring my faery world adventure to life. Thanks for the hard work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faery's Tale Figures
Publisher: Arion Games
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2008 20:31:07

The Good: A nice selection of types. the 4 main faeries, some common adversaries, humans, and several animals and insects. Well drawn and modeled. The three assembly options offer GMs a choice of presentation styles. the Sprites riding insects are very nice.

The Bad: All the weapons are forged, a pine needle, sewing needle, nut shell helmet etc would have been good. The goblins are somewhat generic looking.

The Ugly: All the figures are the same size. I understand why this was done, but I would have prefered that the Dragon and the Giant at least have been BIG.

Overall: if you like Faery's Tale and are looking for figures to represent character location etc during games these are a good set. If you are looking for true to scale representations you would be better served by other sets. I would be interested in more sets of similar subjects. Perhaps sets based on classic fairy tales.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review. In answer to your comment regarding scale, we have just updated the product so that you now have the option of downloading the Powerpoint version of the file. This will allow each purchaser to quickly and easily change the size/scale of any of the figures as required. It also allows the easy creation of custom sheets, with whatever minis are required for a particular game.
Faery's Tale Figures
Publisher: Arion Games
by Carl C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2007 10:39:03

I own at least twelve sets of Arion Games figures, and while I generally find them to be high-quality and very satisfying, I'm disappointed in this set. I feel like it was rushed to market without taking the time to do it right.

While it's challenging to represent inches-tall characters in table-top miniatures, the artist has ignored scale altogether here. The giant, dragon, hag, troll and goblins are all the same size... human-sized. As are the fox and the insects. Basically, every character got a 1" square to fit into, regardless of their proper size, and they all more or less fill their squares.

That isn't typical of AG figures... I have the same troll from another set and it's a larger figure in that set. And the cut-out lines are typically fitted to the width of the character, instead of being a fixed 1" wide.

The faeries themselves are disappointing. The choices are limited... you have only two choices per type/sex. All the brownies are dumpy. I know pooka's aren't exactly sexy, but I don't recall them being described as green-skinned... they look like bad guys, especially because two of the four carry weapons. They'd make great goblins, and because of this I think care should have been taken to make sure they didn't look like bad guys.

The sprites are armed with fancy forged weapons... none are armed with "a sword made from a sewing needle" as described in the book, which would have been a really nice touch. Little of the armor looks "sprite-ish". I recognize the limitations of the artistic medium... armor made of bark and other natural materials would be a lot of work to build models for, but it's the kind of thing that would have really set this product apart. As it is, it feels like they very much made-do with what they had on hand, and what they had on hand just wasn't appropriate.

The pixies are pretty good, though I'm not sure what's up with the "giant butterfly pattern centered on the crotch" pants one male is wearing. But I suspect they're pretty good because faery wings and dresses are readily available as Poser models.

I think this product would be a lot better if:

The scale issues were addressed. (Giants should be "giant", yo.) There were more faeries to choose from. The faeries looked more like the illustrations and descriptions in the book. The Squirrel didn't look evil.

It would really be cool to have figures at two different scales... faeries, goblins, bugs and small animals at a scale where the faery figures are 1" tall (and the squirrel is 2" tall), and then another set where humans are 1" tall and the faeries are scaled down to something smaller but still recognizable, and the giant is 3 or 4" tall.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your very detailed review. There are a few things that need to be remembered for this set, which puts some of your valid comments into context. The first is that one of the target audiences for both this set and the game itself is for children, possibly as young as six years old. Following discussions between ourselves and Firefly Games it was decided to make all of the figures as large as possible, both to make handling as easy for young players, but also to provide maximum visual impact. These figures are simply designed to help younger players visualise the relative locations of their characters. The requirement for visual impact also influenced our choice of colours and textures As far as the Faerys themselves go, we did try and work as close as possible with Firefly games to get something visually appealing, and appropriate. For example, Pookas are described as "naughty, wild faeries" with "Skin colors (that) tend to be bluish or greenish". Similarly, many of the weapons, shields etc are depicted as traditional forged weapons in the rule book. However, it would be very difficult to exactly replicate the style of another artist. However, i fully realise that this set is different in format to our other sets. We did attempt to make this clear in our product description, but we will amend that to further emphasise the point. In addition, we are considering an "adult" version of this set to provide a different scaled version. Please see our Forums at: w w w.arion-games.com/bb for more discusion about this.
Faery's Tale Figures
Publisher: Arion Games
by Juan L. H. C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2007 05:26:13

As all the Aarion Games paper miniatures products this Faery's Tale Figures are high quality 3D-looking figures that fit very well in any Faerie based adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates