DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
TinyZine: Issue 8
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2018 11:04:17

Another excellent issue of Tiny Zine.

This month's Roll-and-Play features Gladiator Arenas. As usual, it's worth your while-- especially because it can be easily adapted not just to TD2e and TF:R, but also to Mecha and Monsters, Wastelands, and Supers. And maybe Beach Patrol?

The Familiars article is a great expansion on the original rules. For anyone who plays a character with a Familiar, this is a must-have.

There have been a number of microsettings rolled out in previous issues of Tiny Zine (1, 4, 5, 7) and each of them has given me ideas for my own campaign. But James M. Spahn's Starwing: Blazing Exodus might be the first one that makes me want to start a new campaign so I can play it just as it is. If you loved the Battlestar Galactica reboot, and you want to play out your own ending, you need to play this. (And so do I. Holler at me.)

Grit, Shootouts, and Bounties looks really interesting. (Makes me hope we get to see Tiny Gunslinger some day.) And someone on the FB group suggested trying it with Mechas & Monsters, which . . . Wow. Maybe combined with the Gladiator Arenas? Hmm... that gives me an idea.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 8
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 4
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2018 15:28:30

About twice the size of the first three issues, this one has two important selections for Tiny D6 fans.

First, a great new microsetting (The King's Daggers) as well as a new magical Trait.

Second, new optional rules for stress and trauma which can replace the hit point system. Not sure I'm going to use this in my campaign, but it's a very cool alternative. And if you're running a Grimdark game, or old-school Sword and Sorcery a la Conan, then I think this is probably the way you want to go.

TZ includes a new class (Executioner) for For Coin & Blood. I don't play this game, but still found some good ideas to be mined here.

Good issue!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 3
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2018 15:20:30

Another step up. There's a lot more here than you would expect from just 10 pages. It includes...

  • 2 new Heritages. Minotaur is pretty solid, but I think needs a trait for natural weapons, like Karhu or Hatchlings. The three optional traits inlcuded with this heritage are all good; I plan to make them available more widely in my campaign. The second new Heritage is Glitterbug, which is perfect for TD Hatchling Edition.

  • 4 new magic items related to the new heritages. All four are useful, and also provide good models for what a magic item should do in TD2e.

  • 2 new traits and a new prestige trait (Weapon Master) designed for fighters. The prestige trait also includes 8 "style benefits" that look a lot like new traits to me. So I may just break these out and use them on their own.

Continues TinyZine's trend of improvement. Definitely worth picking up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 2
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2018 15:18:52

A step up from the first issue.

The new level progression rules are essential for GMs who want to run long-term campaigns, as opposed to quick pickup games. And the rules are easily applicable to any Tiny D6 game (Dungeon, Frontiers, Wastelands, etc.)

The Aliens & Asteroids section was interesting. I haven't picked that game up yet, but reading this made me think I should give it a look.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 1
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2018 15:08:06

The inaugural TinyZine introduces a new microsetting, (Super)Natural Resources. This is a good offering, and worth a look. I especially like the idea of Pomps and Circumstances. Very cool.

Compared to later issues of TinyZine, this one is a bit thin. But if you like roleplaying fierce competition for scarce resources (I see you, Wastelands players), then this is your jam.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 7
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2018 14:59:28

With 35 pages packed full of content, I feel like Tiny Zine just continues to level up.

Issue 7 includes a column memorializing the late great Greg Stafford and FIVE other features. 1) The Roll-and-Play continues to be strong, and this month features a random Thieves Guild generator. 2) I am already trying to figure out how to include the new Gravehark setting in my campaign. And the new Undead Heritage and Traits are useful for any GM. 4) The new feature on legendary NPCs is a great idea, and King Arthur is an excellent first entry. 5) The new enemies and adversaries make me want to pick up Destiny of Tides. But even GMs who don't will find some very good material here.

Best Tiny Zine yet!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 7
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 6
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2018 14:57:49

One of the best issues of Tiny Zine yet. The second installment of Roll & Play is a magic item generator-- a superb guide for TD2e GMs who want to make their own magic items, and could be useful for other Tiny D6 games as well.

The section on traps is simply invaluable for GMs. If you play Tiny D6 games (especially Tiny Dungeon 2e), then this is one you really ought to pick up.

The new heritages are fun and Halloweeny. They also help model monster-to-PC conversion, which is hugely helpful.

I also found the A&A content to be interesting and thought-provoking, but since I don't really play that game I can't speak for its utility in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 5
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2018 14:50:44

If you play any Tiny D6 games, this one is a must have, for at least two reasons.

  • There are three new Traits for berserkers, including one Drawback Trait. Drawbacks are an AMAZING concept which really opens up a world of new possibilities for the game. If you are a GM, you NEED this.

  • A fully fleshed-out (17 page) adventure, Literal Tiny Dungeon. Well worth the cover price by itself. You can drop this into pretty much any fantasy campaign for a fun change of pace. (It would also probably work for Supers, and maybe even a sufficiently-advanced-technology Frontiers campaign.)

The Zine also includes two other features, both very good.

  • The new microsetting (Green Hell) works for Tiny Dungeon and Tiny Frontier. (And probably Wastelands, and maybe Supers?) Plus, I love all the intriguing flavor text.

  • The Roll & Play feature is basically a random tavern generator, and is very fun.

Without a doubt, the best issue yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Dungeons 2e: Hatchling + Core [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2018 14:18:36

A great value for the money. In particular, it's a terrific way to get both 2e and Hatchling Edition at a reduced cost (Or, for people who already have the second edition to pick up the hatchling addition at a reduced cost. Thanks, DriveThru RPG!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeons 2e: Hatchling + Core [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Planet Mercenary RPG
Publisher: Hypernode Media
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2018 14:08:03

I picked up this game because I love the comic. And it has lots of the flavor of the original schlock mercenary: fun, action-packed, epic.

Having played for about 15-20 hours, I think I'm starting to get the hang of it and really see its potential. There's no question that this is a game with lots of moving parts.  II love it, but it is complex and crunchy.

I was game chief, and had five other players, most of whom had zero experience with role playing games. And because we are all grown-ups with jobs and kids, and we live in different states and have to play the game by video chat, we were not able to play as often or for as long as I think would be ideal.

In retrospect, PM may not have been the best pick for this group. We ended up simplifying a lot of the game as we played, paring it down to the essential components. Two of the more innovative features that we kept in place were fire teams and the Mayhem deck. I think both of these are fantastic and really vitalized gameplay. I'd like to see similar things in other games.

Overall, I really enjoyed the game and highly recommend it. A great choice for experienced players or folks willing and able to learn. Maybe a little intimidating for total noobz or casual players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Planet Mercenary RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates