DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Sabre RPG 3e Scifi Player's Manual
Publisher: Dragonsbane Entertainment
by wade [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2024 01:54:23

Truly, a beautiful work of art. I'd give 6 stars if I could. I have the printed books of Sci-fi and Fantasy. Not printed any more? That's a shame.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sabre RPG 3e Scifi Player's Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Sabre RPG 3e Fantasy Player's Manual
Publisher: Dragonsbane Entertainment
by wade [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2024 16:10:45

It is insane to buy this incredible product (TONS of art and great rules) for such a low cost. Should cost $40-$50. and they are essentially giving them for free!! Oh, now I know why I can't find his Dragonsbane Entertainment on web as this company is EXACTLY the name of another RPG company other than a "s" in its name. BUY IT!!. It's great but I think their company was screwed once they copied the name of another company.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sabre RPG 3e Fantasy Player's Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Gamemaster's Guide to Swamps and Marshes - over 1000 ideas for gaming in wetland areas
Publisher: MediaStream Press
by wade [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2024 19:21:37

I'm bring pc's into an area full of wetlands and swamps to search for the remains of an ancient civilization. This product is perfect. Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamemaster's Guide to Swamps and Marshes - over 1000 ideas for gaming in wetland areas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ptolus: Monte Cook's City by the Spire
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by wade [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2024 17:40:39

Angel wrote a great summary (his review linked). Great city but for a large city has only one entrance through its walls. Well, two. One entrance from the west and a second to the east. Ancient Rome had several.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus: Monte Cook's City by the Spire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by wade [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2023 01:00:18

I have to begin with the negative, only because the product promised "less magic". I do want some magic spells and blessings, but I thought they promised that on the cover where it actually says, "less magic, more grit". But wow! It's so far high magic that it is one of the highest magic system in any other system! Every time a spell or prayer is cast there must be a 1d20 roll and if the result is a 1 there then must be a roll on the "Dark & Dangerous Magic" chart. A few of results: "You grow a beard of tentacles which cannot control and will shrivel up and drop off after 1d3 days"., "Your skin oozes a foul-smelling mucus", "Your surface flesh begins to rot and fades away after 1d6 MONTHS". Less magic??? A roll every time a spell is cast?? The reminder of the product has about 80% amazing stuff. One of the best layouts of interiors compared to other games. Tons of art and charts which can be used. 284 pages. Very well written. Here they do provide a somewhat gritty atmosphere with combat and injuries & healing. Once I rip the "Dark & Dangerous Magic" chart out of the book the magic becomes somewhat I'd been looking for. Chapters: Creating a Character, Attributes, Races, Classes, Unique Features, Skills, Party Bonds, Equipment, How to Use Skills, Combat, Injuries & Healing, Magic, Advancement, GM TOOLS, Exploration, Hirelings, Madness, Mass Battle, Monsters, Morale/NPC Reactions, Rival Adventurers, Tavern Brawls, Traps, Treasure, and various stuff.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Kingdom of Azadmere
Publisher: Columbia Games Inc.
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2023 23:42:17

Refer to the "discussions tab". The pdf is missing 20ish pages between the pdf and printed book.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Kingdom of Azadmere
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules 3-Book Set
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2023 01:53:42

Incredible stuff.

  • Although very dense (very, very dense) it can be easily used for any sci-fi setting, even outside of Traveller.
  • Remember, the thought "very dense" simply means that rules can provide as amazing details you'd imagine. Amazing in a good way, IMO.
  • Black covers with red bar is there and my pdf has bookmarks, so...
  • No "blank/missing pages".
  • You don't have to make all the rolls when creating a character/vehicle/starship/solar system/universe. The GM and players could simply read through the lists and choose what they want. The lists are wonderfully detailed but use them as you wish.
  • In my opinion, combat should be deadly and here it is. I like it.
  • Book 1: almost 270 pages,Characters and Combat; chapters are: Basic Info, Characters, Core Concepts, Fighting and Appendixes
  • Book 2: almost 288 pages, Starships; chapters are: How Ship Systems Work, Starship Activities, Technology and Appendixes
  • Book 3: almost 292 pages, Worlds & Adventure; chapters are: Systems and Worlds, World Surfaces, Makers, Special Circumstances, Adventuring and Appendixes
  • Create several types of characters: species, genetics, chimera, androids, synthetics, and clones
  • Core Concepts: tasks, skills, knowledges, talents, intuitions, personals, senses
  • Fighting: personal combat, combat charts, the armor
  • Starships: adventure class ships, starship design processes, starship design charts, elements of the "shipcard" (ship stats).
  • How Ship Systems Work: maneuver, Jump, power systems, sensors, weapons, defenses, fuel
  • Starship Activities: ship combat, ship combat charts, trade classifications, trade and commerce
  • Technology: understaning tech, tech charts, lifespans of intelligent species, interstellar communities, computers consoles controllers, personalities and brains, robots and mechanical persons, robotmakers charts
  • Systems and Worlds: star system creation, world generation charts, world mapping (parts 1-4)
  • World Surfaces: terrain, altitudes, depths, and speeds
  • Makers: gun makers and charts, armor makers and charts, vehicle makers and charts, thing makers (general stuff) and charts w/examples.
  • Special Circumstances: Psionics and charts, sophonts and creation charts, beast makers and charts
  • Adventuring: adventures, EPIC adventure
  • Between the books are several appendixes: Dice, Imperial Calendar, Master Mods, Mega Corps, Building Weapons, Quick Armor Tables, Crimes, and Important Concepts.

One thing serious is bad... one-minute turns. I can make a sandwhich in that time



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules 3-Book Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Silhouette CORE RPG Rules Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2023 21:20:47

It's unbelievable that the cost is less than it deserves. I've saw some say the pdf is a scan. If so, the pdf must have been upgraded. It looks perfect. I've just went to thier site and bought the printed book. DP9 has four OGL compatible player handbooks but the rules can be used for any setting outside of thier settings. The rules are the best layout I've ever seen in a game set. Very, very well presented and throughout every chapter there are dozens of examples of the rules being used. The rules themselves are great and we're looking forward to making it one of the top system being used. Version 003.1 I'm a gamer, not a staff member!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Silhouette CORE RPG Rules Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Great Rift
Publisher: Mongoose
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2023 01:01:50

First, it is simply great that they gave a friendly wave to the Travellermap.com site and it is simply amazing. Also, Mongoose mirrors the maps there. I was not a kickstarter but if I had, I would not have been disappointed. There are four books within the purchase. Writing and the information provide a very good overview of The Great Rift, adventures, and dozens of planets are given more detail regarding histories, government, habitants, etc.. The first time I read the books they gave many ways to incorporate the info and help create adventures. The Great Rift is a great area to adventure within as it is surrounded by five major societies (The Imperiium, Aslan Hierate, Solomani Confederation, Zhodani Consulate, Vargr Extents). However, most throughout Mongoose's Traveller series have provided 2d ship plans basically useless and the vehicle drawings could be found in a 5th grade school book. Sure, I can't draw or paint but there are professionals which I'd expect more from them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Great Rift
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fighters Vol 1
Publisher: Mongoose
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2023 15:44:31

Best light/medium/large fighter craft of deck plans are the best I've ever seen. Also, they give info details of the hull, armor, M-Drive (thrusters), power plant, fuel,bridge, computer, sensors, weapons, tactical weapons, systems, and cargo (if applied for larger craft).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fighters Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Rolemaster Core Law (RMU)
Publisher: Iron Crown Enterprises
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2023 01:52:35

The updated book is much better with formatting vs. before. They've done a better at presenting info with a more concise presentation. The art in the covers are much better. The art inside hasn't changed, which isn't bad except for that very odd art on page 52 (please ask the artist explain the scene in the background). I'm happy with thier last product. I'd give a four star except for the fact that they didn't provide creatures + treasures, and spell law in a reasonable time. However, I'm looking forward to those. The three sections (Character Law, Arms Law, and Gamemaster Law) do provide enough info to have a group of players around the table/computer to have a low-mid fantasy game. Other than the better formatting there are only a few of actual changes but the updated pdf is free to people who already own the first edition.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Core Law (RMU)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Alternity Core Rulebook
Publisher: Sasquatch Game Studio
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2023 19:41:18

I think the game is okay. More than okay, but the action round seriously bogs down any action during a scene. I'd give a 3-4 star except for that action round idea.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Alternity Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Clement Sector Third Edition
Publisher: Independence Games
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2023 23:15:01

A mssive 671 pages. The Clement Sector had been attached to the Earth Sector before the wormhole (or "Conduit" as it was called) the wormhole collapsed and the Clement found itself left to fend themselves, separated from Earth. The Clement Sector has been divided by twelve sub-sectors with 335 planets (with many planets or sectors haven't actually been discovered). Each planet has a brief of its own government or settlement, it's own militaries, and several planets may have pirate bases. There no living aliens but there are a few planets with alien ruins and there is a great possibility for GMs to use planets which haven't been discovered. Does the GM want to place alien bases or civilizations? All worlds which have been discovered, used or not, each world has thier own "Univeral World Profile" which provides a quick glance at the worlds starports, world size, atmosphere, population, governament, law level, and technology and then provides full charts on how to create and use those stats. Almost all planets are governed by thier own government with the exception of a small group of planets which are governed together (which call themselves the "HUB"). Creating pc's is one of my favorite vs. other games. Here, humans are the majority throughout the Sector but there are 5 "Altrants" which have been changed due to advanced genetic manipulation. Also, there are several animals which have been "Uplifted" (dolphins, apes, bears, lions, and Yeti) which provide thier basic abilities to work with humans. They can work independently without help from humans (they are not pets). For example, Apes are best able perfrom jobs which require heavy lifting and also have been used as combat troops. The character creation is AWESOME. Creation begins at page 156 and ends at page 299. Twenty step to create a character which includes birthworld, childlife, teen, and adults, and professions (civil or military) all of which provide a best depth of characters lifestyle and skills . The GM and player don't' have to roll on eacfh chart but those charts bring characters to life. Gear: There's tons of equipment (weapons, computers and software, robots, vehicles, starships, and the typical sci-fi equipment). Several starship decks are the best I've ever found (including desks, beds, and even bathrooms). Starship creation includes Hull and Armor, Enginerring, Command, Armament and Defenses, Crew, Passengers, Accommodations, Interal Components, Small Craft, Software, and finally all of that ends with the total tonnage and cost (maintenance, life support, and mortgage- each monthly). Combat provides a full experience with easily charts using 2d6's which includes personal combat, arms combat, vehicle combat and chases, and starship combat. Travel, merchant and trade good, starship operations, smuggling cargo and there are dozens of trade goods which some planets find various goods are illegal different between planets. A chapter on Animals and how to create them. Random encounters including patrons and npc's stats and skills. Politics in Clement Sector and full description of corporations. I mostly disagree with Michael except for the art. Larger text does make a book larger but this is the best when there is SO MUCH of info which needs to taken in easily.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clement Sector Third Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
21 Vehicles Third Edition
Publisher: Independence Games
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2023 17:56:00

Many of the vehicles can be easily used. I'm creating a mercenary campaign. There several planets/governments which may need assistance. The Serapis world or Sophronius world look like one will likely be used (worlds in turmoil).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
21 Vehicles Third Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fateforge - 1 - Corebook: Adventurers
Publisher: Agate RPG
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2023 22:52:28

Lots of stuff here in 400 pages. As we've seen everyone talk about the great art thoughout the series of books. SO MUCH amazing art. The rules are very well written and there are tons of examples given throughout every chapter. I like having lots of equipment available but they've also created equipment packages. Equipment packages such as the Burglars Pack, Diplomat's Pack, Dungeoneer's Pack, Entertainments Pack, Explorers Pack, and Priest Pack, and the Scholars Pack. Here's the Burglar's Pack: A backpack, a bag of 1,000 ball bearings, 10 feet of string, a bell, 5 candles, a crowbar, a hammer, 10 pitons, a hooded lanter, 2 flasks of oil, 5 days rations, a tinder box, and a waterskin. The pack also has 50 feet of hempen rope strapped to the side of it. I find it refreshing instead of the typical "weapon, armor, pouch of money, and a sack" which other games provide. For me, having pc's having a group of equipment allows for GM's to create interesting scenarios where having the right stuff or not having could make a difference. The core rulebook of the Fateforge series is the title "Adventures". It is intended for the use of both players and leaders, and is composed of three parts: 1) Character Creation - In conjunction with your game leader, determine the conditions in which a character may Awaken to magic, and choose a plethora of options; nine playable species, eighteen civilizations, a step-by-step guide to creating your very own background, a thirteen classes, and a list of original feats to enhance the hero's evolution. 2) Daily Life - Discover the mythic Free City and a body of dedicated rules to spice up the daily lives and journeys of adventurers. Mystery, exploration, and discovery form the core of the gaming experience. 3) Game Rules - The game mechanics are organized into four categories: abilities, adventuring, combat, and health. Many optional rules are included. Again, these chapters are very well written, tons of examples, and tons of art.

If I could I'd give a 6 stars as, I'm my opinion, it easily one of the best rpg I've seen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fateforge - 1 - Corebook: Adventurers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 46 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates