DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay

This product is no longer available from DriveThruRPG.com

Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
78 16
7 0
1 0
1 0
0 0
Brindlewood Bay
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by M A. B. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2023 13:28:23

Fast and wonderful system. Very easy to learn for the players, who loved it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by Talen B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2023 07:49:40

I ran a one shot of "dad overboard" for Brindleewood Bay, and it went absolutely swimmingly! The game mechanics were clear and easy to articulate, and the general premise was so easy for my players to latch onto that they had a blast roleplaying!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2022 09:55:27

I love this game! I found out about it too late to support the KickStarter, but I grabbed the PDF because i clukdnt wait. Just got done running my first campaign last night and we had a blast! It can be played as a one shot but i think it lends itself to at least sloghtly longer campaigns best because in a one shot you dont get to use moves like the Cozy Move. But I will absolutely be buying the physical copies once I can, and this is a game I will keep in rotation for a long time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by aymeric b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2022 04:43:48

I had the opportunity to get the holiday version, and I immediately bought the classic version. It's simple clear and concise and only 40 pages. The game has completely convinced me and I can't wait to test it, it will probably be my first game played in 2022. Merci beaucoup :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by Dmitrii T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2021 08:37:35

Великолепная, очень атмосферная и оригинальная игра. Очень здорово передает истинно детективные переживания, и при том ограничивает героев в ресурсах, что для детективов не очень типично. Спасибо!

--

It is a great, very atmospheric, and original game. It conveys the authentic detective experiences very well, and at the same time, limits the heroes in resources, which is not very typical for detectives. Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by David E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2021 07:55:32

Short review? Brindlewood Bay is my favorite TTRPG.

It solves the problem of emergent mystery storytelling in a way that is as easy to use as it is fun to play (and it is very fun to play). The titular setting is a beautiful blend of cozy and mysterious / mundane and creepy that is relateable and exciting all at once. The book isn't a long read, only because the system is just so efficient! Every aspect feeds into the narrative building and tone. Do yourself a favor- make your best grandma-self, and solve a mystery in Brindlewood Bay!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by Daniel Q. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2021 07:27:07

A great investigation game from Jason Cordova. I found the Between first and that lead me here to Brindlewood Bay.

It's very innovative in its collaborative investigation mechanic and will be how I run RPG mysteries from here on out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by Adrian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2021 04:39:02

I love this game which is based around a unique and highly innovative take on how to run mystery scenarios in TRPGs. This also is the perfect game to introduce your friends to role-playing games, as it runs great as a one shot, is great fun because of the setting and all the TV references, and is particularly well suited to intrigue people who are less excited about the typical sword and sorcery fantasy settings of most TRPGS.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2021 10:09:19

Brindlewood Bay is one of the most exciting tabletop RPG systems that I've encountered in a long time. Once I had read the concept, I had to read the rules; once I had read the rules, I needed to run it. Now that I've run it once, I need to run it again!

It does exactly what it says on the tin: blends tv murder mystery tropes of the 70s-90s and enmeshes it with dark, occult undertones that begin to peek through more and more through play. The ability to pivot from warm and cozy to sinister and creepy is a strength of the system and provides many opportunities for wonderful moments to emerge directly from play.

I love that the system can be run very effectively with little prep, and that players are given a lot of agency to build the story (and the mysteries!) that they want. Running it as a one-shot is very doable, but going through a full mini-campaign with a group of players seems like it would be incredibly gratifying. Can't recommend it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by Jason Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2020 08:28:16

Brindlewood Bay is such a great game. It's such a great framework to tell cozy mystery stories with this dark uncurrent that is great at the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by Tom P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2020 04:15:21

THis is such a great game. It perfectly balances cosy murder mystery with cosmic horror conspiracy. At turns funny, horrific and moving, this is fun as a one-shot, but really deserves a run of several sessions and mysteries so the background horror and conspiracy can build. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by Gabriel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2020 06:30:10

Brindlewood Bay is outstanding. I like it so much that even though I receved a free copy through my Codex subscription, I also bought a copy here just to leave a review. The theme is on point, as it should be for a PBTA game, but there are two pieces that really stand out: the core mystery mechanic and the cozy little place.

With the way the mysery mechanic works, there is no single right answer that the group is trying to find. This opens up all sorts of possibility and really emphasizes the "play to find out what happens concept". As the Keeper (GM) I was just as excited as the players to find out what happens. It's an excellent experience.

The Cozy Little Place tool is a phenomenal way to get players to listen to one another during introductions. It provides am obvious mechanical benefit (essentially gear) for good play culture. Each time I've run it, the players come up with items that are both unexpected and excellent additions.

The game is very strong and I'm planning to bring components of the game into other games I run. My long-running D&D game will definitely make use of the mystery mechanic. Brindlewood Bay is also easy to pick up with only about 35 pages of rules, a great option for folks who are new to RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by Ellen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2020 12:31:42

Truly a delight to run and play, and the author has a series of youtube videos of him running the game if you need some help. Cannot recommend this game enough! Absolutely worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by Kevin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2020 15:24:23

Brindlewood Bay is brilliant in every way. I purchased it when it was the Deal of the Day, as it didn't seem like something I would actually play but might have some really interesting ideas.

I was wrong. I found a group to play it almost immediately, and it was incredible.

The concept is quirky and enticing. I never would have imagined I would want to play a game about elderly women solving mysteries, as I'm not typically drawn to mysteries in general, but the discordant and slow-burning supernatural elements create a sort of alchemy that I can't help but be giddy about. Furthermore, the character sheet makes it incredibly easy to jump in with ideas for fantastic matronly part-time-detectives with evocative but open-ended options and numerous opportunities to continue to define them during play.

Honestly, I'm not sure if I was more excited to run it after the first read-through or to try from the player side with one of the many intriguing ideas that quickly sprang to mind.

The mechanics are light and open-ended in the way that most PbtA games are, but they absolutely drive the themes of this game. I'm in love with the simple night-time mechanic -- where any challenge is ramped up to be more dangerous than the players realize, simply because it's night.

Furthermore, there is so much simple guidance for the GM that it seemed immediately runnable. You as a GM don't need to mastermind an intricate plan or predetermined mystery. You throw stuff at the players, embellish, see what sticks or flops, and even get to join in at the end to try and figure out what the hell is happening. Yes! This is such a great way to do mysteries.

Have I gushed enough yet? Oh yeah, the art! Cecilia Ferri is amazing. The images are few, but heartwarming and filled with emotion and characterization. I wish there was more, but would be incredibly unlikely at this price point. However, if you support The Gauntlet Patreon, it has been coming out with further Brindlewood Bay adventures as part of its latest codexes, which have more of this incredible art and are so much fun to read through.

The game is worth it. More than worth it. Even if you don't foresee playing it immediately, read through it and bask in the brilliant design and quirky references; then stash it in an easily accessible folder for those game nights when you need to pull out something fast and simple. You'll all get hooked.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Brindlewood Bay
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by Will H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2020 19:11:40

Murder She Wrote meets the X-Files/Twin Peaks with a dash of Eldritch horror is exactly as fun you'd think. Great rules that really drive you towards building a unique tone and style of play, with wonderful starting mysteries and a mechanic that builds towards deeper and more disturbing truths than whether the butler did it. I don't think many roleplayers will have taken on the role of a mystery novel loving elderly widow who solves crimes with her book club before Brindlewood, but I fully recommend playing to find out exactly what that's like.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates