DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Carousel of Fears $5.99
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
13 8
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Carousel of Fears
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Carousel of Fears
Publisher: Chaosium
by Poul E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2024 13:06:59

Where to start? This scenario is dark, twisted and evil and I love it. Its quite brutal and perfect for a one-shot experience. Buy it, read it and torture your players with it!

The pre-gens are fantastic and the SPOILERSHIELD DONT READ FURTHER IF YOU ARE A PLAYER

Imaginary friend is a stroke of genous.

11/10 would buy again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Carousel of Fears
Publisher: Chaosium
by gary p. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2023 18:35:55

This is the 2nd item i have purchased that is from Symphony Entertainment, and looking forward to further purchases. this particular scenario is effectively creepy in imagination.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Carousel of Fears
Publisher: Chaosium
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2022 05:45:41

This was a fantastic journey of a game.

The 'feels' from this scenario made the decision to buy seem totally worthwhile. I have NEVER played a game so tied to the psychology of its characters and the emotional journey this brings. It was truly a wonderful game to run and my players loved it.

Bridget Jeffries has done something truly different here and this stands high above many other adventures because it is so human.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Carousel of Fears
Publisher: Chaosium
by John C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2022 07:52:02

A very well written and presented scenario. Have neither played nor run it, but definitely worth a look!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Carousel of Fears
Publisher: Chaosium
by Chris s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2021 15:26:23

Reviewing as a Keeper who has not run this adventure with players

Carousel of Fears is a very slick and well presented adventure, with an incredible level of polish. It is VERY dark, but clearly outlines adaptations for content, group size and play time, making Keeper prep as straightfoward as possible. While the dark tone might not be for all groups and keepers, this is still a very worthwhile read as there are many excellent points to take away. Specfically, the standard and depth of the pregenerated characters is an incredible example for a Keeper, providing fleshed out characters with enormous RP scope.

This adventure should be at the top of anyone's list when looking for a brutal one shot



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Carousel of Fears
Publisher: Chaosium
by Sarah H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2021 18:17:42

I ran this scenario last night, and it was a total success. My players liked the pregens and roleplayed them very well. The scenario is one of the best written and organized I have ever run for Call of Cthulhu. It's a very customizable scenario with plenty of Keeper tips and options. The theme is fun and deliciously dark. It's literally a horror playground. Please buy this scenario - you and your players will love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Carousel of Fears
Publisher: Chaosium
by damon l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2021 17:21:33

Recently had a chance to read through the scenario in preparation to running it the upcoming weeks. I really enjoyed the color coded tips to help keep all the information together. It has a great feel for how the game should feel, but also leaves enough room to add in your ideas. I would highly recomend this scenario to anyone looking for something a little off the beaten path of CoC scenarios.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Carousel of Fears
Publisher: Chaosium
by Clym A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2021 03:34:00

Disclaimer: I have had a few conversations with the author of this work prior to reviewing 'Carousel of Fears'. So imagine my concern when I finally gave her scenario a thorough read through and discovered just what a dark, twisted and depraved mind this seemingly encouraging and kindly individual harbours!!! This scenario is DARK wow! Obviously this is a good thing. We don't want to be playing a horror roll playing game where the closest thing to horror is a lacklustre Scooby Doo reject. Not here! No siree! What you do get though is an indepth foray into psychological horror. It is easy to visualise, and for me the visualisation was in broad day light, which is something of a feat in itself. The post apocalyptic setting does not detract from the scenario but if it wasn't your bag then you could easily place this carnival just about anywhere in a Lovecraftian (technically Chambersian!) setting, Carnivals move from town to town right? (Something wicked this way comes indeed!). I love the advice on how to shorten the scenario and it's so simple 'This Attraction is Currently out of Order. We Apologise for the Inconvenience!' Great stuff and especially great for those looking for something a little more visceral in gameplay!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
I cannot thank you enough for such a glowing review. Thank you for your support, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review and feedback. I really, really appreciate it. I hope you continue to enjoy it!
pixel_trans.gif
I cannot thank you enough for such a glowing review. Thank you for your support, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review and feedback. I really, really appreciate it. I hope you continue to enjoy it!
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates