DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
{WH} Tabaxi Variants! Five subraces for your tabaxi characters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2020 11:56:58

A wonderful take on the underserved Volo's race, Tabaxi Variants adds to what was originally a simple Kahjiit vibe and makes it into its own true Catfolk.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
{WH} Tabaxi Variants! Five subraces for your tabaxi characters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

{WH} The Witch, a character class of natural arcana and the old ways of magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2020 11:56:00

Perhaps one of the finest classes you will find on this entire website, a fullcaster built from the ground up to deliver on the fantasy that we think of when want hags and cackling witches. A wonderful experience from start to finish, and an exceptionally exciting melding of flavor and function.

While you'll find this mechanically somewhere between Druid and Wizard, it burgeons as its own identity and its own mechanical gamespace. Absolutely worth a purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
{WH} The Witch, a character class of natural arcana and the old ways of magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Hag's Hexes
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2020 11:54:27

A nice gathering of monsters and new hags for use in your own games, though I wish it went into further detail about hags as a whole, and talked about things that Volo's never covered (like better roleplaying and deal making, things I have struggled with despite my love for this type of monster)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Hag's Hexes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Almost Heroic Presents: Skill Challenges
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2020 11:52:54

While not a perfect set up for every dungeon master, it does present a system which can be tweaked and applied to most any game. I've used this specific form of skill challenges multiple times, and leaving the creativity of my players to solve these very cool non-combat encounters, has been a highlight of the sessions its been used in.

I recommend including the use of class features, racial traits, and spells if you decide to use this, as it offers even MORE creative solutions and ideas to your players, and lets them really feel like their character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Almost Heroic Presents:  Skill Challenges
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Incarnate: The Last of the Lacers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2020 11:51:04

More than what it looks, this Avatar based mass of homebrew acts as a wonderful look into a similar setting. It supplies backgrounds, classes, and more. There are a few issues with how the classes themselves are designed, it's an overall fine piece to take from and strip for your very own campaign document. The star of the book, the Lacer, is a wonderful class. While it somewhat muddles itself with an odd Ki system and attempts at flavor over function, it still works out in the end to create an entirely new system of elemental meddling for 5e as a whole.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Incarnate: The Last of the Lacers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2020 11:46:36

Perhaps one of the finest non-dungeon adventures I've ever used. I love the characters, the settings, and the overall themes. Perfect for any adventuring party, and delivers hooks for far later on in any ongoing campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hey, Mister. Can You Help Me?
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2020 11:45:27

A very cute variety of short little hooks, a lot of them lead into interesting monsters and some have rather tragic implications. Perfect when you want to give your party the opportunity to just... adopt a kid, as they tend to do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hey, Mister. Can You Help Me?
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Corrupted Nature
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2020 11:44:01

I've used this time and time again. It's short, sweet, and easy as an introduction to the game. So much can be swapped out and changed from the core to create a new experience for DM and Player alike. Make it a halfling village with a witch villain, make it a werewolf instead of the jackal boy, keep changing it! It's wonderful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Corrupted Nature
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gathering Magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2019 17:35:42

Much like my other favorite MTG Content for Dungeons and Dragons, this book goes as far as it can, while not breaking down the system, to introduce accurate Magic The Gathering mechanics into it's spells. Each conversion from card to spell is flavorful and so weirdly accurate it made me do a few double takes like "Wait this is the exact same thing!" It's so cool like that.

While not every bowl is a strike when it comes ot the many spells, some are just too complicated or weird to flow well into the system, I adore the overall quality of the content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gathering Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Publisher: SlyFlourish
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 10:10:55

This book should be the cornerstone of any Game Master's collection, I don't think I've run games better than the ones I only need to spend 30 minutes prepping. Do yourself a favor and buy it NOW.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kid Friendly Character Sheet
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2018 15:17:31

Adorable, amazing, and simplifies the character sheet down to one page. Though I do wish it had a spell sheet, it's still incredibly useful, I can see this also being used to explain various parts of the game to new players of all ages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kid Friendly Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Howdy, Thanks for the very kind review. I'm in the process of making a slightly more simplified spell sheet aimed at kids, but until then the other spell sheet I have might do the trick: http://www.dmsguild.com/product/241282/Class-Character-Sheets--The-Spell-Sheet
Balasar's Guide to Exploration
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2018 15:10:33

(EDITED after further reading)

This book is amazing! Lots of flavorful additions, interesting rules, and I love traps and curses!... but there're two things that bother me. It has it's fair share of grammar and poor wording, especially in the subclasses, and it has a strange a lack of flavor for a book of it's kind, with the descriptive text and the presentation of the titular Balasar (though the classes boast a variety of interesting lore and are very well thought out narratively). For the former, I've created a little perusal of the first couple of subclasses and my callouts for grammar/spelling/poor-wording.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1rjYS2pf7r8C3uXZwMPpBGeovjSmEaFREH15VMYGC-VU/edit?usp=sharing here's the thing for that.

As for the secondary issue, I think it's just a lack of art (which I know is hard to get/make, and this is a free supplement so I understand) but also the fact that Balasar isn't well established as a character. He seems to be a blander version of Volo in my opinion, I will not tell you how to write your character, but I think Balasar should be given more dialogue, more flavor to what he says, and depth and meaning to his quips. I would happily buy this as a full supplement, for an actual full price, if it had;

  1. Further editing, particularly in spelling, grammar, and wording.
  2. A bit more flavor, maybe some art if you can get it (public domain has a lot of good stuff, so does DMsguild for free use!) and more stuff about Balasar!
  3. It's own look, it just feels like a bland homebrewery PDF, it should have a bit of flavor with it's page color, maybe even it's font! Just an idea.

I won't pretend that I can critique your classes, I ain't THAT smart about DnD, but they look really cool though! The half races definitely look interesting, if a bit abusable. And the subclasses generally look well-made, well balanced, and very fun to play.

Hopefully a version 2 of this comes out eventually, with fixed wording issues, art, it's own product dressing, a bit more flavor from the narrator, and perhaps at a premium (5 - 10 bucks) price, so I can support it further. Once I get the money, I'll definitely be dropping a few bucks on this, since it's such a steal at it's current name-your-price. I know I've been critical, but overall, I really like this and it's a BOATLOAD of great content. Great job!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Balasar's Guide to Exploration
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates