DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results













Back
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide $0.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
184 6
27 1
17 0
1 1
1 0
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player\'s Guide
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
Publisher: Modiphius
by Timothy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2020 08:31:51

A gorgeous release. Very interesting content. I look forward to playing in this in an upcoming campaign schediled for the New Year of 2021.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
Publisher: Modiphius
by Justin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2019 12:51:57

Epic hero EPICNESS! Mythical heroes abound. This lets you feel as if you dropped into your own Odyssey. The races look good and the new Archetypes are very thematic and look solid. I have already donated to the Kickstarter, so I look forward to the campaign, as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
Publisher: Modiphius
by Jake L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2019 16:24:14

Can't wait to see the adventure module! This player's guide is great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
Publisher: Modiphius
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2019 18:59:35

The amzingly high quality of this product expresses an enthusiasm for the material by the creators. Delving into the Greek elements without overdoing them is great so that players and dungeon masters can choose how far into the mythology they want to go. Looking forward to playing this one with my group!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
Publisher: Modiphius
by Wizard L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2019 17:41:11

This Player's Guide is so awesome, it gets me soooo excited about the full campagn book. The quality of this is abosultly amazing (especially considering its free!), from the artwork to accecability of information. I love greek mythology (both modern fantastical and historical) so it is refreshing to have a solid campagn setting that I think my players will really get into.

A few highlights and critiques from me:

  • Love, love, love the art. It really helps set the mood, is tasteful and high quality.
  • A few of the Flavor texts for the inworld character voice (with the little colored background) can be difficult to read, but maybe its me and my old eyes ;) its only a sentence or two here and there so I'm not really worrried about that.
  • Really like the idea of Epic backgrounds, i think they are going to add a level of immersion for my players. I can't wait like to see how they are incorportate into the Campagin book story.
  • Order of content is well thought out and presented. As a player (and GM) its very digestable, and I'm guessing as a suppliment for the campaign that player will be able to reference back fairly easily (Factions, Names, Gods, etc).
  • Love the maps!
  • Not sure how the Curses will work, they seem really cool, but will they be happening all the time or just every now and then - I guess its also open to the GM to decide how to use this mechanic.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
Publisher: Modiphius
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2019 09:47:41

As a preview for their full product, I'm excited. The art, layout, and other production elements are all top notch and I like that it's greek inspired and not just greek myth with all the nouns remade. The epic destinies are particularly cool.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
Publisher: Modiphius
by Sara Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2019 13:44:00

This setting while promising, pays only lip service to the Ancient Greek mythology and history it claims to be inspired by. There are the trappings of Greek myth, a Gaia and Ouranos figure, a Titanic progenitor race of gods, and the modern gods. But it goes no farther than this. The setting seems to be stuck in a very modern idea of how the ancient world worked, and it suffers for it. In addition to this, the original portions seem singularly uninspired and noninclusive. Why have the authors fridged the goddess of war? Why are gods that remain so aggressively bland? Why is there no LGBT+ rep in the entire setting? Why are there female satyrs and why in the name of everything good do they shave their arms and bodies? The entire setting seems specifically designed to appeal to one specific demographic: straight, white men who read Percy Jackson when they were younger. There's nothing wrong with appealing to specific demographics, of course, but why hobble yourself in this way when all it would take is a little more inclusion to widen your audience? The setting has promise, but it needs a lot of work.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
Publisher: Modiphius
by Russ B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2019 08:43:06

This is a promising start to a world that I'm interested in exploring!

The selling point for me, outside of it being free, was the Ancient Greek mythology inspiration for this setting. As someone who has played TTRPG's for over a decade now, I am well versed in how difficult it can be to draw new players into a setting with zero ties to real life. This book was an easy read and most importantly, it was easy to absorb. I've seen lots of settings that get a little too full of their own product and their books start to make as much sense as IKEA instructions. I like that there were nine deities and not forty. This setting seems to be very DM friendly with simple to understand (but left open for personal expansion if that's your thing) lore, flavor, and names.

My only critique of the setting are the two added races. Their base movement speed is a little too high in my opinion. An additional 10 feet for satrys seems odd to me, but that's just me. I think I'll be replacing centaurs with orcs for when I run my campaign in this setting in order to appease my players, but that honestly seems very easy to do.

I am very much going to purchase this setting in May, I think that I saw it releases in May. I think that the maps are beautiful and functional as well. Please include maps of all the major settlements in the full release. I swear that every setting I look into that only has one or two city maps is hard for me get my players into because they want to see the map, and I feel that it's fair for them to have one so they can explore the city without having to stop every two seconds to ask me what direction is something in or if there is a .... shop around here. If I have to find maps myself then there is a clear difference in look, feel, and the quality of the game suffers. If I may also make a small request; Please include names for things like shops and NPC's. I love reading that stuff and having quick reference for my table when my party hits a city. That may just be me, but I love having those details.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates