DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition $14.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
133 22
2 1
0 0
0 0
0 1
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Julian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2023 16:00:14

A great Unification and thus simplifiation of the Mythic GME Process along with updated Layout and Design



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Garth R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2023 19:22:22

I've long been a fan of the Mythic GM Emulator, but this second edition is an amazing improvement!! It incorporates the best parts of the second Variations book while sanding down the rough patches. Random Events have been much improved while not becoming significantly more complex. In fact, my only gripe is that the Mythic Themes from Variations didn't make it in. Unquestionably, this book is worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Philipp K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2023 05:35:45

Mythic GME always was the original Game Master Emulator. Its awesome simple but powerful tools and unique mechanics like the Chaos Factor just work universally well in any setting or situation.

Mythic GME 2e is so much more than that. Years and years of exploration and various books full of Variations and magazines full of ideas and neat additions all lead up to this masterwork, containing the complete and fine-tuned essence of it all.

The main mechanics make it great. The building blocks of useful variations make it truely the best. Full of clarifications and examples and optional detail, you will be right on track for a great ride. The book also containing and (optionally) utilizing an extensive book of random tables pretty much makes for the cherry on top, though this alone would justify the price.

The world's best Game Master Emulator. The world's best Solo RPG Supplement. One of the best GM Supplements. And an awesome book of portents / random tables. All in one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Kyle W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2023 15:57:13

Have tried Mythic GME a few times in the past, still not super confident, been readed the magazines as well. This is the definitive Mythic GME experience. The variations books were okay, and the magazines are insightful and great for resources and tips, but this is what you'll really want for solo play.

I've been trying to use mythic more and experiment with new RPGs since 2e came out. Hopefully I'll be more confident moving on from the Ironsworn series now that I have more tools.

Overall, If you want resources/tools to use, a good GM emulator, tables for inspiration, or even Examples that clearly show how individual mechanics work. This is the book to get.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2023 20:42:47

This thing has nearly everything you could ever need not just for solo play, but to help you as a GM in a traditional group game. I would recommend this even if it were twice the price. The tools in this book is absolutely incredible. Inspiration for characters, places, effects of spells, plot twists, and much much more.

In one word: Incredible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2023 12:26:07

I bought this solely on Tana's track record for solid ideas and solid writing, and I wasn't disappointed. This edition neatly ties together the first edition and material that has come out since then.

I like the fact that it recognizes different ways you might want to use the various tools. I like the fact that it offers options and variants. That could, however, be daunting for someone new to all this when they face over 200 pages of material. My tip for someone brand new to this who wants to start small: Use just the Fate Chart (and only the gray column) or just the Fate Check (only the odds modifier) to get a simple yes/no answer to a question you would have posed to a GM. Get the hang of that, and then you can read up on exceptional results, the Chaos Factor, and random events, and then move on to lists or scene setup.

The examples are well worth reading.

While I'm glad to see all those meaning tables, I'd rather have the entries in "chaos" order than alphabetical order. That is, in the same sense that "Yes answers are typically more active than No answers," push the terms that involve greater chaos, action, tension, excitement, or danger toward the high end of each table, and the terms that are more about safety, calm, or relief toward the low end of each table. That would give me more opportunities for blending expectations and randomness. A simple d100 roll would still work as before. In addition, I'd have the option to bias the results if I want. The bias can take various forms, such as swapping the d100 digits (e.g., 82 becoming 28 if I'm biasing low), or taking the higher or lower of two d100 rolls, adding or subtracting 50 when the d100 roll is in the "wrong" half of the table, or maybe even using the Chaos Factor as the tens digit and rolling d10 for the ones digit. Take the Character Identity table as an example. "Killer" would be toward the high end and "Lackey" toward the low end. If I'm creating a character who should probably be a dangerous enemy, I'd bias the roll toward the high end. If I'm creating a character who's probably neutral or harmless, I'd bias low. If I'm creating an intriguing or puzzling object, I might make two rolls on the Objects table, one biased high and one biased low. But it's still random; I'm only biasing the roll, not dictating an exact result. And I could always use a straight d100 roll when I don't want to bias the result.

There wouldn't be a perfect chaos ordering for each table, but "close enough" would be close enough. For example, two people might disagree on whether "dangerous" is more or less chaotic than "threatening," but both terms would be toward the chaotic end of the table, while "reassuring" and "ornamental" would be more toward the low end.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Davide M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2023 09:10:05

TLDR: Great for beginners to solo play (it's a one stop shop to handle most common situations) and to 1e experts as well (it's a condensed and polished up version of Mythic, a lot of Variations 1 and 2 and a lot of Mythic Magazine articles, but all of them are also improved and streamlined).

Great resource, great layout, great art. Explanations are way better, lots of practical examples. A lot of modularity, with the core concepts (Chaos Factor, Threads and Character lists), variations on them (Fate Check in place of the Fate Chart), plus a plethora of other additions to better personalize your experience (dealing with published adventures, interfacing Mythic with Adventure Crafter, A LOT of specialized oracle tables).

Totally worth the price and will provide lots of guidance in your solo play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Phillip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2023 07:57:38

This is the defacto, industry standard for solo role-playing with any RPG system or with the Mythic RPG itself (coming later). Check out the Word Mill Games home page for more resources and links to the Discord group!

So, an actual review. I do believe that this is an improvement over the original 2006 (2022 revision) version in that it incorporates a lot of the material from the Mythic Magazine issues and Mythic Variations 1 & 2. The original was 54 pages long, but it focused on the Fate Chart (not to be confused with FATE the RPG), Chaos Factor, Scenes, Threads and Characters. It teaches you with a wealth of well of explained examples of how the system works.

This new version has a very much updated layout, new art and all the content in it. It has lots of examples and call outs about dials that you can turn or things to think about. The Fate Chart has been updated, the lists have been updated, and there are a few variations of the Fate Chart now called Fate Check. Just lots of things to use to make your game yours. This is a tool kit as much as it could be an RPG or a assistant.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Gydeon R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2023 02:48:49

I've been a fan of Mythic since I discovered the Mythic GME (admittedly relatively recently, circa 2019) and, thereafter, by extension, anything produced by WMG. In this 2nd edition, the foundational masterpiece that is the Mythic GME has been consolidated with its later iterations (aka "variations") and supplements, refined, and expanded upon to create one tome to rule them all. This book is an essential, or dare-I-say necessary resource for GMs in general and solo RPGers in particular. Just get a copy and see for yourself; you won't be disappointed. The content is top-notch, the layout is top-notch, and the art is top-notch. Truly a marvel to see and own. I can't wait for it to be released in print, as I am sure I'll be getting a copy for my gaming shelf.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 16 to 24 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates