DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Six Seasons in Sartar $19.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
37 23
1 1
1 1
0 0
0 0
Six Seasons in Sartar
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2021 07:55:02

There's already 64 very good critics ! I just want to say, once again, that this campaign is awesome. Just because of the very nature of it ! I think this is for the players and the GM one of the best way to discover an orlanthi clan, together, and for the GM to understand what "Your Glorantha will vary" means. Really and in depth. "Old" RQ players/GM will be extremely pleased and new ones will discover Glorantha, certainly, in one of the best way you could imagine. As some kind of a special mention, I will highly recommand it as a starting campaign for new RQ players/GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Mark B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2021 02:11:15

Six Seasons in Sartar, for Runequest, really is an excellent quality book, and im not just talking about the bindings [which are great], but also the writing, design layout and organisation of this book. Honestly, this is absolutely the best way to introduce a new group of players [and/or a new group of player characters] to Runquest, and especially to the world of Glorantha.

frankly this book is mesmerising. the inclusion of heroquesting themes and preludes to world changing [Glorantha] events, shown here had me, as a gm just reading through the materials, completely absorbed.

one of the best adventures i have ever read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Jason F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2021 14:48:39

Fully deserves its status as one of the best RQ products in the JC.

The author has been playing and thinking Glorantha for decades, and it shows. There is a richness to the material that makes it evocative to read, and I would imagine, to run or play. The metatextual quotations from fictional scholars are an excellent way to show how the material can be adapted to the GM's group's own needs. The story episodes have excellent variety, being a mix of moral decisions, combat, skill use, heroquesting, and experiencing what it means to belong to the Haraborn community. An "episodes" chapter sketches out several useful but more generic events, also full of solid details but easily used in this or another campaign.

Minor quibble: The writing is good throughout, and as I've said, the material itself is excellent, so it's a bit unfortunate that its marred by some distracting typos. It could use another proofreading pass.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Chris G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2021 13:13:37

I simply cannot rate this book too highly! This should be the second book you buy after the Core RQG rulebook. Seriously. You do not even need the Bestiary or the GM's Screen pack to get stuck into this Gloranthan feast. Instead of the fully formed experienced characters of RQG, it stops off in the character background generation with teenage PCs, as was normal in earlier versions of Runequest. The players then get to roleplay their inititaion as men and women in Sartartite Orlanthi Society, and the choices they make which will lead to the big life decisions of the 1620s. On the way, we discover what Heroquesting means, family, custom, legends, the Lunar occupation and the dangers which lie around the heroes' path. There is even a dungeon to bash! It concentrates on a very primitive clan of the Colymar, so new players do not (yet) have the full range of different cults and occupations presented in the rule book. Instead, they get a much more thorough grounding in the life of regular Orlanthi, and the culture presented in 'King of Sartar'. But it is certainly not boring. Perils, mythical happenings, famous heroes and difficult choices abound. There are rules for battles and raids, for romance, childbirth and funerals. There are helpful GM hints on how to make the action more gritty, or more family friendly, depending on the needs of your group. Reviews suggesting this advocates only one play style are wide of the mark. Two absolute standout aspects are the incredibly useful rules on designing and handling NPCs, and on enlisting your players to design their own heroquests. These are useful even if you don't intend to present a fully Sartarite campaign. I am amazed that a book like this, or even this book itself, was not the second official Chaosium RQG book. I would certainly advise any budding GM to start off with it before plunging into the Smoking Ruins or Pegasus Plateau.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Oliver B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2021 14:02:15

THis is an excellent product. If I was starting a new campaign in Glorantha this would be a perfect way to introduce and provide a feeling for the setting for newbies and veterans alike. Each scenario builds on the previous and gets the PCs ready for the Hero Wars. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Shannon A. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/30/2021 17:05:10

This is not a classic RuneQuest adventure, full of delves and fights (though there is a mini-delve! and more than one fight!). Instead it's a deeply moving story about a community that does a magnificent job of blending together many of the elements that make RuneQuest and its world of Glorantha unique.

One moment it's a story of young initiation, another it's about mythic quests. One moment it's a political story of oppression and rebellion, another it's about historical treasures unearthed. Somehow, Montgomery makes it all blend together seamlessly, creating a whole that's much greater than its parts.

The result? One of the best RuneQuest adventures ever.

There are also some great nuances here. The adventure's "supporting cast" stat boxes break away from the number-heavy stats required by RuneQuest and provide just what you need for supporting characters, including a really nice interrelation between runes and characteristics. (I wish Chaosium would adopt them.) The section of "Episodes" at the end is a nice way to integrate a lot of story seeds (and shows how the adventure is pretty thoroughly not a railroad despite its narrative foundation; in fact, Montgomery goes out of his way to give GMs and players meaningful choices and the ability to meaningfully change the narrative). Meanwhile, the HeroQuests come across as an entirely organic expansion of RuneQuest play.

Finally, the book is physically attractive. The art is nice, the boxes are good additions to the book, and the layout is neat and attractive. (I've a slight qualm with double-spacing after periods which tends to open up big spaces in the justified text, but we each have our hobgoblins.)

Unfortunately, Six Seasons in Sartar sets an almost impossibly high standard for other RuneQuest community content — and for Chaosium's own RuneQuest content for that matter. It's a superb release.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2021 12:27:42

Since I posted this I have written a more detailed review on my blog, please check it out.

What a fabulous, detailed, well thought-out, start to a campaign! I bought the hardcover book, and it's lovely and beautifully produced. I love the idea of having a campaign that starts with cultural events like rituals of adulthood amd so on...I love how this book gets characters stuck into their tribe before the world-shaking events start. I'm very happy that the next book in the series is already on the verge of coming out, too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Leroy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2021 14:54:39

I came to Glorantha through RQ:G. I learned a little from playing King of Dragon Pass and reading the RQ:G rule book. To run a game felt like jumping into the deep end of a pool of 40 years of lore and learning to swim. Six Season in Sartar made it easier. First, the setting is pared down. The story is set in an isolated valley. Everyone and everyplace you will need is right there in the adventure. Second, it is set in 1619. The events that are in the family history portion of RQ:G are yet to come. As the referee you know what the lore says will happen soon. Third, with a smaller, isolated clan, there are fewer cults to remember. This doesn’t impact the depths of the character but rather enhances it. What makes your Ernalda initiate different from all the others in the clan? The adventures culminate by propelling the characters out into the greater Dragon Pass setting. From there you can build your own stories of use the sequel to Six Season in Sartar, Company of the Dragon. I highly recommend Six Seasons in Sartar especially if you are introducing new player to the setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Miguel O. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2021 05:18:06

After nearly 30 years doing something else, last year's upheaval has broght me back to reading RPG stuff and to Glorantha.

I did not expect what I have found.I am deeply impressed with how much the things have moved forward and evolved towards developing deep and powerful narratives.

It is so good I miss the author did not choose to write a book with his version of the story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Curtis L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2021 18:29:04

An exceptional piece of work! I liked the pdf so much I had to own the hardback! An especially fantastic introduction for players that are completely new to Glorantha, can be jiggered for a current campaign. Takes some mental gymnastics to set it post-1625, a short primer on how to do that would be a good addition at some point.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Clinton C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2020 12:21:57

I have finally had the time to read this masterpiece from cover to cover, and there isn't much to add to all the accolades it already received. Suffice to say that this is one of the best campaign books I have had the pleasure to read, on par, if not better with official products. It made Glorantha come to life, the way I always imagined it should. I enjoyed every word, the character initiation ceremonies, the scholarly excerpts, the plot, the events...

This is pure gold, there isn't one bit of it that would go to waste.

I can't wait to have a look at its sequel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Samy C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2020 15:05:37

Outstanding. Highly recommended. I'm french. I bought Runequest in the late 80s when it came out in France. Back then, I felt overwhelmed by the whole Glorantha thing : the timeline, the gods, the magic... Where do I start? How do I handle a campaign? I gave up.

30 years later, Runequest, Roleplaying in Glorantha came out... And I decided to give it another try. The game is absolutely awesome. Still the same questions arouse : where do I start? How to handle a campaign with players who have no knowledge both of Glorantha and BRP? Someone on social media suggested Six Seasons in Sartar. I decided to give it a try. And I never regretted it. It's a great campaign, but it's much more than that : it's a piece of art. It has a soul. The story is both simple and straightforward, yet deep and well thought out. I appreciate a lot the(I'm not sure of the word), modularity? You can pick what you want in the story, you can make it grim and dark or lighter and full of hope (even though it's a tragedy). The author pieces of advice throughout the book are very helpful.

Now I think I get it. Now I think I can handle a Runequest campaign. Thank You.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Samy C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2020 15:05:37

I'm french. I bought Runequest in the late 80s when it came out in France. Back then, I felt overwhelmed by the whole Glorantha thing : the timeline, the gods, the magic... Where do I start? How do I handle a campaign? I gave up.

30 years later, Runequest, Roleplaying in Glorantha came out... And I decided to give it another try. The game is absolutely awesome. Still the same questions arouse : where do I start? How to handle a campaign with players who have no knowledge both of Glorantha and BRP? Someone on social media suggested Six Seasons in Sartar. I decided to give it a try. And I never regretted it. It's a great campaign, but it's much more than that : it's a piece of art. It has a soul. The story is both simple and straightforward, yet deep and well thought out. I appreciate a lot the(I'm not sure of the word), modularity? You can pick what you want in the story, you can make it grim and dark or lighter and full of hope (even though it's a tragedy). The author pieces of advice throughout the book are very helpful.

Now I think I get it. Now I think I can handle a Runequest campaign. Thank You.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Tom S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2020 05:22:04

Awesome book. The most extensive discussion of heroquesting in RQ ever, and filled with wonderful details and characters. it also shows how to run relatively mundane, clan-related adventures as well as tying them into a larger story. if you run RQG, GET THIS.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Iain M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2020 10:52:53

I cannot praise this book highly enough. I am ten years into a long-running Gloranthan campaign and this book almost made we want to junk it and start again so that I could not just run it but see how the decisions the players made played out through the campaign. As you can probably infer from what I have just said, this campaign is for beginning characters. Runequest has a very well-thought out character background system, but running Six Seasons will provide for much more fleshed-out characters who have a reason to be together and seek adventure. But not only is the book a brilliant short campaign, it is packed full of helpful GM advice on things like NPC generation (always a tricky question in Runequest) and running Heroquests. Five stars is not enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates