DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Eclipse Phase Second Edition $19.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
45 17
3 0
1 0
0 0
0 0
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Bartosz N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2020 04:40:33

Long story short: EP first edition was great, EP second edition is even better. It's a complex but much more elegant game now. No rule is more complicated than necessary, so all nuances and flavours of the 1st edition are still here. Pools are a neat and exciting mechanic and the writing is very good throughout. The typesetting is amazing, too, clearly done by a professional.

I really have no serious gripes with the book apart from quite a few typos, but that's just cosmetics and has no real impact on readability. This easily is one of the best RPG rulebooks out there, my experience being with Warhammer (1,2, 4), DnD (3), Fading Suns, New World of Darkness (Vampire, Werewolf, Promethean), Neuroshima, Call of Cthulhu (7).

This quote from the book...

"Eclipse Phase is an exploration of uncertain futures. This is more than a tabletop roleplaying game, it’s a detailed science fiction setting that thoroughly investigates issues that affect our future as a species."

...is absolutely true.

If you like gritty science fiction, this is as good as it gets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Henry P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2020 18:25:46

There are a lot of things to say about Eclipse Phase, and honestly most others in these reviews have already said it.

If you like cyberpunk, post-cyberpunk, hard sci-fi, transhumanism, lovecraftian cosmic horror and more then buy this game! You won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Martin M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2020 19:40:32

This game has opened up my world of reading/thinking and made me a better gamemaster.

I came to the first edition of the game through the creators' connection to Shadowrun. Eclipse Phase takes the technological aspects of that game and advances them to their logical conclusion.

Eclipse Phase has prompted me to ask questions like: What does it mean to be human? Where have we come from? Where are we going?

As a result of this, I’ve roamed through books such as Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs and Steel to Yuval Noah Harari's Sapiens and Home Deus and now I'm reading Toby Ord's The Precipice. The latter author is professionally connected to Anders Sanberg, who has also written material for Eclipse Phase.

Of course, none of the above is going to get your players excited about this game. My group are fairly reluctant to learn a new ruleset, but the second edition of Eclipse Phase was easy to explain to players. It also helped that the first season of Altered Carbon was released around the same time as the Second Edition playtest material.

So, I have an ongoing campaign that I love running where the main challenge is keeping anti-matter bombs and large reactors just out of reach so I get a chance to explore the beautiful concepts from this game before they get blown up.

How could you not love running a game where a session typically begins with: three robots that combine to form a giant panda, a neo-neanderthal rights activist, an escaped isolation test subject, a psychic psycho-surgeon, an uplifted octopus and an AI enter a habitat . . .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Gabriel C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2020 17:33:09

I'm really happy with the 2nd edition. The game is a lot easier to run without sacrificing any depth or flavor. I definitely recommend, and I can't wait for more Eclipse Phase modules!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Spencer N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2020 20:24:37

I'm happy to report that the second edition of Eclipse Phase has more or less fixed all of the mechanical problems with the system.

Character creation, once a purely point buy system that more than one of my players described as tedious, is now runs on a streamlined, package buy system, though point buy is available for any purists or min-maxxers that may be interested. For those who are familiar with the first edition, the new system appears to be based on the one presented in Transhuman.

Resleeving - moving your mind to a new body - has also been improved, largely by paring down the number of things your morph affects. While this means that the individual morphs can feel less distinct, it means that it's much more feasible to switch morphs mid-session without the use of a spreadsheet, making it a welcome change, at least in my group.

The four pools are also a great addition, serving both as mechanical advantages that represent a character's enhanced abilities, and as ways to reinforce the fiction of a character.

While a lot has been made of the streamlining done in second edition, Eclipse Phase remains a rules-heavy game, and as such will not be ideal for every group. My group came from d&d, and has not had a lot of trouble picking up the game, though - as with a lot of sci-fi games - the lingo can be a bit of a hurdle.

As was the case with the first edition, the setting is a real treat here - detailed and interesting, with lots of hooks for different sorts of campaigns. A number of my players - even those not traditionally drawn in by setting 'fluff', tore through the material in the core book before moving on to relevant 1st edition books to find out more.

Overall, a great book, and a great improvement over the previous edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by JP S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2020 22:36:25

The long awaited successor to the first edition, and worth the wait. Streamlined rules for morphs and better guidance for new GMs are but two of the myriad extensive improvements that go into this excellent RPG. Pick it up, give it a go, and start telling your stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2020 07:05:49

Eclipse Phase has been my favorite RPG since it first appeared. It presents players with a near future in which the human species is only barely outrunning its mistakes. The worst of humanity's faults led us to The Fall, an apocalypse exacerbated by renegade AIs, the TITANs. Billions of people, the vast majority, died. The remaining civilization lives in the rest of the solar system, in space stations or habitats built on asteroids or planets. The Fall ended ten years ago, but terrible risks remain. Humanity remains on the verge of extinction.

Second Edition streamlines the game in a number of ways. Character Creation, which was complicated in the first edition, is much faster now. There are some small changes to the setting, but for the most part, the various setting books produced after the release of first edition are excellent sources of material. Players can find themselves interacting with uplifted whales near the sun or exploring abandoned outposts deep in the Oort cloud at the egde of the solar system. Or venturing through the mysterious Pandora gates to new worlds throughout the galaxy. They'll face opponents who are no longer human, some of them deliberately. They'll face machines left by the TITANs. A terrifying virus that can mutate them into monsters. Vicious lifeforms on alien planets. Or humans with the worst instincts and the most advanced technologies at their disposal.

The default setting assumes player characters have been recruited by a secret organization called Firewall, which exists to protect humanity from the threats that lead to extinction. There are other options. Characters can be gatecrashers, exploring the new worlds available beyond the Pandora gates. Or, they could be criminals, exploiting other survivors. Enterprising GMs will come up with many other options just reading the setting material.

Posthuman Studios publishes under a creative commons license (foilow this link for details: https://eclipsephase.com/cclicense). That means you can find much of their work for free. They want you to enjoy their work. So do that if you want. And then come back here and support what they've done by paying for a copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Logan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2019 07:18:24

I've loved the first edition of Eclipse Phase for years now, and have been running a solo campaign for my wife during that time. Now that the second edition has dropped, I can say that the changes to the engine itself are fantastic, and take so much load off for things such as resleeving. Before, it was a whole process that stopped the gameplay dead while players fiddled with their character sheet, changing a dozen different numbers before we could go on with their new morphs, whereas now it's just a plug-and-play. The refined success/failure system is also much improved, as are the much better rep score and networking. I can wholeheartedly recommend this to any fan of 1e.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Trevor W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2019 22:52:14

As a fan of the first edition, I had some misgivings about the pool based addition when I had first looked through some of the previews. The changes seemed too divergent and different from the original, and would make it more complicated with no benefit. I'm glad to have been wrong.

That's not to say its any less crunchy than the original. Its just as crunchy, but its modular and easy to understand crunch. So, rather, its crunchy in all the right places. Some of it is streamlined and feels like a far more eligant system than the first edition.

As an example; the changes to Morphs and Egos. Morphs have unique qualities and built in augmentations called wares, but offer no direct changes to Aptitudes. The pools they come with, however, do offer you flexible ways to give handy, lasting bonuses and other fun benefits you decide on. It works out great and gives players both benefit and options, without having certain player types munchin in just the right bonuses. Throughout all this, your Ego Aptitudes and even skills (before bonuses) remain the same. Plus, Aptitudes are no longer limited by morph. Similar to the previous edition in many ways, but easier to work with. Its an approach that really fits the setting, in my opinion.

I find myself liking everything about this new edition. I highly recommend it!

I do have one semi-criticism/suggestion for the publishers: There's a distinct lack of a "slice of life" mission/adventure in any of the current or previous sources. I feel that something like this, an in-game introduction to the setting, would be a very strong addition. The setting itself is very difficult to grok in some ways, in particular an emotional one. I feel Eclipse Phase needs its own Food Fight, though perhaps made into a full mission to introduce the major concepts more gradually, with various actors that represent those concepts. Just some food for thought.

And thank you to Posthuman Studios for making this game and its setting. Keep it going strong!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Joshua R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2019 22:39:12

Eclipse Phase 2nd edition (EP2) is an amazing and fun game. This edition streamlines play, with loads of input from the gaming community, without sacrificing anything. If you’re familiar with shows like Altered Carbon or The Expanse you’ll be familiar with a lot of the sci-fi present in this game. If you like unraveling conspiracies, pitting yourself against monolithic institutions, survival horror, or the idea of planetary exploration this near hard sci-fi game is a must play.

The game comes baked with premade characters for 4 of your friends. You can choose to play gate crashers exploring ruins on distant and unknown worlds, criminals plying their trade in red, grey, and black markets to undermine hyper capitalists and fascist solar system wide governments, or play secret agents and saviors of humanity fighting against extinction from without and within. Characters range from normal humans to gene tailored super humans, cyborgs, AIs, uplifted Parrots, Monkeys, Apes, Octopus and many things between.

The game smoothly mixes simulationist and narrativist elements into a rule heavy (crunchy) game. This edition isn’t just a rehash of the old system, its a definite improvement. Not only remediating a few glaring issues from first edition, such as morphs, but introducing a pool system that blends crunch with imagination.

The book itself is a work of art. The illustrations, the two page spread, the interactive pdf elements comes together in a great package.

If you want to break from the routine of other games your group is playing and reach for the future and the stars, this is the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2019 07:39:45

One thing to say about this new edition : It's good to see an editor who listen to his games community !! This edition is a huge clarification and simplification of the 1st edition. Where precise data were lacking, the 2nd edition give you the answer (swarm speed ? what about children ? Know skills importance for complementary bonus ? etc ...)

But ... most important ... this 2nd edition is an evolution and not a betrayal of the 1st edition spirit. Hard Science and crunchy rules are still here, just more accessible and with a better presentation. very good job !!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Steffie d. V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2019 07:54:01

This books lives up to EP 1E and then some. The two-page spread is great and the crunch much more intuitive, while keeping all the progressive transhumanism of 1E. Definitely recommend - and if you haven't played the 1E, this book is where to start your Eclipse Phase adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Peter T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2019 20:19:00

First off, I love the setting for Eclipse Phase. I was pointed out to me by a friend when first released, but I was on a Fantasy RPG kick at the time and didn't look at it. I wasn't until several years later another friend started up a campaign and I joined in and fell instantly in love with the setting. I went and bought everything I could get my hands on for the game in hardcopy and in PDF. I volunteered to run games at Conventions and have a few ideas I'd like to write up to publish.

That said, I was ready to HATE second edition.

Second Ed EP aimed to simplify a lot of the number crunching in the rules. For me, common math is easy, so I didn't see the need. For other folk I understand math might have got in the way of the play experience. Character generation was long and slow, and there were a lot of the changes in that area make it swift, also, to make 'resleeving' faster too.

I backed the KS, because this product, and these creators, absolutely deserve my support. I participated in the playtest, grumbled a bit, noted some good things, realised some of the changes in play that might happen because of changes in the rules. I didn't read the finished PDF immediately, but at Gen Con 2019 I got my hands on a print copy and purused it on the long flight home to Australia intersperced with binging some television.

I am solidly impressed.

Character generation is easy. You can start generation, finish, and play a short scenario in one session. A practical imposibility with first edition. Resleeving is a breeze too. The changes make for swift, exciting and sometimes heroic play, while maintaining a fair bit of grit.

One of our players was concerned his character build, heavy on cyberware and mods, was 'crippled' under the new rules; Quickly exhausting his resources in a fight compared to the old system. However, fights don't really last that long, and effects were minimal. He still outclasses the entire rest of the Squad, though I anticipate his heavy investment in a single body to be a liability in the long run, as being prepared to cut and run from a body is a necessity some times.

Playing an Async character, the changes to the Psi rules are a fantastic opportunity for roleplay. I love them. I look forward to playing out stuff in our campaign.

Overall, this edition is even sexier, with lovely artwork throughout.

I'll always recommend EP to someone looking at a Transhumanist RPG, and this new edition with its lighter character generation goes a very long way to making this game accessible to all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Adrian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2019 23:39:48

Eclipse Phase earns a place as a truly distinct RPG for those seeking the space between sci-fi, horror, cyberpunk, suspese, and conspiracy theory-crafting. It manifests as a deeply mature work of writing that seriously considers the implications of unimpeded technological discovery and evolution divorced from the perceived shackles of ethics, morals, and 'the common good' that plunges humanity into near extinction. The political, religious, philosophical, and technological themes are all-pervasive, and represent a game that frames threats as existential; challenging the player-characters to become immersed in a game that asks difficult questions without providing clear answers. In short, this is a game where personal truth (with a lower-case 't') is far more likely than any universal Truth - and even then it can morph, mutate, or be forcibly altered into something very different in the span of only a few game sessions.

Within this futuristic setting 95% of the human population have been destroyed, and the remainder have embraced (to varying degrees) transhumanity - that humanity is more than a fleshy form, and consciousness is a valuable asset that can be saved, restored from back-up, and even beamed across light-years to be re-sleeved into new forms. Experimentation on the natural world has 'uplifted' species to sapient levels; to the point these creatures are autonomous, self-determing life forms who need reassurance of their status and place in the expanding galaxy. Earth is a dangerous wasteland, its' near orbit littered with failed attempts to escape and the frozen remains of those doomed to never leave - the rest of humanity has spread across the solar system. Political strucutres are diverse, from the autocratic repressive regime of the Jovians (whose increasingly isolationalist totalitarianism outlook threatens internal obselecence) to the values-driven democratic socialist clades (and every possible permutation in between and beyond).

Society is constructed from uploaded and saved sapients, effectively immortal, and able to edit memories, and tailor their forms for every environment but bearing a great psychological and emotional cost. Humanity, though, is presented at its' self-destructive, cannibalistic best - even the threat of species-level extinction fails to act as a deterrant for perpetuating class divides, a death-grip on capitalist structures and intellectual property, and imposing scarcity economics.

It should be noted that the lion's share of this book is dedicated to setting. Whilst the mechanics (a percentile system) are well-detailed, described, and implemented, it is the incredible attention to a believable habitat for the human race that is most compelling.
The authors are obviously well-aware that the philosophical themes, sheer scope and diversity, and choice position it as a possibly confronting purchase. Mitigating this are the highly practical advice sections that delineate portions of the game, present the essentials, and then offer ways to purposefully grapple with the concepts at the table. The writers exercise excellent judgment in the topics covered, and this section is placed about halfway through the book - roughly about the time my head was full of racing, competing ideas that defied immediate attempts to fashion them into usable ideas. In that state of excited creativity, I was presented with sections that grounded my ideas, provided focus, and helped me to pare down the core elements of interest. Once completed, I was ready to dive into the rest of the book.

The writing style is mature, thoughtful, and thought-provoking, but at the same time accessible. The authors acknowledge the work of others as inspiration, and fans of Takeshi Kovacs, The Expanse, and even Ghost in the Shell will find enough touchstones to easily digest the content. As mentioned, the content sequencing and structure is a highlight, and it is clear the developers tried to predict how readers would use the book, in what order ideas should be presented, and when the reader was likely to need a short rest to collate. Artwork is uniformally evocative of the universe presented, and has a gritty, yet tasteful approach that complements the text.

Overall, I cannot praise this book more, and will add a physical copy to my shelves. Even if you do not intend to play this game, but it for the setting and you'll not be disappointed. I have no experience with the First Edition upon which to base comparative reviews, but as my entry point to Eclipse Phase this has given me a lot to think about, plenty of inspiration, and a desire to read more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Arokha S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2019 09:46:51

Very impressed with this much better book layout than 1E. The two-page spread idea (where most rule topics are broken down into a single two-page spread) is great, and is much better than the 1E book I had the displeasure of digging around in to write a wiki for.

The faster/simplified sleeve stats make resleeving much easier, and was one of my biggest complaints about 1E... in a setting that expects you to resleeve often, why make it so complicated? 2E resolved that almost entirely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates