DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
D66 Compendium 2
Publisher: Mongoose
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2017 12:44:50

Solid product. I bundled this and Compendium into a binder to take with me to Traveller sessions as Referee. Great stuff for ideas.

This also works as a brainstroming setup for writing. looking at the names, events and places, then with it all in your mind get a flavor.

Easy enough when printed out to change up some details by crossing out and writing in new ones. can't wait to make up some of my own tables. This product and compendium would be well served by including a few table blanks numbered 11 to 66.

10 bucks well spent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D66 Compendium 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Easy Settlements
Publisher: Thunderegg Productions
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2017 12:40:03

Pretty mucg designed for fantasy, but you could adapt it for sci fi with a little work. Not very detailed, more of an idea pull file for an overview of a settlement. Chasium Cites, and the World Builder's guidebook from 2e AD&D would help in the larger view and the street levels of this product.. which is how I intend to use them .. for D&D 5e.

Printed clean, just a few pages, easy to read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Easy Settlements
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scenes of Space Hex Battle Maps
Publisher: Jon Brazer Enterprises
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2017 12:36:00

I liked this a lot. I used the asteroid map in a recent Traveler Session. nice big hexes on four sheets. I like that there are ifferent sizes. No problems printing and cutting these pieces to fit together with some tape.

Price was good at 2$

I would buy more if there were more in the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scenes of Space Hex Battle Maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Astral Splendour
Publisher: Spica Publishing
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2017 13:29:07

Does a great service to Traveller referees by giving a system for passengers for Tramp frighters and Larger liners.

I really liked the easy to use charts detailing the expected passenger traffic, laid out by UWP code.

Nice examples throughout the text.

In addition, there are plentiful potential passenger encpunters laid out in the nuggets / options format so that these give great ideas for a one off encounter, ranging to a mini scenario, in case you wish to spice up what might be a boring routine of Left planet X arrived at planet Y debarked the passengers.

This does a lot more. Worth the price. Plus an adventure, description of a few worlds. Spica, as always, good stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Astral Splendour
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TAS 3D Deck Plan Templates
Publisher: Mongoose
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2016 05:35:44

I think this is a very cool addition to Traveller 2e. But it could be used with older versions. It is a different approach than if you used Campaign Cartographer and a plug-in.

This is more of a manual, open the deckplan grid in your favorite paint program like paintshop pro, then load the specific icons you need as a brush, and click in place. Or you could print these out on paper, and tape, staple or glue them in palce. just watch the scaling.

A little bit extra work to use these, but I like that they have a few angles for placement. Looking forward to submitting some designs for use with TAS, and Mongoose 2e.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TAS 3D Deck Plan Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TAS Planetary Maps Templates
Publisher: Mongoose
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2016 05:26:11

I like it. Of course it is a restyling of the Old School Icosahedral Grid for a world as seen in a few Traveller products. What it really lacks are icons, though there are a half dozen included.

Some Icons like we see in T5, swuch as mountain, jungle, etc., would be perfect for this.

The fact that it is .tif makes it a little bit tougher to use. Seems like also the end user is relying on paint programs to do the various coloring, coastlines, etc. or printing it out and hand drawing same.

If it had more icons, or a color sample for elevation height level gradations, or color sample palette for a standardized approach across the community...light blue for shallows darker blue of sea floor, etc. I would give it 4 or 5 stars.

As it is, there is some to a lot of work involved here. But if you do not have access to much older books such as Megatraveller, or Digest Group products long out of print, this map grid has clean lines.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TAS Planetary Maps Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quick Decks 1: Starter Pack
Publisher: DSL Ironworks
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2016 11:34:03

I have been a huge fan of doing my own deckplans for over 40 years. Mostly hand drawn using photoshop. Or modifying designs from the books from a bad photocopy, back in the day.

For 10 USD, I got the bundle. Sweet deal. I plan to design a whole new fleet with these deckplan elements.

Thanks much to the artists and designers for this product. It is better than the T4 Naval Architect's guide, in my opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quick Decks 1: Starter Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Game Planner
Publisher: Felbrigg Herriot
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2016 03:18:59

This is a nice little 8 page mini-book of idea charts for themes and scenarios for games using keywords, rolled off of a d6 chart and subcharts. Not a lot of detail, but the ideas are linked in ways that other random scenario generators... who what where why do not cover.

I have seen other space opera generators all over the net that do this with a d20, but none with this sort of mind map technique. so I like it, even for that way of thinking about a scenario.

I liked it more once I went to the page on internet in the included readme that shows how to cut on ashed lines, and fold the book. Took me all of a minute to get it together, and already using these suggested plots. A nice little idea generator, at a decent price for what you get.

It also allows for super layered plots, if you want to go that way.

It also clued me in to these little 8 page books, which I could use for other purposes.

In the readme doc, the last line should read: Sub Plot: Moved 42 (3) The Next Town 22 (3)- Invention, 36(5)- One million credits



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Game Planner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
Publisher: StoryWeaver
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2015 04:09:20

Yeah, this is pretty good. A time saver.

I already use Campaign Cosmographer with the plugins, and some other planet fractal generators to do planets similar to this, but this is nice in that I can rig up planet, moon, display etc, pretty quick. The planets here are pretty cool for space opera flavor. Traveller gearheads will balk at some of the more garish colors of worlds like Greenhouse mostly green or variations of pink and purple. But overall, a solid product, the glowing reviews here for it are true. It's pretty cool, and gives tyou a nice planetary layout view from space template, much as the old Star wars d6 planetary guide did.

It's not a 20 sided die map of the surface, rather you get the look of a planet and some moons in a graphic display, from a database. Great for an overview to give the feeling of the Library data entry in some explorer's database. Definitely worth a look or buying.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Out of Strife, Prosperity
Publisher: Green Ronin Publishing
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2014 09:36:30

This is a great product for "A song of Ice and Fire: Game of Thrones Edition" (2012) RPG by Green Ronin.

This supplement allows you to add a pile of different Wealth Holdings to your own House setup in the RPG. Things like a Mine to generate metals, woods for charcoal, a slaughterhouse to help feed people. A Court or Library for your Keep. Each specific things has a small benefit like +1 wealth, or it gives you a limited sort of protection, from loss of wealth, population, etc.

It also has optional rules for new house actions like sabotage, assassination, spies, secret police to watch your people in your domains, or how to set up a small thieve's guild to skim profits off of it, so that you know what the thieves in your realm are doing, because you are keeping track of them via the guild.

I ended up printing out the 4 main charts on cardstock, and put the rest into a 3 ring binder, for quick reference when the players want to do a House Turn for the RPG. Clearly written, and easy to use.

Easily well worth the cost, for the flavor that this conveys. I'm going to use it to detail the wealth holdings of all the Houses in my SoIaF:GoT game set in the Mountains of the Moon in 285.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Out of Strife, Prosperity
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dead Names: Lost Races and Forgotten Ruins
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2014 08:58:41

This is just damn brilliant. The imagination of this guy is boundless, and it's chock full of good stuff. I started running SWN last week, and used Traveller to generate the Subsector. I had put in 5 alien races, who at this point are just names and a simple idea like Furry Feline Traders, Insectoid Warriors. Figuring I'd get to it. Bought this book, and it completely hits the sweet spot of what I needed, allowing for full generation, history ruins all of it. Remarkable in scope for slightly over 50 pages. If you have aliens in SWN or even a your own campaign of Traveller, and are looking for ideas, get this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Names: Lost Races and Forgotten Ruins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

All the Days of My Children Hospital
Publisher: John Wick Presents
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2014 16:21:01

It's a pretty simple party game, 12 pages of rules and a character sheet. What it does in such a small space makes for a very dynamic game. A character is a thumbnail sketch of a personality. It takes all of 5 minutes to set this game up. Generate three true things about your character, and two secrets for a hero and villain each. I love the dynamic.

What is required is a GM / Director that understands scene structure, and a pile of players that understand Ad-lib /narrative style Yes, and.. type of narrative play.

Not for the usual Dungeon bash crowd, there is no combat whatsoever. But I really liked the way this was executed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
All the Days of My Children Hospital
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Echoes of the Prior Worlds
Publisher: Ryan Chaddock Games
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2014 17:59:47

This book is outstanding. I can't say enough. So many adventures and ideas jam packed into an easy read. Many, many of these little mini adventures carried the creepiness, and weirdness of a Twilight Zone episode. I love this book, and will use many of these adventures, slightly modified. The maps, the 7 point process, Intrusions, etc. all just great. For me, this is a must have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Echoes of the Prior Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Celestial Wisdom
Publisher: Ryan Chaddock Games
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2014 17:24:30

For the price, more than outstanding value. I plugged these artifacts, cyphers and oddities right into my game. The AIs are great the setting is great. I do not regret buying this at all. However, a significant number of items I think are a bit too much of the "Your character feels this way when wearing", "Your character thinks", "Your character now thinks in X mode." That's the 4 star rating, right there. Other than that, hell yes, I will use this book left and right. The tiers and such new descriptors & foci, the pro way they were laid out, seem really cool. Definitely a good source of ideas.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Celestial Wisdom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Dispatch (#42): Pulp Adventure Generator
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2006 00:00:00

This was a good deal. I'm currently running a Pulp "Men of Mystery" style game, using Indiana Jones / Masterbook by WEG. I had found Lester Dent's notes on the Internet, and this handy little article will form the base of my own tables, tailored to my campaign. I have seen other pulp how-to articles in Justice Inc, ICE Pulp Adventures, GURPS Cliffhangers, and MSP&E, and this was STILL well worth it.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: What was nice about this was the clear layout of the tables, and the examples with a mini-adventure included.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Wish it would have been a little bit longer, but still worth the money.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Dispatch (#42): Pulp Adventure Generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates