DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition $19.99 $9.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
236 25
39 2
6 0
2 0
0 0
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Jonas [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2023 15:29:12

Savage Worlds was my first roleplay system and i still love it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Paul [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2023 04:33:30

I am a little late getting on the SW train, but glad I finally did. This is a great system. Definitely worth getting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by FREDERIC T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2023 08:06:07

The system is very good. It's easy to learn, fast to play and the pdf is really Printer Friendly!
Efficient layers management and good chapter editing make it very easy to print exaclty what you want. Great work! If only other editors could do that. (which is still not the case in 2023).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Vitor L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2022 04:49:59

This is my personal top favorite system of all time. It is very easy to learn, very easy to explain, without being rules-lite. It allows you to use pretty much any setting you can come up with, thanks to its own mechanics and how it handles all the systems. The combat is extremely fun, and very easy to make balanced encounters. I love how flexible and customizable the magic system is. Probably my favorite of any RPG. It has a lot of optional mechanics to customize the game to your own needs, and it's very easy to come up with new mechanics to further increase customization. And if you prefer working with a already stabilished setting, there are lots of great settings officially supported, like Deadlands, Pathfinder and RIFTS.

You get pretty much everything you might need for any setting with just this single book. I could go on and on telling everything in detail, because honestly, this system doesn't get the fame and recognition it deserve. It's a masterpiece.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Leon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2022 15:34:57

I've been playing SW since Deluxe Edition where it's been always one of my best, and SWADE is even better!

I'm someone who can't just stick with one setting; fantasy with dnd, lovecraftian horror with coc, urban fantasy with wod etc... that sometimes it's hard to remember all the basic rules for them. For that reason I love to play generic RPGs and I found GURPS and FATE first. The thing is that GURPS was way too tough to look through such a huge amount of data and FATE was too light. SW stays on the middle; its system gives medium-crunchness along with cinematic/gamelike touch(Benny, Wounds...).

I think SWADE had advanced from DX and I really love the new edition. Only thing is that I am lazy to convert all the SWDX supplements that I have to SWADE version so, waiting for stuffs like Fantasy/SF/Horror Companion, Weird Wars, etc...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Pascal W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2022 03:46:09

for me personally this is the best rpg system i have ever played. in a rpg its inportant and fun to use your imagination thats why it also makes most sense to me to play an universal system. there is no end to your imagination and u can also use some of the many great settings in SW.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Daniel C. d. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2021 09:51:38

Savage Worlds is my new RPG system of choice! I have been playing RPGs for many years and reached a point in which I am honestly tired of learning new systems. I do think the diversity of rule systems out there is amazing, however, as a GM I want to invest my time in preping a really nice story for my players instead of learning the basics of an RPG. SWADE let's me learn one set of rules and visit many different scenarios! That is fantastic and it is why I chose Savage Worlds as the RPG I will be GMing for a while now (hopefully for many years!). The only drawback of this product is that I recommend it for people that have already some experience with RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2021 09:00:27

It is an absolute shame that more people haven't tried Savage Worlds. Coming from the standard D&D 3.5+ games that have been my addiction of choice since university, Savage Worlds is refreshing and new. Every player that I have introduced to this system has loved it. The system is simple, but still has depth for tactical players. The use of bennies is fun and the variability of hits and damage due to acing dice (exploding dice) keeps everyone on their toes. Players love the freedom of a classless system. System works for both experienced players and those that are completely new to the hobby.

Running Savage Worlds is much different from my Pathfinder and D&D experience. I don't worry about encounter balance which means that combat victory is never a fait accomplis. Players cannot assume that enemies are "level appropriate." They tell me that they like the challenge.

Powers (Magic) is very customizeable and the use of power points gives players the option to "amp-up" powers or alter them as needed. Yes, players can go supernova and use up all their power points (like spell points) in one round. To balance this the GM has bennies that they can use, though I'm careful not to use my bennies to just cancel a player's awesome moment.

As a component of powers is the concept of "trappings." At first my players glossed over this, but now it is a major part of character creation and theme. For example, our medic player has chosen light as a trapping for his powers (entangle creates chains of glowing light for instance) while another player has all of their powers work with an air trapping (smite on quiver of arrows creates swirling air that propels the arrow faster toward target). Players love the ability to have control over trappings. It also allows me to spice up the abilities of enemies with unusual trappings on familiar powers.

The Adventure Deck is a phenomenal addition that everyone using Savage Worlds should at least try.

I'm still trying to master the chase mechanic as I haven't used it enough to provide feedback. Same goes for dramatic tasks.

The only problem from my view, is that many more people need to try this system for their games.

Very highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2020 18:13:27

I have played many, many systems since the early 1980s after I started with the Red Box Basic Set for Dungeons and Dragons. I have seen some very complex games, some very simple games, and many variations in between. Around 2007 or 2008 I had gotten a pdf of the (then) current edition of Savage Worlds, It seemed to be too simple for my preferences at the time. So I decided to pass on it. I think that I deleted it as I have not been able to find a copy of it.

Around 2009 - 20010 my go-to-game was Mutants and Masterminds. It did some things very well but choked on others. Before that my go-to game was GURPS, which was my go-to for about 10 years. I was not satisfied with either of those. I could not put my finger on what I was looking for, but both of them were not it. Someone in a GM Advice gaming group had recommended Savage Worlds. I decided to give it a try. It became my go-to game since the summer of 2010. Savagew Worlds looks like it is a very simple game in comparison to the games that I mentioned above. However, this is very decieving. It is a very customizable "engine".

Aside from the faster game play, what stands out to me as a GM and a player is the character creatiopn and progression. Like GURPS and Mutants and Masterminds, the same "math" is consistent through the entire character management process (be it creation or advancement). I like how each Advance is worth the same. That is my key dissatisfaction with level-based games such as Dungeons and Dragons. Taking a level in one class is not the same value as taking a level in another, and each level is not interchangeable. For example, say that you have 19 levels in Fighter you cannot take one level in Wizard and be equal to another level 20 character. In Savage Worlds each Edge is worth an Edge. If that is not the case, the Edge needs to be revised.

Savage Worlds fits my preferred play style and my own GM style.

It is designed to be customizeable. If you do not like something, change it. But before you do, consider why it is a rule. There are many times that I wanted to change a rule (especially the first year or two that I played) only to find that the rule as written is actually better than I had realized. It LOOKED like a "dumb" rule but in practice it was actuially a very good rule.

There were sevearl rules that I had tended to use, some of them I came up with on my own independently, in previous editions but they have become the official rules for this edition. That was nice to see that what I had been "house ruling" is now official. As such I really like the new edition and I would highly recommend it over the previous editions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by William B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2020 03:52:24

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition (SWADE) was exactly what I was looking for. I'm just getting back into the hobby, and I wanted to try something more flexible that would allow me to quickly add whatever elements I want, and less simulationist. Staring back in the mid-80's I have played and ran AD&D, 2e, 3.5e, and Pathfinder 1e, and I didn't want to get on the 5e train.

I, personally, consider the SWADE rules a masterpiece. If you read through them, and soak in all the subsystems, it allows you to add so many fun elements to your games like dramatic tasks, chases, social conflict, fear & insanity, and others. It also amazingly does it without turing the system into a simulation math fest.

I have seen people write "SWADE is NOT rules light!" when critisizing Savage Worlds in forums, and I agree with that. This is a beefy PDF, and there is a lot to soak in, especially if you are new to Savage Worlds like I was. However I don't think "rules light" is the claim Pinnacle made. What they said was "Fast & Furious", and in my opinion they delivered on that. There was a lot of reading and asking questions involved, but I feel much more able to implement all the systems in SWADE, whereas in Pathfinder v1 and 3.5, I always seemed to be fiddling around with the rules, and having rules debates with people, and with Black Hack it just didn't feel like there was enough crunch. SWADE is the complete opposite. I can run this stuff in Fantasy grounds, which has EXCELLENT SWADE integration, and the game doesn't grind to a halt every time the game mechanics come into play. I can just go BOOM, BOOM, BOOM from one scene to the next. The last game session I ran, we did half a dozen scenes, including a large puzzle that took the group a while to figure out all in 4 hours.

Versatility is just off the charts with SWADE. I'm finding myself plugging in the sci-fi and horror elements I've always wanted to run into my Beasts & Barbarians games. I never would have even considered attempting this in Pathfinder, especially "on the fly". It's trivially easy in SWADE, and I love it.

I really can't say enough good things about SWADE, and I would be shocked if another system comes along anytime soon that's good enough to convince me to change. This is just an A+ product.

One complaint I have with almost ALL game systems is the disparity of suggestions for balancing encounters. I'm not asking for a full on Challenge Rating system like in Pathfinder, but it was very difficult for me the first time to figure out a good challenge. Unfortunatley, this conversation is usually dominted by grognards who pound their fists on the table and say "DON'T BALANCE ANYTHING!! Anyone who disagrees with me is an idiot and will be censured by sycophantic like-minded forum moderatos, then receive a melee attack from my neckbeard!" However, for GM's new to the system, we don't have any idea what to throw at the players the first time, and a TPW in the first session is probably not explainable by the standard garbage neckbeard advice of "you guys should learn how to assess the risks, it's a dangerous world!" My theory is people who say things like this don't actually run games, or at least not good ones because what would probably happen is all your players would quit. Players now days have far more options than back in the caveman days of Chainmail, and they'll just bail and join another Discord channel if they don't like your game. So what am I actually asking for? How about just several pages of examples to help the new guys. Here are stat blocks of a sample party of 4, here are some common combinations of enemy stat blocks like goblins and skeletons and such THAT WE PLAY TESTED, and proved to be a fun encounter. Stop listening to the grognards on this, new GMs need a lot more help in this area than what you give us. Fortunatley I have Fantasy Grounds where I can speed up the play testing of encounters between games, but back in the good old days before Fantasy Grounds this would have been a colossal PITA. Just provide multiple clear examples illustrating how experienced SWADE GM's ballpark challenge to set us on the way. Once we have a feel for it, we won't need it anymore. What happened to me was, I ran a "mini-game" before the first actual game session, followed your extremely sparse encounter balance guidance, and the party just wiped the floor with them. I don't think anyone even took a single hit, and it just wasn't fun. Next go-round I had some frame of reference as to what is "too easy", and things went much better, but if you had just given me more guidelines to help shape my thinking in the beginning, the first session would have been much better. The grognards and neckbeards like to paint this as a false dilemma; either you put in some bloated, barely functional CR system like Pathfinder, or you don't try to balance anything. To me, this is just complete BS. There is a happy middle ground for helping new GM's avoid TPW's and boring easy encounters in the early games, and I could probably write it myself at this point. All it would take is a little effort on your part. I won't knock off a star, because nobody got mad and quit after the easy encounter, but I was a little irritated. Before you go on the defensive, Pinnacle, I am only taking the time to write this because I love your product and would like to see it improved.

Another minor complaint is that the PDF is poorly optimized, weighing in at a ridiculously unecessary 56MB, and performing even worse than that size would indicate on older devices like my Android tablet. It's just a bloated hog of a PDF. After removing all the images with Ghostscript (see below), and using a free online PDF optimizer, the result is a 2.5MB PDF that opens lightning quick and scrolls smoothly on all my devices. I get that Pinnacle is trying to pretty up their product, but rule books are utilitarian. Most people are going to look at the pretty pictures once, then spend the rest of their time wishing the PDF was optimized better. What I would prefer is if they would create a reference book PDF designed purely for GM reference, and then maybe include a full version with art, or just an art book.

Normally poor PDF optimization would cost any product I review a star, but fortunately for Pinnacle the content of SWADE is just so outstanding I can't give it less than 5 stars.

I actually wound up buying this product twice. Once in PDF format, because I had originally intended to play on Roll20. Then a second time when I switched to Fantasy Grounds. Normally this would irritate me and I would have refunded the PDF product, since the full rule book is in Fantasy Grounds and that's where I look stuff up. I like this product so much, however, paying for it twice still seems like a good value, and I'm happy to pay a little extra to support a company I like.

Here's how to delete the images with Ghostscript: gs -o noimages.pdf -sDEVICE=pdfwrite -dFILTERIMAGE input.pdf



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Nick J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2020 13:38:58

One of my favorite game systems by far, the newest edition of Savage Worlds is a step in the right direction for this great ruleset. The only issue with S.W.A.D.E. is the price point for a physical version. Admittedly, it's not really that bad of an increase but when the previous book was only ten dollars, it did at first glance make me scratch my head a bit. The level of polish and quality of artwork within,however   makes a solid case for the costs. Pick it up, since it is fast, furious, fun and incredibly adaptable to anything you can dream of running at your table!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Cyril R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2020 14:51:56

A great improvement to an already good system. More streamlined, more generic, more and better player interaction. Rules are easier to understand, and grouped better. Also I love Powers Modifiers. Excellent and flexible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/01/2020 10:28:43

IN CONCLUSION The general tone of the rules took a step back away from hard numbers and explanations and more towards "if it makes sense" or "you'll get the feel of it". I get that this is frustrating for some people. They need hard guidelines for anything that happens in a game. I appreciate that. I totally do not need that, so I appreciate the lean towards "rulings over rules" that the book stops just shy of adopting. The system can support investigative scenarios, tactical minis combat and social maneuvering, with mechanical support for all the above. It's the most diverse Savage Worlds yet. I still think a couple of the choices were oddly limiting given that everything else seemed to be about making the system more heroic, but if I every truly find those things too troublesome, I'll houserule it. Pinnacle has released a number of setting conversion sheets (1-2 pages) for everything that doesn't have a full blown revision planned (Savage Rifts has been revised, and new Deadlands books are coming), but don't stress out: For as much as they changed, it's still remarkably backwards compatible. The BIGGEST thing to watch for with old material is making sure that the skills line up (given that some have been removed/consolidated/so on). Man, I love Savage Worlds. I've never hidden this. I've bought the core rules three times now, this last time going all-in on the Essentials Box. I did that after having access to the PDF of this edition. I fully believe this is the best iteration of Savage Worlds yet, so yeah, I'm gonna give it a glowing endorsement...even more so after using it in play. Big time recommendation. And don't bother holding out. There ain't a $10 version coming, aside from the PDF. Buy now, get to playing.

For my full review, please visit https://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2020/01/tommys-take-on-savage-worlds-adventure.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2019 20:09:17

Great universal gaming system. Simple but versatile.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by ROBERT T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 10:17:01

A great system for any nearly any genre. You will find Savage Worlds Adventure edition is able to take on everything from the gritiest fantasy, to the the most over the top Post Post-Apacolypse settings like Rifts. Savage Worlds can do them all.

The only weakness of the system is to do powerful Super Heroes you will need experience with the system or to purchase the Super Powers Companion.

This is the system I go to by default when looking to translate something from fiction into an RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates