DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Snowhaven for Pathfinder 1E
Publisher: High Level Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2021 16:25:20

Snowhaven as a Campaign Setting is an intresting take for a city/area enviroment in the cold. The main scity centers around Snowhaven itself. The idea is great.... but when it comes to the Pathfinder ruleset, it falls apart. The monster and spells entries are great, and the art is nice....

Clearly this rules for this product are designed for 5E. When it comes to the races the first red flag is the mention of the Dragonborn, which do not exsist for the Pathfinder rules system. The other possible race which is regulated to a monster entry with no PC option is the lapsa, which could have be written up as a Kitsune Species. Likewise the Ursinefolk is thrown in as a monstrous option PC.

The sections on classes in a shoehorn for the 5E version into a pathfinder system. The 5E Subclasses are represented as class alterations, not in the standard PFRPG Archetype form. The cleric domain, paladin oath, and witch hexes are presented here likewise is the 5E version, not a standard pathfinder domain format for a cleric domain.... oaths are particular to a specific paladin archetype in PFRPG, and witches are not warlocks and have Hexes and not invocations.. What is most confusing is why there is a Fighter archetype of the Gunslinger (the few times the right term is used) when it is a full blown class already. I can understand including all the base pathfinder classes, but if you are gonna add some of the extra classes like the gunslinger and witch... perhaps mention of the alchemist, oracle, shaman, magus, and the summoner would of been great to cover the basic classes.

I doubt a complete overhaul of the character creation would happen, but it would be great to be core consistant. Heck I would be even willing to help out just to make sure it gets done right. I know that from another discussion they have been defensive, but anyone can compare between a standard PFRPG ruleset and 5E and can clearly see that this needs more work.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Snowhaven for Pathfinder 1E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review! We are actually (sadly slowly) working on an update to some of the issues with this version of the setting. We know it was disappointing to folks and we apologize for it not being better than it is. We didn't have as consistent a process for the conversion on this as we should have.
Thrones & Bones: Player's Guide to Norrøngard
Publisher: Lazy Wolf Studios
by A customer
Date Added: 09/29/2021 21:43:25

Just upfront, no need to buy this if you already bought the main campaign setting book. As explained, this already contains all the information from the original book.... and containas nothing "new". It is just an excerpt of exsisting material.

As with the main book, there is some great artwork and the information which is well represented. It has some stunning retakes on common scandanavian lore, and how to intergrate it with the 5E rules. The subclasses presented further flesh out your option for the campaign setting. The three races presented are th Svartalfar, the norse dark elves, half-jotun; a race of half human and giants, and huldrafolk a type of fey folk. Also since this deal with scandanavian folklore, there is a section dedicted to Rune Magic as well.

All in all, the material presented from the mainbook is great, only reason for the middle score is that I personally miss the old days.... where a Player's Guide had new information in edition to the main campaign setting.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Thrones & Bones: Player's Guide to Norrøngard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Character Options: Paladins
Publisher: Rusted Iron Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2021 20:41:26

Another great product from Rusted Iron Games that still supports Pathfinder 1E RPG system. Not only do they have a phenomenal line of products with their "deadly garden" series, but have some great idead for character classes with this series as well (and is recent!). This product introduce some new archetypes, as well more oaths for the apaldin class. It is a small bite sized portion, but found it veru useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Options: Paladins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tome of Alchemy (PF)
Publisher: Frog God Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2021 05:59:11

Frog God Games publishes some great books, building upon their years of game design and crafting. The Tome of Alchemy was a book I was looking forward too, as it does make the character class stand out from under the shadow of being just another type of spellcaster. The book focuses on the fact that Alchemy is a usefull skill/proficiency that anyone can have access too. The book gives a good breakdown on some traditional alchemy needs and introduces a new mechanic for refining "essences". Now it only focuses on traditional Western Alchemy....., tt also categorizes and gives examples of a great variety of alchemical items one can create, both in 3eD&D and Pathfinder you would find a few things scattered her and their.... but never collected in a single volume. So now there is at least a good categorization: Alchemical Devices, Ammunitions, Incense, Tonics, Ointments, Powders, Solvents, and Tinctures. It also contains some 30 spells as well.

IF YOU HAVE THE MONEY TO BURN.... then it may be worth your while.

This is he biggest negative about the book, for a pdf is is beyond a reasonable price point. The hefty $35 was too to expensive.... and even with the Xmas in July sale is still too much. For the price you'd expect tons of artwork and a heft page count, when compared to other monster manual and spell collections. Again the price is what hurts this book. I know the publisher has reasons.... but when compared to other products released in their catalogue it makes no sense to the buyer.

If they included some monsters (1 is mentioned but part of the spell), branched off into other forms of alchemy (eastern and internal), some real world science magic (elemental table and how it applies), and etc.... I would be inclined to have given it 5 stars... or at least make the book more affordable... at most $15.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Alchemy (PF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Along the Twisting Way: The Faerie Ring Campaign Guide (Pathfinder)
Publisher: Zombie Sky Press
by A customer
Date Added: 09/30/2017 21:34:24

A bit of a confusing book, but is an intersting read. The book itself contains a number of Fey Lords and their respective domains outside the structure of the Seelie Couts. Some of them like Queen Mab is a familiar staple for Celtic Lore, and others pull from other cultural legends. The book is ambitious as it tries to redfine the fey, by expanding and classifying various fey lineages in its bestiary section. I get what it was trying to do with the subtypes, but it made it most confusing. Hopefully additional books will bring a bit more clarity, looking at all the fae and classifying them in their proper Kith without the need of subtypes. The book got me excited and made me revisit White Wolf's Changeling.

Looking forward to the other books they have planned.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Along the Twisting Way: The Faerie Ring Campaign Guide (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Psionics Augmented: Occult
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2017 15:26:54

It is important to note that this book does not contain new information. Rather its is a collection of previously published "Psionic Augumented" installments.

Chapter 1 Psionics Augumented - Host of Heroes Psionics Augumented - Living Legends

Chapters 2 Psionics Augmented: Kineticists

Chapters 3 & 4 Psionics Augumented - Mind & Soul

Chapters 5 Psionics Augumented - Occultists

Chapters 6 Psionics Augumented - Empaths



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psionics Augmented: Occult
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Prime Directive PD20 Modern Supplement
Publisher: Amarillo Design Bureau
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2017 08:49:38

I am big fan of Star Trek, and although this is set in the orginal series era the Prime Directive line gives the feel of Star Trek. Sadly the book are coming out every so slowly, and I hope they at leat attempt to finish there ambitious line.

The book supposedly has info on other races that were cut from the other sourcebooks, but "Prellarians, Deians, Brecon" can be found in the Federation Sourcebook and "Yitlians, Zoolies, Vudar" in the Klingon Sourcebook. There are about 11 new races though..... I don't like that 1/3 of the races presented are double dipped which is quite disappointing considering the price.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Prime Directive PD20 Modern Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I appreciate your feedback. This was meant to supplement the main rulebook. The species in this supplement were never in the main rulebook (unlike the rulebook we did for GURPS Prime Directive). We got complaints from people who were missing those species and wanted to play them without buying the sourcebooks or waiting for the ones not created yet. Hence the repetition of the species from the Federation and Klingon sourcebooks. We tried to make it more useful with the unified charts and index -- that also let it get to the size where we could distribute it to the stores. I wish we could get more sourcebooks done, but those depend on outside writers who must be familiar with the span of the Star Fleet Universe (a lot of information is in stories and scenarios that are scattered throughout our works) and also be familiar with gaming. That is a rare combination.
Chronica: Age of Exploration
Publisher: Zac Angel
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2017 18:35:02

If you like fantasic real world adventure, this is a great book to get. The two races in this book are beautifully illustraed and got me excited when I read up on them. If you likes 7th Seas and and the Dangerous Journeys, but want a little more taste of magic this is a great product to get. It gives an overview of the various nations of the world and how they are interacing with each other. The biggest surprise was a pantheon of gods that also included non-other than Vlad Teppes, aka Dracula... I do hope expansions do come out that are a bit less Eurocentric to flesh out place like the Middle East, the New World, and of course India and the Far East. I thought this was a great buy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronica: Age of Exploration
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monstrous Bloodlines for Sorcerers V
Publisher: Purple Duck Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2016 19:16:27

As usual purple ducks games puts out another great and easy to understandable product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Bloodlines for Sorcerers V
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kung Fu Kuma
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2016 22:18:04

Personally I love non-european settings and Kung Fu Kuma had me excited as it seemed to be "Jade Claw" for pathfinder. The setting has an intresting premise to the inclusion of various anthropormorphic races found in the campaign setting. Despite the words "Kung Fu" that is not a chinease based setting, but an Oriental blend of both China/Japan. If you do not own any previous Oriental D20 or Pathfinder type rules, the book has you covered by providing flavored classes suited for the setting and races found here in. In addition it provides a rule system of martial arts that characters can take. Overall it is a good introductory package to an Asian Flavored Campaign Setting. The only thing that I found to be lacking was the inconsistant style of artwork, especially when there are tons of anthro avatar makers out there for inspiration.

Give it a chance as a beginer set, especially since there are already a number of support books detailing more races!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Kung Fu Kuma
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Astonishing Races: Dog-Faced Kobold
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2016 19:19:32

Fat Goblin has always delivered great products in the past, but this was kinda misleading. Other than the artwork a Dog-Faced Kobold is no different than any other kobold... perhaps only in the hint that Goblin or other blood may have mixed. There is nothing really distinguishing them from the "Revised Draconic" kobold. It would have been great if the author actially went in to the "Classic" vs "New" and as why Dog-face kobold and Draconic Kobold exisit..... otherwise its just a generic kobold...

Other than that you have 5 Racial Variants, Dog-face Kobold and four other types... 2 Archetypes and some pretty useful feats.... artwork is nice.... not woth $5.95.... so if you can get it for 1/2 or less it is worth it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Races: Dog-Faced Kobold
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ponyfinder - Campaign Setting
Publisher: Silver Games LLC
by Michael A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2014 03:46:32

A thousand time better than the original book that came out. This time you hit the mark perfectly with the layout and art which was sorely missing from the first book. I am glad that much of the material was expanded on, additional race other than ponies have been given, as well as info making this a full blown campaign setting.

With things going in the write direction I am hoping to see some additional material for Ponyfinder, expanding upon spells and the other races mentioned. Great Job and well worth the money this time around!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ponyfinder - Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ponyfinder - Race Book
Publisher: Silver Games LLC
by Michael A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2013 06:15:50

What a rip-off. I thought this would be a well written book and at least gets some kicks out of it. This is presented in super large fonts, inflating the page count to 55.... no artwork and is a loose adaption to pathfinder. The cover is not even on the pdf file! There is a free D20 rules set available and just use the My Lil Ponie wiki for the whole deities and stuff. This is sooooooo not worth $5.00.

As part of 2006 April Fools jokes... Wizard of the Coast actually came out with a mini My Lil Pony the RPG Player's Handbook. Heck search "Ponies! My Little Pony: D20 adaptation" takes you to a message board that post free rules regarding playing ponies.

What is worse that that author is tongue 'n cheeky about the "My Lil Ponie" issue with Hasbro. Reading the material here in... it is very similar to the TV show. Seriously take this down refund the money and work on it a bit more.... it's a good concept but you need to hammer things out.....



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Ponyfinder - Race Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy the book. We will be continuing work, but do feel it is a solid core book for adding ponies to your pathfinder game with minimal disruption. Balance was the primary goal, allowing the flavor of the four legged adventurers without being outshined, or overwhelming an existing campaign and already available materials. Though you did not have much fun with it(again, sorry to hear), others seem to be having a good time with it. We enjoy a 4.5/5 on Amazon, and 4/5 on Smashwords.com for the time being. Stay tuned though, there are plans for bigger and better. Do you feel something was missing, imbalanced, or otherwise directly amiss? We'd love to hear about it. Fire us an email at pony@silvergamesllc.com or join the conversation at https://www.facebook.com/pathfinderponies Thanks for supporting a small business, and may you avoid rolling 1s.
Octavirate Presents: Lethal Lexicon Vol 1
Publisher: Octavirate Games
by Michael A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2013 16:41:11

Monsters, Monsters, Monsters..... you always need foes for you PCs. As a long time DM I am glad that there are so many monster book out there as you need to throw something unexpected at PCs.... especially with a long time group that is use to the usual encounters.

Octavirate provides a nice little compendium with good artwork and some gems to throw at your party. Heck, not only is this book great for a DM, but as a spellcaster... cough "Summoners/Necromancers"... you may find some creatures you might want to add to you lists.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Octavirate Presents: Lethal Lexicon Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Primer of Practical Magic
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Michael A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2013 16:36:29

A refreshing view of spellcasting goodness from the fantasy series that originally came up with the Vancian Magic system used by D&D. This 138 pg book provides d20/pathfinder players with 139 spells , 64 magical items, 8 monsters, 14 feats, 25 alternate spells names for existing d20 spells, rules for magic on the "Dying Earth" and a table of the cost of some of those spell components!

I was truly pleased that this book contained a wealth of information for the price. It was well written and enjoyable as it gave a good feeling of the Dying Earth Campaign Setting. It is just a shame that this is the only d20 book for Dying Earth series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Primer of Practical Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates