DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Prison of the Hated Pretender Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
40 7
5 1
3 0
0 0
0 0
Prison of the Hated Pretender
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Prison of the Hated Pretender
Publisher: Hydra Cooperative
by Gregory [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2024 18:32:17

I've run this scenario about half a dozen times at conventions using the OSE ruleset. It's always a blast to see new players (new to old school game designs) figure this one out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Prison of the Hated Pretender
Publisher: Hydra Cooperative
by Rashid P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2023 04:08:26

Great module with very atmospheric setting and a lot of good OSR-style leasons. I ran it with Adventurous, which only required minimal conversion work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Prison of the Hated Pretender
Publisher: Hydra Cooperative
by Jordan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2022 17:10:53

I ran this as the first adventure site for a new 5e campaign I'm running. I'm trying to move a few steps from the current 5e zeitgeist to a more classical style of play with things like 1) resource tracking, and 2) no darkvision. Hated Pretender was the perfect scenario to introduce "old-school" concepts to my players.

It was 180 degrees from what they are used to. No Investigation or Perception rolls. No set-pieces or balanced encounters. They puzzled out the dungeon with experimentation and their wits. I nerfed the phantasms pretty significantly but they still ran away screaming and elected to try exploring again at night.

They managed to trigger both traps in the lower level, resulting in a PC going unconscious. I know in true classical play she would be dead but still, I think the party learned an important lesson.

Overall, hated Pretender has been one of my favorite scenarios I've run in my brief 3-year DM career. It threw the players for a loop but they adjusted quickly. It is also very evocative and can be used to drop hints about the wider world and really create a sense of mystery for the players. 5/5 would run again and again.

I also ran Winter's Daughter around the same time for another group and the effect was similar - they learned a few principles of classic-style play, adjusted quickly and had a blast. I know Winter's Daughter is highly praised for that aspect and I think Hated Pretender is its equal. I prefer the aesthetic of Hated Pretender.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Prison of the Hated Pretender
Publisher: Hydra Cooperative
by Kenneth C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2021 09:22:21

Love this module. One of the better "teaching module" for old style play - small, and has lessons for players & referees alike

https://wanderingwombat.home.blog/2021/07/21/prison-of-the-hated-pretender/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Prison of the Hated Pretender
Publisher: Hydra Cooperative
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2021 20:23:18

This is a great little adventure. In addition to this, it is a great introductory adventure both for new players and new GMs. I really wish there were more of this kind of thing with solid GM advice for running old school games. I have been running games in a variety of sytems for a year now, and the broad strokes of the guidance are things with which I'm already familiar. Even so, Gus L's advice improved my understanding of a few nuances. I would love to see similar adventures introducing important ideas behind other elements of play, such as hex crawls, developing a home base, or a setting. Presenting the guidance as sidebars to aid in running the specific adventure provides a more immediate feedback loop compared to reading a variety of essays published in blog posts and trying to apply that to unrelated adventures which may or may not be designed in a way to support the advice. I love this. Great job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Prison of the Hated Pretender
Publisher: Hydra Cooperative
by W. B. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2020 20:58:44

Hydra Co-op raises another head! 'Prison of the Hated Pretender' is a small and complex adventure location which is now mated with new supplimental material, commentary, additional art, 5e conversion stats, and a couple useful versions of updated maps.

What you are getting here is a well-made and well-reguarded "intro" or "teaching" adventure from the 2010's D&D revival blog scene, converted and expanded into a 20 page 'zine suppliment that wants to help you run and play fun games set in a wierd, sad and dangerous place. It is worth your consideration and your bucks.

You can read a review of the origional here: https://tenfootpole.org/ironspike/?p=1254



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Prison of the Hated Pretender
Publisher: Hydra Cooperative
by Ava I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2020 11:59:09

This adventure has been a classic intro adventure in the online RPG sphere for years, and for good reason. The adventure itself is well-structured, imaginative, and gets right to the point, and now comes packaged with oodles of Gus' inimitable wisdom. Definitely check it out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Prison of the Hated Pretender
Publisher: Hydra Cooperative
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2020 15:33:34

A solid introductory adventure for the OSR/retro RPG style of play, usable for DMs of all skill level. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates