DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
150 20
13 1
7 1
0 0
0 2
Mothership: Player\'s Survival Guide
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2021 15:42:20

The average stat is 33. The highest tier skill you can get at character creation is "expert" which adds 15%. So the average space marine is sent out on their first assignment with just under a 50% chance to hit, and that's if they spend two of their three skill points on Firearms training.

Listen, I get it. Horror genre, everybody dies. But there has to be a way to tell stories about competent people being overwhelmed by powerful horrors, rather than schmoes who go down because they're completely incompetent. This game is one long exercise in frustration.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Sebastian U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2021 04:48:05

Mothership does one thing, but does it well. Recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Iv R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2020 17:37:54

This was plain great. In very few rules it sets a full feeling for the kind of game this is. It is very deadly and very intense. I look forward to keep playing it.

On the bad side: At very specific points it wasn't clear if high numbers were good or bad but, again, it was at very specific moments. I think it just takes a bit familiarity with the game



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Gus L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2020 23:26:13

Mothership is great, sure it's a quick, ruleslight space horror game, but as a product it's also very well designed. A masterful use of layout and brevity to create an easy to learn and play system with a fair bit of depth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Kyle R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2020 11:06:44

The Mothership PSG is messy, wonderful, disorganized, intuitive, counterintuitive, etc. House rules are required to make the system work fluidly (use the excellent ones on Traaash), and the financial system in the game is broken. Ships repairs cost upwards of hundreds of thousands of credits, while ammo and gear is incredibly cheap. And yet, ships clearly are intended to be an important part of the system, given the large part of the book devoted to them.

As for enemy units? They aren't here - the most you'll find are some mercenary tables with thin descriptions on how to use them. Thin descriptions are the order of the day for much of Mothership - this is clearly a game in its first, early state.

That isn't to say that excuses it completely. We're not just beta testers - we're hoping to have fun in a scary, sci-fi setting. I'm happy to report that Mothership IS fun, but it's not for the timid. While your players battle the incredible stress and panic system (a true highlight), you'll be battling your own brand of stress: how do I make this game work? Take their skills system - a lot of it looks like usefulness will be based around warden discretion. Not true! If you scour the PSG, you'll find little mentions of HOW most skills get their usage. Why are these descriptions scattered aimlessly through the book? No clue.

Take as an example the skill of "Firearms." It doesn't say what it DOES. Then, a few pages later, with the weapons, a note! If a weapon has (Firearms +10) in its description, a PC with that skill may add their skill benefit when firing. Unfortunately, none of the weapons HAVE Firearms in their description...

I wouldn't recommend Mothership as a jumping point for a new warden, or even for a group looking for a new game to campaign in. As a system for one shots, though? Perfect. They've even developed a good one in Ypsilon 14, also sold here for quite cheap. I'd wait and see what comes next for Mothership for anything longer, though. This game has a galaxy of promise.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Fox C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2020 16:04:17

Best RPG Zine on the market hands down the crew over at Mothership are putting out top notch products. The system is a perfection, the d10 system is robust enough to work anything you throw at it while keeping everthing streamlined down a d10 system. Buy it. Buy all of their Moduals everyone is a gem and a treat to just read through. Wardens good luck in space.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2020 23:25:38

Really captures the feel of Alien and other sci-fi horror ideas without getting bogged down. You're up and running with just 44 pages. Also useful as a plug-in for other games that may need some help getting the right aesthetic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by John D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2020 17:34:35

I've run this game once and hope to play again tonight. The game shares its theme with the recently released Alien RPG from Free League Publishing. I've run that game five times.

I love both, and if I was going to run a bug hunt type adventure set in the Alien Universe, I would use Alien RPG. I like the D6 dice pool mechanics, how stress works, and the overall design is top shelf.

Mothership is as an approachable system for all kinds of Sci Fi fun. I find myself feeling constricted in the Alien game, in terms of a similar type of storyline each time I would run the game, variations on bug hunting. I realize this is partly my doing, but that's the feeling.

Mothership, to me, doesn't share this limitation. Mothership exudes verve and a kinda freefall gonzo approach to storytelling that pulls you into the drama. Plus, I love the charactersheet built with the rules to build the character, inspired idea!

In short, I love both games, but I lean toward the flexibilty of stories you can tell with Morhership over Alien.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by David W J. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2020 08:00:17

Play Alien RPG instead. There's more content, friendlier devs, and a more enjoyable system. Mothership is designed around scifi horror like Alien. the Alien RPG IS Alien.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2019 18:25:04

Ok, this is really a great little product. This is particularly true in the realm of information delivery and organization. It also hAS some tables (I am thinking of the patches table) that are just wonderfully evocative of tthe atmosphere sought. I strongly recommend it with two caveats. The first is that it is a sc-fi HORROR game and the mechanics (stress/panic, the deadliness of combat, and the experince point system) all emphasize the horror/hopeless aspect. if you want a more general game in thsi sort of near future setting, I would look to the original GDW 2300AD or perhaps one of the Cepheus Engine/Traveller near future games. This focus mitigates toward one shots, I think. Likely incredibly fun one shots, but one shots. The second is that despite the atmosphere this players' guide feels incomplete: No opponents (human or otehrwise) and no setting beyond the obvious inspirations. I know that the publishers/writers have mentioned online a Game master's book is coming, and Dead Planet is already out, but for now, it is more likely to be used as an adjunct to other systems (in both directions as I could see importing elements of thsi into other games, and elements (i.e. monsters and scenarios) of other games[Call of Cthulhu and Delta Green, I am looking at you]into this).

Overall, a great little game hioefully early in its life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by norbert p. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2019 21:28:02

If your looking for a rules light and easy horror Sci-Fi RPG you should totally get MOthership rpg, for a lil more info and my thoughts on the game please check out my YouTube review. A big thanks to all at DriveThruRPG for allowing me to post my reviews...

https://youtu.be/e_8zNus6UA0



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Kip C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2019 09:35:41

If you are looking for a game to create the feeling of Event Horizon or the Alien movies, this is the game for you. Easy character creation and rules light flavor enhance the horror gaming experience. Highly highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2019 12:31:49

A fantastic game for re-creating Alien or Aliens type games. The art is GREAT! The tables are evocative. It has a true old school feel about it. Most of the mechanics are very basic - roll under stat on a d100. The stress roll and the panic rolls really give each monster or bizarre encounter a true horror movie feel. The best part of the book though is that the character sheets include a flow chart for how to design them which simplifies character creation a shocking amount. The flow chart makes character creation so intuitive. It is the only RPG I have ever played where no one needed to ask any questions (except about items).

Some of the rules are not well defined and no setting is included. This may bother some purchasers but this game is about 100% old-school style gaming with heavy GM Fiat so rules clarifications do not slow the game down. I would also recommend picking up Mothership: The Dead Planet supplement so that you can be ready to play with a few random rolls. It includes a few INCREDIBLE set pieces but you still need to make your own setting for this game.

That said, the game has a serious space horror feel to it so the inspiration is easy to come by.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2019 05:58:34

The system is slick. There is a need for a system that can do what Mothership does; I've been looking for it for 5+ years. I can't wait to see what my players do when I present them with cosmic horrors through the lens of the Mothership.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by James R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2019 12:51:30

This is a great game for those one- or two-night sessions to break up a long campaign from another system. Character creation is compact, not overly burdened with heavy rules, allowing for a better flow. Check out their Discord channel!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates