DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results













Back
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition) $19.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 8
0 1
1 0
0 0
0 1
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
Publisher: Dias Ex Machina Games
by Nicolas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2020 10:57:54

Really cool, Dnd5e but for a sci-fi setting. The stuff in that book are generic enough to use it for space op, hard sci fi, etc which is awesome ! There is also a cool random weapon generator called "Loot & Shoot", really cool stuff. It can emulate a "Borderland" style of gameplay. ^^ One last thing: there is no hacker class and no rules for hacking in that book, just sayin'... Not that it is a major issue, get your own hacking rules set, there are plenty of them in other source book for the d20 system. But if you aim to use that system for a cyberpunk session, this will work really fine but you'll have to find rules for hacking somewhere else.

You love Dnd5e, you want some sci-fi rpg in your life ? Buy that book.

Edit: For the hacking rules, you might want to check Neuro-spasta from the same publisher. ^^ ==> https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/204048/NeuroSpasta-5E



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
Publisher: Dias Ex Machina Games
by Nigel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2020 17:32:21

Between the fact that the creator keeps actively updating it and the beautiful artwork, you are looking at one of the best 5e supplements out there. Truly amazing mechanics make this a joy to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
Publisher: Dias Ex Machina Games
by Rion S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2020 14:29:34

There's a ton of options in this book. If you are looking to recreate some of the classic RPG settings with 5E rules, this book is essential for your DM toolkit.

Settings I can see being able to create with the tools here:

  • Shadowrun
  • Cyberpunk
  • TMNT (The Animyst race is ready made for this setting, and the Martial Artist class and Ladders are so versatile you can go anywhere you want with it)
  • Alien (or any Space Marine game, ie Starcraft, Halo, etc)
  • Star Frontiers
  • Steampunk (or any retropunk game, really)
  • Robotech (and similar)
  • Cthulhupunk (and similar)
  • X-Com

The list could go on.

Some things to keep in mind: It's a labor of love, so you'll see some typos and such. Some rules could be a little more clearly presented. You'll also need to tweak the rules to fit your table, but the book assumes this and speaks to it.

There are a lot of rules, but think of this as an opportunity to try new things in new ways. I feel like there's a good chance this book has some rules that will inspire you, or provide a mechanic you may like as is. If you like homebrewing, this book has ton of inspiration to offer. Also, as a homebrewer, you'll probably be wanting to make your own player doc anyway, so just adjust the things you want to fiddle with while making your new document.

If you and your table like to try new rules out, the book also includes settings ready to roll to try out every kitchen sink in this book. Throw together a demo game, and try it all out! If your group feels like D&D5 is too rules lite, check out some of the options here. There are so many mini-powers you can collect during your character build your character can come out feeling much closer to a Pathfinder style character. If classic D&D5 doesn't feel tactical enough as a rulebase, this book is worth checking out for the tactical aspects alone. If you want a grittier feel, the UltraMax rules are there for you too.

Also, and this can't be said enough, the art in this book is utterly fantastic. For me, each picture inspires numerous game worlds and suggests setting tones and feels that I would love to try to convey to players. This looks very professional and well done.

I'm working on a Space Marine style setting myself, having run a couple games with the prior UM5 ruleset. This book is an upgrade across the board. Kudos to DEM here!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
Publisher: Dias Ex Machina Games
by Lance M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2020 12:44:46

This book gives you EVERYTHING you need for tech options in 5th edition. Want space ships? got it.. firearms.. yup.. mutant alien wizards? Covered... GET THIS BOOK



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
Publisher: Dias Ex Machina Games
by Nicole W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2020 03:03:59

Love everything about this book. There's so much content and detail. Had no issues downloading the file and I can't wait until my GM brings this to the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
Publisher: Dias Ex Machina Games
by Therese M L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2020 21:54:58

Totally impressed with the whole look of it, so much detail



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
Publisher: Dias Ex Machina Games
by William M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2020 17:34:07

Never before have I been so excited about being a GM. This rule set which is incredibly easy to follow has given me complete freedom in running any kind of campaign in any world imaginable. Ever wanted to make giant macros like mecha battle it out with giant sand worms look no further, this is the book for you. 10/10 would subject my players to all the weird ADHD driven ideas again. thanks Dias Ex Machina Games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
Publisher: Dias Ex Machina Games
by wesley g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2020 17:09:29

My wife and I have been GMs for 30+ years. UM5 is fantastic for your Modern/Futures needs. This Redux edition is an outstanding overhaul of the original UM5. You can do so much with this set of rules, it's clean and very flexible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
Publisher: Dias Ex Machina Games
by 4342561968714659 P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2020 15:10:51

I cannot download this file on my ipad. I tested it with other files and they work fine. Will change my review when the problem is fixed.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hey. Saw you were having trouble. Sorry about that. We're going to re-render the whole thing the moment I get back into town and this will hopefully fix the issue.
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
Publisher: Dias Ex Machina Games
by David A. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2020 09:03:55

Now I'm able to run just about any Palladium game with this and 40K, It's heresy, but I love it. Thank you Mr. Dias



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates