DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Weirdspace - Quickstart
Publisher: Mongoose
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2020 07:13:34

Game Review - Weirdspace Quickstart is a rules-light science fiction RPG set in a wild and crazy universe (free at DriveThruRPG). There are 27 pages of rules, 4 characters to start with, and 20 pages for the adventure. The system is based on percentage dice and I did roll up a half bat/half man computer hacker. So, being a Quickstart, some of the rules are missing. This can be a bit of a challenge when you run the adventure. The designer, Paul Cat, does have a Facebook page and his upbeat personality is contagious. Taking all of this into consideration, I give this Quickstart four out of five stars. I used The Dungeon Oracle to solo this one. The adventure was designed for a Game Master and several players.

The fun adventure starts when our spaceship (with our five characters) receives three messages about a prison ship that has taken massive damage and is going down. I knew that the space pirates were coming, so I was ready for them when they arrived. I manipulated them to take over the prison ship. My plan was to steal their ship, but it did not work out that way. Most of the space pirates were killed by the prisoners. My PCs killed the remaining five pirates. The prisoners took the space pirate ship and made their escape. My characters can now salvage the disabled prison ship. Give this one a try!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weirdspace - Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inscrutable Puzzlements
Publisher: Green Dwarf Productions
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2020 14:55:19

Inscrutable Puzzlements is a rules-light steampunk/horror game set in the late 19th century. There are 151 pages and 25 of them cover the setting. The system is basic, it does work, and could be adapted to any RPG setting. I like the rules for Stamina Points which are used for the Signature Abilities. The rules for for scaling enemies or creating new ones is amazing. So, taking all of this into consideration, I give this three out of five stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Inscrutable Puzzlements
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeonbright
Publisher: Sigil Stone Publishing
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2020 09:35:23

On June 15, 2020 I soloed my way through Master of the Fallen Fortress (Pathfinder 1.0 RPG, free at Paizo), a nine page adventure with six characters provided. It is for first level characters. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. I used Paul's The Dungeon Oracle to solo it because I have played it before. The game system I used was Dungeonbright which is free at DriveThru. I used three paladins and a warrior. I have been DMing since 1976. I am willing to bet that you will not like a rule or two in this free RPG. Just change what you don't like and enjoy the system. The adventure - Jared the paladin had a skill of locks and traps. He had his moment of glory when he freed the prisoner (bard). However, he was picked by the party to go first when adventuring and to find the traps. He was not very good at this. He took damage from a trap he did not see. He later took shock damage and went unconscious. The party carried him around for awhile, got tired of that, and healed him. Soon after this he walked right by a secret door. He did not see it at all. The four of them did manage to finish the quest and survive. There was some nice loot. Give this a try.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeonbright
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon Smashers
Publisher: JEN Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2020 08:00:40

For the past few days I have soloed my way through Isle of the Rat Wizard (for Far Away Land RPG), free at DriveThru, a six page adventure which is a bit wacky, but it does not have to be. It is for first level characters. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. I used Paul's The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox to solo it. The game system I used was Dungeons Smashers which is on sale at the moment. It has 105 pages and more than 100 illustrations. I did complete the quest and the PCs received a gold bar and a sloop. We recruited a sailor and then sailed the open seas. This led us to The Mystery of Black Ash Island for 7th Sea. It is free out there on the web. At a port the PCs bought a treasure map and went after the treasure right away. The druid was able to find the treasure and get it to the boat. However, pirates in another sloop were waiting for this moment. There was a big battle and now we have two sloops. Our sailor died during this. We had captured one of the pirates, but he could not be trusted. We made him swim to a small island. And, of course, the pirates had loot!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Smashers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ruins of Pinegarde
Publisher: Lion's Brain Media
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2020 15:17:10

For the past few days I have soloed my way through Ruins of Pinegarde (for Pathfinder 2.0, free at DriveThru), a 28 page adventure which contains two maps. It is for first level characters. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. I used Paul's The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox to solo it. I used higher level 5E characters and made the adventure harder. This adventure requires the characters to find a stolen item and bring it back in a certain amount of time. On the first day they walked into an area that was haunted and they were attacked by spirit/memories. The wizard was able to clean up the area, but a strong female girl spirit ended up going into the minotaur fighter. We now have a dual personality going on. The wizard could have tried to fix this, but he would rather laugh at the fighter. For the rest of the adventure the minotaur was emotional and he later put cute ribbons in his hair. They actually managed to get the missing item back after a very long day. On the second day they rested in the town of the quest giver. On the third day they attended the Expo Demonstration (they were invited). On the fourth day they went back to finish cleaning out the ruins. They cooked the reefclaws that they had killed that day and had a meal. There were five other types of monsters that I had not fought before in this fun adventure. Give it a try and eat some reefclaw , , , ,



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Pinegarde
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Night Blade: A Free 5e Fantastic Adventure
Publisher: SlyFlourish
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2020 14:26:57

For the past few days I have soloed my way through THE NIGHT BLADE a (four hour) Free 5E Adventure, available on DriveThruRPG). It is designed for a dungeon master and several players. I used The Dungeon Oracle to solo through it. It was designed for third level characters, but I made it tougher so that my six characters (average level of five) could play it. The most interesting discovery (because of the Oracle) was a drug laboratory. They had somehow managed to produce an addictive drug and their drugged-up test subject was chained up down there. Of course we took all of the drugs on the way out. You never know, they could come in handy some time. Great fun. Give this a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Night Blade: A Free 5e Fantastic Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cards & Catacombs
Publisher: Harrington Martin Books
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2020 08:49:09

For the past few days I have soloed my way through Cards & Catacombs, a dungeon crawl game (which is free/pay what you want on DriveThruRPG). It uses a deck of cards, so you will not need your dice. The first time I played this I used a cleric, archer, thief, and mage. We encountered four demons and it was a bloody mess. Three of my characters died and my mage had one hit point left. The devil that was attacking him also had one hit point left. I was biting my nails and then my mage was killed. Bummer. The second time I used it I played one character, a fighter. I also added some cards from the Dungeoneer card game Tomb of the Lich Lord (Atlas-games). This worked out much better. He got into a fight with a poltergeist and he defeated it. For loot, he found 16 gold pieces, a back pack, and a teleport staff (four uses). He was anxious to get back to town and spend his gold, so he used his magic staff. Great fun. Give this a try.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cards & Catacombs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the glowing review, Bob! I very much appreciate it. Cards & Catacombs is the first step in a larger process, so there will be more games coming that utilize this gaming engine. And there are expansions planned for Cards & Catacombs as well. This game design is something I like to call the Synopsis Engine. It's a way to generalize the process of going through large chunks of adventures and skip over the smaller details. It works great for cards so C&C was the result of the nuts and bolts of the system. This Synopsis Engine will be utilized within dice games too. I've got big plans, so here's to hoping it all falls into place. Cheers!
In the Heart of the Delve & Dangerous - Procedural Network/Dungeon Crawling Engine
Publisher: Goblin's Henchman
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2020 20:37:19

For the past few days I have soloed my way through In the Heart of the Delve Dangerous, a hex crawl tool. Now this is not your normal hexcrawl. This one page tool (which is free/pay what you want on DriveThruRPG) generates dungeon rooms/placement and then what is in that room. It has other uses too. Because my wizard and his companions had been sent to a dimension (botched spell), I was looking for a way to generate the adventure. So, I the DM call this Tarot Card World Dimension. It is a 3D world, but all characters and things are in 2D. The PCs were in the shape of a playing cards with arms and legs. On day one they started on a road. After several hours of walking, the 5,6, &7 of swords came out from behind the bushes (think tall fence). They were men-at-arms from the local castle (swords) and told us we were guilty of being spies and that we would be tried in court. My team won the battle (no one was killed) and we sent them home. On the second day they returned with the army and we were captured and taken to the castle. On the third day the sorcerer had a fling with the queen (the king was cursed by her and was now a piece of origami). The fling lasted for about 24 hours and then it fell apart. They were tried and convicted by the judge to die by guillotine. The queen said they could live for another year if they could pass her test. To wrap this up, spells were cast at test time and the King, who was back in human form, killed the queen. A portal was created for the trip out of the dimension, but not home. Great fun. Give this a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Heart of the Delve & Dangerous - Procedural Network/Dungeon Crawling Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2020 08:11:54

_IF you are a player - Spoilers - For the past few days I have soloed my way through Riddle of the Raven Queen (for 5E), an eight hour adventure. It is free, for now, on Dungeon Masters Guild. It is for characters with levels five to ten. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. I used Paul's The Dungeon Oracle to solo it. This fun adventure is 35 pages long and contains three maps and ten stat blocks. -So, in this adventure an elven village is being bothered by drow and their oracle has been taken. My sorcerer finds the "magical" trail that leads to her. On the way they find a drow outpost. They sneak in, kill the leader and wizard, step back out, and my sorcerer flattens the place (critical success) with a cave-in which kills seventeen drow. They get back on the trail, forage and find raw pine nuts, and then find drow outpost number two. The sorcerer kills a lookout with a fireball, the second lookout escapes (on fire), the sorcerer starts acting in an "erratic" manner, tries casting another spell, and sends the entire party to a dimension (which has nothing to do with the module). Once again the sorcerer has trashed the planned adventure. His travelling companions are not amused . . . .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Stuffed Guardians
Publisher: Benjamin Z. Edelen
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2020 05:57:27

For the past few days I have soloed my way through The Stuffed Guardians a fun rule set/adventure for Fate Condensed. Both are available for free/pay what you want at DriveThruRPG. I used the rule system Tiny Supers with first level characters. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. I used The Dungeon Oracle to solo it. The adventure started with the superheroes going to sleep and finding themselves in teddy bears (the children’s imaginations defended themselves from a threat by empowering stuffed toys to defend them). On their first day of adventuring, the mastermind character was exploring a child's home to find a weapon. Instead, he found the family dog, a golden retriever. The hero had his head ripped off and it was never recovered. They survived this encounter, the wounded hero was taped up with scotch tape, but he could not see for the rest of the adventure. It was a bad start. During the next few hours they started to understand the laws of dreamland. Their strategies improved, they did survive, and they rescued the five children. Good luck!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Stuffed Guardians
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lavender Hack: Tarantula Hawk Wasp Edition
Publisher: Ziapelta Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2020 08:41:06

Do you like games where you never get lost, never get hungry, never kill your buddy, never find bad weather, never have to repair your stuff, never run out of money, never have to worry about the weight of your stuff, and where magic is predictable? Then this game is not for you. For the past few days I have soloed my way through Lavender Hack. It is free on DriveThruRPG. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. I used The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox to solo it. I used a first level character to play through it. My hunter survived his first adventure, but he needed to get back home to get some rest and relaxation. On the way home he encountered a wolf and got killed. So, next time I will try two characters. I hope they will not kill each other . . .



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lavender Hack: Tarantula Hawk Wasp Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
This is an awesome review, thank you! I've actually been thinking about adding some solo stuff the past few weeks. Might not be appropriate for the main PDF, but I think it would be cool to have a hex generation engine that's a little bit "push your luck" as you try to find worthwhile sites to explore. I haven't seen that toolbox, but I'll have to check it out!
GODS - Beginner's Kit
Publisher: Arkhane Asylum Publishing
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2020 15:34:14

For the past few days I have soloed my way through GODS Beginner's Kit (88 pages/four to six hours). It is free on DriveThru RPG. The artwork is amazing and the mood is dark fantasy. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. I used The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox to solo it. I used the six characters that are provided to play through it. The female that used blood magic (PC) I replaced with a passive aggressive enchantress. I did not use the included RPG system, I used Black Hack. On day one my tracker was attacked by a group of beasts. He was eaten alive, a horrible way to die. This same day we met the cultists of the Kingdom Queen and hated them instantly. On day two we could have done another village event, but it involved blood and we were not impressed. The enchantress led us to another "village" and we filled them in on what had been happening. They worshipped Ninsumu and they were anti-Queen so we joined their side. This led to a big battle where the Enchantress would have died, but she had a guardian angel (one use only). We used this distraction to leave the area. We let them finish their battle. On to the next adventure . . . . .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GODS - Beginner's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Encounter Critical: A Science-Fiction Fantasy Role Play Game
Publisher: Cumberland Games & Diversions
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2020 07:55:58

Yesterday I soloed my way through The Jade Hare for Basic D&D (9 pages, three to four hour adventure). It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. I used Paul's The Dungeon Oracle to solo it because I had played through it almost two years ago. I used five low level characters to play through it. Instead of Basic, I used Encounter Critical which is free/pay what you want at DriveThru RPG. This system was designed as a joke, it is a bit of a mess, but it works. The most exciting adventure scene was halfway into it when a crazy dice roll triggered a tricky trap. My rogue was poisoned and had to be dragged through the dungeon. The most interesting scene was when the Oracle told me "important armies" in the dining area. I interpreted this as - on the large dining room table, a diorama has been set up showing terrain, landmarks, and groups of figures/something is being planned/a clue to the next adventure. So, this first adventure was completed and the rogue recovered. Good luck!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Encounter Critical: A Science-Fiction Fantasy Role Play Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Duskwalker's Due
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 18:15:26

For the past few days I have soloed my way through The Duskwalker's Due made for Pathfinder 2.0. It is available for pay what you want/free $ at DriveThruRPG. I used the Pathfinder 2.0 Playtest to play it and the Solo Adventurer's Toolbox to solo it. It is a solo adventure and a character is included that you use (higher than first level). The document is 19 pages long and it took me several hours to play it. It is well designed but brutal. The Boss took me out in no time at all. I wanted revenge. So, I used Rabbits & Rangers (2$ for 86 pages) and I combined it with Castles & Crusades. I turned it into a level one adventure and used six toon characters to play through it. My armadillo wizard used an ACME Catalogue to order a ghostbuster trap. When it was turned on, it did spark and smoke (some old cheap model), but it was able to capture the Boss. Bustin' makes me feel good . . .



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Duskwalker's Due
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rabbits & Rangers - LL
Publisher: Random Order Creations
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 18:12:50

For the past few days I have soloed my way through The Duskwalker's Due made for Pathfinder 2.0. It is available for pay what you want/free $ at DriveThruRPG. I used the Pathfinder 2.0 Playtest to play it and the Solo Adventurer's Toolbox to solo it. It is a solo adventure and a character is included that you use (higher than first level). The document is 19 pages long and it took me several hours to play it. It is well designed but brutal. The Boss took me out in no time at all. I wanted revenge. So, I used Rabbits & Rangers (2$ for 86 pages of rules) and I combined it with Castles & Crusades. I turned it into a level one adventure and used six toon characters to play through it. My armadillo wizard used an ACME Catalogue to order a ghostbuster trap. When it was turned on it did spark and smoke (some old cheap model), but it was able to capture the Boss. Bustin' makes me feel good . . .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rabbits & Rangers - LL
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates