DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Drop
Publisher: Brent P. Newhall's Musaeum
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2022 14:09:59

It's a cool skeleton of a really fun adventure but it needs more structure to be a proper "rpg".



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Drop
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy Referee's Tome
Publisher: Necrotic Gnome
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2022 21:20:55

This is certainly a solid OSR entry. It includes everything the prior reviews about content is true. In case you are not sure, this is the equivalent of the DMG + the Monster Manual. There is solid randomizers and recommendations for randomly generated dungeons, NPC encounters, wilderness encounters, 300+monsters, hundreds of magic items, etc. There is better advice here than in most OSR products I've seen. Certainly, it is a better than the original 1e DMG in organization, rules clarity, inspiration, and it includes monsters (obviously a necessary piece in order to play). It's better than the 2nd ed DMG as well, in that the 2nd ed version didn't have anything for dungeon creation, much less for inspiration, inferior organization, and again MONSTERS.

That said, I don't really understand the hype for this product. The OSE Advanced Fantasy Player's Handbook is really where this system excels. Ifl you have a prior version of the 1e DMG and the Monster Manual, there's not a huge amount of improvement here. You could just run OSE with the OSE AF Player's handbook and your old books without an issue, if you wanted to save a few bucks.

If you dumped your old B/X or 1e books already, or never had them, this is a fine way to go. Just be sure to get the OSE AF Player's Handbook at the same time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy Referee's Tome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 15:15:32

If you play D&D and ever thought:

  • My group's PC's are never grounded so they always get away with murderhobo stunts and I rather they had a good in-game reason not too.
  • I wonder how I can give the PCs reasonably quick and organic backstories that connect them together
  • I wish I could put together engaging one-shots with very little effort
  • I wish I could make magic a bit more mysterious and allow concepts like allowing PCs to use "true names" to defeat foes easier
  • It would be great if the character classes skewed more towards YA fantasy classes
  • I'd like for the rules to "get out of the way" but still provide a framework and support the story

If you have had any of these thoughts, you NEED this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Gardens Of Ynn
Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 15:06:52

Dying Stylishly Games are an auto-buy for me. Everything about Emmy's products I've seen are great! Gardens of Ynn is no exception!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Gardens Of Ynn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells - Addendum
Publisher: Old Skull Publishing
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 15:01:16

Read-only review: Although the original rules SS&SS are amongst my favorite rules light OSR games, this addendum adds more crunch but not much fun. I'll be sticking with the original rules without this addendum



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells - Addendum
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mounted Combat
Publisher: Fünhaver Industries
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:40:53

The best mechanical rules for mounted combat for any fantasy game I have seen. I also LOVE the concept of building characters that have an NPC for a mount (i.e. like anime characters that ride a friendly giant while traveling)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mounted Combat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
Publisher: Liberi Gothica Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:38:07

Based on read only: A brilliant take on Dungeon World (DW) that allows for Stardust (Neil Gaiman) like stories, Avatar: the last Airbenders stories, and various other interesting options. This is one of my favorite supplements for DW



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fellowship 2nd Edition - A Tabletop Adventure Game
Publisher: Liberi Gothica Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:35:56

Based on a read-through only I had rated this 5 stars. Conceptually, it is brilliant! It looks easy enough to run and and play, thematic, and the articulation of how far narrative could you push a game like Dungeon World before you break it. Unfortunately, in play, I have found this game is pushing narrative moves so hard, it does break.

Both attempts I made to run or play lead to confusion and frustration immediately following the first move of particular playbooks. Unlike the best PbtA games where if you follow the genre conventions, you will find a move to use, Fellowship's move triggers are really awkward. The feedback loop can circle around over and over until you feel like you are playing a game of narrative Chess where the MC and the PC player sometimes stalemate by doing the same actions and getting the same results over and over. It made me wonder, does this game really follow the tenants of "failing forward" or not? I have asked other PbtA fans online about their experiences and everyone of them also mentioned that while they wanted to LOVE this game, it just lead to a similar experience to what I had. As my experience seemed to be fairly universal, I have updated my rating to fit what I have experienced.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fellowship 2nd Edition - A Tabletop Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Steam World (Core Book)
Publisher: 2Die10 Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:25:51

Based on a read-through only: It's a pretty neat Dungeon World alternative. It also maps well to certain playbooks in the Inverse World Dungeon World book (Sky Capt.). The playbooks are solid, thematic, and look fun. Worth the price of admission and you don't need to learn a whole rpg to get your steampunk fix.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Steam World (Core Book)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wetlands: Swamps, Marshes, Bogs, and Fens
Publisher: dicegeeks
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:23:04

This is a useful resource for running adventures by rivers and wetlands in general. It's basically well organized info from wikipedia with a few ideas on how they could be incorporated deeper into your games. You could do this yourself easily enough but it's nice that this is all in one place at least.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wetlands: Swamps, Marshes, Bogs, and Fens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ironsworn: Delve
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:14:25

Do you want to add dungeons or depth to the travel segments of Ironsworn? Do you want prompts to create dungeons with a motif and / or theme for any fantasy dungeon crawl or even hex crawl? If so, buy this now! It's a great resourced even without the Ironsworn rpg. Speaking of which, you can get Ironsworn as a free PDF and I cannot recommend it highly enough!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Delve
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Murder Most Foul
Publisher: Sixpence Games
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:10:00

Keep in mind this review is based on a read-through only. It may play just find but I find the idea of an rpg with scoring to be a little bizarre. I also find the concept of attempting to murder each other at a dinner party to not be a little disconcerting. The truly awful rule that ruins the game is that the accused player is the loser. This rule is rife with the worst sort of social deduction game issues where players can be targeted (and / or framed) for no other reason than to get them to lose. This game seems like it may kick up enough interpersonal drama amongst family or friends to avoid playing but it may be fun in practice.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Murder Most Foul
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
With regards to the rule where the accused player loses, keep in mind that if that player did not actually commit the murder, then the detective (the person doing the accusing) also loses. It's there as an incentive not to get caught - otherwise, why not just commit the murder in broad daylight, with everyone watching?
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2022 16:25:25

This was a 9 out of 10. The BEST (only?) great solo rpg out there! A top tier rpg for between 1 - 3 players + an optional GM. Arguably the best shared MC PbtA game. One of the best low magic, low fantasy rpgs ever made! Now that Ironsworn: Delve is out this is a 5 star 10 out of 10 game. Easily the best free rpg I own.

It doesn't get better than this! Download it now and find out what the hype is about!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
Publisher: lumpley games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2022 16:04:15

Although I find this game to be AMAZING in the conceptualization of moves and how personal histories between PCs affect aiding each other, and many great innovations in a single game, I find it a hard game to run. I really enjoy playing it but as the MC you it's sometimes hard to mitigate uncomfortable territory between players. Certain optional and standard playbooks (aka classes) work off each other to further the uncomfortable territory (like the Brainer and the Child-thing). It's a brilliant game though if you want a world full of Mad Max types, this is THE game. 2nd edition is also famous for adding in rules specifically for Mad Max Fury Road style play and doom clocks replacing threat fronts. One last point: The rules boil down to a few dozen pages. I would have like to have seen the blowhard bits and the lengthy explanations reduced and examples increased.

If you don't like in your face, expletive laced explanations but want to try this game, get Apocalypse World: Burned Over edition. I've heard that's a much more straight forward rulebook.

I dropped a star for the bloated text and the reluctance I feel towards running this game and yet being unable to find many groups willing to try it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Five Torches Deep
Publisher: Sigil Stone Publishing
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2022 15:53:10

I LOVE the concept but find the implementation lacking. If you do not know D&D 5e well enough, there is no way you are going to understand this game on it's own merits. It's more like a hardmode + how to make your game more narrative supplement than a different game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 64 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates