DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Dragonbones Sandbox & Dungeon crawl - The King's crown
Publisher: Doppelgänger Publishing
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2022 10:07:47

Recently I soloed my way through Dragonbones Sandbox &Dungeon Crawl – The King’s Crown RPG (for several players and one game master, 27 pages available at DriveThruRPG). You would not use this fun system if you are trying to do a GoT or LotR campaign. You would use this system if you want to entertain your players and make them laugh. I created Clip the illusionist, Trace the thief, Biggs the fighter, Tess the cleric, Rocks the ranger, and Sonnet the druid. The solo engine that I used was the Dungeons and Dragons Dungeon Master Guide 3.5 with a yes/no/maybe oracle.

The game started with the PCs picking up The Lost Blacksmith quest at The Iron Castle. There were no encounters on the road and they arrived and entered The Forge dungeon. They did notice the contact poison on a door knob, but a combat with two giant shrews did wound Biggs. They exited the dungeon, used two healing spells to heal the damage, and then went back to the nearest farm. They spent the night in a barn (they were low on coin). On the second day, Biggs woke up with a fever (fungus fever). They headed back to the castle and he got healed at a temple. For the rest of the day, Rocks killed some rabbits and cooked them for the group. On the third day they arrived back at the dungeon. They had to deal with one trap and six combat encounters (the darkmantle was nasty). They found some better armor, rope, and 20 gold pieces! The fighter was wounded again, so they healed him and spent the night at an inn.

On the fourth day they went back to the dungeon. They killed the zombie. After this they entered a room and the entire floor tilted at an extreme angle. They slid down, fell, and landed in a giant web. The cleric was wounded and poisoned by a giant spider, but they killed it. At this point, they tried to find the way out of the dungeon, but ran into a carnivorous plant. It attacked the lead party member and missed. Sonnet the druid gave it a massage and it did not want to fight anymore. They waved goodbye to the happy plant, found the blacksmith, 60 gold pieces, a healing potion, and a poison antidote (the blacksmith was carrying it). The exited the dungeon and then - party time! This RPG contain eleven more quests so get busy!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonbones Sandbox & Dungeon crawl - The King's crown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ROGUELAND
Publisher: Caverns of Heresy
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2022 16:14:36

Dungeons & Liars #46: Noble Tower (DMDave) is fun 9 page adventure for Fifth Edition D&D, but I used Rogueland (40 pages, DriveThruRPG). To solo this, I used the solo engine – FlexTale Solo Adventuring Toolkit. The quest is to destroy an evil chest.

On the first day, Clara the magician, dressed as a servant, got a job at the Noble Tower. She poisoned the food for dinner. When people started getting sick the other female cook (Mazetta) attacked her. It was a knock-down, drag-out fight with hair pulling and face scratching. Clara hits her in the jaw and knocks her out. She then kills Mazetta with a dagger. Clara is questioned, they don’t believe her story, so they capture her and lock her up in a cell in one of the upper levels of the tower. The remaining five PCs attack the guards at the entrance to the courtyard. Both sides have a member go down. The enemy guard does not recover from his wounds and dies in a few hours. Simon the PC brute is healed.

A few minutes before midnight, Clara casts her earthquake spell. She was hoping to have enough time to cast a second spell. She did not. The tower falls, she is crushed to death, a wall is destroyed, and the evil chest is destroyed.

On the second day the PCs catch some fish and fix a meal. After this they run into the three guards again. The PCs kill the three, but Jacques the champion suffers trauma (and there is a permanent penalty for that). They loot the bodies which gives three of them better armor.

On the third day they walk into the compound and see the temple and the cultists. The cultists give them information, but don’t answer questions directly. When the PCs check out the rubble of the tower they are attacked by Clara. An evil spirit from the destroyed check has possessed her. She has seen better days. She had more hit points, but the five PCs were able to kill her. So, the characters were disappointed with the loot. Maybe you will have better luck.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ROGUELAND
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kingpink: Daytime RPG
Publisher: Anthropos Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2022 18:09:04

Recently I soloed my way through Kingpink: Daytime RPG (for several players and one game master, on sale at DriveThruRPG – Christmas in July). This storytelling game is played with cards. This system is good for all kinds of conflicts. It will work for any kind of setting. It will not work for an extended dungeon crawl. I created two characters (Garonne and Kate) who are magic school students in their first year and who are connected by a spell: The Tie That Binds. The solo engine that I used was Dungeons and Dragoning with a yes/no/maybe oracle.

The first scene is the classroom. They are able to learn the first two spells: blink and invisible servant. However, when they try to cast/learn the spell porte, it backfires and sends them to another world. They find themselves in a sewer (scene two). They discover a ratcatcher and try to get him to join their group. Their attempt fails, he captures them, and then sells them to slavers. They escape the prison cell (scene three) with their blink spell, free the other prisoners, and then sneak out of the slaver dungeon. In town (scene four) they witness an encounter between a slave and his owner. The slave trips and falls. The master whips him. This triggers a memory and flashback scene (scene five) for Garonne. He remembers tripping as a child and being made fun of by other children (he is still clumsy). They use stealth to escape through the city and reach the countryside (scene six). It gets dark and they set up camp. They sleep for about one hour and are awakened by the sounds of dogs barking. They try to run, but they are captured by the slavers. Sigh, well maybe you will have better luck.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kingpink: Daytime RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One-Shot RPG System Rules: Dread Quest Fantasy Rules
Publisher: One Shot RPG
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2022 23:55:02

Recently, I soloed my way through OSRPG Fantasy: Rise of the Vampire (free/pay what you want at DriveThruRPG, 14 pages). It is an adventure for One-Shot RPG System Rules: Dread Quest Fantasy Rules (same place and price, 45 pages). For the solo engine, I used The FlexTale Solo Adventuring Toolkit (same place, 613 pages). For my PCs, I used a knight, a warrior, three wizards, and one undead.

So, they picked up their quest at an inn and a few hours later they were on the road and up against four bandits wanting money. The undead PC frightened them off with her frightening presence. The next day they arrived at the old castle and talked to Lord Greystone. He sent them out back to the cemetery. It was there that they had to deal with monsters and traps. The ghost of a wizard did give them some good advice. The vampire fight was awesome. They did kill it and gave the castle lord the news. He confessed his crime and asked for death. Angela the knight killed him just after giving Drexa a look. At this point, the PCs are supposed to return the horses to the inn, report in to the quest giver, and go pay the guild fee. They are in no hurry to do this. They are going to hangout at the castle and “manage” it for a while. Give this fun RPG a try!

Actually you could call Drexa a necromancer. She thought it was a secret, but I guess not . . . .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One-Shot RPG System Rules: Dread Quest Fantasy Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Bob. Thank you for the review. I just replied to another review where I said the worst part about writing adventures is never being there when they are played. So, thank you for giving me a glimpse of your adventure! Sounds like it was a fun adventure for Angela, Drexa, and the gang - I had to read the line about three wizards twice :). I never thought that the characters might keep the castle. That's brilliant. All the best, and I look forward to hearing about your next adventure! David
OSRPG Fantasy: Rise of the Vampire
Publisher: One Shot RPG
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2022 23:53:12

Recently, I soloed my way through OSRPG Fantasy: Rise of the Vampire (free/pay what you want at DriveThruRPG, 14 pages). It is an adventure for One-Shot RPG System Rules: Dread Quest Fantasy Rules (same place and price, 45 pages). For the solo engine, I used The FlexTale Solo Adventuring Toolkit (same place, 613 pages). For my PCs, I used a knight, a warrior, three wizards, and one undead.

So, they picked up their quest at an inn and a few hours later they were on the road and up against four bandits wanting money. The undead PC frightened them off with her frightening presence. The next day they arrived at the old castle and talked to Lord Greystone. He sent them out back to the cemetery. It was there that they had to deal with monsters and traps. The ghost of a wizard did give them some good advice. The vampire fight was awesome. They did kill it and gave the castle lord the news. He confessed his crime and asked for death. Angela the knight killed him just after giving Drexa a look. At this point, the PCs are supposed to return the horses to the inn, report in to the quest giver, and go pay the guild fee. They are in no hurry to do this. They are going to hangout at the castle and “manage” it for a while. Give this fun adventure a try! Actually you could call her a necromancer. She thought it was a secret, but I guess not . . . .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OSRPG Fantasy: Rise of the Vampire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A.C.E. #4: Strange Science
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2022 03:53:26

For a few days, I have soloed an adventure using A.C.E. #1: Awfully Cheerful Engine! (39 pages). This d6 dice pool system is described as a cinematic tabletop roleplaying game of comedic action . The adventure I used was designed for this system, A.C.E. #4, Strange Science (36 pages). I used a 43 card Magic The Gathering deck as the solo engine. Here are the highlights. So, I started with four fifteen year old PCs and one older brother, Carl. He is 21 years old, is a college student (scientist), and owns a car. He is always driving the other four around.

The first location was the high school. They picked up several clues here and had lots of choices on where to go next. They decided on New-Trition because the pod-people love the drink that is only available there. The second location was the new health food store. It was being operated by a pod-person. It was difficult to converse with them because they are new to the English language and use strange word combinations. Luckily, they are so new that they have no idea how to lie. It was here they found out where Fit Juice is made. The third location was the Osterman Lab. Carl discovered that he could hypnotize the pod-people with his silver crucifix necklace. More questions were asked and more clues were found. Carl made two bombs. The clues led them to the fourth location, the caverns below. They killed the alien-vine-thing with fire. The entire thing turned to ash and the connected alien was killed at the very bottom. It was here they got to see the two gates (different sizes). Carl attached a bomb to the dead alien, set the timer, and threw it through the smaller portal. The portal disappeared. Next, they started killing pod-people. Some did escape (with the food source gone they all eventually died).

The last location was the local radio station where the pod-people had altered the equipment. It was sending out subliminal messages to those humans listening to that station. After parking the car there they met Dunwood (another scientist and an adult). He told them he had seen Men In Black taking out a strange looking artifact. The radio waves were okay now. The PCs told Dunwood about the second portal and where it was. They warned him about the pod-people left alive. They also put him in charge and were done with this world-saving-stuff. It was time to go to bed. Give this a try! I am sure your playthrough will be different.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A.C.E. #4: Strange Science
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A.C.E. #1: The Awfully Cheerful Engine!
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2022 03:50:45

For a few days, I have soloed an adventure using A.C.E. #1: Awfully Cheerful Engine! (39 pages at DriveThruRPG, less than one dollar). This d6 dice pool system is described as a cinematic tabletop roleplaying game of comedic action . The adventure I used was designed for this system, A.C.E. #4, Strange Science (same place, same price). I used a 43 card Magic The Gathering deck as the solo engine. Here are the highlights. So, I started with four fifteen year old PCs and one older brother, Carl. He is 21 years old, is a college student (scientist), and owns a car. He is always driving the other four around.

The first location was the high school. They picked up several clues here and had lots of choices on where to go next. They decided on New-Trition because the pod-people love the drink that is only available there. The second location was the new health food store. It was being operated by a pod-person. It was difficult to converse with them because they are new to the English language and use strange word combinations. Luckily, they are so new that they have no idea how to lie. It was here they found out where Fit Juice is made. The third location was the Osterman Lab. Carl discovered that he could hypnotize the pod-people with his silver crucifix necklace. More questions were asked and more clues were found. Carl made two bombs. The clues led them to the fourth location, the caverns below. They killed the alien-vine-thing with fire. The entire thing turned to ash and the connected alien was killed at the very bottom. It was here they got to see the two gates (different sizes). Carl attached a bomb to the dead alien, set the timer, and threw it through the smaller portal. The portal disappeared. Next, they started killing pod-people. Some did escape (with the food source gone they all eventually died).

The last location was the local radio station where the pod-people had altered the equipment. It was sending out subliminal messages to those humans listening to that station. After parking the car there they met Dunwood (another scientist and an adult). He told them he had seen Men In Black taking out a strange looking artifact. The radio waves were okay now. The PCs told Dunwood about the second portal and where it was. They warned him about the pod-people left alive. They also put him in charge and were done with this world-saving-stuff. It was time to go to bed. Give this a try! I am sure your playthrough will be different.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A.C.E. #1: The Awfully Cheerful Engine!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D100 Forest Encounters & Events
Publisher: Christian Blair
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2022 04:34:37

A few days ago I soloed my way through Up North (12 pages at DriveThruRPG, free/pay what you want). This dice pool system is described as a game about monster kids and what they do during the summer months. Camp is an escape from the stress of daily life for the orcs, goblins, and trolls that inhabit the dark spots on the map. For the adventure, I used Hexroll (google "Hexroll roll a sandbox"). I used D100 Forest Encounters & Events (DriveThruRPG) along with a yes/no/maybe oracle as the solo engine. Here are the highlights.

So, I started with six characters : two orcs, two goblins, and two trolls. They were sent on a quest to get a special ingredient for a stew. Instead of going straight there, they decided to take the long way, hoping for an adventure. On the first day they killed a total of six bandits. This kingdom has 50,106 residents minus the six dead bandits. (By the way, the ruler of this kingdom is a necromancer). At dinner time, they found a cave with an underground lake. They tried to catch fish for dinner, but that did not work out. In the morning, they backtracked to the bridge and river. Once again, they did not catch any fish, but three Locathah did find them. There was a battle, the fishmen died, and my six campers ate them (adventuring can make a monster kid hungry). A bit later, they actually found a dungeon (I was quite surprised). In the first room they killed two white apes, but Osho and Igaram took damage. They did not like that. A few more days back at the summer camp was sounding better and better. They headed back in the direction of the camp but ran into a talkative brass dragon. It would not shut up. They were smart enough to let it do what it wanted, so, they fell asleep listening to it talk. The next morning it was gone. They did find a lost camper soon after this.

A bit later, they were back at camp. They got a decent meal and were healed. They got to tell their new story to the campers. They showed off their awesome treasure : 6 amulets, 6 leather armors, 9 longswords, white ape teeth, and dragon bone fragments (for magic defense). Give this D100 encounter chart a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D100 Forest Encounters & Events
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Up North
Publisher: Gnoll & Gnome Press
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2022 04:32:02

A few days ago I soloed my way through Up North (12 pages at DriveThruRPG, free/pay what you want). This dice pool system is described as a game about monster kids and what they do during the summer months. Camp is an escape from the stress of daily life for the orcs, goblins, and trolls that inhabit the dark spots on the map. For the adventure, I used Hexroll (google "Hexroll roll a sandbox"). I used D100 Forest Encounters & Events (DriveThruRPG) along with a yes/no/maybe oracle as the solo engine. Here are the highlights.

So, I started with six characters : two orcs, two goblins, and two trolls. They were sent on a quest to get a special ingredient for a stew. Instead of going straight there, they decided to take the long way, hoping for an adventure. On the first day they killed a total of six bandits. This kingdom has 50,106 residents minus the six dead bandits. (By the way, the ruler of this kingdom is a necromancer). At dinner time, they found a cave with an underground lake. They tried to catch fish for dinner, but that did not work out. In the morning, they backtracked to the bridge and river. Once again, they did not catch any fish, but three Locathah did find them. There was a battle, the fishmen died, and my six campers ate them (adventuring can make a monster kid hungry). A bit later, they actually found a dungeon (I was quite surprised). In the first room they killed two white apes, but Osho and Igaram took damage. They did not like that. A few more days back at the summer camp was sounding better and better. They headed back in the direction of the camp but ran into a talkative brass dragon. It would not shut up. They were smart enough to let it do what it wanted, so, they fell asleep listening to it talk. The next morning it was gone. They did find a lost camper soon after this.

A bit later, they were back at camp. They got a decent meal and were healed. They got to tell their new story to the campers. They showed off their awesome treasure : 6 amulets, 6 leather armors, 9 longswords, white ape teeth, and dragon bone fragments (for magic defense). Give this a try!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Up North
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventurer's Lexicon - Dungeon Edition
Publisher: Atelier Clandestin
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2022 18:35:50

A Summer on Tell Tale Island (free/pay what you want at DriveThruRPG) is a 15 page modern day RPG and adventure. I wanted more of an adventure, so I also used Adventurer’s Lexicon Dungeon Editioin to create a dungeon (also at DriveThruRPG, 48 pages). To solo this, I used BX Advanced along with a yes/no/maybe oracle. I did make some changes like this advertisement – “Do you have a teenager who screwed up his school year? Do you want to get rid of him or her for the summer and the following school year? You will not need to see them again until the following summer. Send them to Togwarts Magical School for Juvenile Delinquents. Don’t worry about our fifty page Release of Liability. Our attorney says that it is no big deal. Don’t worry about the cemetery that connects to our backyard, that is simply there for our convenience. Call our toll free number now!”.

I created five PC teenagers: Arnie the arsonist, Shana the shoplifter, Morris the car thief, Jackson the nonconformist, and Simon the practical joker. The adventure started with them meeting the headmaster. Next, they met Magic Scout Leader Rick (he is a master wizard) who sends them to a parallel dimension consisting of a vast island in the middle of nowhere. The island is everchanging and all manner of strange things occur there.

The PCs start their adventure with a chemistry set, a torch, a large black cloth bag, candy bars, a steel key, and a hand mirror. They check out the Trailer Park (it has seen better days), the Wild West Bank (Come back when you have money!), Woolworth (it has a dungeoneering section and a Luncheonette), the Tiki Bar Hut (Candace works here and hands out badges if they are earned), and the Dungeon of Death (the sign – Chills! Thrills!). The PCs adventure for three days. This gives them enough time to earn two badges total and sell stuff to get an upgrade to four spears, one short sword, and one shield. They do all survive.

Give this dungeon a try!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer's Lexicon - Dungeon Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Summer on Tell Tale Island
Publisher: Oddfellow Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2022 18:30:06

A Summer on Tell Tale Island (free/pay what you want at DriveThruRPG) is a 15 page modern day RPG and adventure. I wanted more of an adventure, so I also used Adventurer’s Lexicon to create a dungeon (also at DriveThruRPG, 48 pages). To solo this, I used BX Advanced along with a yes/no/maybe oracle. I did make some changes like this advertisement – “Do you have a teenager who screwed up his school year? Do you want to get rid of him or her for the summer and the following school year? You will not need to see them again until the following summer. Send them to Togwarts Magical School for Juvenile Delinquents. Don’t worry about our fifty page Release of Liability. Our attorney says that it is no big deal. Don’t worry about the cemetery that connects to our backyard, that is simply there for our convenience. Call our toll free number now!”.

I created five PC teenagers: Arnie the arsonist, Shana the shoplifter, Morris the car thief, Jackson the nonconformist, and Simon the practical joker. The adventure started with them meeting the headmaster. Next, they met Magic Scout Leader Rick (he is a master wizard) who sends them to a parallel dimension consisting of a vast island in the middle of nowhere. The island is everchanging and all manner of strange things occur there.

The PCs start their adventure with a chemistry set, a torch, a large black cloth bag, candy bars, a steel key, and a hand mirror. They check out the Trailer Park (it has seen better days), the Wild West Bank (Come back when you have money!), Woolworth (it has a dungeoneering section and a Luncheonette), the Tiki Bar Hut (Candace works here and hands out badges if they are earned), and the Dungeon of Death (the sign – Chills! Thrills!). The PCs adventure for three days. This gives them enough time to earn two badges total and sell stuff to get an upgrade to four spears, one short sword, and one shield. They do all survive. Give this a try!

Note – There are no classes or skills, only six attributes and hit points.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Summer on Tell Tale Island
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Wow! This is a lovely review. I'm glad you liked it! Thanks so much for leaving a review!
Orcs! A High Octane Adventure!
Publisher: DIY RPG Productions
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2022 05:59:10

Orcs! A High Octane Adventure! (available at DriveThruRPG) is an exciting 50 page adventure for Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure, but I used Gamma Five – A Gamma World Conversion for DnD 5e (84 pages). To solo this, I used Mythic (with a twist). I created five random third level characters: a fungus, a pure strain human, an Ubermensch (Trisha), a saurian, and an amphibian.

The adventure starts on a train. The PCs are hired as security guards to protect the train (the pay is lousy). The train starts moving and later the non-stop action begins. The characters did not go backwards (three cars back that way), but forwards. They explored a total of 11 cars (rooms). Some of the cars were locked and trapped, but no worries, you always have the option of climbing up and over the car (there is a chart for this). Oh, and most of the train cars are random (you use a deck of playing cards – great replay value). So yes, there were orcs to kill and even a flying squid. My PCs were doing great until they got to the engine. It was here that they ran into the Big Bad Abomination. This thing could, in one combat round, use its green eye attack, regurgitate two Corrupted Humans, and possibly a melee attack (my opinion – over powered). My PCs quickly saw that this battle was hopeless, except for Trisha. She was going to fight it to the death. Several PCs tried to blow up the engine. The conductor attempted to spit acid on the abomination but missed. The acid hit the engine and then it blew up. All the monsters and the PCs in the engine car were destroyed. A Total Party Kill. Well, maybe you will have better luck.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Orcs! A High Octane Adventure!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delusions of Grandeur OSE
Publisher: Adventure Bundles
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2022 18:25:02

Recently, I soloed my way through the fun adventure Delusions of Grandeur OSE (free/pay what you want at DriveThruRPG, 16 pages). There is also a Fifth Edition version. This OSE version is a fantasy adventure for Old-School Essentials, but I used OS&R: Oubliettes, Sorcery, & Reavers (132 pages at DriveThruRPG). For the solo engine, I used Castle Oldskull Dungeon Generator (same place) along with a yes/no/maybe oracle. I created five characters: a ranger with a cave lion pet, a war mage, a dwarf, an elf, and a halfling. The PCs heard about a village in trouble. When they get there, they explore three locations. The village leader offers them a reward if they solve the problem. They grab a map and off the go. They travel for three days and manage to avoid combat.

When they reach the mine, they attack the goblins who really do not want to fight. They don’t put up much of a defense and they run from the lion. The PCs loot the place as they slowly chase the goblins. The defenders that do fight to the death are the kobolds who are protecting their eggs. They die and the lion eats the eggs. My war mage saw the goblin wizard escape down a chute. He mentions it to the others and slides down it. As soon as the mage sees the wizard he starts a wizard duel. Another victory for the PCs. On this level they manage to rescue a human fighter, rescue an archaeologist, kill a monster, and kill the goblin king and his guards. They do find some nice loot. The way back to the village is quiet (a deity is involved). They claim the reward even though seven goblins did escape. They keep that secret to themselves. Give this a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delusions of Grandeur OSE
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OS&R: Oubliettes, Sorcery, & Reavers
Publisher: The Rune^Forge
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2022 18:23:37

Recently, I soloed my way through the fun adventure Delusions of Grandeur OSE (free/pay what you want at DriveThruRPG, 16 pages). There is also a Fifth Edition version. This OSE version is a fantasy adventure for Old-School Essentials, but I used OS&R: Oubliettes, Sorcery, & Reavers (132 pages at DriveThruRPG). For the solo engine, I used Castle Oldskull Dungeon Generator (same place) along with a yes/no/maybe oracle. I created five characters: a ranger with a cave lion pet, a war mage, a dwarf, an elf, and a halfling. The PCs heard about a village in trouble. When they get there, they explore three locations. The village leader offers them a reward if they solve the problem. They grab a map and off the go. They travel for three days and manage to avoid combat. When they reach the mine, they attack the goblins who really do not want to fight. They don’t put up much of a defense and they run from the lion. The PCs loot the place as they slowly chase the goblins. The defenders that do fight to the death are the kobolds who are protecting their eggs. They die and the lion eats the eggs. My war mage saw the goblin wizard escape down a chute. He mentions it to the others and slides down it. As soon as the mage sees the wizard he starts a wizard duel. Another victory for the PCs. On this level they manage to rescue a human fighter, rescue an archaeologist, kill a monster, and kill the goblin king and his guards. They do find some nice loot. The way back to the village is quiet (a deity is involved). They claim the reward even though seven goblins did escape. They keep that secret to themselves. Give this a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OS&R: Oubliettes, Sorcery, & Reavers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Echoes of the Labyrinth
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2022 19:42:53

Recently, I soloed my way through The Manor of Asmodine. It is an adventure for Advanced HeroQuest. This adventure can be found free on the internet. The RPG system that I used to play it is was Echoes of the Labyrinth (inspired by Tunnels & Trolls). It can be found at DriveThruRPG (23 pages, on sale now for $2). For the solo engine, I used The FlexTale Solo Adventuring Toolkit (which also created the manor basement). I created three fighters, Cassandra the thief, and Levus the pixie wizard as my player characters.

The quest was to explore a mysterious manor. In the manor they killed 34 monsters. The bedroom was small and had two surprises. Fighting in there was a pain in the butt. In the basement, the ghost of a wizard looked over their loot and told Levus how to charm the bloodthirster. They were able to charm the monster, but did not know what to do with it. They marched it back to town and tricked it into falling into the well. It started screaming and shaking the nearby dwellings. The tavern owner, a retired wizard, showed up to kill it. The local authorities rounded up the PCs, questioned them, and fined them for the breaking of several ordinances. Well, at least they still had some loot left over. Give this a try!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Echoes of the Labyrinth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 231 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates