DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Wranglers of Westhallow - Beginnings collection
Publisher: P.B. Publishing
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2020 09:42:58

What a fun collection of material! The adventures play up the Wild West theme and add some nice resolution mechanics to make encounters more than simply combat. I was most impressed with the campaign setting portion. There's more than a dozen locations with interesting ways to incorporate fantasy races into the setting and plenty of hooks and ideas for a long home campaign or just additional fun one-shots exploring the area. It struck me as a good light-hearted addition to an Eberron game set near the Mournlands to account for the creatures encountered. Very well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wranglers of Westhallow - Beginnings collection
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vast Kaviya
Publisher: Legendary Games
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2020 09:42:59

Vast Kaviya is an amazing setting and sourcebook that can be used as presented to create an incredibly rich and different campaign world - while also staying within the fantasy genre and the 5E ruleset. It is also incredibly useful as a toolbox to pull from. Featuring unique warlords that could be used as enemies or factions in other settings or homebrew worlds. It's packed full of flavor and is bound to inspire additional ideas. There's also new races and class options which are fitting for the setting but could also be used outside of it. A fantastic product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vast Kaviya
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Investigator's Companion 5e
Publisher: M.T. Black Games
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2020 09:36:09

This supplement is an excellent addition to the Whispers in the Dark campaign/rule set. Because Whispers is a class-less system the additional backgrounds and feats in this supplement add much more variety and options to the setting. The rules for magic add this component to the setting while keeping balance and the feeling of the setting in mind. If you have Whispers and enjoy it consider the Investigator's Companion an almost essential piece of the world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Investigator's Companion 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Whispers in the Dark: Quickstart Rules for 5e
Publisher: Saturday Morning Scenarios
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2020 21:46:33

For being a set of quickstart rules, this product provides everything you need to get playing in a "real-world" setting filled with mystery and horror. It provides an excellent framework to build from and I'm excited to see what is released after this. You play as a human, or a human with mixed eldritch blood. Even though it uses 5E mechanics, it is a classless system. There are a variety of backgrounds to choose from and new feats. A limited amount of modern eqiupment is provided. Rules for sanity and madness are also included. I would have liked to see how magic was handled but that will be covered in future material. There is also a fairly long introductory adventure to get a group started. From following the progress of this product I know that it was playtested and the creators are known for high quality so I'm sure the adventure is good. Layout and design is straightforward and clean. My score is based on the fact that this is a quickstart guide and would expect more material in an expanded product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whispers in the Dark: Quickstart Rules for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Palace of Pain's Pleasures
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2018 16:04:29

Beautiful layout and professional quality look. Includes some nice extra like guild hooks, random street encounters, trinkets, a new spell, etc. The issue I had with this adventure is the same one that I had with the first adventure in this series which is that the main set piece for the adventure is lacking. In this case, the PCs enter a Rakdos pleasure/pain club which I would imagine to be at least partially filled with customers, entertainers, and security but the place was strangely devoid of them. It just didn't feel as engaging as it could have if the PCs had to manuever their way through dancers and embarrassed clients, and burly roustabouts. The final NPC has some nice Ravnica flavor. Overall there is just enough missing that it isn't a five for me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Palace of Pain's Pleasures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Jeremy, Thanks very much for your thoughtful review! As I prepare the v1.2 update, I will take what you're saying here into consideration. As the scenario is presented, the idea is that there is a central public performance taking place at the time when the adventurers arrive, hence people are gathered outside watching that. I can certainly touch on "people in the club" particularly in the first floor area to add that flavor. Thanks! Travis
More than Meets the Eye - Ravnica one-shot
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2018 13:12:12

I'm not sure I would even qualify this as a one-shot. It begins with a fight that the PCs watch but could be involved in if they want and then the subsequent investigation of why the fight occurred. That's it. It establishes a potential rival to the party but that's up to the DM.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
More than Meets the Eye - Ravnica one-shot
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Off to a Weird Start
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2018 09:25:48

Great little short adventure-but maybe too short for the price. I think this is more of a sidetrek or something to include in a trip the group is taking through the city to open up future adventure opportunities and contacts. It provides hooks for any guild member or guildless and showcases some of the Izzet technology you would expect in Ravnica. The formatting is very clear and well-presented and includes art and the creatures needed to run the adventure. It does have an interesting hook that I am interested to see where it goes so I will be picking up the next adventure in this series when it comes out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Off to a Weird Start
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review! -Travis
Wizard in a Bottle - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2016 18:45:57

If you're looking for a fun, short adventure this one will fit the bill. It's a pretty straightforward dungeon crawl but with a few nice twists at the end (including some RP elements that I haven't seen before). I have enjoyed all of the adventures from this publisher.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wizard in a Bottle - Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
Publisher: Absolute Tabletop
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2016 19:34:00

Solid adventure that is definitely worth a couple bucks. I think the location and plot work a lot better as a lower tier quest or intro dungeon crawl. The suggested level of 5-8 seems high-not necessarily for the combat challenges but the scale seems more "local hero" then "hero of the realm". I would have liked to see a full labelled map and even if the encounters were random the work of creating the map would be done-though I understand where the designer was coming from with variability and replayability. I would play up the weirdness level for the right group and this adventure could be a lot of fun and a great home base and starting off point for a new group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amethyst: Quintessence (5E)
Publisher: Dias Ex Machina Games
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2016 20:13:39

It's going to take time to really dig into this book and see how it plays and feels but everything is in place and looks great. Tons of lore and background, interesting new races I am already thinking about using, technology to work into my 5E campaign and I'm sure-a bunch of ideas that will be generated just reading this much unique information. The artwork is really superb and I'm excited to get the book in my hands.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amethyst: Quintessence (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Terror at Triboar - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2016 16:39:58

Something different. Easy to run mystery adventure that provides something different than fighting more goblins. I could see a group having a fun session with this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Terror at Triboar - Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

zz_Into the Dragons Den - 1st level adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2016 10:23:49

Fun, little adventure. Good variety of creatures and encounters along with enough background information to make the location feel real.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
zz_Into the Dragons Den - 1st level adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Iron Bastion Preview - Blight of the Bandit's Blade
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2016 11:56:24

There are a lot of lvl1 adventures of there to choose from but this one was both a solid adventure and also a good introduction to a setting location. The amount of introductory info was perfect-not too much and not too little. It gave plenty of information to make it simple to run and I look forward to see where this campaign goes. New background, new monsters, new magic item, good background info and a solid well-formated adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Iron Bastion Preview - Blight of the Bandit's Blade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Men & Monsters of Ethiopia: An RPG Sourcebook for 5th Edition
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/14/2016 11:08:47

Looks like I am the lone dissenter here in being disappointed by this product. For the price and after reading the other reviews I was left wishing there was more. There was a cursory discussion about religion (three paragraphs). The first 12 pages of NPCs are mostly bland and don't add much flavor that a typical DM couldn't or wouldn't add: "Villagers will have good knowledge of who or what might be found in our right around their communities, will have some sense for any hazards or threats bordering them.." The stat blocks are almost all the same. A few pages of common monsters : "Crocodiles can be found in lakes and rivers throughout Ethiopia and will never pass up the opportunity for an easy meal." The strength of the product is in the new monsters presented-with a majority of the page count going to them-though padding it with using a whole page for a 1/4 CR "deer" is too much. If the product was under $5 or expanded on the entries that could have added flavor (without requiring more research) I would have rated it higher.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Men & Monsters of Ethiopia: An RPG Sourcebook for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

5MWD Presents: Diseases & Poisons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2016 11:40:27

I was looking for some ways to make my primeval setting more dangerous and this will be perfect. Diseases for many different climates and areas and with a wide range of effects. To get over 20 diseases AND poisons too for so cheap is a no-brainer. Also got the Traps supplement from this writer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5MWD Presents: Diseases & Poisons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates