DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Desolation of the God-King – A Dragon Warriors Solo Adventure
Publisher: Red Ruin Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2021 06:57:16

From the striking cover art to the very last section this is a solo gamebook that doesn't disappoint. This book notionally follows on from the Village of the Damned although you don't need to have played that adventure. What seems like a relatively safe opening soon has you catapaulted half-way across the world, forced to make your way in an exotic and dangerously unfamiliar land. The author has deftly woven some classic genre elements into this tale without it feeling hackneyed and the quality of the writing is top-shelf. In fact I actually ound some passages of truly exquisite prose. The book gives you the option to pick up some companions along the way which can help overcome some difficult obstacles and opponents. There seems to be some good replayability with multiple options to proceed. All in all a great read I would have happily paid for - but best of all - it's free!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Desolation of the God-King – A Dragon Warriors Solo Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Meryon Woods – a Dragon Warriors Solo Adventure
Publisher: Red Ruin Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2021 07:07:52

Good adventure. Nice atmosphere. Now I want to know what happens next in the story



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Meryon Woods – a Dragon Warriors Solo Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Green Water, Crimson Stag – a Dragon Warriors Solo Adventure
Publisher: Red Ruin Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2021 04:42:58

Sumptiously illustrated by the author, this short solo gamebook is a prime example of the talent and high standard of fan work coming out of Red Ruin. A quirky and atmospheric romp, with an eclectic cast of encounters and a nice sense of whimsy. Plenty of replayability with multiple paths through. I enjoyed this book. It would also fit nicely in an Arthurian style questing game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Green Water, Crimson Stag – a Dragon Warriors Solo Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Village of the Damned – a Dragon Warriors Solo Adventure
Publisher: Red Ruin Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2021 02:11:04

This is a really engaging and entertaining solo adventure gamebook. The challenge level is good and there's plenty of playability with multiple paths. After several run throughs I still haven't cracked all its secrets. The author has done some pretty clever slight of hand with keywords and "hidden" sections. The illustrations are colourful and engaging. Professional standard work I'd be happy to pay for - but best of all it's free! The perfect way to scratch that rpg itch between your regular games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Village of the Damned – a Dragon Warriors Solo Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Casket of Fays #4 – a Dragon Warriors RPG fanzine
Publisher: Red Ruin Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2021 01:38:54

This zine keeps getting bigger and better with each issue. With a great mix of short adventures, new spells and magical items, locations and write ups, this zine sets a high bar indeed for both quality of content and great atmospheric old school art work. Brockprint's illustrations are a rare delight and would be at home in any commercial publication. Kudos to the contributors and editorial team. Can't wait for the next issue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Casket of Fays #4 – a Dragon Warriors RPG fanzine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks. I'm quite fond of Brock's art. Glad you enjoyed - keep on reading!
The Adventures of Cedric and Fulk #1 'The Wickedest Man in Banlet' – a Dragon Warriors RPG chapbook
Publisher: Red Ruin Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2021 17:49:29

Fun read. The monk story was really good. Keep them coming!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Adventures of Cedric and Fulk #1 'The Wickedest Man in Banlet' – a Dragon Warriors RPG chapbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Casket of Fays #3 – a Dragon Warriors RPG fanzine
Publisher: Red Ruin Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2020 03:29:09

What a Xmas treat issue 3 of the Casket of Fays has turned out to be! I really loved issues 1 & 2 and I wasn't sure that they could top issue 2 - but they did! 32 pages of old school RPG goodness. The articles are well written and imaginative, the artwork is great and varied (I particularly enjoyed the Newtling, the falling damage table's artwork (a great homage to the original 1980s rules) the maps and the wonderful sketch on the back cover. There are even two short adventures with maps that could be played as is or repurposed into your own campaign. Give yourself an early Christmas gift and download this great little fanzine. It also won't break the budget - in the giving spirit of the season - it's free!

Truly a labour of love for its contributors and editor. I can't wait for issue 4.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Casket of Fays #3 – a Dragon Warriors RPG fanzine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Casket of Fays #2 – a Dragon Warriors RPG fanzine
Publisher: Red Ruin Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2020 05:45:56

I thought the 1st issue was pretty good. But this 2nd issue has raised the bar and is even better. This Halloween issue has a spooky vibe and starts with an intriguing mini-adventure. The write ups of 2 notable NPCs are genuinely interesting and there’s an amusing fantastical cuisine entry which provides multiple adventure hooks. My favourite article is the wonderfully detailed description for creating a magical Jack-o-lantern/scarecrow creature. The artwork throughout is excellent with lots of character. Although the Zine has grown to 28 pages I was still left wanting even more and I can’t wait to see what treasures issue 3 brings!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Casket of Fays #2 – a Dragon Warriors RPG fanzine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Real Live Boy / The Witch Oak – Dragon Warriors
Publisher: Red Ruin Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2020 22:46:40

Two great reads! Love the sketches too. Must check out Dragon Warriors. Looks like an interesting OSR system and setting if these articles are anything to go by. More please!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Real Live Boy / The Witch Oak – Dragon Warriors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Nomad Khanates: An Unofficial Supplement for the Dragon Warriors Game
Publisher: Ambula In Fabulam
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2020 04:36:41

This is an excellent supplement, not only for those who play Dragon Warriors but really anyone wanting to run a plains/horse nomad campaign. Well thought out with some really interesting stories, new creatures and a nice adventure at the end. The interior artwork is evocative and varied and the cover is of high quality for a "fan" publication. Even though a horse archer campaign is not something I'd normally be interested in, this sourcebook has gotten the creative juices flowing. I'd have happily paid for this given the high standard of both the content and the production. But given it's free you really can't go wrong by downloading it! Saddle up, and watch out for death worms!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nomad Khanates: An Unofficial Supplement for the Dragon Warriors Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Casket of Fays #1 – a Dragon Warriors RPG fanzine
Publisher: Red Ruin Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2020 07:51:29

The Casket of Fays is an amazing new little fan zine from a dedicated group of fans of Dave Morris and Oliver Johnson's cult classic RPG from the mid-80s. Named for an iconic magical artefact in the game, the Casket perfectly captures the eerie and deeply immersive feel of the world of Legend a place like an echo of our own world but filled with both grim dark perils and faerie whimsy.

Like most zines it is a relative light-weight coming in at just 20 A5 pages. I for one wish it was a super heavyweight. Its 8 articles span a diverse range from new spells, magical items and monsters to a new spellcasting class, adventure setting, a noteable NPC write up and some tantalising tasters for the exotic Thousand Islands setting including new cultral weapons of the region, complete with illustrations.

A real treat for someone who grew up loving black and white line art in RPGs and gamebooks is the inclusion of work by the very talented Brockprint. His barbarian reminds me of the work by the extraordinary Angus McBride.

Like choosing your favourite child I found it hard to pick a favourite article or articles. But I particulalry enjoyed the Mere Troll/Hag, Scarred Pearl and the Barony of Severac. So much goodness packed into 20 pages.

I can't wait for next issue.

And best of all, it's free!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Casket of Fays #1 – a Dragon Warriors RPG fanzine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates