DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1) $19.96 $15.60
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
123 10
11 5
3 0
1 1
0 0
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by 8X10 R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2023 16:08:20

Mechanics: Woah! This game has a great outline, the instructions has fairly well written, its great to pick up and drop as needed (I only get small burst of playtime), the content is awesome and I can tell theres a lot of hours of play here. The information is very malleable allowing for lots of homebrew ideas.

Con: The only con is that this is very, and I mean very similar to Four Against Darkness (4AD).

Other differences:

D100 vs 4AD -Focus on 1 adventurer vs 4 -Lots of page turning vs a flow chart that directs you to a page -Has broader stats allowing for homebrewing vs very restrictive stats (note these diffences dont actually take much away from the base similarities)

Overall, D100 Dungeon is awesome. Why the 4 Star over a 5?

I also bought 2 books (books 1 and 6). The layout is nice but similar to reading lawbooks. Maybe making columns would make the pages a bit more attractive to read. My main complaints would be the cheap quality of paper used for the pages. It feels like standard mat rough copy paper. Turning the pages made me feel like I might tear the pages because of the rough texture. The pages seems to be eaily stained by fingers as well (these should be glossed). In otherwords, having glossed pages for book durability would bump this up to a 5 star.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by Al F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2023 09:35:29

A fun game and solid rule set for solo dungeon crawling. For me, the game was difficult at first, but eventually I did get my surival rate up to a level that was not so frustrating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by Paul A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2022 13:36:44

Disappointingly thin for such an expensive book. Contents are great, but...



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by Charles L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2022 17:12:27

I spent a few hours this afternoon creating a character and playing thru the first Traiing mission. I spent a fair bit of time considering what class/race to choose. I tend to play magic users, then archers, then fighters. The magic rules look to be too complex for a first time player. I also don't like that a caster is punished to cast a spell since it costs health and if you fail, you can also gain a curse. I guess this is to compensate for the fact that the caster doesn't need to spend resources maintaining a weapon? It doesn't seem like a fair trade off to me. Ultimately I went with dwarf rogue. Almost everything in this game can be randomly determined, so I could have saved some time and let the dice choose, but that's just not how I roll.

Next you do randomly roll armor and a weapon. I ended up with a crummy throwing knife, an amazing breastplate, a buckler shield, and some decent leg armor. So my ranged rogue now can't use his best stat (DEX) to attack. Well, he can, once, then he's punching monsters. I'm assuming that the throwing knife is a one time use, I couldn't find rules for that.

All is not lost however, on my first encounter, I managed to loot a very nice Battle Axe. This ultimately carried me thru the rest of the mission, but again using my STR not DEX. When I could score a hit with it, I was one shotting several of the monsters I came across. Both my PC and the mosters I encounterd had around a 40% to hit chance, which made for some long fights. The Giant Bats and I couldn't hit each other (-10 to hit flyers without a ranged weapon). They got so bored they just eventually flew away (escaped).

By the end of the mission, I died once to a surprise attack by a Goatman Archer. (Wish I could have stolen his bow). You do start each PC with 3 'Life' points though, which basically rez you for free. That doesn't bode well for future missions, but you can earn more 'Life' during play. In the post game wrap up, I did some shopping and on the 1 roll I was allowed at the Weapon shop, guess what was there? A recurve bow, which I could just barely afford after selling off pretty much all of the the other loot I found.

So now armed with a proper bow, one fewer lives, I'm ready to dive into Training mission #2, the goal of which is to loot 3 weapons. (irony).

I was admittedly frustrated at times, but once I was all done, and ready for the second mission, I realized that I just had quite a lot of fun. I look forward to the next mission when I can try out my new bow.

There are certainly some fiddly rules and a lot of things to remember, but I think with more practice it will run smoother. There was far more depth to this dungeon crawler than I expected.

If playing a magic user seemed more viable, I would have rated this 5.

HINT: have a good ereaser handy. You will use it, a lot.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2022 10:12:21

Played my first game and quite enjoyed it looking forward to the second game. Only gave it three stars as I didn't like how the magic system was implemented and the class system overall seemed a bit limited. As someone who likes playing as the magic user this was a bit dissapointing.

Increased to four stars played the training dungeons and enjoyed the adventure feeling it gave. The second book looks to expand the class system so I might add that for a few more class options.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2021 20:15:37

A little confusing at times, otherwise an excellent dungeon game! Once you've played through a few times, you will get the hang of how this game works. Using only some paper, a few dice, and a pencil, you can get the best part of role playing, a dungeon crawl! Every game will be different, and there is even a "tutorial level" of sorts to help get your bearings.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2021 12:56:01

Brought my review up to five stars for D100 Dungeon now that it's printable.

It's a great game on its own, with resource management, a more detailed mapping technique and a novel upgrading system, but I've also used it in conjunction with AD&D and Four Against Darkness to run small parties solo.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by Gerard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2021 18:17:59

First just laet me say the system is solid and fun. The main problem I have is not being able to print the important parts like character sheet and a quest tracker. I've searched the net and found some custom character sheets but they don't work with the base game the way it is right now. I've also searched for the quest tracker and can't find it anywhere. These files used to be on BGG but they don't seem to be there anymore. I understand wanting to protect your property but I would at least like to be able to print the player sheets that are nesesary to play the game. Found files on BGG, just the player aides which is all I needed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
You can download free resources, such as the adventure/dungeon/combat sheets and more from: https://www.mk-games.co.uk/d100dungeon
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by John E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2020 10:01:29

Super awesome and fun book. Well done to the author. Great fun to use for solo adventures. Book is well made and print looks great. Very happy with this addition to my library. Another DTRPG home run. Keep it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by Spencer C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2020 18:25:22

Great game, but having the PDF locked so you can't print character sheets is a problem. You can find the V2 and print those sheets, but they do vary slightly to the instructions in V3. Make the character and map sheets printable and I'll add a 5th star.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
You can download free resources, such as the adventure/dungeon/combat sheets and more from: https://www.mk-games.co.uk/d100dungeon
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by JOSHUA S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2020 12:04:52

Without doubt one of the absolute best "solo" based RPGs out there. Very immersive experience. Absolutely love it and highly recommend it. Takes me back to the "old days"! 5 Stars!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2018 13:39:37

Great product that isn't really hard to get into. The concept is great and it is presented in a polished format. It could be a little confusing, especially for new players, but the rules are well explained and so it flows well even though it seems like its broken into segments. The 'crunch' is great but a little more fluff like dialogues and interactions could have been added, but I get that it takes a lot of time and work to create something like this and i feel like the author has put a considerable amount of effort into this, to come up with tables, concepts, charts and variables. I feel like there is a lot of potential for this style of gameplay. The mechanics are there and is a quality product that the author has created and put out. Plus, this system potentially can be adapted for party play, with a little effort by the GM. Sure, a printable PDF would have been great, but if you are looking for a solid solo adventuring system with clear rules, exciting randomness and the ability to play whenever its convenient to you, look no further.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by John S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/27/2018 12:48:00

I highly recommend this for anyone looking for some solo fun! It's so simple and still so very deep. I love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by David F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2018 07:54:42

Fantastic rules system for the solo gamer. Highly recommended and easily worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
D100 Dungeon (Book 1)
Publisher: Martin Knight
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 12:15:19

Thank you for such a great product. I enjoyed the dungeon delving with my adventurer. First adventurer was lost in the belly of a giant snake trapped in a pit during the first quest. Next adventurer so far has survived through quest 4. The game takes me back 40 years to rpg games growing up with my brother.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates