DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Neon City Overdrive $9.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
24 9
3 1
1 0
0 0
0 0
Neon City Overdrive
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Neon City Overdrive
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Andrea L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2021 04:28:05

For years i try to find a game that can give me the same feelins of the good and old CP2020 but without all the crunchyness and the systemic issues. NCO is the only game that really satisfied me after years of searches.

Is a fast game that you can set up potentially with zero prep, with a easy but great resolution system that trasmits the feel and the mood of a CP world.

This is a must have if you love the genre and TRPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Neon City Overdrive
Publisher: Peril Planet
by David F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2020 12:53:06

This is a great game and the print copy is perfect. Small, light, storytelling game with a dice pool mechanic that resolves conflict nicely.

Cyberpunk like Steampunk is more a "color palette" than an actual rule system; however, the rules in this game are tight and fun. This is a very minimalist crunch system with all objects in game having a “tag” that can be either good or bad. I relate these “tags” to “aspects” used in the Fate System. Each tag (both good and bad) add dice to a dice pool, but only the highest good dice counts toward a success.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review - it is much appreciated!
Neon City Overdrive
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Phillip G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2020 07:48:14

The rules are so perfect for cyberpunk. My group loved it and we were up and running in no time. In a genre burdened with extreme crunch, this game is a refreshing change.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for this review!
Neon City Overdrive
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Judd G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2020 23:19:06

Fast, simple, and versitile! This game presents the world and the options with tremendous clarity and the system is fast and allows for creativity and improvisation at the table. The book is well presented as well, with good layput and excellent selection of evocative art. The GM is free to tailor the sandbox setting to fit the exact tone of cyberpunk they are trying to create or model. The die mechanic is very simple, but creates tension in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for this review! It is appreciated. :)
Neon City Overdrive
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Jacek B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2020 01:55:01

Neon City is just great! Fast and efficient mechanics, outline of a cool world. I really recommend it to everyone (not only cyperpunk fans) because the mechanics will be suitable for other settings.

Thanks a lot for this great product and I look forward to new additions to Neon and settings on this mechanic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to write a review - I really appreciate it! (Sorry it took so long for me to reply.)
Neon City Overdrive
Publisher: Peril Planet
by John-Paul S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2020 01:24:57

Neon City Overdrive is spectacular. It's resolution system can do in a small booklet what some systems can't manage with a weighty tome. And it is infinitely hackable.

The rules system is what you would get if FATE and Blades in the Dark had a brilliant love child. The basic mechanic is simple: roll a pool of six-siders called action dice, and take the highest die. When there is a challenge, you roll a number of "danger dice." Each danger die that matches an action die removes both, and then you look for the highest action die. It is elegant, yes, but it is just plain fun to roll a big handful of dice and look for matches.

The number of dice you can roll is based on a tag system, similar to FATE. The more relevant tags you have, the more dice you get. The more relevant tags the opposition has, the more danger dice you roll. Easy peasy.

Now, I must admit that some of the rules did not meet my preferences. This isn't a flaw in the game, this is just a matter of the game I want to run. NCO actually shines here. The rules have a simplicity that allowed them to be changed with little effort; my group LOVES my Shadowrun hack.

This is pure and simple a game you will love to play, no matter what kind of setting you can imagine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for this great review! I am so glad you enjoy the game and really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Cheers!
Neon City Overdrive
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Gabriel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2020 10:41:55

This game is great:

  • Only players roll dice.
  • Following the previous point, action is mainly player driven.
  • It follows a dice pool mechanic and no math is required at all.
  • Difficulty influences the number of dice rolled.
  • Failure leads to interesting outcomes.

Granted, none of these points is unique to Neon City Overdrive's system (Freeform Universal), but it's simple, elegant and allows for much to be done. Plus the hardbook is friggin' gorgeous.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for this review! I am so happy that you like Neon City Overdrive and really appreciate you taking the time to write this review.
Neon City Overdrive
Publisher: Peril Planet
by bugtest b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2020 19:10:05

yaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaahi



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Neon City Overdrive
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Pierre-Philippe D. S. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2020 11:31:07

I love cyberpunk genre and technoir is one of my favorite games. Neon City Overdrive is a is a nice addition to the family. It uses a trait system, close to Heroquest, tags (close to technoir / Fate) and a result system close to the FU/Apocalypse engine. The layout is really modern and the illustrations beautiful. A small clarification on negative tag for a character as a consequence (on a 4 or 5) would be welcome (because the tags are rather mentioned on the character sheet as +). Overall, this game is a must have and I plan to use it very soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for this kind review!
Neon City Overdrive
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Seth H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2020 17:00:21

This is a really great game!!! I like many aspects of it, including that the world is wide open, allowing ofr a lot of choice, but also includes some easy to use lists of people, places, groups, and even events! Nice folow throughon creating jobs for game play.

The system is a fusion of fate and powered by the apocolypse!!! It is a nice simple system that uses lots of tag to add player interaction and allow for payer involvement!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for this review. I really appreciate it!
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates