DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results













Back
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin $14.95
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
24 3
6 1
0 1
2 2
2 1
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Moros F. H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2019 02:08:29

I love the setting, especically since Scion now actually has a setting for once. I love that the devalopers have actually done their research and have hired a more diverse team of writers who can help give a more accurate description of each religon. I love how much freedom the game system gives you in creating what you want, like how I was able to easily make a talking eagle as a PC thanks to the condition rule, I love the air of mystery of Origin tier(even if I do personally prefer the more epic and magical feel of Hero tier). The editing could definitely be better, there was some important stuff here and there I missed initely due to the text not giving it much attention or was vague. Still a must buy though for lovers of urban fantasy, mythology and more systems that encourage you to make your own ideas!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Simon H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2019 19:17:04

This is a weird one, the complaints about this book are legitimate but...

The best way to think about Scion is that both books (Origin and Hero) create an excellent setting and what you need to begin. When I think back upon the pair of them as a whole I really can't think of what I would cut outside of a little duplication. It's not all perfect, there's definately some questionable choices on organization, confusing concepts, and a few things that are either poorly explained or contradictory. But overal everything fits together into what looks like a very smart AND clever setting, both in world and system. Having said that... book one REALLY comes off as the worse of the two. It's a bit like seperating the classic D&D players manual and GM's guide... and then printing off three quarters of the GM's guide first. It's all still there and really works but as an individual book... yeah, three stars at best



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Costan S. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2019 22:30:12

I love Scion first edition, but Scion second edition just breaks the whole background and feeling of the first one. The World (the new setting) is based around ancient gods never leaving and yet history hasn't changed... and this makes no sense. First edition took quite some time to explain why gods had been forgotten and history was as it was but, if gods have not been forgotten, why would people stop believing in them? I mean, if a preacher comes to talk to me about Jesus or Allah, for example, and yet Thor comes every week to say hi, what can they offer? No miracles my old gods couldn't do. So, the new setting has been developed in a way that makes no sense and breaks the immersive background of the first edition.

As for rules, they've changed everything. Some things look prety interesting by reading them, some things look worse, as it stands it looks like I'd need to play a game of Scion 2nd Ed to find out if I like or don't like the Storypath system. And, considering the background, that is highly unlikely. Play the new rules on the old background? Not sure if it would work, seems like the new system generates differente mechanical effects that would change how core things like Fate work in first edition, so I don't think it's possible to translate one rulebook to the other background. So I guess it'll just lie in my collection and never be played, while I keep on playing first edition.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Ben V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2019 12:14:50

This book should not exist. When I first heard that you'd be able to play a pre-visitation scion I was pretty interested. It could go lots of ways. Sadly it turned out to be a demo version of what the game should be. Character creation is just the same as in Hero except in Origin you don't get any of things that make the setting actually interesting, namely the birthrights. This is just an excuse to make us buy an extra book. Everything in here could have been easily included in the Hero book as it is under 200 pages with a lot of unnecesary fluff and graphics that take up half or entire pages. But we are forced to buy this product because it contains the game rules that are required to even play Hero. Super disapointed in this. This book is just a rulebook for Scion with some fluff on the setting with rules to play Scion-light designed to grab some extra cash from our pockets.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Kyle N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2019 03:22:44

Honestly, I've heard some people say that this book has some errors, but frankly? My group and I have found a few things here and there, but nothing that really took us too long to figure out.

And what this book does well, it does PHENOMINALLY. I love the Storypath system shown here, and am eager to adapt it to other games. The system is surprisingly elegant in what it allows, while having just enough mechanics to it to give the dice-rolling moments some real weight.

And more than that is the tone that it sets. I love the setting of this game, and as someone who enjoyed Scion 1e at the time, everything that Edition did, this game does better.

A LITTLE bit of patience will go a long way with this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2019 12:03:32

We love the updated and expanded setting presented in second edition. The storypath rules are great, though can be a little challenging to interpret in places. We would have loved a character creation summary. To hear our complete thoughts, check out our overview/review episode: http://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-16-scion-2nd-edition-origin-overview



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2019 17:20:21

This book really feels like it was poorly managed by higher ups in the publishing group. There is a good game in this book. But it takes a lot to get the information out of this book to get it.

Character creation is difficult to follow and you will have to read the examples to get it. It took our group a couple hours of reading and re-reading to get it.

Some sections of the book change how they refer to some stats causing the lack of consistancy to breed more confusion.

It's difficult to figure out how to do simple things like listen for danger. At times, it feels like the skills are attempting to be very specific but then turn around and try to be very general. Some things even repeat themselves under different skills making it hard to tell when you apply one and not the other. We spent more time discussion what would apply in a situation than enjoying the situation the Story Teller gave us.

The short stories are fun. The best part of the book. Love reading them and they really show that this system can do.

If this book had better management, I think it could have been great. But it does feel like there was no strong hand to guide the book through it's life cycle and make sure everything was connected properly at the end.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2019 16:26:39

There's a good game in this book, there really is, but dear god is it ever tedious to get to, not impossible by any means, but definitely more work than I like to put into just reading an RPG book. The problem is that it's just not very well put together. The order in which the informatin is presented, as well as the quality of the writing, leads to quite a bit of unnecessary confusion and ambiguity. I was eventually able to make sense of pretty much everything (I think), but not before reading multiple sections that presented the same information phrased differently (and then managing to deduce meaning from the combination of both versions), or spending quite a bit of time puzzling over the meaning of various rules or just poorly presented information.

This definitely looks like a good game, but it really suffers due to bad presentation. Overall, the book doesn't live up to the kind of quality I've come to expect from Onyx Path. I haven't read Hero yet, hopefully it'll be a little bit better.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates