DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
HardNova 2 (Core PDF) $4.95
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 3
2 3
2 2
0 0
0 0
HardNova 2 (Core PDF)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
HardNova 2 (Core PDF)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Callan T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2007 00:00:00

Hard Nova II is a very competently designed, rules-light, space opera RPG. Much like TSR's old Star Frontiers set, Hard Nova II gives you all the rules you need begin playing in about 40 pages, with a few adventure scenarios and just a hint of a background to kick start your campaign. Unlike Star Frontiers, though, HNII includes simple rules for space battles in the basic set.

The rules are fairly similar to those of PIG's (or whatever they're now called) other products. You roll two six-sided dice and try roll under the sum of the relevant abilty and skill. The GM applies any modifers that may apply.

The authors seem to have covered most of the major space opera tropes including multiple non-human sentient races, faster-than-light space travel, psionics, cybernetic enhancements, ray guns, uncharted portions of space, a federation of peace-loving planets, and a race of worm-like evil doers (who look a little like Star Frontier's evil race, the Sathar) to threaten everything. None of these items is treated with great detail but the result, brief and generic though it is, seems to work really well.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The rules are simple and the background is generic enough to accomdate almost any space opera adventure that the GM might fancy. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I did like this product but you might not like the product if you require an original, evocative background; realistic combat or space combat rules; or an epic campaign metaplot. The background is really conventional and generic but for this kind of product, I don't think that that's such a bad thing. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 (Core PDF)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by stephen a. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2007 00:00:00

A generic set of rules that are easy to understand and yet at the same times offers plenty of meat for long term usage. In fact this is a great rpg one of the best Sci-fi rule sets to date.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I really liked the innovative approach to star ships and the fantastic price of course.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There isn't anything to dislike.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 (Core PDF)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2006 00:00:00

Hard Nova ][ is an excellent set of rules for use in an excellent setting. The genreDiversion i rules are quite good and have been well adapted to the the space opera setting presented here. Hard Nova ][ is also well supported with a line of excellent products. These core rules allow you to play right away, with a number of scenarios included as well as a bunch of pre-generated characters and spacecraft. It really is ready to play "out of the box." The fact the characters and ships are almost 100% compatible with PIGames Impresa system is a big plus, too. As such, you have a fully developed magic system by using Iron Gauntlets.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The scenarios and the pre-generated characters make it easy to get started. The compatibility with Impresa and Active Exploits Diceless are great, too.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I would have liked to have a few paper minis included, like they did with Iron Gauntlets. Some ship counters would be nice, too. The Hard Nova ][ Dispoable Heroes are excellent, and also available from PIGames.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 (Core PDF)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2005 00:00:00

Not bad. Purchased for comparison purposes, mostly.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Clearly laid out.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: No trade system.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 (Core PDF)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Stuart A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2005 00:00:00

I haven't played or GMed a SF game for years, so it was really nice to pick up a fun, simple to use, and well-produced product like this and be able to run a game after reading it through a couple of times.

The system is easy to use and works well. The setting background suits the theme and provides many obvious adventure hooks.

I'd seriously consider running an extended campaign with HardNova][

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Simple playable system; very easy to get up and running.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some of the artwork is a bit too cheesy.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 (Core PDF)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by David N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2004 00:00:00

If you want a good game with out the 1000s of pages of books to read then this is for for you. I personaly liked it very much.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 (Core PDF)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2004 00:00:00

After buying the original version and enjoying the quick and sleek play style, I was eagerly looking forward to the second. I was disappointed. Instead of just expanding on the game as laid out, they tried to incorporate a new "multi-genre" generic system to tie in all their products together. Not that thats bad, but I was really just looking for stuff to use with the original quick play system.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: All the new items and ships were nice, and the map was spectacular.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I wasn't looking to change "systems" again. I was happy with the way the original worked.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. The system is merely an updated version of the original, adding compatibility with our other products - it is not that different and it is not multi-genre - that is left to the genreDiversion i Manual. The revisions were made as a response to customer feedback. If you would like your voice to be heard when it comes to future products in the series, please let us know - our forums ( http://www.pigames.net/forum/ ) are perfect for suggestions and other feedback. Thanks.
HardNova 2 (Core PDF)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2004 00:00:00

Highly recommended to anybody interested in Space Opera style games. The mechanics are solid and the character and starship templates will get you going quickly. I'm looking forward to more Genre Diversion games from PIG.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates