DriveThruRPG.com
Please choose which option you would like to add to your cart
Browse Categories













Back
Titan Effect RPG
 
$12.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
16 8
2 0
0 0
0 0
1 0
Titan Effect RPG
Click to view
Titan Effect RPG
Publisher: Knight Errant Media
by Balázs M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2019 04:19:19

First of all: I ran a medium-long (appr 10-15 sessions) Titan Effect (“TE”) campaign, so I write this review based on a true story :)

Most supers settings give players an opportunity to play superheroes in a more or less stereotypical way: colourful clothing (perhaps even capes), fancy names, save the city/world/etc. The design of the NPCs reflect the same intent. Although I like the superhero genre, I really wanted to DM a supers setting which allows a bit more realistic approach and experience. From all Savage Worlds (“SaWo”) settings I think Titan Effect meets my expectations most.

Although super-powered and fighting for a better world, TE characters (called psychics) are not superheroes at all. They are operatives of a secret agency (SPEAR, in some way similar to Marvel’s SHIELD), participate in missions across the globe instead of saving a city, and fight in a kevlar suit, whereas the enemies are (human, bio-augmented or psychics) terrorists and rival organizations instead of local supervillains in funny clothing.

The tone is more realistic than in a supers comic setting, which is supported by the fact that players dispose relatively low-level super powers. Therefore guns, armor and espionage hard/software are not merely accessories, they are important tools of the game. On the other hand the setting is different from the pulp/street fighter settings (eg Batman, Daredevil) as well, because characters do dispose superpowers and the enemies are far more dangerous and global than simple criminals. The slogan “Tom Clancy meets X-Men” is true.

Content: Most SaWo settings include a world description, some adventures (Savage Tales/Plot Point Campaign) and a few pages about game mechanics. I was glad that instead TE provides a huge amount of content: 40-45 pages of game mechanics + 30 pages of NPCs. Furthermore we have tons of in-world infos, descriptions of the major factions and also a well-detailed mission generator. Not too mention the free materials which are not included in the book but were/will be published later on.

Design: The realism is reflected by the illustrations as well which are gorgeous and are totally different from the comic book-design of most supers RPG setting. This book is one of the most beautiful illustrated SaWo-setting I have ever seen.

Some words about the factions: we get well-detailed descriptions about all. As enemies we have bio-terrorists, a global grey eminence organization with genetically enhanced (bio-augmented) agents, a post-KGB group of terrorists(?) which trains his psychic agents beyond their limits and even a church-connected organization where superpowers are considered as a gift of God. In the current state these factions are not playable, they represent potential contacts and enemies, players are automatically the agents of SPEAR.

Perhaps one flaw shall be mentioned as well: unfortunately the NPCs in the book were usually relatively “weak” for the well-designed characters of my creative players :) so I had to increase the numbers of NPCs in the encounters or re-design some super-powered villains.

We really enjoyed the campaign with TE and we have already started “season 2”: 4 sessions are beyond us, and I have appr 10 adventure seeds in mind...so we will be busy). I hope that there will be more books to this setting, there are too many hints and secrets in the campaign book to be left undiscovered :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Titan Effect RPG
Publisher: Knight Errant Media
by Péter A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2019 10:58:36

Very cool supers / commando setting! You can play superpowered spies / soldiers working for an organization called SPEAR, and the book has everything you need for the kind of missions it offers: it has archetypes, it has pre-gens (with VERY nice portrays for the characters), new lists of weapons, armor & gear. It has some alternate history (with psychics in focus), descriptions and info on the main organizations that are important to the setting, it has a list of enemies & important characters, and also an awesome mission generator (which - as of yet - remains to be seen in action). The only thing I didn't like about it is that there are quite a few typos, but it is not that annoying. If you like the sound of an espionage / sci-fi setting with psychics and bio-augmented soldiers, thi is definetly the setting for you. (Also, the artwork throughout the book is gorgeous.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Titan Effect RPG
Publisher: Knight Errant Media
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2018 10:56:20

I've been working through some design issues for modern/near future games. In dealing with those issues I've recently purchased a number of SW products. Titan Effect has been one of the better ones I've purchased recently. The idea of useing the Super Powers companion to add supernatural elements to your game, rather than the magic systems present elsewhere is really elegant and the Titan Effect has integrated those elements well. I'm intrigued enough by the setting as a foundation for gaming that I would consider running games in this world with a few tweeks. This book, in combination with say Agents of Oblivion would give you pretty everything you need to run a serious supernatural thriller game.

I've really enjoyed the book and I can't wait for more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Titan Effect RPG
Publisher: Knight Errant Media
by Benjamin L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2018 10:12:20

I'll be frank, I'm not a fan of "HIDDEN SUPERNATURAL" elements in a modern/sci-fi setting. That being said, I really like Titan Effect. The setting is well thought out, the art is great and the Savage Worlds aspects work very well. I really like the Greek Mythology interwoven into it and this gives it great crossover potential. If you, like me, want to make the supernatural aspects more public; that wouldn'd be hard. Either way I highly recommend TITAN EFFECT.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Titan Effect RPG
Publisher: Knight Errant Media
by Jabari F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2018 13:34:38

TItan Effect is off the chain, imy favorite Savage World setting by far. The game combines two of my favorie genres, espionage and superheroes .It has a great setting, amazing artwork, clean layout, and characters that you would love to see on fhe big screen. Everything from telekinetic agents, bioenginered animal hybrid soldiers, pyschic vampires, and voodoo biokiinetic characters are in this game . In addition, the game is very flexible , you can run anything from Metal Gear to Mission Imposible . You still here reading this review? DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND GO BUY THIS GAME RIGHT NOW !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Titan Effect RPG
Publisher: Knight Errant Media
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2018 22:58:17

Disclaimer: Review is based on an extensive read-through and an understanding of Savage Worlds used to predict how the rules work on paper, but no actual play. Once I have played this I will update my review, but for now keep in mind that I have yet to actually run this.

Note: I recieved this book as a reward for backing Titan Effect on Kickstarter. I am still waiting on the release of the print copy, which I am entitled to as a backer according to my pledge level.

Summary

Titan Effect is a solid setting and an excellent product, promising intrigue and danger byproxy for your players.

Setting:

Titan Effect is an RPG setting that wears it's inspiration proudly and openly.The course of the setting's history in WW2 is has organizations and themes similar to the Proto-BPRD in Hellboy (Movie Version), post-WW2 reads much like the Metal Gear saga timeline from it's Origins in MGS3 to the beginning portion of MGS4 (and the implications of all of it), with shades of The Philosophers from the time before MGS3 in that series setting. There are low-key versions of supers elements from X-Men mixed liberally into this package, and it is blended to create a unique-feeling and excellently crafted fusion of all of those elements. No effort is made to hide where this setting's ideas came from (Indeed, the appendix in the book includes a segment on every major inspiration to the setting!), instead an effort is made to make them feel fresh and unique in their combination.

Mechanics

Titan Effect has a lot to work with here, and most of it is very well designed. In addition to leveraging the fast ruleset of Savage Worlds and the customization of its Superpowers Companion, Titan Effect includes alterations and additions to the formula that are very useful even in other games (Such as Equipment Points - Rename those to Wealth Points or Resource Points, fold purchases worth under $50, basic needs, and cost of living into fluff information, and you have a simple abstract resource system), and the selection of new edges, hindrances, and gear are very helpful for the setting. The weapons and armor are even useful in any modern game period, given they include custom stats for things like the P90 or other high profile weapons of the 20th and early 21st century. (Note: Equipment Points are the default option, but can be easily converted back to costs and values in Savage Worlds Dollars with the included guidelines if needed)

GM Tools

Titan Effect has one of my favorite GM Tools in a setting book: A random mission/adventure generator, which will no doubt help GMs that have run out of ideas for sessions or are pressed for time. Additionally, things like information clearences are excellently explained, allowing players gated but immediate access to important information as needed for a session. Finally, the GM is given options for custom setting rules, drugs, and equipment that will help to challenge expert players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Titan Effect RPG
Publisher: Knight Errant Media
by Robert H. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2018 22:36:52

I had the pleasure of Beta Testing this game. And its fun. Its so open to being a strictly Black Ops team to just a espionage team. I liked it so much that I backed it on Kickstarter. And I rarely do that. And who doesnt want to play someone that can read minds or throw some with psychic powers. And you can even make someone like Sn@ke form Met@l Ge@r s0lid and give something like the Jedi Mind trick..Its a blast..

Robert Hensley



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Titan Effect RPG
Publisher: Knight Errant Media
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2018 07:05:01

The wait is over! The Titan Effect setting captures a slick modern-near future-conspiracy-action thriller-science fiction espionage genre akin to Met@l Ge@r S0lid. As part of a team you play a psychic SPEAR (world police!) operative put up against various factions that plan to dominate the world (or other nefarious plans) with their various bio augmented soldiers and psychics that come in a variety of flavors from super soldiers to neo therianthropes (werebears and werewolves oh my!). It's a really cool setting for Savage Worlds that yall should check out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates