DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Birthright Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2007 13:49:40

This was alwasy one of my favorite 2nd edition products. The ability to be a regent and rule a kingdom was a lot of fun. The combat mechanics aren't perfect - but it's well worth the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Birthright Campaign Setting (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tegel Manor - Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: Judges Guild
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2007 00:00:00

This is a scan of an old harcopy - it is a bit hard to read in places and that hurts the overall rating. However, Tegel Manor is an huge place so if you're up for a little re-work - it's a very good product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tegel Manor - Revised & Expanded Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TNE-0311 World Tamer's Handbook
Publisher: Game Designers&#039; Workshop (GDW)
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2007 00:00:00

Rules for surveying a world, colonizing it, or bootstrapping it to a higher tech level - would be quite a lot for a single book. This book also provides TNE examples for colonization and bootstrapping - as well as star system design and even mass combat rules.

There are a lot of interesting crunchy bits where the rules don???t rely on references to other products, making this book fairly easy to port to various Traveller rule sets / setting.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The sheer scope of books like FFS, Pocket Empires, and World Tamers guide is fairly amazing to me. They do a great job of modeling complex systems in a concise and believable fashion. As a result, they are entertaining to read even if you don't use much of the book.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I could have done without the design sequences for black powder weapons and wagons. I know the collapse made things tough - but I can't imagine my players ever wanting to use these items - but it's a small part of the book.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TNE-0311 World Tamer's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

T4 Pocket Empires
Publisher: Game Designers&#039; Workshop (GDW)
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2007 00:00:00

Who doesn't want to rule the world - or even several worlds? Pocket Empires provides the rules for doing so.

This is a Traveller 4 product, but I'm repurposed it for setting a world in the gateway sector in 1000 and it seems to work fine.

My group hasn't gotten far in creating a pocket empire - but it looks like it's going to be fun.

The price on the old Games Workshops products is hard to beat as well. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: My favorite D&D set was Birthright. This is Birthright for a science fiction setting. It could be used for any Traveller game.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T4 Pocket Empires
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller - Golden Age Starships 7: Modular Starship
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2007 00:00:00

This is a good, flexible spaceship that can be customized for a variety of purposes. If your characters don't fit the typical profile of traders, scouts, or mercs - the ability to fit cutter modules means that you can probably design something that will fit the bill and not break the bank.

I purchased this as part of a Starship pack and the cutters and shuttles supplements provided some additional modules that I found useful.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: It's very useful - and an excellent value when purchased as part of the bundle.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller - Golden Age Starships 7: Modular Starship
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller - Homecoming: Campaign Adventure 1
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2007 00:00:00

This is a top-notch product. Not only is the adventure great - there is a lenghty section of domain secrets that can serve as the referee's guide to the QLI Gateway to Destiny book - which I also strongly recommend.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: There is a lot to like here, from star system descriptions to the descriptions of major organizations and npcs. The story is well-paced.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Traveller adventures tend to be more outlines, rather than complete adventures. Given the nature of the game, where the characters have a spacecraft and go anywhere - this is reasonable. However, maps of the Light of Truth and the site of the climatic battle would have really completed this adventure.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller - Homecoming: Campaign Adventure 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MT Fighting Ships of the Shattered Imperium
Publisher: Game Designers&#039; Workshop (GDW)
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2007 00:00:00

The price makes this a good buy... it's not practical since these aren't ships your character's are going to fly or fight.

It does provide some information on naval battle groups - but if you're looking for that I'd recommend the excellent Traveller's Aide Supplement on Fighting Ships of the Imperium. Not only does it cover the important parts, it explains the theory behind constructing a warship - and provides examples that could be used in game.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: This is fun for the same reason the original Deities and Demi-gods was fun - stat porn. However, these ships are much more lethal than the old deties. ;)<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MT Fighting Ships of the Shattered Imperium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Land Plots: Oak Meadows
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2007 00:00:00

I purchased this thinking that it would save me some work in giving my characters a place to build a stronghold. Unfortunately, the details are light enough that it's not much better than selecting a map from WoC's Map of the Week feature (and the maps there are better in most respects anyway).<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Compared to 0One's maps in the same price range - this product does not compare well.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Land Plots: Oak Meadows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller - Golden Age Starships 8: Armed Free Trader
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2007 00:00:00

Interesting enough, Free Trader deck plans are the least interesting part of this product - as there are many better (in my opinion) plans for a Free Trader or Far Trader on the Internet.

The strength of this product is in detailing the economics and challenges of running a Free Trader. There is a section detailing a route for a free trader in the Five Sisters sub-sector of the Spinward Marches.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: By itself, this product gives you enough to run/start a merchant campaign. If you're interested in Traveller, buy this and get the T20 lite rules (available here for free) - and you'll be able to try Traveller out with your group for less than you'll spend on chips. That's what I did - and I'm become hooked.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I found a couple of other deckplans on the Internet that I liked better. This is a very minor critique, as all the stats given in the supplement will still apply to those plans.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller - Golden Age Starships 8: Armed Free Trader
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Streets of Silver
Publisher: Living Imagination
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2007 00:00:00

This city is so vividly described that it seems like a real place. It's like the old Volo's guides on a much bigger scale.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The scope and detail of the city are amazing. It's not hard to port it to another setting - surprisely the hardest part is a game mechanic where characters have multiple lives. The background of the larger empire is farly easy to work around.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It's difficult to piece together an overall map of this city - it's hard to put the sections together until you've studied it. This is pretty important in a city book. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Streets of Silver
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gateway to Destiny - The Gateway Domain Campaign Sourcebook
Publisher: QuikLink Interactive, Inc.
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2007 00:00:00

This is a great value. If you are new to Traveller and wish to use the Third Imperium setting I'd highly recommend this title.

Unlike many older Traveller products it takes a top-down view of the Domain. It provides the background and the details necessary to run a Traveller game. It also is filled with the UWP (numeric world profiles) and brief plot hooks that you'd expect. Unlike many settings, Traveller gives you a canvas and lets the players and referees paint - if you conflict with something that occurs later the event can be adjusted or moved to another part of the truly massive setting.

Only one of the Four Sectors is in Imperium. There are a number of interesting pocket empires and groups - as well as the K'Kree and Hivers to contend with (two of my favorite Traveller races).

<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: This product meshes beautifully with other Gateway products from both QLI and Comstar/Avenger. Taken together - they provide a complete picture of what is going on in a dynamic sector.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I'd like to see a few more detailed worlds - but the QLI EPIC adventures and ComStar books provide additional info and are excellent products as well.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gateway to Destiny - The Gateway Domain 
Campaign Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cityworks
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2007 00:00:00

There are a lot of other better city building products on the market. This book felt slapped together. It wasn't terrible - but I wouldn't recommend it.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cityworks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller - 1248 Starships Book 2: Scout Ships
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2007 00:00:00

This book contains a number of scout ships that could really be used for any Traveller time line - or adapted to many sci-fi rule sets with a minimum of work.

I converted one of the ships here for use as the Light of Truth for ComStar's Homecoming Campaign.
<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller - 1248 Starships Book 2: Scout Ships
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller20 - Book 1 - Characters and Combat
Publisher: QuikLink Interactive, Inc.
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2007 00:00:00

I originally gave up on Traveller with the release of the New Era and it???s disappointing changes. I have always loved the hard science fiction rules and scope of the setting. When I recently came upon the T20 Traveler Handbook, I remembered the joy and wonder of getting my first Advanced D&D Players Handbook at Christmas as a kid. Here is a game where characters are heroic based on their action and beliefs, rather than there magical power or stats. It is science fiction - but it is also plausible. Combat is deadly. Villains have real-life motivations, even society, government, and the economy make sense. When a group of players succeed - it feels epic, because they overcame the odds without being super heroes.

This is an adult game. In fact, the characters start out experienced - typically in their 30s. Instead of a kid who isn't old enough to drink - you can create a surgeon, an accomplished scientist, a retired general, the captain of a tramp freighter, or even the disgraced ruler of a star system. Using a prior history system that Traveller is famous for - you get to create a fairly detailed background where you'll probably start at level 4-6.

T20 gives you the best of both worlds - a variant of the D20 rules that are familiar to most player's today and the backdrop of one of the greatest gaming universes ever created. (There are a lot of high quality Traveller products available on RPGnow and the Internet - and since Traveler tends to be light on game mechanics it is not difficult to change the setting to T20 or another rule set).Also, there is a lot to like about the Traveller settings. The galaxy is huge - and while there are important events and people your players have plenty of room to participate and even influence them.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The character generation system. First of all ??? classes, feats, and skills are handled much better than in D20 future. The authors did an excellent job of re-creating the prior history mini-game. Starships, design sequences, and UWPs are a key components of Traveller ??? I???m glad to see that simplified sequence are presented that are compatible with previous Traveller editions. It's really easy to use pieces from other Traveller editions with the T20 rules.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Combat is not always as central to Traveler as to other games - but the combat progression seems to be off a bit. I use the Merc/Marine progression for Army characters as well. Navy/Rogue/Scout/Travellers use the Army progression - and the non-combat classes use a progression no worse than a D20 wizard. But, hey, it wouldn't be Traveller without house rules.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller20 - Book 1 - Characters and Combat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TNE-0304 Fire Fusion & Steel v2
Publisher: Game Designers&#039; Workshop (GDW)
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2007 00:00:00

This is a Traveller classic. If you like design sequences, this book is a great choice.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The book is a bit dated if it's not being used for Traveller. Concepts like nanotechnology and modern computers are foreign concepts to the setting. It's a great Traveller product - but not easily adapted to other settings.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TNE-0304 Fire Fusion & Steel v2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates