DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
#iHunt: The RPG $30.00 $21.00
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
24 14
1 2
0 1
0 0
0 0
#iHunt: The RPG
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by Kyle T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2021 13:56:12

The game is mechanically Fate, so if you're already familiar with the Fate system it has all the good and bad associated with that. I like the Imperil mechanic and fully intend to use it in other games, but the real strengths (and weaknesses) of the book are in its setting and portrayal.

Authorial style sometimes interfered with engaging me in the setting. The writing outside of mechanics explanations (which is dry and technical as expected) is a kind of vulgar BuffySpeak, like a mixture of the writing in the Buffy Cinematic Unisystem Core and Vincent Baker in kill puppies for satan. It works best when it leans closer to the latter than to the former, most often in the later sections of the game and those that speak about GMing and tabletop RPG philosophy. Earlier chapters lean more towards the BuffySpeak and were a bit embarrassing to read. Sometimes this bleeds into mechanical choices like renaming the Fate milestones "Selfies" with categories like "Big Mood." It's a bit cringe.

The most interesting parts are the least developed - The #iHunt app and its origins, other hunting organizations, San Jenaro as a city, and some of the sample monsters all show a lot of promise and innovation on the standard urban fantasy monster groups, and I especially liked the Van Helsings as privileged trust fund kids who don't get the same struggle #iHunters go through. I want to see more of this, and in this regard I think Fate and its demand for group-defined and collaborated settings are a bad choice. I want more of the contents of Hill's brain here, not a prompt, and not in the novels. A full supplement for San Jenaro would be excellent.

The sections on poverty work well as descriptions of poverty in the US generally but could use more direct information on how to integrate these elements at the table within the chapters themselves, perhaps as sample Aspects and Consquences and Advantages. My chief concern is that it would be easy to ignore them in the way groups generally ignored Blood Pool in Vampire The Masquerade: Fun to focus on occasionally but generally ignored and assumed as a framing device for the action.

Graphic design works well for infographics like describing the character sheet and for artwork of the advertising used by the app but occasionally interferes with the otherwise-traditional two-column format of the book by excessive use of bolding on pages that draw the eye away from the rest of the text.

Overall I think it's an interesting premise and spin on monster-hunting and urban fantasy but is not yet distinguishing itself much on a mechanical or setting level. With either a more focused system than Fate or a willingness to dig into the setting's conceit and provide more detail I think it could be excellent, but right now I'll just be harvesting bits and pieces for other games.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by Oral W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2021 21:20:57

One of the best narrative driven games I've ever played. I greatly enjoy the message of desperation and poverty built into every aspect of this game. The writers are awesome too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by Matthew C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2021 15:45:27

I don't believe in strictly defined types of players, but if I did I'd say that iHunt has something for old school and newer types of player alike.

The basic set-up is the timeless classic "Urban Monster Hunting", but with a nice new take on it. The familiar 'quest acquisition and completion' parts of RPG play dovetail incredibly well with the very modern "gig-economy" phenomenon (this sort of synergy between theme and mechanics is my JAM).

It also unashamedly wears its queer identity on its sleeve and even if (like me) you aren't part of the LGBT community, games like this are a refreshing change from yet more "Gruff McStubble vs Callous Darkpast" fantasy stories we've all played 1000 times before.

The book LOOKS fantastic, easy to read but also chock full of style (the in-universe corporate advertising is disconcertingly realistic), and the contents and tone really help ground what it must be like to be a person in its world. The focus on people allows the game to say important things about poverty and inequality without taking you out of the setting or sounding like a lecture. This 'Very Human' feel also lends itself to running versatile types of game, from fluffy character-focussed stuff to high-lethality monster-horror.

tl;dr - Fresh twist on classic RPG set-up, something for everyone. Recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by Irene B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2020 00:10:56

This book is written by millennials, for millennials and it is powerd by FATE CORE. The core premise of the adventure is that the players are a group of monster hunters who use the #iHunt app to hunt down monsters in a gig economy. Think Uber or Lyft, but with a dash of Supernatural/Buffy/whatever Monster of the Week TV show you watched growing up. Its layout is easy to read and beautifully well done. It translates very well on to a mobile screen, which cannot be said about a lot of other PDFs that were not designed specifically for mobile screens.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2020 09:39:22

I haven't had a chance to play yet, but I am working on getting a group together for that purpose. Having gone through the rules though, it seems like a strong game with a lot to say, and a bit of poignant commentary thrown in to really give you a sense of what this is about. It is shamelessly and unapologetically direct about the world in which the game is set (and about the world in which we live) and through that tone is able to give a strong sense of why iHunt really is a necessary addition to the large pantheon of RPGs.

They say that gaming is for everyone, and while that is "true" the reality is that for so long marginalized groups have been given the short end of the stick, be it through outdated depictions and representations or through interactions with GMs and other players. As a personal experience being LGBTQ, there is always a struggle of whether it is safe to come out to any given table. While that is always a risk no matter what is played, iHunt's themes really set things up in such a way as to make those within marginalized groups feel that they are welcome by the very nature of the game itself. That is not to say that the game is only enjoyable to people with those experiences, but there is something special about a game that focuses on those (for lack of a better word) categories, rather than just including them as some sort of diversity checkbox.

To keep this review from going on longer, I will just say this: I haven't been this excited to play something in a very long time.

Also, you should check out the iHunt novels. While not necessary for playing the game, they are a fantastic read and can give quite a bit of inspiration.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2020 14:25:57

Look, this is a game book that realizes half the crap in a game book are completely unneeded. It starts in the middle of the action, with fiction pieces that hit like trucks, and a street up view of life in poverty. Olivia Hill gets it.. #iHunt gets the struggle. You're not the hero, you're poor schlub getting paid to do the crap work no one wants to handle, for practically nothing. You're the Uber driver mopping vomit off your car seats, except it's werewolf blood, zombie vomit and pixie shit, and instead of your car seat, it's your face and clothes. Even if you look past the setting fluff, the rules are solid and narratively driven.

The Fate System, which is flexible and functional at every level, allows for improvisation, and genre savvy theatrics without much preparation. The list of skills are expansive, and while there is some broad overlapping among them, each ability feels distinct and useful. The four "kinks" are each unique and valuable, but not reliant upon each other, unlike other systems where a "balanced" team is absolutely essential for survival. Stunts, skill tricks and role based powers, are incredibly powerful, and thus beyond valuable.

As I said, the fluff of this book is fantastic, and the the book itself is an easy read. I consumed all 335 pages at a run, laughing at the realistic, and unabashedly honest language. Inclusivity is outright stated as a goal, while fascists are outright being given the boot; a design choice that I applaud. Seriously, if you're debating buying this book, get off the fence and buy it; you won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2020 19:20:21

This game accurately represents the terror of looking at your bank account while using vampires to represent the blood-sucking soul-lessness of capitalism.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by William W. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/19/2020 20:44:07

A very well produced present day monster hunter setting for FATE. My group is having a lot of fun in our ongoing playtests. iHunt makes some clever additions to the system - an Edge mechanic makes enemies more lethal until the PCs wrest it away from them, for example, and characters are advanced with Selfies.

I found the layout a bit distracting, but I'm a grognard who grew up with much drier and less colorful/dynamic RPG books, so consider the source. There's also no Index at the end, which I always look for. The writing is conversational and occasionally fierce, and takes a hard look at our present day world through the filter of hunters struggling to survive the monster of capitalism. More conservative players won't appreciate it. I did.

Overall I think it's a fine example of art imitating life. I'm not exactly the target audience for it, but I feel I can appreciate what it sets out to accomplish, and recognize that it does so.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by Steven B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2020 21:23:21

If you played Chronicles of Darkness's game, Hunter: the Vigil, this is the 2019 update to it. This game takes a very hard look at the working lives of millenials, late stage capitalism and adds the supernatural into the mix. The game is all about the class of overworked, underpaid individuals who barely scraping by (if at all). They do their day job(s) and take out contracts to kill monsters.

What I do like about it is, how it focuses on the story, rather than the dice rolls. It's all about 'living on the edge' in the worst conditions. It's not a matter of if your character 'retires' from #iHunt. More accurately, it's a matter of when your character finally encounters a 'fair fight.' The monster always wins in a 'fair fight.'

Well worth trying something radically different from many urban fantasy RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by Seamus C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2020 08:38:26

"iHunt makes Fate work for horror ... the core mechanics that enable character competencies allow characters to get to where the horror is taking place, instead of letting them bypass it. I’d recommend this game to anyone interested in horror RPGs, not just because it’s good (it is), but because it’s modern. In a medium where Call of Cthulhu gets rehashed every Tuesday, we need a game based on dread from the 2020s instead of dread from the 1920s."

Read the full CHG review here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2020/01/22/ihunt-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by Jose L. A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2019 04:50:20

This game makes me laugh and shiver at the same time: the writing is both funny and so sadly real about the world we live in...

You need to read #iHunt, seriously. Interesting premise, funny writing and the achievement of being super-realistic even with vampires, werewolves and such in stage. Just thanks for making this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by Kate G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2019 10:28:21

This is a game of monster hunting in the cyberpunk dystopia of late stage capitalism. It is very pretty and at various points clever, funny, revealing, and distressing. The game uses a solid version of the fate core system, but I think this setting could be used pretty easily with whatever system you like for the monster hunting genre.

Game books set in the modern world, i think, tend to skip over discussing what life is like here and now. After all, we are supposed to know that for ourselves. But the modern world is changing faster and faster, and situations are not evenly distributed. This game essentially treats the present as an unfamiliar new setting and i think that approach is not just interesting, but it is a pretty good approach for a fun game.

i also like the tone of this game overall. it doesnt just feel like it is about the future we are living in, it feels like it is from there. It kind of reminds me of watching the X-Files way back. See, one day everyone in the real world got cell phones, and it changed all sorts of things about the way we lived. but the characters in TV dramas didnt have cell phones yet, for some reason. they were stuck in the past somehow. even when they got cell phones, they didnt really use them the way we were using them. When Mulder and Scully started to actually use their phones, there was a feeling that fiction was catching up with us at last. Reading iHunt gave me a similar feeling of recognition.

im looking forward to seeing this play out at my table. so more of this, please.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by Federico S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2019 11:27:59

There aren't many genres as relevant to our times as economic horror, and the TTRPG environment is severely lacking in quality and quantity in that department.

iHunt is set to change that.

This game boasts thematic strength in spades. Late stage capitalism and its woes resonate with so many of us, especially those of us coming from marginalized communities. #iHunt channels that with heaps of realness. While a lot of TTRPGs with heavy themes struggle to connect emotionally, #iHunt succeeds thanks to the relevance of its subject matter and the amazing way in which it's all conveyed.

And it ain't just the content that is easy to connect with. The no-bullshit, straight-to-the-point writing is not just refreshing, but completely apt for the current, nerve-wracking times we get to live in. Yay.

Yet #iHunt isn't some bleak misery tour of the worst face of our society. It knows when to laugh in the face of true horror, and it has your back by providing proper, violent escapism when you most need it. It understands humor is a necessary weapon against crippling monetary insecurity, and boy does it wield it good.

The use of the FATE system seems very appropriate and the system itself is really well explained. The mix of survival tips and advice, rules and fiction is expertly organized and presented; there was never a point in which I was like "oook I'm tired of this" or whatever. And I have to hammer this down again: in a time in which most TTRPGs end up being coffee table books or as glorified bookshelf filler, this being a more entertaining, engaging and overall just plain fun read than most of the big titles out there makes it an amazing purchase that I can't wait to take to the actual gaming table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by Secrets o. t. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2019 10:33:38

Honestly this is such a pleasure to read, it's engaging, well-worded, fun, layout and art are neat, easy to reference... A great, unapologetic engaged work that carries its message both through content and world building, but also in mechanics. Will give a full playthrough ASAP :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Publisher: Machine Age Productions
by Eero R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2019 07:27:12

I am very much NOT the target audience. I am straight white male living comfortably middle-class life in an actually functioning welfare state.

That being said, this is the most authentic and thought-provoking roleplaying game I have read in the twenty years I have been involved in the hobby.

It is raw, somewhat unpolished, very angry but it just has so much heart and soul and it has important things to say. Ignorance is bliss as they say, and the sections describing what life is actually like for underprivileged workers struggling in gig economy is honestly disturbing and infuriating. Suddenly it makes sense why someone would try to machete a vampire in a car parking lot for cash.

I am unlikely to ever get to play this, but I have been reading it in the evening for several days in a row now. It just oozes atmosphere.

Great stuff.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates