DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition $14.95 $11.96
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
138 24
2 1
0 0
0 0
0 1
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Sean [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2024 16:42:12

A solid solo RPG system. This is a must read for solo enthusiasts!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2024 21:10:17

Excellent book, well organized, and full of so many great examples.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Nicolas [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2024 12:17:11

Great tool, needs a little getting used to but is very versatile.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Jeremiah [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2024 13:50:06

THE tool for solo rpg play. Tons of tables to roll on for meaning, general tips, and random events. Everything you could want in an oracle/GM emulator



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Tai-Chi [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2024 22:11:05

Excellent guidance on how to use its oracle mechanics through a variety of situations and lots of helpful advice for running solo ttrpg games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Reygan [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2024 14:20:37

There's a reason this is lauded as one of the best solo and GM-less play tools. You really can play a game on your own with just the book, or use it in tandem with literally any other game intended for solo or group play. I've used it for solo, GMless, and duo adventures, as well as used it for my group work. It's phenomenal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Samuli [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2024 00:25:38

This is the real thing! I've got hours of enjoyment out of this game. The book has plenty of optional material that makes it grow in usefulness the more I use it. For instance, at first I thought soloing a published group-adventure module wouldn't be for me but soon I'll be doing that too.

Somehow solo RPG'ing is a bit scary thing to start doing. You don't see too many examples and the whole RPG scene is usually explained in terms of group activity. In that respect the book is written in a lovely encouraging way. It gives you the solo player confidence in your decisions.

On a scale from 0 to 5 this is a six-star game for me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Mattias [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2023 04:04:40

Probably the best resource for solo and GM-less play, and a fantastic resource for GM play as well. My partner and I use this for all of our games now, whether that's our Sci-Fi Alien-esque, our Call of Cthulhu horror, or our fantasy game.

Update: I was looking around for a character generator but then thought, "hey Mythic has some character-specific tables, let's roll on those to see what we get"... And now I have a grizzled detective who either worked for the mob as a dirty cop, or went undercover with the mob. Regardless, he lost a loved one and is determined to make the ones responsible pay. Can't wait to see how that character ends up.

How is this resource so good?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Nicole J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2023 11:30:08

Can you make a varient that use a D6 to roll on the Fate Questions and random tables. Please.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Roger J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2023 17:01:58

Mythic GME 2e provides a lot of tools out of the box. It's one of those things that you could take a couple concepts from it and improve the experience of your solo, collaborative, or GM-driven game. It would even be a great source for writing, in my opinion.

A few examples:

  • The Fate Chart and optional Chaos Factor, for guiding outcomes, and ratcheting up the tension in a natural way
  • Lots of genre-agnostic and system-agnostic charts for NPC responses and event outcomes
  • Threads, Characters, and Scenes for tracking story and lore details in an organized way, as well as how to "roll against" them to come up with new plotlines

There's a lot more. I recommend skimming through it once, and picking a couple elements to work with, then tweaking gradually.

If you're on the fence, check out the One-Page Mythic Game Master Emulator by the same author. It's also extremely useful and enough for many solo players and GMs. But I imagine your interest will be picqued enough to check out its bigger sibling.

Although I have a soft spot for CRGE/UNE/BOLD, I think Mythic may be more accessible for the typical player or GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by W N V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/08/2023 01:20:59

In all, a great improvement over the dodgy 1st edition. Note that this reviewer is still trying to wrap his poor brain around this system, but perseverance will undoubtedly reap rewards. After a first read-through it is a bit daunting, with all these flowcharts and procedures to run through. I suppose that actual playtesting will be the best way to familiarise oneself with the intricacies. I would also like to apply this to solo wargaming, but it appears to be more strongly engineered for roleplaying games. On a side note, it would be amusing to see an adaptation of this toward a kind of "dice baseball".



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2023 15:07:47

Its great to see a 2nd edition of this wonderful system for solo or GM'less play. Everything about it is better. The content, the explanations, the art and the many options that you can use to tailor this engine to suit your own gaming style.

I like to sample other oracles/engines but Mythic is still one of the very best!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Ramon N. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2023 00:47:51

One of the most useful tools for gamemastering I've ever found, Mythic GME has been a companion at my games for several years now. This new edition puts together all the materials that have been added to the system over the years, plus some very small, not very important rules changes, to be the definitive package to use it either solo or as part of your regular RPG games. It deserves also special mention for the effort it puts on being clear, concise, and the excellent examples of its use.

All around, one of the best purchases you can do, no matter which game you play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Al F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2023 09:51:22

My introduction to solo RPG was Mythic and Geek Gamers youtube channel. Mythic provides solid tools for running a solo RPG. My only advice, which is also given in the book, is to not overuse the oracle. It's okay to arbitrarily decide where the narrative goes, as long as it is fun. That being said, making the game too easy by steering the story away from challenges will lead to boredom imo.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator Second Edition
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Kaarne K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2023 00:05:31

Excellent update for a system (Mythic 1e) I didn't like initially. Mythic 2e makes so much more sense, being much better presented, supported and explained. Briefly put: this is the current golden standard of solo play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates