DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Curse of Black Teeth Keetes
Publisher: Chaosium
by Mr N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2021 11:49:16

NB This is a readthrough only review.

Arghhhhhhhhh!!!!! Splice the Mainbrace, swab the decks, hoist the colours and throw that Dimensional Shambler in the brig!!! Welcome to the world of The Curse of Black Teeth Keetes. An adventure set in 1933 off the coast of New England featuring zombie pirates, cursed ships and Eldritch Magic. There are plenty of elements drawn from here, with obvious nods to 'The Goonies' 'Pirates of the Carribean' 'King Kong' 'The Mysterious Island' etc etc but that's a good thing (Read the cover people!!! This is Pulp Cthulhu!!!) I do think 30 Dimensional Shamblers might be over-egging the inter-dimensional omlette though, three or four would have been just as effective and would give them more menace, but that's just o'le Nyarlathotep's opinion! Also, with this being a mysterious island adventure featuring 'Jadeite Statues of an Eldritch Underwater Deity' I was anticipating, and a little dissapointed not to find a few Deep Ones thrown into the mix, however, the beauty of Call of Cthulhu is that Keepers are free to adapt a scenario to suit their own preferences, you want Deep Ones? Throw 'em in!!! My last gripe (and really I've griped too much for such a fun scenario) is the cover. The pixilation gives the impression of cheapness and detracts from this really fun scenario. Inside, illustrations have been provided by Jason Booth and work really well with the feel of the scenario. These could have easily been edited together to make a more apt Drew Struzan (Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade) style cover which I think would sell the scenario better. But again that's just my opinion.

if you are looking for an Island romp with occult magic, zombies and treasure then The Curse of Black Teeth Keetes ticks all those boxes and then some!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Curse of Black Teeth Keetes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

St. Dymphna's Orphanage: Azathoth's Children
Publisher: Chaosium
by Mr N. !. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2021 05:47:50

NB This is a readthrough only review

A delightfully delicious, foray into the sinister world of 1920's orphanages. I loved the whole set-up for this adventure, and what an adventure it is! Feeling like a story that has jumped out of the pages of a classic 'Boys Own Magazine'. A bunch of orphans set against a cult of Azathoth led by the wicked Matron Gray. A kind of gothic noir not unlike 'A series of Unfortunate Events' 'The devil's Backbone etc etc. The Cover art is spot on and easily draws the eye towards it. Unfortunately, this cover is a little let down by the lack of styling within, however, I'm tempted to believe this styling could possibly be deliberate, the bland beige and no-nonsense text fit the feel of the scenario as if it was an official document of St. Dymphna’s Orphanage. Still, a few more photos or pieces of art may help to encourage a reader to stick around. Another minor gripe is the requirement to play entirely as boys (or at least a strong leaning towards) I think most keepers could handle running investigators in separate locations. I would suggest either biting the bullet and calling St. Dymphna’s Orphanage an orphanage for boys or trust in the keeper's ability and throw in some female orphan pregen investigators.  Once again these are minor gripes.  St. Dymphna’s Orphanage has a great little Mcguffin in the form of Azathoths Music Box, a music box used to put the orphans to sleep with maddening consequences.

All of these features, including a well laid out map of the orphanage and in-depth room descriptions, helped assert the cinematic scope (I found myself visualising it's movie trailer in my head!) of St. Dymphna's Orphanage: Azathoth's Children. (I look forward to part 2!)

In all this is a great scenario and an ideal way to encourage young players into the maddening world of Call of Cthulhu, and because of this, it gets the Ole' Crawling Chaos's seal of approval!!! 



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
St. Dymphna's Orphanage: Azathoth's Children
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Cheers for the review and the feedback! I'm delighted that you enjoyed the scenario. Playing the game as all girls is also encouraged! Players can choose their genders as the pregen investigators are androgynous. The same goes for the NPC orphans, who's gender should be determined by the Keeper. *Although I will admit, the chosen names that can be used for both boys and girls are more commonly used for boys.
Operation Foxglove
Publisher: Chaosium
by Mr N. !. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2021 02:16:17

NB This is a readthrough only review

It's free! Of course I'm going to download it! Should it be free? No, I don't think so! This scenario is really nicely presented and now has the bragging rights to being the first Call of Cthulhu title I have read through set in WW2. Do you want to play around in the snow, blow up trains, kill Nazis and take on a troll? (of course you do, who wouldn't?) then this is the fella for you. So much attention to detail has been put into this scenario that it suggests (along with the zero price tag) that this is a bit of a passion project. It's literally The Heros of Telemark meets Troll Hunter and I love it all the more for it!!! It'a also proof that a great Call of Cthulhu scenario does not need to rely on any of the Cthulhu Mythos (or Yog Sothothery if you will) to still be a punchy, tense and exciting adventure. Although secretly O'le Nyarlathotep is there. I'm always there!!!

Hey Chad! Maybe tick the 'Pay What You Like' box off so people can throw some finacial gratitude your way. (Not me though! The Crawling Chaos pays for nothing!!!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Operation Foxglove
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Storm From A Teacup
Publisher: Chaosium
by Clym A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2021 09:30:01

NB this is a readthrough and not a playthrough review.

Here is proof that a great cover can 'stir' your interest (excuse the pun). Also, being an Englishman anything featuring the word 'Tea' is going to draw me in like a moth to a flame! This is a very solid scenario jam packed with Keeper advise and possible outcomes. In some cases it is so well backed up that it could prove difficult for a keeper to stamp their own mark on it, however, that is a minor gripe. It is cerebral in it's devising so has the feel of a more sedate crime procedural. So if you like your adventures to be more Columbo-esque then this is a great scenario for you. In fact I'm pretty sure you can 'think' your way throughout 'Storm From a Teacup' without throwing a single fist or firing a single shot. That's not to say you have to! There is a great little epilogue at the end that gives me the impression this may well continue into another scenario.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Storm From A Teacup
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

La Recette
Publisher: Chaosium
by Clym A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2021 08:17:13

$1.75! I mean come on what are you expecting to get for $1.75? The answer is, rather surprisingly, a hell of a lot. The premise is a great one, nice and dark too, not far removed from a Coen brothers movie. For those of you who love some Deep South Voodoo action then this is definately the one for you. La Recette by the way is French for the recipe (I had to look it up!) and within a few paragraphs it was clear to see what needed to be done and why the author chose the title. This is a really well thought out adventure but also open enough to enable the keeper to stamp their own mark on the scenario. There are a few issues that could be ironed out, but that is me just nit picking! The pulp magazine layout works a treat too. Top work!

This is a scenario that needs to be played and I am keen to try it out. I will return later to detail just how it plays out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
La Recette
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Carousel of Fears
Publisher: Chaosium
by Clym A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2021 03:34:00

Disclaimer: I have had a few conversations with the author of this work prior to reviewing 'Carousel of Fears'. So imagine my concern when I finally gave her scenario a thorough read through and discovered just what a dark, twisted and depraved mind this seemingly encouraging and kindly individual harbours!!! This scenario is DARK wow! Obviously this is a good thing. We don't want to be playing a horror roll playing game where the closest thing to horror is a lacklustre Scooby Doo reject. Not here! No siree! What you do get though is an indepth foray into psychological horror. It is easy to visualise, and for me the visualisation was in broad day light, which is something of a feat in itself. The post apocalyptic setting does not detract from the scenario but if it wasn't your bag then you could easily place this carnival just about anywhere in a Lovecraftian (technically Chambersian!) setting, Carnivals move from town to town right? (Something wicked this way comes indeed!). I love the advice on how to shorten the scenario and it's so simple 'This Attraction is Currently out of Order. We Apologise for the Inconvenience!' Great stuff and especially great for those looking for something a little more visceral in gameplay!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carousel of Fears
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I cannot thank you enough for such a glowing review. Thank you for your support, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review and feedback. I really, really appreciate it. I hope you continue to enjoy it!
I cannot thank you enough for such a glowing review. Thank you for your support, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review and feedback. I really, really appreciate it. I hope you continue to enjoy it!
The Evil on the East River
Publisher: Chaosium
by Clym A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2021 11:38:44

This is such a well thought out and rather saucy looking scenario. I can see how it would fit as suggested into Masks of Nyarlathotep. However, it is not essential and is a great standalone too. The pregens have been well thought out (With great names too!) and appear to be 'Pulp-able' (is that a word?) The layout is professional and nice on the eye. It does lean toward more adult content (let's just throw the car keys in a bowl and see what happens!!!) but as ever everything is at the keeper's discretion. All in all a really great investigation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Evil on the East River
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sermon of Sludge
Publisher: Chaosium
by Clym A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2021 11:03:43

My goodness this is a beautiful thing!!! Original and a little bit daring! The production of 'Sermon of Sludge' is spot on (I can't imagine the effort put into making it look exactly like a cheap 70's counterculture pulp comic). There is more than a nod to the work of Gilbert Shelton (think Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers) and executed flawlessly. However, don't be fooled into thinking that Sermon of Sludge is a throwaway scenario with a gimmicky design, it is far from it! The scenario is solid as &@£%!!! and can be played straight or ramped up to the pulpy, stoner, freak-fest the amazing imagery provided suggests. The handouts are excellent of which I counted 18 (18!!! I struggled to come up with three for my own offering!) all of which look effortlessly of the era. But the piece de resistance (is that how you spell it?) are the character Sheets, a true work of genius and further proof this is a real passion project! 

Where do I sign up for more from 'Bored Stiffs' productions???



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sermon of Sludge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review, Clym. We’re thrilled that you’re picking up what we’re putting down. More than that, though, thanks for feeding our already massive egos! Please let us return the favor by sending your address to: contact@boredstiffs.com
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates