DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Operation: Bughunt - A DCC RPG Supplement
Publisher: Bloat Games
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2019 21:21:37

Pretty cool little supplement. It gives you everything you'd need (besides the DCC core book) to run a military themed sci-fi campaign using the DCC system. Production values aren't the highest, and I noticed some copy/paste errors (for example, several times in the class description for Grunt, the term Mercenary was used instead). Overall, I feel I got my money's worth.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Operation: Bughunt - A DCC RPG Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Carbon 2185 | A Cyberpunk RPG Core Rulebook
Publisher: Dragon Turtle Games
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2019 10:19:54

Possibly the best sci-fi treatment of the 5e OGL ruleset that I've come across. The setting is evocative and the rules have been well-tailored to it. I think one of my favorite aspects is that hacking is treated as just another skill check instead of its own mini game, and doesn't take place in some separate virtual world.

For the sake of transparency: I was a Kickstarter backer for this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carbon 2185 | A Cyberpunk RPG Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Master of the Rogue Spire Quickstart Guide
Publisher: Samuraifight LLC
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2019 00:01:39

It's a quickstart, so you're not getting a full view of the game. And I feel like a few of the concepts could use more explanation, but overall I thought the system was great. I've not encountered a system like this before. I like the way that it models exhaustion and injury. I've backed this Kickstarter, so I hope to see the full game come to fruition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Master of the Rogue Spire Quickstart Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marine Corps Handbook 2215
Publisher: Zozer Games
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2019 22:04:28

Great stuff as usual from Zozer. In addition to being an indispensable supplement for the Hostile setting, this and the Alien Breeds supplement go together like jam and toast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marine Corps Handbook 2215
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[Savage Worlds Adventure Edition] The After - Quick Start Guide
Publisher: Fainting Goat Games
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2019 13:52:40

This seems promising. The premise is a post-apocalyptic Earth several generations after an alien invasion wiped out nearly all of humanity and enslaved the survivors. Then another alien race showed up and the two went to war, further devastating the planet. Then suddenly, they were both gone, leaving the survivors to pick up the pieces. I love that premise, I just wish settings like this didn't always have to include psychic mutants. I'd like to do 3.5 stars, but I can't do 1/2 stars so I went with 4. If not for the psychic mutants I'd have given 5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[Savage Worlds Adventure Edition] The After - Quick Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood Sundown
Publisher: Filigree Forge
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2018 13:08:15

I've lately been lamenting the lack of good Wild (not Weird) West settings, so when this was announced I was a little hesitant thinking it was going to be just another Deadlands clone. It isn't. While it is firmly in the Weird West genre, it manages to invoke all the magic and monsters more subtly. It's closer to Cthulhu-esque existential horror than it is to the gonzo, alternate reality horror of other games in the genre. You can easily run a Blood Sundown campaign without any overt magic whatsoever, though I personally feel that even a "Hard West" game benefits from at least some indigenous mysticism (which Blood Sundown has) and sorcerous bad guys. And what better antagonist for my Paladin (have gun, will travel) than a corrupt magistrate condemning people to death just so he can later raise them for his own undead army... MWUA-Ha-ha

There is a shell of a default setting, which is basically 1870's American West. No alternate history, no magical fuel sources, just Boot Hill where sometimes the boots get up and walk even after they've been buried. You're given ideas and then encouraged to use them to make the setting your own. Just the way I like it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sundown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Outcast
Publisher: Baggage Books
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2018 18:15:57

A sandbox setting that combines several underused sci-fi tropes (underused in RPG's anyway). Earth was conquered by a hyper advanced alien race and humanity has been exiled to a distant, harsh “reservation” world where they have managed to eke out a meager existence over the course of many centuries. But fear not, this world is connected to a galaxy-spanning (or perhaps even universe-spanning) network of portals similar to stargates. Some gates connect to worlds of other races (themselves exiles), some gates connect to unexplored worlds, some to horrible death. Only a minuscule fraction of these have been explored and charted so the setting is perfect for an exploration campaign. Other possible campaign ideas center around resource exploitation and trade with the other “outcast” races. Most humans no longer entertain thoughts of retaking Earth (really not even possible at this point), but I suppose you could make that the focus of a military themed campaign if you really wanted. While I was reading it I kept getting the feeling that this game is what Stargate SG-1 would have been if the Tok’ra had defeated the Goa’uld and gone on to conquer the galaxy themselves instead. Yeah, after typing that out I still feel that way.

This setting offers several elements that you don’t often find in sci-fi, but that I often want in sci-fi. The first is a distinct lack of space ships. I know most people probably play SF games for the space ships. I do not. I find designing ships and conducting ship combat boring. If that’s what you’re looking for, I’ll recommend you look elsewhere. The second element is a lower, mixed tech level, one where you are more likely to get in a knife fight than a blaster fight. But guns exist. Even laser guns exist, they’re just extremely rare (and illegal for a human to own). And it's entirely possible that one of those portals might lead to an astonishing cache of some kind of "precursor" tech. It's up to you, really. My gripes would be typos/editing issues and a lack of bookmarks. The pdf is hyperlinked to chapter headings, however.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outcast
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DARK ASTRAL Grim & Perilous Chapbook
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2018 07:17:25

The included sample setting, or "campaign seed" as it's called, is clearly a riff on 40k. But criticizing a sci-fi supplement for a Warhammer Fantasy heartbreaker for being too much like the sci-fi version of Warhammer Fantasy is missing the point. And besides, the included setting is just a sample. Just like Zweihander itself, you use this information to make your own world.

The bulk of the material is weapons and armor and other gear like cybernetics. There are included rules for things like automatic weapons and corruption gained form cybernetic implants. Some of the terminilogy was cumbersome, like weapon modes of Semi, Semi-Auto, Full-Auto should have been Semi-Auto, Burst, Full-Auto to keep them more in line with not only the real world but with the terminology you'll find in other games, but that might be bordering on the pedantic. There are a few pages of examples of turning existing Zweihander professions into their Dark Astral equivalents, but I would have liked to see a few more (though they covered most of the 40k equivalents). There is some black and white sketch art throughout the book that evokes that 40k/grimdark feel quite well. There are a handful of typos, but nothing that prohibits comprehension. I'd love to see it expanded to a full product, but what we have here is enough for any GM who's already comfortable with running a Zweihander campaign to run a grimdark sci-fi campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DARK ASTRAL Grim & Perilous Chapbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(5E) The Ravaged Wasteland of Crifoth
Publisher: Dice on Ice
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2018 13:49:03

Well, it doesn't look like we're getting Dark Sun for 5e, but this setting is more than worthy to take its place. The "house rules" included make 5e a much grittier game and they're worth the price by themselves. I plan to use them with other 5e settings and in any homebrews I might run in the future. The races are all very cool, though I think the Incarnum aren't very suited to being a PC race. The changes to existing classes are all evocative of the setting, and it's a pretty cool setting. As for the book itself, the artwork is good and consistent in style - and it's a style I enjoy. There are a few tables throughout the book that are split between pages, which is not a great layout. Other than that, it looks good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) The Ravaged Wasteland of Crifoth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Boot Hill Wild West Role-Playing Game (3rd Edition)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2018 20:52:36

So happy to see this back in print. I'm not even going to call it the best rule system or best Western game, but there are just so few straight Westerns out there that it kind of wins by default. I have fond memories of playing Boot Hill as a kid after we'd get bored with D&D. That must have been 2nd edition BH though as it was early/mid 80's.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Boot Hill Wild West Role-Playing Game (3rd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mirrorshades
Publisher: Darkworm Colt
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2018 09:17:58

Absolutely fantastic. This is probably the best generic/setting-agnostic cyberpunk RPG I've come across.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirrorshades
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Citizens Divided
Publisher: Aegis Studios
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2018 07:18:19

A plausible near future. This setting scratches an itch I’ve had for the past few years, specifically a depiction of a post-collapse society without all the mutants and "mind magic" typical to post-apocalypse settings. The cyberware and bioware are believable and not overdone and there is no ultra-tech like plasma or laser weapons. I’ll definitely run something in this setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Citizens Divided
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coriolis: Supplements Bundle
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2017 18:14:17

The artwork - as usual for this title - is stunning. Particularly the Aram's Ravine and Mahanji Oasis books. While I'll go on record as not being overly fond of the mechanics behind Coriolis, the setting is amazing and the art does a perfect job of evoking it. The pdf's are neither bookmarked nor hyperlinked, but they are all short (under 20 pages) so it isn't a big deal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coriolis: Supplements Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Titan Effect RPG: Demo Kit
Publisher: Knight Errant Media
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2017 18:22:21

It seems like a pretty interesting setting to play in. The concept feels like a bit of a cross between Marvel's Agents of SHIELD and Delta Green. I feel like there aren't enough modern settings for Savage Worlds, so this is a welcome addition to the lineup.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Titan Effect RPG: Demo Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cold & Dark
Publisher: Modiphius
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2017 18:50:33

In terms of setting, I can't think of a better sci-fi game. I'm not a fan of the core mechanic (build a dice pool and count successes), however after some playtesting I find it isn't quite as streaky as I've experienced in some other games. Overall, the rules mesh well with the setting and theme of the game. I really can't stress enough how well-thought out the setting is and I really appreciate that it leaves out the all too familiar (these days) tropes of transhumanism and super-intelligent AI. The monsters are quite a bit more monstrous than what you normally find in a sci-fi setting, but that's where the horror aspect comes in I suppose.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cold & Dark
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates