DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Masters of the Mundane: A Collection of Character Classes for Low-Magic Settings
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2021 00:33:48

I was quite impressed. I was looking for a low/no magic supplement and this hit the mark. The only minor issue is that frightened features of Make an Example and Menace are very close to each other but otherwise my quest is complete.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of the Mundane: A Collection of Character Classes for Low-Magic Settings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Righteous Blood, Ruthless Blades: Wuxia Roleplaying
Publisher: Osprey Publishing
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2021 12:00:02

For transparency, I was a reader of earlier drafts of this game. I have been a fan of the writer's work for several years and Righteous Blood Ruthless Blades that is my favorite. The organization flows well, the signature abilities seem to hit the right amount: not overwhelming and not sparse. The Occult Power signature ability and the Magic Skill are a great way for GM to scale magic or supernatural to their liking. Also, with signature abilities, and the base skill system you can create various character types which frees it from being just a fighting game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Righteous Blood, Ruthless Blades: Wuxia Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sword of Cepheus
Publisher: Stellagama Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2020 13:32:37

This is one of the best " Classic Swords and Sorcery" games around. It is more of a "Conan" feel than standard fantasy feel. Magic is dark and dangerous. The game has many optional rules listed throughout the book to offer various way to scale your game for your needs. Hoping for some published adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sword of Cepheus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SIMPLER D&D: Generic Classes
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2020 00:07:27

As a person who loves rules lite games and also likes the tons of adventures to pull from the long history of D&D this resource is outstanding.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SIMPLER D&D: Generic Classes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Strange Tales of Songling
Publisher: Bedrock Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2020 00:01:02

For full disclosure, I was a reader for this game. Strange Tales of Songling has a streamlined version of the rules from the wuxia game Wandering Heroes of Ogre Gate. As such you can pick one of the four paths ( classes) Demon Hunter, Ritual Master, Wandering Sword, or Scholar, pick a few skills and abilities and begin playing in no time at all.

The game focuses on the supernatural and has several suggested play styles from the default monster of the week to sandbox campaigns. So if you like " Fu" and the supernatural as seen in films like Chinese Ghost Story this might be the game for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strange Tales of Songling
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Camelod6 - A simple D6 RPG
Publisher: True Mask Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2019 19:11:39

I love rules lite games and this may be my favorite yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Camelod6 - A simple D6 RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Hand Hack
Publisher: Ryukan Shubbansha
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2019 02:44:51

A nice addition to the Black Hack World of rpgs. This adds a martial arts flavor. Though mostly Japanese martial art inspired there is a Kung Fu style also. However, it is easy to alter that to make it a Chanbarra style, Wuxia Style, or a Pan-Asian style. As of 7/21/19 there is no preview which could increase sales and letting customers know that 1/2 the proceeds will go to Doctors Without Borders would help also. I like the game content, and thougt the art is not bad for DTRPG community standards it is probably not strong enough.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Hand Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Confounding Warlock Pact Boons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2019 21:31:25

I really like the Pact of the Breaker. It hit the right wuxia spot for me in a way the monk did not.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Confounding Warlock Pact Boons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eorathril
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2019 12:22:23

One of the best low magic OSR games I have encountered. Cannot wait for new material for the game to come out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eorathril
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Champions of Kara-Tur: Imperial Dragon Knight
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2018 20:23:12

AWESOME! This is THE wuxia flavored fighter I have been dying for.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Champions of Kara-Tur: Imperial Dragon Knight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Change, Restoration, and the Dragon: A Collection of Monastic Traditions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2018 16:53:19

I really like the WAY OF RESTORATION monk. A very balanced healer monk.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Change, Restoration, and the Dragon: A Collection of Monastic Traditions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monastic Tradition: Way of the Dragon
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2018 16:28:19

One of the most balanced Monk products here on the guild.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monastic Tradition: Way of the Dragon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Swords, 5e D&D version
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2018 20:02:33

Pro's: By Crom! Finally! A true classic sword and sorcery overlay for 5e. There have been OSR attempts at this but they never quite hit it right for me. Yet, this is quite good. I would suggest dumping the class conversions given early in the book and solely using the Savage Swords classes given later for the real S&S feel being Human-Centric and magic has its cost. Yes!

While the non-spellcasters here are are still a little rough around the edges, the two spell-casting classes shine brightly here as you must sacrifice blood for power or take a benefit/flaw in a type of magical corruption as you advance in power.

Cons:

I so wanted to give this 5 stars but there are some glaring editing issues. The most egregious being that under the Beast Slayer bonus feats on page 25 of the document there is a list of Pathfinder feats not 5e feats.

Secondly, only the Beast Slayer and Blood Priest have alignments provided after the role section.

The Wayfarer's Knowledge ability is based on Pathfinder, not 5e. The Steel Will of the Wayfarer is not boldfaced and just runs after the Skilled section is easily missed.

There some other minor editing issues but what I have mentioned are the glaring errors.

4 for being right on the correct feel for the genre but 1 on editing.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Swords, 5e D&D version
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BUNDLE - Arms & Equipments Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2018 18:32:48

Having hyperlinks to visuals of the weapons is awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BUNDLE - Arms & Equipments Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood and Bone - Campaign Setting
Publisher: Arcana Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 16:39:09

I just would like to give a shout out to the publisher who helped me out with an order issue.

Great custmoer service along with a great campaign setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Bone - Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates