DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Drop Scene#1 - Snakes Underfoot
Publisher: Palliven Project
by Jesse B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2019 10:28:30

I ran Snakes Underfoot for my game group and we had a lot of fun. The adventure is written to be ran with 5e, but I was able to run it with good ol' 3.5. I was able to expand on one of the hooks at the beginning of the adventure and run it the night that I grabbed it.

I highly recommend Snakes Underfoot and I'm looking forward to the next Drop Scene Adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Drop Scene#1 - Snakes Underfoot
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks Jesse! Glad you were able to just grab it and run it the same night. One of the goals I had for this series was easy to prep. Hearing the group had fun playing through it made my day. The Palliven Project
Arcadia dX - Rulebook
Publisher: At0micCyb0rg
by Jesse B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2018 13:27:22

I really wanted to like this product when I first purchased it. But unfortunately, I was a little disappointed after reading through it. The book is all crunch with no fluff or art. And it didn’t include the cover art.

There isn't enough here to run/play a game. The creator doesn’t give a system on how to create and use magic effects or special abilities (even though they’re very briefly mentioned a couple times). Character creation was thin and didn't inspire any possible character ideas. Characters are just numbers with no classes or roles they might fill in a party.

I found the combat system to be a bit confusing my first read through. Mechanics that should have been in the same “section” were spread throughout the book. Also, maybe go with a basic hit roll for combat. And once you strike, you can roll randomly to determine where you hit the target. Having to call out which body part you want to aim for each time you attack seems a bit odd to me.

All in all, I say it’s a good first attempt at creating a gaming system. I hope to see this revised and expanded upon. Maybe flesh out the character creation, give a system for magic/special abilities, and some examples of how the system can be used in different types of campaigns (scifi & fantasy). Streamlining the combat system would definitely help too.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Arcadia dX - Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your purchase and your review! If you don't mind, I'd like to pick your brain for some ideas. In regards to the magic issue, I was originally intending to release content creation guide books separately (one for creatures, one for weapons, one for magics, etc.) to help people create things like that for their setting, but do you think those belong in the rulebook instead? With characters, I intend to experiment with feats/edges/special abilities at some point, that a player would spend XP to get. But they are very difficult to create in a setting-agnostic way. At the same time, it's definitely not something I just want to hand off to the game master and say "well, if you want them, you have to create them". In hindsight, though, I could use the Tags of weapons so that an ability would say something like "You have a +1 bonus to attack rolls made using [blades]" or "All [firearms] you wield with Weight less than 5 become effective at Close range in addition to their other effective ranges". This will require a lot of time and playtesting, but I will get there eventually. Of course, then I will make a content creation guide for these abilities as well. I did originally have the shot placement be random (body parts were weighted, but otherwise there was no way to choose where the attack would hit), in addition to a to-hit roll... I wanted to combine it all into a single roll to save time. There can be a lot of shots in one attack when you use firearms. Also, the age-old question of "AC or roll to dodge?" comes up, both of which have their merits. Do you think it would detract from the fun if each shot required a roll to-hit, possibly a roll to dodge, and then a shot placement roll (each of which may have re-rolls or some other shenanigans)? Thank you again for your feedback, I hope you have time to provide a little more :)
I have reduced the price in response to this review. Not because I think that it will fix any of the issues, but because I think the previous price was misleading to some extent and I simply don't think that a work-in-progress that still needs so much work should have a price tag any higher than $0.99. If you want a refund for your $2.00, I would be happy to fix that up just as soon as I learn how to do that...
The Exodus System
Publisher: Thunderegg Productions
by Jesse B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2018 14:58:43

Really like the character creation system. Allows for some really unique characters. And the combat system keeps things moving fast. I really like Exodus System & I hope to run it soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Exodus System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Breachworld RPG
Publisher: Jason Richards Publishing
by Jesus B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2015 09:38:02

One of the best books that I have found in a very long time. It has an amazing world, unique player races and uses the Mini Six mechanics, which makes it fast and flexible. And as an added bonus, the artwork is beautiful. I highly recommend Breachworld!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breachworld RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marchland
Publisher: Hearthstone Games
by Jesus B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2013 17:44:39

A great setting for Savage Worlds. Reminded me of the series Lost Girl.

I liked the alternate rules for Arcane Backgrounds, using modifiers to the Skill checks rather then Power Point costs means less book keeping. But my favorite was the character creation system for Fae characters! Really well written. I'm looking forward to running it with my group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marchland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Once Upon A Time In The Far West
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Jesus B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2012 15:29:26

A fine soundtrack, but slightly disappointing. I was hoping for a good mix of western and Chinese music. Something that would really give me a feel for the Spaghetti Western-Chinese Wuxia setting that I’m really looking forward to. But all-in-all, not a bad soundtrack.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Once Upon A Time In The Far West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mandate Archive Collection 2011
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Jesus B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/14/2012 14:49:50

The quality and amount of information in this book is fantastic! Sure all of it was available free individually, but the conviniance and price was well worth it. I also enjoy supporting the product line and the company who continues to release quality material. Well done SNP!

The only issue I had was with was the condition of the physical book when it was delivered. Its nothing to do with Sine Nomine Publishing since they don't have any control over it, but the print-on-demand company should ship the books out in something a little more sturdy. When I opened the package, it had several large creases on the cover from where the package had been folded. Maybe hit each package with a "Do Not Bend" stamp.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mandate Archive Collection 2011
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Hideout (Savage Worlds Adventure ePub)
Publisher: White Haired Man
by Jesus B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2012 12:17:16

Hideout is a fun little side-adventure. After a couple tweeks, I plan on inserting it into a game that I'm currently running.

Sure being an ePub file can be difficult for those of us without a Nook or any device that can read them, but there are programs out there that will allow you to view them. I just had to do a little searching before I found one.

Overall, I think White Haired Man did a good job with The Hideout. Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hideout (Savage Worlds Adventure ePub)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Distant Vistas
Publisher: Draken Games
by Jesus B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2011 15:41:16

Unfortunately, I found Distant Vistas didn't offer much inspiration. Not worth the price in my opinion. The regret might not have been so strong had it cost me only a buck.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Distant Vistas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Weapon Cards Fantasy (PFRPG)
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Jesus B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2009 10:24:54

When I first read the description for these cards, I pretty excited. The way that I interpreted the 'Also included with this PDF are blank Weapon Pages so you can key in your own new weapons' was that I'd be able to use my Adobe Acrobat to type the info. To my disappointed, I had to actually print them out and write the weapon information onto the cards. This product is so not what I expected. I thought that if one of my players came upon a magical weapon, I'd be able to create (i.e., type in) a card showing its modified stats.

If I had been able to type in the weapon stats, I'd have been completely satisfied with this product.

But on the plus side, it is nice to be able to have the pre-listed weapon info quickly available.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Weapon Cards Fantasy (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates