DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Tales of Argosa Public Playtest
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by Mateo [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2024 10:28:47

The new edition looks fantastic! Improves on many elements of the previous game and brings some new ideas. The magic revamp is fantastic.

Tales of Argosa is the perfect game if you want something between OSR and 5e, with less magic and a lot of aids to help the DM run things easily.

The change of name is, in my opinion, a necessary change (the previous edition was called Low Fantasy Gaming, and the acronym is LFG, so it would mess up any search);

Very excited about this, looking forward to the final version coming out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Argosa Public Playtest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Beyond the Wall - A Kingless Realm
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Mateo [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2024 20:06:09

Excellent material. I was looking forward to some campaign setting for Beyond the Wall and thought this book was lost to time. Not only the guys at Flatland Games delivered with a very cool and evocative setting, they also added in the book lots of other material. This supplement also includes seasonal campaign rules, playing 0 level characters, new legendary items and other stuff. Super happy with what we got.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall - A Kingless Realm
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
ShadowSun
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by Mateo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2023 21:34:28

The author does his take on Dark Sun using Shadowdark and totally nails it. I bought this on impulse and curiosity, with no expectations and I am quite impressed. This is well written and well thought out. The author understands what makes Shadowdark appealing and clearly loves darksun. I am looking forward to seeing more, maybe adventures, perhaps? Well worth the money of a coffee.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ShadowSun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Kazad Mor: The Cursed Dwarfhome - compatible with Shadowdark RPG
Publisher: Taylor Seely-Wright
by Mateo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2023 19:41:06

Bought this to check it out because I have supported the Shadowdark kickstarter. It seems like a simple dwarf themed dungeon, and it is. It is also really good! Lots of creative ideas and little twists, and a cool sense of atmosphere. This dungeon is worth at least a couple sessions and it's a hard nut to crack for beginner characters. I totally recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kazad Mor: The Cursed Dwarfhome - compatible with Shadowdark RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
5e: HARDCORE MODE
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Mateo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2023 15:11:10

Simple and fun. A great set of house rules to hack DnD 5e. Do not get caught in the details, you can change a few things you do not like (I did not like the candle, except for a one specific campaign where there is something tied to it). Great ideas in there. The zones system, grit yout teeth, the xp table and many, many of the ideas here are just brilliant. And it's 3.50 USD, what's not to like?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5e: HARDCORE MODE
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Nerzugal's Game Master Toolkit
Publisher: Nerzugal Role-Playing
by Mateo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2022 11:06:45

The book has many different useful elements. 1. a few random tables (I particularly liked the magic item properties tables, they expand a lot the DMG one) 2. Some encounters, a few of them very interesting, most useful. 3. Some dungeon maps (very simple hand drawn maps), and 4. a few mini adventures. I think it is very generous from the author to share their stuff in a pay what you want manner. This is about 5 to 10usd's worth of content in my opinion. Useful for a DM looking for some quick inspiration.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nerzugal's Game Master Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Worlds Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Mateo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2022 20:10:15

Great, great book. Not only the ruleset is pretty cool, the setting is super evocative and varied. ...All of that is quite nice and worth the money, and it's not even half the book. THEN you get to the world-building tables and other campaigns and DM-tools. These are beyond superb, and useful far beyond the system and the setting in the book. For 20 USD, this is a steal. Cannot recommend this enough. Thanks a lot to the author for this product, very much looking forward to whatever else he is producing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Worlds Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The One Ring™ Core Rules
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Mateo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2021 12:59:21

It's a very beautiful book with interesting game mechanics that really reinforce the feelings and atmosphere of the original novels. I backed this in Kickstarter because I believed they would make a good product and it came out wonderfully. I think it's totally worth getting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring™ Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Moonshae Isles Regional Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mateo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2021 10:38:47

In short, this is a top-notch supplement that you should get if you are even remotely interested in the Moonshae Isles or if you are thinking of running any sort of Arthurian/ Celtic fantasy setting.

A little bit of background, I have always hated the Forgotten Realms, I always thought of it as a vanilla setting, I thought magic was too high and silly, NPCs were overpowered and the ideas and tensions in the main setting were dumb and bland, like lacking a theme or inspiration and being more of a kitchen sink of stuff that do not make sense next to each other. However, I had read a little bit about the Moonshae Isles somewhere during 4e and got curious about them.

Enter this supplement. I got it on a whim while browsing this site and ended up reading it cover to cover in an afternoon. Loved it! Very thematic, Arthurian style setting with lots of conflicts that are waiting there to be tackled by adventurers. Super evocative descriptions that are short, but convey the feel of the place very beautifully. Interesting places for characters to come from, and lots and lots of stuff to do. To boot, the writing of this supplement is superb, evocative but also concise enough to get you going. I also found the framing device (the narrator and her story) very cool, original and inspiring.

The only negative aspect that I can think of is that there are a couple of minor copy errors in the text, a couple misplaced words or so, but nothing that gets in the way of the content (so 5 stars for me).

On the plus side, I appreciated immensely the attention the publishers put in the layout of the book, the celtic knots, the fonts used and the unified feel of the book really work with the text to transmit the mystery, wonder and possibilities of the setting.

I think one of the best qualities of this supplement is that it is clearly written with the DM in mind. I did not feel I needed to grind through pages and pages of boring history without consequence. On the contrary, the text is there to provide a good idea of what you can do with the different places and factions and respects your time as a reader. Lots of potential for adventure in a very evocative setting ready for adventure. The book also provides super useful player backgrounds and organizations that are there to help you jump right in. Wonderful lists of names for characters you can use, trinkets and other interesting stuff you can grab and use right away. After my read, I got plenty ideas for my game and now I am very much looking forward to running some adventures in the Moonshae (which I will conveniently locate in some other place with less baggage).

Congratulations, this is a fantastic supplement and I am happy I got it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moonshae Isles Regional Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Kalandra - Continent Map Set
Publisher: Foreign Worlds Cartography
by Mateo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2021 08:29:56

I bought this one for my game, as a blank map to fill out with my ideas for a campaign. I do not have the skill set, the applications, nor the creativity to make a good blank map and this one is excellent for such a purpose. It is also very beautiful.

An added bonus is that you get several versions of the map with this pack, a desert version, an arctic version, a version that is empty, full, and a set of icons for cities and the like. Does what it says in the tin, inspired me and saved me a lot of time. Very happy with this purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kalandra - Continent Map Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming: Class Toolkit Compendium
Publisher: Goblin Scribe Gaming
by Mateo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2021 08:23:29

Lots and lots of cool options that are great to expand any Low Fantasy Gaming campaign. You get a lot of milleage for your money. Players in my game got very excited about this product and relished the new options that opened up for their characters.

More importantly, the book 'showed us the way', inspired us and got our gears grinding to think other similar options and features that we can come up for our game. I found a couple of specific abilities a bit unclear, but I was able to reach out to the author and clarify (and to be honest, I could have just resolved my questions myself, but it was nice to chat).

The kits are inspired in a few very cool tropes that we are all familiar with and that helps a lot in terms of flavor and personality. And then again, I showed this to my players and they absolutely loved it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming: Class Toolkit Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Heya Mateo! thanks for the fantastic review! I remember out conversation on reddit and agree it was nice to chat. glad to help. Look forward to hearing your experiences with the kits. But most of all thank you for the support! Cheers! Brad aka Goblin Scribe
pixel_trans.gif
The Beast of Graenseskov: An Introductory Ravenloft Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mateo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2021 21:05:19

Hi! This is a great adventure, very well written. Clearly a lot of care and love has been put into it. There are a couple drawbacks to it that I will explain below, but before going into details I must say that the pros outweigh the cons greatly. This is totally worth the money for the amount of details and setting you get in it.

Pros:

  • Tons and tons of content and a fun setting your players can go back to, sure to enrich any campaing in Ravenloft. Lots of bang for your buck. For this alone, I totally recommend it.
  • The few magic items that are around are meaningful and evocative.
  • A joy to read as a DM. There is a great romantic tone to the whole thing that is absolutely on brand with the Ravenloft setting and keeps it interesting, even if you are not playing it.
  • Great introduction to the setting, this is a love letter to Ravenloft and it shows, it does a fantastic job in conveying some tropes of the setting and connecting with other stuff (such as Curse of Strahd, for example)
  • Coherent and well thought out. There are many many details that follow up cues dropped early in the adventure. That makes the whole thing very immersive and a good sandbox where characters act in logical ways.
  • Very useful (and necessary) dramatis personae and GM cheatsheet that will make your life easier.
  • Great villains, the Beaste and other NPCs are truly terrifying, and dangerous. (and the DM can choose different options to customize their adventure) Good for horror.

Cons:

  • Not so easy to run. As I said, there is a lot of content, a complex mystery, lots of moving parts and different NPCs. Getting to the end of some of the mysteries takes many different encounters.
  • Too much plot. For such a small area there is a tremendous amount of plot. For example, a fairly unusual number of children switched at birth, etc.. I think a little bit less plot and more simplicity would have made the adventure perfect.
  • Dangerous. Careful with low level characters! This can go south very quickly and because it is open ended the characters might face a dangerous foe too early. What is more, there are magic items and allies that the players can get that are there to help them but they are easy to miss.

I ran this with a group of friends and they all died ! A bit of an unfortunate ending to the adventure but very true to setting and a bit of a consequence of some unfortunate choices and unlucky dice rolls. There are in the text some optional advice to give the players healing potions at a couple instances to make their lives easier. I say it is very good advice, and my recommendation as a DM is that you have to push it a bit and just find a way to give them some, even if it is a bit too early. My group missed a couple of those instances and ended up fighting a very close encounter with a horrible monster who got them. That said, we had a lot of fun and enjoyed many hours of gameplay where everyone was very engaged.

Good fun. I will certainly buy other stuff from this author.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Beast of Graenseskov: An Introductory Ravenloft Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates