DriveThruRPG.com
Please choose which option you would like to add to your cart.
Narrow Results













Back
Blood Sea: the Crimson Abyss (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
7 7
0 0
2 1
0 0
0 0
Blood Sea: the Crimson Abyss (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Blood Sea: the Crimson Abyss (5e)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Adam E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2019 22:47:59

I am a consummate fan of the Scarred Lands. I have every book. I know the setting inside and out. Comparing this to the original Blood Sea book, it's a little light on detail. What is there, however, is quite good! The character class options are nice, and the look at pirate organizations is nice as well, but the overall content seems a little lacking as there's no maps of the Blood Sea, or discussions of places or other species such as the Pisceans or adventure sites like Kadum's prison.

Following on the heels of the excellent Player's Guide and the Wise and the Wicked, as well as the Spiragos Trilogy, this is another solid entry into the series, lacking only a bit more content. For the price, it's about right, but I would rather have paid more and had more to read.

I would recommend it, overall!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sea: the Crimson Abyss (5e)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Grant G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2019 23:54:32

Detailed - Interesting - Fun This is the MUST have companion for anyone wanting to do a sea based campaign or even just a side adventure at sea. It is well thought out and organized... so many options, tools, and resources for a DM to play with and adapt to maximize their seafaring adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sea: the Crimson Abyss (5e)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Floyd P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2019 20:33:52

If you plan on spending any time on the high seas in 5th edition then you need to buy this book immediately. It will prepare you for the seas if it is a one shot or an entire campaign.

The highlight for me is Chapter 3. It gives you all the pieces and parts to make more pirates than your players can shake a rapier at!

Again, go get this book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sea: the Crimson Abyss (5e)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Cheriann R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2019 12:24:38

Love this book! Great roles, creative settings, descriptive skills for characters. Highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sea: the Crimson Abyss (5e)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Brandon N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2019 00:39:42

I love this so much! I've never even DM'd before but the content here is still just super enjoyable.

I really really need a Warlock casting Sleetstorm in my life LOL



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sea: the Crimson Abyss (5e)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Katie T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2019 00:15:26

An absolute (pirate) treasure! There are ship maps and diagrams, incredible class add-ons and a multitude of options for all PC levels. Spectacularly written; bound to captivate and inspire players. 5/5 stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sea: the Crimson Abyss (5e)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Catherine E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2019 20:56:06

It's. So. Good.

The Blood Sea is an exceptionally cool part of Ghelspad (who's not into an ocean that's literally poisoned by the blood of the titanic monstrosity imprisoned beneath the waves?) and its corruption adds a uniquely Scarred Lands twist to the challenges and tropes of seafaring. So obviously I was excited. I mean, there's a big tentacled octopus that might be made out of blood on the cover.

That cover is a promise, and the book fully delivers.

Of course, it's extremely cool. The thought that's gone into how the nature of the Blood Sea affects sailors (especially low level characters) is excellent, and the subclasses based around its corruption definitely spark the imagination. It's easier to imagine some of them as NPCs than as PCs, and some example stat blocks would have been much appreciated, but however much mental gymnastics it takes to work in a PC who single-mindedly devours gobbets of decaying titan-flesh as a source of power... I'm down.

Blood Sea is also pleasingly functional. The background on crew roles and duties is light, informative, but easily digestible. In a few minutes, a GM can figure out supporting characters and crew politics - and answer the useful question of "ok, but what does my character do all day?". I really could have done with this book when I decided to kick off my last campaign with a shipwreck.

The NPC factions and crews do well at putting meat on the bones of all the suggestions the author makes throughout: they present a good range of crews, with different compositions and ambitions, and there isn't one I couldn't see myself picking up and throwing into an adventure. My favourites, it has to be said, are the mysterious fae-touched crew, and the Sea Hag. Always here for hags.

There are a couple of minor issues: another editing pass would have picked up minor errors (there's a dreaded "page xx" on pg. 10), and maybe tightened up some phrasing here and there, but these are trivial and in no way affect the quality of the book. If you're looking for crunch - sea combat systems, ship maintenance and the like - this isn't the book for you (though the ship maps are useful), but for setting, story and inspiration it's first class.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sea: the Crimson Abyss (5e)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Katie B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2019 14:49:23

THIS BOOK. You've never realized how bland and unfinished your sea plans are until you read this. This has everything you need to create an immersive setting to really get your players to feel like the waters of your game are just as rich as the lands. Honestly, do yourself and your players a favor and purchase this book. 1000/10. 72 Stars/5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates